Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Zeacombe House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Tiverton > Zeacombe House Caravan Park Reviews

Zeacombe House Caravan Park
Blackerton Cross
East Anstey
Tiverton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX16 9JU
Tel: 01398341279
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobsky 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a great weekend at Zeacombe House. We were delayed on the way down due to an accident on the M5, we phoned to let them know we would be late arriving and this was no trouble whatsoever

The pitches are all excellent and have plenty of room for car, caravan & awning, all immaculately kept. The showers/toilets are very clean and always had nice hot water available.

Just a couple of notes; the site is isolated and if you want peace and quiet with no internet or mobile coverage this ticks all the boxes; The nearest shop is 6 miles away as stated in the web page so don't forget anything;

Please call to book, this is stated on the website but we all tend to email these days and as said previously there is no internet coverage.

To sum up, peace and tranquillity with great hosts within travelling distance of lots to do, we will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an unplanned week's stay at Zeacombe, an adults only site. We phoned the day before arrival to check availability as the weather looked good for the next several days. When we arrived we were surprised to find how quiet the site was, very few visitors.

We were cordially greeted by the owner who offered tea or coffee while we set up. Booked in on their 7 day rate as it's cheaper than paying for 6 on the 'daily' rate.

We were offered the choice of several pitches either in the main park or the 'back' field. We chose the back field as it was furthest from the road and surrounded by 6 - 8ft hedges for shelter. The only downside is the lack of a view from here.

Traffic noise was not a problem and rarely heard. The grass was short and lush, better than our lawn at home. Pitches were massive and all had EHU included in the price (which we didn't use). There were plenty of hard standing pitches for caravans or campers.

Loo's and washing up room were always immaculate and hot water was free and on tap all day, including the showers. Drinking water was at several stand-pipe locations.

The site has a sparsely filled 'shop' (no milk for example) and a handy 'Information kiosk' with the usual pamphlets, books, maps etc. There is no really local shopping, the nearest supermarkets are at South Molton or Tiverton (8 - 10 miles).

We used a (Cobb) barbecue most evenings and other 'off the ground' barbies were in evidence. No campfires though. There were plenty of well behaved dogs in evidence, in fact I think we were the only occupants without a dog.

The surrounding area has several NT properties which we visited eg Dunster Castle, Knighthayes Court, Arlington Court. Of course the area is superb for walking, Valley of the Rocks, Doone Country, Tarka trail, Exmoor and coast. We easily filled a week and could have filled two without difficulty.

This site is somewhat more expensive than we would normally choose but I think the facilities and quietness were worth it (especially if you use EHU). We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the site without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SDB321 1 review from this member

 Just retuned from a fabulous holiday in Devon.

We had a great week at Zeacombe House, easy access to Minehead, Tiverton, Barnstable, etc,

Excellent extra large pitches

A lovely site that's very well run and kept in every aspect Toilets and wash rooms very clean and plentiful

Its an adult only site and we have met some lovely fellow campers

Thankyou to Lynn and Pete who were very helpful and hospitable 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonybriers 3 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say? welcomed by lynn and shown to a splendid pitch. As I saw everyone was. Good size with neighbours either side but loads of room between us.

Grass was well maintained by pete. Spotless toilets and washing up room. All the people that were there was very friendly. You cant believe that two people can do so much work to make this site work so well.

Keep up the good work and we for definite will love to come and see you both again. Lets hope for better weather than this Jubilee year. I'm sure that if pete and lynn could have changed the weather they would have done. This did everything else to please all the customers! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harveysmum 11 reviews from this member

 Quite the best site we have stayed at in the UK. Lynn and Pete do their utmost to be helpful and to make you feel welcome.

Very large pitches, some hardstanding and some good, flat, grass. Immaculate grounds with plenty of discreet bin/water areas.

Shower block was always spotless and has everything you'd want for comfort.

Nice clean dog exercise area and also plenty of country lanes to amble through. To top it all, their on-site catering was a great idea - good wholesome pub-type grub at extremely competitive prices.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Three Amigos 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming, evening meal service, collect the good grub take it to your caravan/tent, enjoy, just take the dirty dishes back.

Good grassy pitches, well spaced out and several hard standings, water points near to pitches,

Toilet block very clean and well maintained. Separate shower cubicles, one with bar for disabled, does take moments for hot water to come through. Washing and laundry room tumble dryer and ironing,

Dog walk, lots of country walks as it sits on the edge of the moors, Exe valley. Lots of scenery,

Well placed to get to all of north Devon. Nearest good shops are south moulton, Barnstaple 20 mins. Plenty to see and do in the area. 30 mins plus to get to cider farms in Somerset. Caravan/tent spares shop not to far away. Exeter about 1 hour Plymouth 1.30 hrs. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: WWLL 60 reviews from this member

 We visited Zeacombe House as part of our tour of the West Country.We stayed two nights.

When making the booking just a day ahead we were in an area with poor mobile reception and the owner of Zeacombe House without being asked very kindly retuned my call from her land line making the booking much easier than it would have otherwise been.

The site has really large pitches making it quite private and making for a really green site with unspoilt views.

We used the meal service which was very efficient and we enjoyed a nice hot meal.

The one of the shower / sink / toilets was bathroom style which was very convenient.

Whilst at Zeacombe House we were fortunate to see a rare bird a Albino Sparrow.

We visited a great pub near enough to the site The Anchor Inn at Exbridge, and enjoyed a really tasty locally caught fish lunch. We were able to park our camper in the carpark with no problems.

We enjoyed our stay at Zeacombe House. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely landscaped site with generous pitches from a tarmac drive around the site & a very well equipped toilet/shower block and laundry room. The site we feel has all you need whilst away from home. There is easy access with no narrow roads to negotiate. Supermarket - Tiverton or South Molton with all other town facilities. There are 3 National Trust Properties & good walks here in North Devon & on Exmoor. Visited Lorna Doone Valley for a walk & Tarr Steps from Withypool along the river also Dunkery Beacon from Luccombe. Nothing within walking distance of site. We really enjoyed our stay here. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Badpianoplayer 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 8 wonderful nights at Zeacombe House site. The pitches are very large and all occupants are purposefully spaced out to get the most privacy.

The bathroom block is very clean, with loads of hot water at all times of day and no waiting.

We tried the on-site food service on our first night and found it to be very tasty, well presented and most welcome after a 4 hour drive and 2 hours of assembling the tent.

The site is well located for Exmoor and I would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterchapman374 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an enjoyable stay at Zeacombe House.On arrival we were met by Linda and given a cup of coffee which was very welcomed after an early journey. She also told us of a fantastic 'greasy spoon' where we were able to get a breakfast, we would never had known about this place!

Tents usually go in the back field but as my daughter was arriving the following day we were given pitches in the 1st field so as we could be next to each other and were even able to choose which pitches we wanted.The owners are so down to earth and accommodating, just our type of people.

The pitches are lovely and level and the site was immaculate with well kept grass. All the usual amenities were available, toilets, showers, sinks and separate wash cubicles for privacy and cleaned daily.The wash up and laundry are inside as well so not cold!

You do need a car to go anywhere from site but this suited us as it made it peaceful. Exmoor was only a 5 minute drive away, where we enjoyed a lovely hike.

It was lovely to be able to order food from the site at a time to suit us (meals served between 6 and 8pm) It was piping hot and very reasonably priced. No cooking, no washing up, just take the plates back (although we did wash up as my husband didn't feel right taking back dirty plates!)

There is an information centre on site with plenty of leaflets and mags etc on places to visit and things to do.

The pitches are huge with more than enough room for privacy and the site is beautifully landscaped.

All in all a lovely stay at a fab site and we will be definitely returning and becoming one of Linda's regulars! 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Zeacombe House Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Zeacombe House Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Zeacombe House Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tiverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement