Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) Reviews

St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)
Knockhill Of Nydie
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 9SL
Tel: 07523 170689
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
                8/10 from 80 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cas07 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our 6th visit with a group consisting of family and friends of varying ages, kids are 6-16 years who all loved this campsite. Plenty of space for football, rounders, tig, cricket, tennis and a small play park. Facilities kept very clean and small shop available for basic provisions. Owners very friendly and accommodating. Two miles outside St Andrews with the most beautiful views over St Andrews bay. This campsite is a must for any camper looking to stay in north east Fife. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Hubbette 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from yet another amazing weekend. We stayed in a Woodwam which was cosy, and spacious and had everything we needed. Was in a fab area close to toilets and showers. It was clean and well looked after. We travelled with friends, some were camping. We had kids of all ages with us. Games of football, rounders and cricket played in the spacious fields and lots of people joined in. There is also a playground for the younger ones. Had a fab time. Would recommend this site to anyone going either couples, families on even on your own. Will definitely be back thanks again:) x 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Henderson23 2 reviews from this member

 Well this was my first camping trip and could not have picked a better place to go. Amazing. The site was spotless thanks to Sue and her family constantly keeping it clean. Showers and toilets checked and also kept clean all the time. Very family friendly. Was lovely watching a large group who were staying playing rounders and football. Kids and parents were having a fab time and lovely to see. Some people I noticed have commented about noise. I have to praise the owner for ensuring parents stick to rules in keeping kids and adults in toe not that I think it was needed this weekend as all I seen was families having lots of fun. Playpark was lovely for young ones. Football pitch and large area for all kids to run around and have lots of fun. Not far from St Andrews. Chip shop deliveries were excellent. I was here weekend 25th/26th/27th and cant wait to come again. Very very family friendly, and will be definitely recommending Nydie to everybody. Well done to the owner and your family. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 7inatent 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed through the week during what was gloriously warm weather, and then the following week during Fog, Thunderstorms and rain.

We have 5 kids and this is the third (&fourth) time we've been camping here and they love it. The owners are very relaxed and welcoming and keen to help. We had a good chat to Sues Dad (good bloke!) while she was driving her Ferarri (a grasscutter not a sports car) about the field.

The pitch layout has improved, and there's a one way system, which makes it easier entering and leaving the site, although some people seem to forget what 'one way' and an arrow pointing means and head out past the reception.

The toilet shower block is kept clean, and the only time the showers were cold were after a thunderstorm which I'm guessing knocked something out of sync, but once I'd let the owners know they set about sorting it straight away.

The kids just love the play area, either the swings or playing football or just running around the HUGE field they have, they never came up to us and said they were bored, and this is 5 kids who are usually glued to an XboX. Most of the pitches can see the play area, although the Wigwams and some of the EHU pitches can't so it's worth making sure you ask for a pitch facing the play area if you want to keep an eye on your little darlings (or not as the case maybe).

St Andrews is close enough, with supermarkets etc for what you need, the site has a small shop, but other than for some cold drinks, I have to confess we didn't really use it.

There's the usual touristy things to do in St Andrews, Craigton Country Park is well worth a visit if the weathers reasonable, Cairnie Fruit Farm was better than expected, and if the weather's really bad, like week 2 for us Dundee is not too far away for bigger shops and cinemas.

Kids can get to play quite late, there's no curfew on the play area, so bear this is mind if you've young kids and you want them down early, generally the noise is reasonable, as the play area is next to the owners house.

We'll definitely be back next year. Hope the weathers as good as week one. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DrewSmith64 1 review from this member

 Great family friendly site with nothing too much trouble. We had a large plot and this fitted our 5 berth and car with room to spare but other did seem a little close, almost claustrophobic. However this left a huge amount of space for kids playing. Weather was great but this meant the kids were playing out and were noisy well into the evening. The site is exposed and this could be a problem if the wind gets up, the owner has erected windbreaks but I'm not sure how effective these will be. The toilet block was clean with free showers (great temperature and pressure too). Utility room was good too. Just the right distance from St Andrews to be away from the town but with all the facilities just down the road. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MichyMouldsy 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a few days with 2 kids (9 and 7) a dog, 1 car and a tent.

On arrival everything was explained perfectly, where our pitch was, the facilities and when the shop was open.

The pitch was on the lower end of the site and very spacious, we had room for our tent, a picnic table and the car with room to spare. The site itself is huge with plenty of room for the kids to run about and the playpark (although only a few swings and a slide) kept the kids amused for hours. There are a few goals set up so if you brought a ball there will be more to do.

The campsite is only a 5 minute drive from St Andrews and as we had the dog you are only allowed on East Sands (which wasn't too busy). Also Tentsmuir beach, Cairnie fruit farm and Cupar are with a 15 minute drive.

The facilities on the site were spotless. The ladies ran out of loo paper but the owner was on the case right away. Noise wasn't too bad, the odd tractor on the road at stupid o'clock (but you are in the country) and birds screaming away at 4. 30 am. Everybody seemed to observe the 11pm noise curfew.

We would definitely return to the site as its more geared up for tents and families and its spacious enough to not feel cramped. Also the owners seemed friendly and helped out with directions and where to walk the dog ( a huge enclosed field behind the site)

The only improvements we feel would be to;

A)install the windbreakers on the lower end of the site as well as the top.

B)maybe expand the playpark a little as it can get over run with kids (5 or 6 swings and 15 - 20 children leads to fights) 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IanOyster 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic two night stay at Nydie Camping and Caravanning site. We were one car, 2 small tents and 1 dog and we were able to fit on a single pitch.

The site itself is perfect; amazing location and views, generous pitches with a massive open area in front where we played a bit of frisby and the dog was able to happily frolic.

Facilities are top notch, including a good wee shop, tumble driers, laptop charging lockers, windbreakers between the pitches and the toilet/shower block is heated and immaculate.

Sue the owner couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and overall we can't recommend the campsite enough. Will be back ( they also have woodwams if you are into glamping!) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R Abbitt 8 reviews from this member

 Nice location, handy for Strathkinness (which has a great wee pub), St Andrews, Tentsmuir and the East Neuk, and easy to find.

There are two parts to the site, a well-kept area with numbered, pre-allocated pitches, and a huge field where you can pitch anywhere. It wasn't clear to us why we'd been allocated a numbered pitch right in the middle of the site and rather hemmed in, when the neighbouring field was almost empty. After a night of being kept awake by large noisy groups, and endlessly having our pitch trampled over by people going to the loo, we moved to the field, which was a lot quieter and more pleasant. If we'd known we could just go to the field in the first place rather than the pre-allocated pitch, we would have done that. The owners could perhaps make clear that there's a choice (assuming that there is). I would echo the comment that the owners could do more to control the noise; when I mentioned the noisiness, the owners were quite concerned and apologetic, which was appreciated, but I think it would be more helpful if they pro actively patrolled the site every hour between 10pm and midnight to curb the noise, on busy weekends.

The facilities are ok, albeit a little cramped and limited for the number of people on site. The shop has rather limited opening hours. This is more of a site for large groups and families than for couples looking for peace and quiet, and I would probably avoid it again on busy weekends, although may return at quieter times of the year. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ski_1uk 3 reviews from this member

 Found the site no problems, nice welcome when got to site, everything was explained ie. where my pitch was and the 1 way system. Pitch itself was massive compared to other sites, nice an clean area only little issue as it was slightly on a hill, but hey we don't live in Holland we have hilly ground.

View from the site was really nice, looking over towards the beach and the sea.

The area for kids to run around is fantastic, a play park and 2 football goals, which at one point I think the whole campsite took part in, Plenty stuff for my 6 year old to keep herself busy. At one point there were 3 kites being flown in the ‘playing area’.

Showers/Toilets were really clean, plenty hot water and 10/10, there was also a wee shop to pick anything up ie firewood etc

I must say I would use this site again, I would highly recommend this site to anyone wanting to camp in the Fife/St Andrews area 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ime0211 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for the first time as it had such good reviews. Sadly we were both very disappointed with this site.

I booked this site the evening before our stay, When we arrived we were told there was a large party on the site which would be taking all the pitches at one end of the camping area. We were given a pitch at the other end but which was in fact only 2 pitches from the large group. The large party consisted of about 6 or 7 large families, adults and kids. Unfortunately they partied outside until well after 11. 30 pm which I have to say ruined the nice restful and peaceful weekend we hoped for. It would have been nice to have been told about this party when I booked as we would have gone elsewhere.

The pitches were well maintained with wind break fences between which gave a sense of privacy.

Toilets and showers clean but very basic and lacking in hooks, shelves etc, unfortunately, despite being clean they still had an unpleasant smell.

Won't return to this site, it didn't offer very much, no nice extra touches. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement