Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Leigham Manor Drive
Marsh Mills
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL6 8LL
Tel: 01752 344122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skoda Bob 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed from the 1st to the 13th of July

An excellent site, extremely clean washing and shower facilities,

All individual level camping and touring pitches.

Food in the clubhouse is excellent, and competitively priced, even the chocolate fudge cake that comes in massive portions, with a good dollop of cream and ice cream, the portions are that good even SWMBO was stumped by a salad LOL.

The only downside is no wifi but I understand this could be in the pipeline once BT get their fingers out and install fibre optic cables in Devon.

Outside heated swimming pool cleaned and checked daily.

Thoroughly enjoyed the site and company.

Thank you

PS, if you do not want to pay Plymouths extortionate parking charges, you can get a number 50 from the end of the road, (3 min walk) that takes you into the city centre and runs every 20 mins

Note to self stop calling Steve the barman, Tim, lol 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Natashaeo02 4 reviews from this member

 We regularly visit sites all over Devon and sadly this is the first we have come across with rude staff. They had wrongly advertised prices on their web site, which they admitted, but were just very rude when we approached them. They were abrupt and unfriendly from when we first arrived. This was the only site available last minute and we now know why. They facilities were ok for the children, but the pool could have been cleaner. Not somewhere I would visit again sadly. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mallen01 4 reviews from this member

 What a shame! Great site in the perfect position for touring around Plymouth. If you love rules and regulations, that are followed to the letter, then this is the site for you. Kind and thoughtful customer service is always placed at the top of our wish list and I'm afraid to say that we didn't receive this on our visit.

The site is clean and the facilities were good, toilets and showers were modern and never crowded. Club house is very dated but does the job. Children's play area is a journey from the 1970's to the present day. The new equipment is great but the rusting tractor and road roller need replacing as there are far too many rusting sharp edges. The playground is also right by the main entrance and on our visit the fence had rotten away so there was nothing to stop children running into the road.

Our pitch was great with lots of space and the position for camping is nice and out of the way.

If you like the 'do this' and 'do that' approach then that's OK but a smile and a little give and take go a long way. The icing on the cake was when I asked if my 2 children could have a quick swim before we left. We had to be off our pitch by 11. 00am which was fine but the receptionist then said we also had to be off the site too and so wouldn't be able to swim. We asked at 10. 50am on the hottest day of the year and telling a toddler and 5 year old that they couldn't swim was very upsetting. Shame on you Riverside! Sort out your customer service and you'll be a much nicer place to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crickard33 1 review from this member

 Have to say this is a great site if not one of the best we have stayed on. we are a family of 5 and have stayed all over Devon and Cornwall. we are local to this site so that is an added bonus, but read all the other reviews, as far as I am concerned all the positive reviews are accurate. pitches large and clean, bar area is dated but part of its charm, the food is great and reasonably priced. Pool is a great addition for the kids! The play area is a little small and dated but our boys still seemed to have fun! The staff are lovely friendly and helpful!

When it comes to the negative I will explain there seem to be two receptionist one is lovely very helpful and the other well make your own mind up !

I know first impressions count and I think this is where the negative reviews stem from, So don`t be put off !

It has a lot to offer 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LSA85 3 reviews from this member

 Complete shame about this site, the facilities are all there and it's a great spot but the staff are not up to scratch. They are rude and not customer focused! There are a lot rules barked at you when you arrive and once they have taken your money they don't seem very interested in much else.

Toilets were fine, swimming pool was a bit dirty and the games room was messy and out dated.

Shops are close by and other activities too. Good for dog walking because of the river except the rules say the dogs are not be walked on the site at all so don't know if that means they have to be taken off in the car, we did this anyway as want sure. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark26 22 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 10 night stay at this park. The park was very easy to get to, just off the main road and staff very helpful. Toilets where clean and so was the park. Only used club once so can't really comment. Kids used pool most days, was a bit dirty with leaves, think they only clean it in the morning, but kids didn't mind. Pitches where good size and easy to get in to. Playground was a bit small, my two missed not having swings, but all in all a good little park and would return. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe dalton 1 review from this member

 We have been to this site seven times, which will tell you a lot about the facilities. The staff are great, friendly and very helpful. My wife and I love it here. We have been coming here for three years. Toilets are clean and showers are good. The bar when open is very relaxed and good. Steve the barman is great. We will be back agfain this year in summer and autum. Cant rate it high enough.

A great base for all things plymouth and devon 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Susanmarlow 1 review from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this sight early in Sept, blessed by lovely weather, had phoned the day before to check they had vacancies which they did. Owing to other commitments I didn't book and unfortunately when we arrived we were told we couldn't stay for the week only for 3 nights as fully booked over the weekend. It appeared that because the weather was so glorious everyone had decided to book with them. This meant we couldn't avail ourselves of the special offer for the over 55s of £85 pw including hookup. I did suggest that we stay for the 3 nights and went away for the weekend and continued our week the following Sunday but unfortunately they wouldn't accept this saying that the 7 nights had to be taken consecutively.

I found the site to be very clean and tidy. We were on a standard plot, very quiet at night. Toilet blocks very satisfactory, but could have done with a duck board to stand on after coming out of the shower.

We ate one night in the clubhouse and had the evening special which was fine. The clubhouse is a bit dark and dated but I felt for what one was paying it offered very good value for money. We didnít use the park and ride instead we used the no 50 bus which ran very close to the site and every 15 minutes, making very good use of our bus passes.

Didnít use the on site shop but walked across to the Sainsburyís superstore. I would definitively used this site again, making sure I book it next time. I found the staff very friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sassie69 12 reviews from this member

 This site has an excellent location just of the A38 which makes it ideal for touring the area. Its just off an industrial estate but once you are on the site you wouldn't know as its very quiet with lots of trees surrounding it.

There is a park and ride which was about 20 mins walk away, the shortcut was too wet to use due to the heavy rain. Unfortunately the park and ride has a height barrier so we couldn't drive the motorhome there. It was also quite expensive compared to other park and rides we have used (£2.20 per person) and I paid full price for my daughter.

We paid £4 per night extra for a superpitch. I am not sure it was worth the extra, it was level and spacious but so were many of the other pitches. The water and draining point were in front of the pitch not on it and I can see that this prevents the risk of hitting them with your outfit but we did see other people on the standard pitches directly behind ours using them. Also there is no nice stretch of grass at the side to sit out and the caravan at the side of us was very close once it had its awning out.

The toilet blocks are clean, the one farthest from reception is the better of the two. The main problem was there was nothing to stop the floor getting wet which makes getting dressed more tricky. As they have big cubicles containing a sink and toilet then I went in there to get dry after showering which worked ok. Improvements I would like to see are better lighting in the showers at night and a concrete path from the superpitches to the toilet block as you currently have to walk across the grass.

The club house and games room are very dated. The staff are very friendly and the food was ok but the promised entertainment never happened and it wasn't the sort of relaxing place we would want to sit and drink in so we tended to give it a miss.

We didn't use the pool but it looked fine.

We would visit this site again due to the central but quiet location 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gonzalo 3 reviews from this member

 After turning off opposite a retail development, Riverside just seems to magically apear when most will be reaching for the map.

I loved the enclosed nature of this site, surrounded by high level trees, shelter certainly isn't a problem.

Facilities are clean and staff are friendly.

The on site bar is always a welcome addition for when you just can't be bothered to go back out.

A perfect city break with a touch of escapism. Would return time and time again. Dog friendly too! 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Riverside Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement