Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nydie Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Nydie Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Nydie Caravan And Camping Site
Knockhill Of Nydie
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY16 9SL
Tel: 01334 850828
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 74 Reviews
                8/10 from 74 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pooly 2 reviews from this member

On our arrival we were greeted with a locked gate as arrival on sight is not allowed until 2pm. We waited the 3 minutes for the gate to open and were told by the owner to drive round to the temporary reception.

We were told where to pitch and found our spot and as we had booked and paid for 2 nights use of a fire bowl the owner said she would get one to the pitch, which didn't arrive so we helped ourselves to one.

As I was busting for the loo following a long drive I went to check out the facilities. The smell of urine hit me first and out of the 4 toilet cubicles only 2 were open and both were filthy! One with hairs and urine on the seat and the other with poo on the back of the seat.

I went back to the reception and explained the situation and was told that they were not cleaned because they were busy with the building of the new reception building.

About half hour or so later I saw the owner wheel her trolley out to the toilet block so I assumed to clean them, I then saw her wheel it to the mens. I went down to use the facilities and the 2 toilets were still in the same state, but the other 2 had been reopened and were clean.

The site on the whole felt unloved and slightly neglected. The toilets and showers stayed in a bit of a mess the 2 days that we were there. My husband said that the mens toilets were also disgusting and it looked as though someone had been very unwell in one of them (even on the walls)

The site is close to st. Andrews with around a 15 min drive. Not too sure about the local area. Could do with more information on the site regarding local amenities.

I would say that if you have children its a great site for the whole field is targeted towards them. If you want a quiet site with clean facilities I wouldn't come here.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naepace 4 reviews from this member

I took the kids camping to Nydie for a couple of nights before the holidays drew to a close, a last minute decision as the weather kept changing every time I looked at the forecast !

I like simplicity and the site does this very well. A you shaped, one way road to access all areas of the site. Toilets, showers and washing up areas all sited together.

Charging lockers and washing machines available if required (paid). All were kept very clean with the exception of the male toilets one night after someone decided to throw up all over one cubicle some time in the early hours.

Nothing the owners can do about that, but it should be said it was quickly cleaned up the following morning when they were made aware. I don't really know how the owners do it at all with some of the clientele they get, always the part I hate most about campsites. Within 5 mins of being on site, some boy armed with a NERF gun, walked up to our dog and shot it at point blank range ! Not quite the welcome we were expecting and again, nothing the owners can do, short of 'frisking' all guests for firearms lol.

Luckily I'm not reviewing our 'neighbours', although the kids could now describe them with a few new 'adjectives' they have no doubt acquired during our stay! Shame really as everyone else around us was very nice.

The 11pm noise curfew seemed to be adhered to reasonably well, always a few exceptions who think only of themselves, but a lot quieter than many sites I've stayed on.

The site is located about a mile from Strathkiness (tiny village with a pub) and about 5 miles (15mins by car) to St Andrews and all it's amenities. Great views can be had over the Eden estuary. There is a small shop on site selling crisps/sweets/juice etc, You can also buy logs and hire a fire pit if you wish.

The kids had great fun playing in the park and particularly on the football field with, according to the wee man, 'proper goals' !

One final thing to be aware of, the site is quite exposed and if it is windy you will have 'fun' putting up your tent, if you succeed you will then have more fun watching many others fairing not quite as well ! Funnily enough, not much the owners can do about that either !

In summary, great little site, good location and has everything you need. Or if your needs are greater, 15mins down the road will sort you out.

I would happily go back and would have no problems recommending Nydie to friends and family and I guess that speaks volumes about the campsite. Just unfortunate that sadly they can't guarantee the quality of the weather or the guests.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bolo 1 review from this member

Great site, very relaxing time. The views are nice here. Just my wife and myself but the site is very safe for children.

There is a small shop on site where you can also hire a fire pit and purchase logs. We would recommend and return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mike a samson 3 reviews from this member

I stay at this site several times a year, and as always, I've had a great time.

The views are great and the pitches are very generous,

The toilets and wash-up area are good.

Small football pitch which both young and old enjoy and there is a play area for kids ( I love to see the kids playing outdoors in the summer )

Fire pits are allowed and can be hired for a few quid, so when you're all played out you can sit and enjoy the camp fire in the evening.

The owners are simply great, so friendly and helpful

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Eilidh21 5 reviews from this member

Stayed last weekend and experienced a power cut on both nights. Having paid for an electric pitch, this was very annoying.

The power cut also made it very difficult to go to the toilet too as there wasn't even any emergency lighting in the toilet blocks.

I know it wasn't the fault of the campsite, but it spoiled the enjoyment of staying there and it would have been a nice gesture if we had been offered some money back.

There doesn't seem to be any enforcement on the 'strict no noise after 11pm' as we had a group of men opposite us in a woodwam who were out till after 12am on both nights singing and playing a guitar.

Some of the washing up sinks didn't have any plugs in them which made it difficult to wash dishes when you were also having to hold down the push button tap and the toilet blocks were very dated and cramped?

All in all, not a campsite I would go back to

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crackinstuff 3 reviews from this member

The pitches were huge and the views were amazing.

We were running a bit later from the ETA given, however this was no problem at all. On arrival, we were asked to ring the bell, however our pitch number was written on a board so that we could just make our way in.

Advice was given by the owner as to where to go for eating late and at short notice. Spot on too!

The shower block (can only speak for ladies) was ok. A bit of a tight squeeze at 'rush hour' but has everything you need. The showers are push button. Not uncommon, however the stop seemed to come a bit too quickly after the start! Warm water with good pressure.

The washing up area was inside a large 'shed' so good if the weather takes a turn for the worse! Plenty of sinks to use, as well as access to the washing machines and the charging units if booked.

Great location. We went to surprise a family member who has just opened Mayfield Farm, a cafe/restaurant in the hills just the other side of Cupar. Well worth a visit! Also very handy for St Andrews, Cupar and surrounding areas including the forest and beach.

Unfortunately the hotel accommodation a stone's throw from the site had a party (wedding reception?) on the Saturday night we were there. This was BY NO MEANS the fault of the site, but the noise could be heard by all. I have not let this affect my rating.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elaineja65 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend with another 2 families on pitches with electric hook up. We had hoped to be pitched next to each other but left it too late to ask. This wasn't a problem as the owner Sue allowed us to pitch our 3 tents on the 2 side by side pitches whilst parking our 3 cars on the 3rd pitch. Suited us perfectly as the pitches are huge, more than enough room for what we needed.

Great wee site, basically just a big sloped field with electric hook up pitches, basic pitches and super pitches at the top of the hill with fixed windbreaks. Just a stone's throw from our pitch was a small row of swings and a chute for the kids with a large football pitch nearby-we never saw our 5 kids (age range 2-12) for the whole weekend, except for food and sleep! Who'd have thought they'd have so much fun with just the basics but they made lots of friends in the process. And an ice cream can turns up on site each night! What more could a kid want?!

Toilet block clean, inside dish washing area and a small kiosk shed for check in and provisions were adequate for our needs.

St Andrews only 5 miles away so ideal location for here and Perth or Dundee if you were staying longer and wanted to venture further afield.

Overall a great wee gem of a site, will definitely return, we even had lovely sunshine along with some strong winds.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murieston 7 reviews from this member

We booked here to stay with friends during the last weekend of the school holidays. We requested two pitches together. We didn't get that. What we did get was two pitches one pitch apart from each other. And basically we were placed in between a party of tents. Loud music blared out from our arrival (during tent erection) and during the course of the weekend.

At one point we couldn't hear what were were saying to each other such was the volume. The group were the parents of several children, owners to several dogs (mostly crapping all over the place) and probably the worse example of drunk people behaving appalling I have ever seen.

Ah well that isn't the fault of the campsite owner you say. Well no it isn't. However the owner seemed to allow this behaviour on their land, despite the strict camp rules (no noise after 11pm etc, dogs must be on a lead. Blah de blah) these rules are not enforced. It was busy, it is noisy, the toilets were filthy.

We certainly will never be back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowies 4 reviews from this member

Fabulous family oriented site with fabulous views at a great location. Pitches are large and well drained, campfires allowed bring your own fire pit or hire one, facilities clean and well kept, washing machine in wash up area too.

We requested pitches side by side with friends and then other friends phoned after we arrived and their request for pitch near us was met although the campsite was very busy. It was one of the families first camp trips and they are now fully converted campers thanks to the space and facilities for their kids and friendliness of Nydie. Small shop on site selling basics, but Near St Andrews so shopping easily and loads around to visit.

Although very busy it was quiet after 11pm, also numbers provided for chip shop, chinese or Indian take aways that can be delivered to site and local pub a mile down the road (advisable to book in advance. )

It is very open so can be quiet windy, so windbreakers a must, although there are some pitches with windbreaker in place.

We will most definitely visit again.

We will most definitely be back

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Micmacpaddywac 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights here and it was fantastic, lots of room for the kids and really nice sized pitches. Toilets and dish washing facilities were kept clean and tidy, wardens were very friendly and helpful and even though the campsite was extremely busy on our first night noise levels were really quiet later on. Plenty of room for games and for the kids to run about and fantastic views of the St. Andrews coastline. Will definitely be back.

Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019