Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Plymouth > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Leigham Manor Drive
Marsh Mills
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL6 8LL
Tel: 01752 344122
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mary0311 9 reviews from this member

 The campsite is lovely with stunning trees and well manicured lawns. We had a hard standing pitch which was well sized, we were only there for a weekend visiting our son who is at Uni so didn't put an awning up but looked big enough to do so.

As it was low season the facilities weren't open but this didn't bother us. We took our 2 Labradors with us and they loved the dog walk next to the river, this leads to some fantastic walks across the countryside, we were extremely lucky that we picked a weekend with wall to wall sunshine.

The toilet blocks are clean and smell fresh and were always empty but this was low season and a lot of the pitches were empty so can't comment what they would be like peak season.

The reception staff were very friendly and with the security barrier at the entrance to the site this made you feel secure.

The only down side to our stay was that the site warden shouted at my husband to get off the grass he was waiting with our two labs on leads on the camping pitch opposite our caravan while I locked up. This upset me as we are considerate campers, but to their credit they came across later and apologised, they thought we were just walking the dogs on the pitches and they didn't realise that we were actually sited there. This does show that if you camp in a tent it will be clear of any dog mess.

We would definitely recommend this site and intend to return here if we can get in later this year for our sons graduation 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jjlj95 27 reviews from this member

 This site was easily accessed off the main road. It was well laid out with level pitches. The shower blocks, washing up areas and laundry room weren't very modern, but all worked perfectly and were kept beautifully clean.

The people at reception, which sold basic supplies, were very friendly and helpful. I adored swimming in the outdoor pool, so was very disappointed that it closed for the season for the second part of my stay ( I left on 19th September )

Although a barrier entry system was not in place, the site still felt reassuringly secure. It was just a short drive into Plymouth City Centre, but felt lovely and rural, Plymouth Theatre Royal was 4.9 miles away and reached by car in 13 minutes.

I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandymac 1 review from this member

 Visiting Plymouth as relatives there, would normally stay in a hotel but wanted to try camping for a change.

Myself and my daughter stayed on the site but relatives visited, and all were made to feel welcome.

Staff very friendly and found the site very clean and tidy.

We were near the second shower block and found them clean at all times, also found very little noise later in evenings.

The pool was nice and even though cloudy days we used it and it was heated, baby pool was warmer and both were checked a couple of times by the staff.

Went to the club house and the Karaoke was not great, but then is it ever, but the tribute act on was excellent and fun too, only thing could fault was games room very old fashioned for teens but all games were cheap!

Definitely will camp there again, and try other sites, converted from hotels. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferga2 11 reviews from this member

 Family of 5 and stayed one night enroute to Brittany then again on the return journey.

This site is OK to use the night before or after the ferry and has a dedicated hard stand area near the entrance with electric hook up where it is not required to un-hitch the caravan.

Both showers / toilet blocks are reasonable but unfortunately, the dish washing area is only at the block furthest away from the entrance. This leaves a fairly long walk from the entrance where the touring caravans are parked overnight for the ferry.

Also, the bar is near the entrance and with the Karaoke, you probably won't get an early night for the early morning ferry.

The children's play park is reasonable and the pool is very clean. There is also a dedicated small swimming pool for infants.

The trees and hedges on this site are very well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kim c 1 review from this member

 Excellent site.

Very clean and well maintained. Staff very helpful.

Pitches are large and well organised. They placed us in a quieter part of the site as we had 2 small children but whole site is safe for them to run around.

Toilets etc very clean although some of the shower heads were lower than others but only got caught out once!

Bar, restaurant and take away very reasonably priced. Food excellent - very tasty.

Good location - short bus ride to Plymouth and Park & Ride only a 10 min walk away with buses every 10 mins. Close to motorway but no noise from it.

Childrens play area could do with a bit of updating but our kids loved it and they are probably the best judge of this.

Very enjoyable stay and cant wait to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Turner2 54 reviews from this member

 Arrived in the middle of Winter but was made welcome by the Wardens. The facilities are looking tired but as the site is now allocating space to Park Homes, I guess the writing is on the wall. All the facilities apart from the toilet block were closed and due to the extremes of the Winter all the water was frozen up. The good thing as far as the site is concerned is the location, which is close to the Plymouth Park and Ride and the nearby Retail Park which includes Sainsburys and MacDonalds. Its a 15 minute walk to both. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RibTime 6 reviews from this member

 The site is off the main A38 and will signposted from this road. Located in beautiful grounds which are well looked after, all the pitches are flat.

The welcome I received was ok, not overly friendly nor unfriendly, and administration was done quickly.

Pitch size was ok, but if I had brought my Montana 6 it wouldn't have fitted, but then again I didn't specify I was in a large tent when booking. It rained heavily while I was here and I didn't see any flooding or pitches which hadn't drained well.

There is a club house which was closed but I see previous reviews seem positive.

There are two shower blocks. The one nearest the entrance has 3 or 4 showers all of which have a weak pressure and you can't adjust the temperature which is a pain as I found the water way to hot. The other block in the middle has higher pressure showers and again you can't adjust the too hot, imo, temperature. Both blocks are a little tired but perfectly ok.

Dish washing facilities were fine with hot water available all the time.

The campsite is on an approach path for an airport and so far I have a low flying helicopter at 7am and a largish jet at 7.30am, so have no choice but to be awake (grrr).

Would I come again: yes 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sooz 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst visiting Plymouth as it is a convenient site for the town. The site is located beyond a retail / industrial site in a pleasant area of woodland.
Not overly friendly and I would describe the site as tired - facilities in need of attention: shower cubicles inadequate although clean. We were rushed off our pitch on the morning of departure because they wanted to fell a tree which made me feel harassed. However I expect it would be a lovely site for families in the summer when the pool and facilities are open. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahjane77 2 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at riverside camp site. It is set in lovely surroundings considering its location.

Very easy to get into plymouth which there is plenty to see and do.

Showers and toilets were always clean, plenty of hot water.

The grounds were always tidy and staff were very friendly.

Children enjoyed the park and the swimming pool was a great hit.

Would definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raggedkiss 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week's stay at Riverside and were sadly disappointed.

There was no dog exercising area even though I had rung prior to booking our holiday to check that there was. Dogs must be exercised offsite.

After arriving at lunchtime we were surprised to find the camp shop didn't even sell bread so wouldn't recommend arriving without a trip to nearby Sainsburys.

We were appalled to find only 3 fire extinguishers on site that were not condemned!

The play area was fine for our 6 year old but frankly unusable for our 2 year old and also not fully fenced off even though situated alongside the entrance road to the site.

The swimming pool was one of the main selling points of the site and we were unhappy to find the main pool was icy cold and not filtered. After questioning staff we were told first time that it was on and we couldn't expect it to be hot. When we asked a second time we were told that they had run out of gas for the pool but it was now sorted. The pool was still not working when we left.

Their claims to being a 'quiet, secluded site' were laughable as the nights were backed by noise from the road, rail and airport.

Showers and toilets were basic but clean. Would recommend they invest in better bins as every morning we were greeted by rubbish strewn all over toilet block area by animals/birds. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Riverside Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement