Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) Reviews

St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)
Knockhill Of Nydie
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 9SL
Tel: 07523 170689
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 80 Reviews
                8/10 from 80 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spudda1 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at this site we were welcomed by the owner who let us pick where to pitch our tent. Although we had not booked a pitch with electric hook up we asked if one was available. The owner was very accommodating and organised hook up for us.

The site is a large field, slightly sloped, but with fantastic views of St Andrews bay. There was ample room to exercise our boisterous dog, although there is no specific dog walking area. Even when more campers arrived on a Friday the site was still very spacious with plenty of room for children and dogs.

The ladies washroom and showers were fitted with modern facilities however the mens was in need of refurbishment. There is a small shop on site which sells milk, drinks sweets and delicious local ice cream.

The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of outstanding beaches. A visit to Tentsmuir wood and beach is definitely recommended. A short walk from the site is the village of Strathkiness with a shop and a pub which allows dogs. In particular I would recommend the fish and chips from The Tails End which although expensive, were the best we have ever tasted.

Overall I would recommend this site for its friendliness and close proximity to St Andrews. In addition it is well placed to explore Fife and the Eastern coast of Scotland. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JULIE0311 1 review from this member

 Lovely staff - very helpful.

Fairly basic site on a hill - it was a windy day and it felt like we were sleeping in a large wind sock.

Showers and toilets were very clean, however there was no peg or shelf to put my clothes (end shower) and my clothes got wet whilst I had my shower. It would have been nice if this was rectified.

We chose a pre-erected tent and we were advised we would have a BBQ, FirePit and Cool Box when we arrived. We had to ask for these as they weren't.

Apart from this, it's a pleasant enough site, but not sure I'll be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glassqueen 3 reviews from this member

 We just had our very first camping trip as a family here. It was fantastic, highly recommended for first timers and families.

It had a small play area perfect for children to gather and they could be seen from any position on the site. The toilets were plenty and clean and topped up with loo roll and hand wash, the showers were very clean too with free hairdryers.

The washing up area was also clean and tidy too.

The owner was extremely helpful very nice gentleman and he also made sure your requests or problems were dealt with.There is also a wee shop just for essentials. The site is really close to St Andrews (3 miles)and the views are amazing.

We had a wee bit of a breeze being up on a hill but it was fine. There is a pub and wee village less than a mile down the road and the food in there is very good. Def worth a visit if wanting to visit that area. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracy Crisp 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a two day break at this campsite and can say was very happy with it. Kids play park was 20 metres from tent so could see kids playing and a huge space for them to run about and play football or other games.

Shower room and toilets were clean and owner made sure there was plenty of toilet paper, hand towels ans soap so we never ran out. The little shop was well stocked and when I asked the owner if he had skewers for toasting marshmallows he very kindly loaned us some of his own.

We were also loaned a firepit so we could have a fire burning for kids which they loved. The views were stunning helped along by the great weather. The owners were very helpful and friendly they really made sure you enjoyed your stay. Will defo be back again at some point 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 Fair to middling site. Most of the field is slightly sloping, with decent drainage. Nice views out to the water. Covered kp area; small gents (3 tiny showers); larger new ladies block, though it is a squash and a squeeze to move around in, they’ve managed to fit 6 showers in; family shower room unfortunately lacking in a shower plumbed in at the moment.

Pitches are hard to find without both the map in reception and a guide (we never did find 106, so we moved to 34!). Small swing/slide set suitable for age 4+ next to a football area (with goals). Reception has a freezer you can ask to use for iceblocks, no laundry facilities.

Timber tents were being set up when we were there – look very cosy, and there’s a gazebo set up for each with chairs and tables which is nice. St

Andrews Aquarium is a little overpriced for what it is, I won’t bother with that in the future. Craigtoun Country Park is a few minutes drive away – good value day out for families with small to middling children.

Everything’s included in the entry ticket, so you can go on the trampolines, bouncy castle, train, mini/crazy golf, and boats as well I think. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SuzW 3 reviews from this member

 This is an amazing find. Big huge camping field with some hook ups. Toilets and showers were always spotless. Sinks for dishes were also well maintained. The owners of this site are really helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. The site has great views over St Andrews and Leuchars and is only 10 mins from the centre of St Andrews.

There is lots do in the surrounding area, too much to list. On site the park is basic but my boys loved it and they had their bikes and there was plenty of space to ride them. There is also a small football pitch where all the kids got together for some great matches.

Because there are only a few hookups and it is mainly tents the camp site is very quiet at night. This is a great family camp. The on site shop is small but has all essentials but supermarkets are only a 10 min drive.

We will be returning. Only negative is that it charges for pitch plus number of people so for larger families it does get pricey even though the pitches are the same for everyone. Could also benefit from more hook ups. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vangogogo 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night break with 2 children and another family. Owners are very helpful and showed us to our pitch. Plenty of space between tents.

Site is relatively new and badly needed in Fife as there are little or no sites that take large tents.

Site is close to St Andrews, which has beautiful beaches, which is were we spent our Saturday. There are many other places to visit, like the small fishing villages, the secret bunker, St Andrews castle, St Andrews Sealife centre and of course loads of shops in St Andrews.

Could do with more toilets at the other end of the site as it is a bit of a thought to trail to the toilet during the night or even during the day sometimes. Though I did speak to the owner on a visit to the site a week ago and they are talking of buying portaloos. They had hiring them for the Golf Open but they had gone when we arrived on Friday, which was a pity.

All in all a good site, small shop, toilets/showers clean, football goals for the kids and a small playpark, no late night noise, everyone seemed to settle down by 12.

So we are back next weekend with another 6 families, yippee, just hope we are a bit closer to the toilets and further away from the sheep. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BaznKev 3 reviews from this member

 Being relatively new to camping with tents, we chose Nydie from the good reviews it had on this site.

It was easy to find (with help from satnav) and seemed quite busy when we arrived at 7pm - mostly families with tents. We were surprised at how big the site was. The owner was extremely organised and helpful giving us pitches next to our friends who were due to arrive after us. We were also surprised at how big each pitch was and they were clearly marked bays.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotless and continually being cleaned throughout the day. We found it a nice touch that there was bottles of creme soap at each sink and even a hair dryer and hair products. The kitchen area was brill, we were hoping for good facilities at the wash up area having small children. There was a compressor you could use to blow up beds if required, fairy liquid at each of the three sinks and electric points available for campers who did not manage to get a hook up.

The play area was good: swings, slide and football goals.

The weather was mixed so it was good that the site sloped, the rain did not create any problems at all. The view over to the sea is superb and the campsite has a lovely feeling of being in the middle of nowhere however, it is only a couple or three miles to Cupar, which had everything you need from a good playground to pubs and supermarkets. It was only a few miles to lovely St Andrews in the other direction. Apparently, the site has not been up and running for long so all credit to the owners (who were very nice people).

We paid £42 for two nights with EHU and 2 children.

Overall we would, and have recommended this campsite to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Murieston 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, with fantastic views towards St Andrews and over the surrounding countryside. The site is quite hilly so therefore be prepared for having your tent on a slight slope.

The facilities are good (no groovy club with entertainment so always a bonus!)however the weekend we were there the site was extremely busy, hookups were scarce and tents were squeezed in with scant regard for those already there. There are new toilets and showers however these were unclean on more than one occasion.

Water running on the floor. Dirty toilets and no toilet paper was really the norm which was a shame. The showers and toilets were only cleaned in the morning which was completely inadequate considering the site was so busy.

The site appeared over booked (although not noisy) but because of that there were lengthy queues to use the toilets.Wash your hands.Use the showers. And wash your dishes.

I would probably using the site again but the owners need to consider providing adequate facilities if they insist on packing their land full of people. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracymac 2 reviews from this member

 We spent six nights at Nydie, the last week in july and had a lovely relaxing time.

The Pitches are spacious enough at 10m by 10m though could do with being a bit better marked as it was a struggle to see the lines between pitches. We were pitched at the top of the field which was on a bit of a slope, so depending where we sat our table, the bowls and cups slid off, which was a bit annoying. The pitches at the bottom looked a lot more level but they are right nxt to the road so we were happy to be up the top.

The Toilets and showers were cleaned daily, during busy times they did run out of toilet rolls and hand towels but I went to owner and she was grateful to be told about it and got them filled up. The showers were free and always hot. I loved them cos they were really powerful, but the kids weren't so keen.

My only criticism of the toilet and shower area would be the space, it was very cramped during busy times and could have done with having a bit more space for moving, the hair dryers(which again are free) were right outside the shower cubicles, but there was only space for one person to stand there so people were constantly squeezing past each other.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, bringing rolls up to our tent and even directions to the laundrette in St Andrews, when we had to make an emergency visit after our youngest had an accident in sleeping bag! No laundrette on site but the one we went to does a service wash for £6. 50 a load, we used it once, only cos we had to.

On arrival sam (the owner) asked the ages of our kids and told us of some suitable things to do locally which we thought was really nice. He even brought out football nets for the kids. The play park is small and basic, but it really wasn't a problem, even when it was busy the kids all seemed to play happily together. And there was so much grass area for bikes, balls and whatever else the kids had to amuse themselves. Whilst on the site, we never saw our kids, but the best thing was, even though we were not pitched right beside the park, we could see the kids play without needing to be right beside them, the boys (aged 3 and 6) loved the freedom this site offered.

There are a couple of parks locally which we cycled to with kids, the road never seemed to be too busy, a pub just down the road, which we didn't visit but we were told that its sometimes best to reserve a table. St Andrews has a swimming pool which is fairly small but was fine and kids go free during hols, which was even better. They also have an inflatable obstacle course on for an hour in the morning at no extra charge which our boys loved.

All in all this was a fab wee site, basic, but just how we like it, the kids loved it and we'll definitely be back! 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is St Andrews Holiday Estate (formerly Nydie Campsite) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4637 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement