Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Leigham Manor Drive
Marsh Mills
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL6 8LL
Tel: 01752 344122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 97 Reviews
                8/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geoff48 30 reviews from this member

 We spent a night here before taking the Roscoff ferry the following day.

I contacted the site and was pleasantly surprised that they had an area for those needing a stopover before moving on to the ferry the following day. We stayed overnight for one night but only left for the ferry at approx. 20:00hrs the charge was for one night only. The ferry area was part of the large tarmac car park but had EHUís.

The site was well signed and access would have been easy except for the main access road being blocked and diversions in place. Entry to the site was straight forward, there wasnít a stop marking for checking in so we parked on the car park which is immediately after reception. Reception was friendly and helpful, we were advised where we could set up and position of toilet blocks etc.

The pitch area we chose was level but the car park was a little uneven and perhaps the ferry area could have been marked with white lines. The visitors car park was not busy so we werenít unduly disturbed by other campers who parked to have easy access to the nearby toilet block and small childrenís playground.

The roads around the site didnít have any obstructions and wide enough except for the occasional speed hump.

The facilities seemed quite good, a bar, restaurant, swimming pool, two toilet blocks and all was clean and tidy. There was no security barrier, the site was very quiet, as to be expected in mid-June.

There a few supermarkets nearby and of course the shops in Plymouth were an added attraction for my wife.

My impressions are a quiet but friendly site and Iíd have no problem in using them again should I be in that area 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dutch Clockie 1 review from this member

 What a lovely surprise. We visited this campsite about 10 years ago and were impressed and liked the atmosphere at this well kept site. Sadly my wife is now partly disabled and special shower facilities are important to us. This campsite has now a fully functional toilet and shower for disabled people with everything there and spotless clean. We wish to complement owners and staff with their facility and their care. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jinty15 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on our way to and from France. We arrived on the Sunday and caught the 10pm ferry on the Monday so had to book 2 nights which is fair enough. However the road leading to the campsite had been closed off for some time but we were never notified/emailed regarding this. Once we phoned them they explained the situation and informed us of the alternative route. On arrival we were informed that there was no hot water except in the showers and there would be none till it was sorted on the Monday. Again these things happen. The part I find hard to swallow is when we returned for one night at 9pm having just come off the ferry, we were naturally allocated the late enclosure (part very uneven concrete, part newly laid stones to try and even it out) this was a free for all as there were too many units booked in. We were lucky to get an EHU I'm not sure everyone got one, also there could only have been 3 feet between each unit making it a fire hazard. We won't be back 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ras1087 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the site between Christmas and New Year to visit my parents, the recent weather had been very wet causing flooding and making this site very very wet! Whilst I appreciate the staff are not responsible for the weather I fail to see why the ridiculous decision had been made to close the toilet/shower block adjacent to the entry road in a concreted area and open the block situated in the middle of a quagmire (with cubicles locked so there was only limited facilities)!

The site has no security and has a public footpath running next to it with no fence so all and sundry can wander on site hence when my wife visited the toilet block after dark and it was only partially lit she felt very unsafe. Furthermore the toilet/shower blocks are in need of updating and heating.

On a personal note the pitches are far too close together for my liking, very cosy in the high season I would imagine.

We were booked in for 3 nights but as the site was so appalling we left after the first night and will not return! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mmacleod 1 review from this member

 Plymouth campsite was lovely. It was our first nights stay on a campsite on our journey from lands end to john o'groats and it served us well!

Not only were the toilet and shower facilities up to scratch and really lovely and clean, but the members of staff and the other people staying, were all lovely and really helpful. Considering we were two women putting up a big 6 man tent on our own for the first time!

Very impressed. Would come here again.

Michelle, Jenny, Andrew & Chris

Early September 2013 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Monty1083 2 reviews from this member

 Visited Riverside for a couple of nights at the end of September 2013 in order to visit Plymouth.

Large site but it was quiet and we were on hard standing (pitch 54). Toilet / shower blocks aren't new but were clean and tidy and showers were good.

The site is down a long lane off an industrial estate but once on site you are not aware of the estate at all. (I should say we were there at the weekend so can't comment about weekdays).

Very handy for Plymouth - about 3 miles. It took us about 15 minutes to drive in. Being in a motorhome parking is always an issue but we found a car park called Elphinstone which is near the Barbican and only a couple of minutes walk to the Hoe. All day parking was £8. Going back to the site from Plymouth the satnav took us the wrong way. Be sure to follow the signs for Exeter!

Only dealt with staff at the site by telephone but they were very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely use this site again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Syrevid 1 review from this member

 Excellent run site, very welcoming and helpful, Excellent bathrooms with great hot water and always clean. So quiet one can hear oneself breathing, situated amongst beautiful surroundings.

Great cycle rides for miles all amongst the forests and water.

An easy reach for local transport, situated very close to Sainsburys Super Market and easy reach of large outlets B&Q, PCworld.

Well positioned for the Dry Ski Slope. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garionallen24 3 reviews from this member

 We chose Riverside as it seemed the best choice in the local area. And I chose correct!

On arrival we were given a warm welcome and given directions to our pitch. We settled down and explored the site.

The facilities were excellent. The toilet block consists of a male/female sections on both sides of the block with the laundrette and washing up room located in the middle on opposite sides. The toilets were in good condition with hot water and local radio playing in the daytime.

The location of the site is good, not far from main routes and on the edge of the city and the countryside.

The pool is good as well. Very handy if the weather is hot! Will definitely be coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poo_tent 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 5 night stay. You arrive by going through a retail estate, but once you get to the site you would think you are in the middle of nowhere. Very nice well kept site. Grass nice and short. The toilet and shower facilities were very clean and modern. The pub price were good and food was also to a good standard and excellent value for money. We didn't use any other facilities swimming pool etc so wouldn't be fair to comment but swimming pool looked busy and clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skoda Bob 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed from the 1st to the 13th of July

An excellent site, extremely clean washing and shower facilities,

All individual level camping and touring pitches.

Food in the clubhouse is excellent, and competitively priced, even the chocolate fudge cake that comes in massive portions, with a good dollop of cream and ice cream, the portions are that good even SWMBO was stumped by a salad LOL.

The only downside is no wifi but I understand this could be in the pipeline once BT get their fingers out and install fibre optic cables in Devon.

Outside heated swimming pool cleaned and checked daily.

Thoroughly enjoyed the site and company.

Thank you

PS, if you do not want to pay Plymouths extortionate parking charges, you can get a number 50 from the end of the road, (3 min walk) that takes you into the city centre and runs every 20 mins

Note to self stop calling Steve the barman, Tim, lol 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Riverside Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3461 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement