Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Leigham Manor Drive
Marsh Mills
Plymouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL6 8LL
Tel: 01752 344122
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 79 Reviews
                8/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenD61 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, staff and facilities, nothing is too much trouble. Well maintained and clean and good sized pitches. Facilities are well planned and plentiful. Great location for exploring the local area. Easy to use public transport and there is a supermarket within a reasonable walk if you don't wish to drive. Will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anneparker 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one Monday night mid September. Lovely site with helpful welcoming staff. Toilets and showers clean. However we arrived and were very disappointed to find that the Bar, takeaway and restaurant are closed on Mondays. There's no mention of this on the website so I'd planned on being able to eat there. Certainly not good value for the night we were there.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlotte R 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous 4 nights in our tent here - testing our ability to camp with children! The campsite is immaculately kept, spotless toilet blocks. The children's play area was nice for my 3 year old - no good for younger toddlers/babies and no swings. Basic but nice swimming and paddling pool, a little chilly but fine once you're in! All flat pitches. Possible lack of shade in some. Loads of water points around the site. Well lit. As 'tent people' we felt a bit outnumbered by caravanners! And there were no good paths from the camping area to the looks- fortunately people didn't complain about us trekking by their vans. Friendly and helpful staff. Shop not open at most useful times (breakfast and dinner), stocked small range of essentials. Happy for us to put our ice blocks in the ice-cream freezer. Large Sainsburys located max 10mins away, also Lidl close by. Great location for Plymouth and SW Devon / SE Cornwall tourism.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

We booked three pitches for various family members and the staff managed to get us all on adjoining pitches. The welcome was very friendly as were all our interactions with the staff.

The site is incredibly sheltered in the Plym valley, despite gales all along the coast there was barely a breath of wind. It is also very secluded from the surrounding area with only the occasional car to be heard on the adjoining country road.

All the pitches are flat and well tended with mature trees and shrubs breaking up the fields. Water is from standpipes Pegs go in easily.

Loos and facilities were never anything but clean and never too busy.

BBQs are allowed as long as they are off the grass, the site provides bricks for the purpose.

The location of the site is ideal for visiting Dartmoor, the Devon/Cornish coast and, of course, the many attractions of Plymouth.

If we are down this way again this site will start at the top of the list. Well recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Charson 1 review from this member

We were using our sons 6 berth motor home to give our 4 grand children a mini holiday. We had no idea what to expect but pleased to say we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the shower and toilet blocks, and the entire site was well looked after. The pools were lovely and clean, unfortunately it was very windy and made the water quite cool, but that is not a fault of the site! The entertainment in the evening was good but we had little ones so not able to stay, we thought the drinks in the bar were reasonably priced. All members of staff were pleasant and helpful, it was an enjoyable 3 days, thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Slaphead 2 reviews from this member

We booked a pitch at this site on returning from France.

We were disappointed to find after paying 23.30 for a pitch to be parked on a bit of tarmac off site. Don't use this site for a ferry stopover, ! Ripp off! Use a lay by near the port.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RBSB 5 reviews from this member

Lovely secluded sight with very good clean facilities. I was a bit dubious about checking in as I had read that the owners were rude and they did not accept commercial vehicles. We have a VW T5 which was converted from new and as the website also says management reserve the right to refuse admission I was apprehensive as to whether we would be allowed to pitch up.

After being welcomed in a very friendly manner, even though we were a couple of hours early (we had set off at the crack of dawn to avoid traffic) we were told our pitch might not be free as checkout was not till eleven for current occupants, but if it was we could pitch our awning.

After finding the pitch empty we settled in and decided to go for a wander.

The surrounding area is lovely national trust owned woodland with fantastic cycle routes and walks. There were even designated cycle paths to take you into Plymouth centre. The pool is a bit dated and chilly but my daughter didn't seem to mind and she enjoyed the play area although this is quite near the site entrance. The shop does not stock perishables or alcohol as there is a large supermarket across the main road. Didn't use the bar but we did buy a couple of bags of chips and these were good. The other campers were extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

This is a great site and I would recommend it to all.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gainfield 14 reviews from this member

We found this site very easily it is well signposted off the roundabout. It has everything that is important yo us. Convenient for Park & Ride, picturesque walks even a Steam Railway close by(Sundays only) and good cycling tracks. Saltram House is worth a visit only a 20 minute walk away. The food in the Takeaway and Restaurant was very good the Bar stocks a decent range of beers and is not expensive as some sites can be. Facilities were well kept and abundant more than enough for a fairly full site(not a fan of the push button showers) but they worked very well water was always hot enough and didn't have to wait too long for the cold water to clear (sometimes a shock in the morning. Would definitely book again next time we are in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon-john 2 reviews from this member

We used this place as an overnight stay prior to an early ferry departure the next day. When we arrived reception said best to go in our 'overnight area' Ok we thought although it was pretty much a shabby tarmac car park with a few hook ups. All OK so far, but a bit miffed to pay top rates for a less than desirable pitch, but France beckoned the next day so what the heck. As the night progressed and the car park filled with guests for a birthday party in the adjacent clubhouse the noise increased and we had to also listen to a local singing act until nearly midnight, just what you want when you are setting alarm clocks for 6am. Then it appears that the toilets are used by local taxi drivers at any hour. Not the best night we have had in Plymouth, won't be using the site again, a shame as it is a nice location.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beejay580 1 review from this member

We are fairly new to caravanning and this was the first site we used and this visit was our third, we just love it here. Shower facilities warm and clean and they now have a purpose built wet room and toilet for the disabled (my husband registered disabled), this facility was an added bonus. They always give us a pitch close to all facilities, ie water, waste water and elsen points and of course the shower blocks and new disabled wet room. It's hard to believe that this site is so close to Plymouth City centre, you almost feel you are in the heart of the country. Shops, restaurants and pubs very close by and bus stop outside of site if required. Tried the takeaway on site, it was very good and all food cooked to order, and the same staff prepares food for restaurant so guess that would be good too. All staff very friendly and helpful, will definitely return.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019