Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Columb > Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning
Trewan Hall
St Columb
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR9 6DB
Tel: 01637 880 261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 08/05/2021 to 17/09/2021
           08/05/2022 to 14/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rain Magnet 1 review from this member

 The wardens were great from our arrival. Being the first time we'd camped for more than a weekend this was helpful. The shop is well stocked and not over priced.

Despite another terrible summer and the field becoming quite boggy indeed the facilities were kept clean and the staff were out early to mop up the previous night's mess.

The laundry facilities are excellent and there are plenty of great places within an hours drive.

All in all a great experience and if we find ourselves down there again we wouldn't hesitate to use the site.

Oh yes, and even over August bank holiday it was busy but quiet after dark so our two youngsters weren't woken up by selfish neighbours - those that we had were great and really friendly.

Keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 18 reviews from this member

 Visited this delightful site this year and was very impressed. The site is beautiful and although large does not look like a holiday site at all. The grounds are well kept and Trewan hall itself is beautiful. It is also ideally located for the best Cornwall has to offer.

The shop is great and sells much more than basics and is very reasonably priced. Kids can have loads of freedom roaming around and enjoyed ping pong and the park. There is also a large area set side for ball games.

This site reminds me good old fashioned camping where you found a piece of grass you liked and pitched in it. This is unheard these days usually with people requiring hookups but at Trewan you can do this even with electric there are no pitches at all as such. Even on a busy August bank holiday however we found a great pitch as the place is so massive.

The only bad points are the facilities. There did seem enough toilets (All unisex) and all with own sinks inside cubicles. However washing up was sometimes an issue with only 5 sinks for lots of units on electric field. Also toilet cubicles have no soap or handdrying available so that is a pain carting your towel around and soap. That however is the only fault really.

We did leave this site earlier than planned simply because of the weather. What a dreadful summer! The field became very muddy with campers resorting to wellies to get around. There was mud all over and of course no chance to use the delightful beaches that were so near this great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sasquatch2 2 reviews from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here. The weather was great for the first day, but unfortunately went downhill after the bank holiday weekend. Most of the entertainment was finishing (end of the school holidays) & it was a shame there were no bats for the table tennis table.
This was not a problem as we went out to Padstow (¾ hour queue for Rick Stein’s fish & chips—but they were REALLY good). Cycled the Camel Trail (excellent), body-boarding at Perranporth for a couple of days, Crealy adventure park (for children under about 12 or so, & take a change of clothes as you’ll get very wet!). Eden project (a short drive—get there when it opens & do the tropical dome first as this gets very crowded). The Doctor Who exhibition and a walk at Land’s End.

Didn’t use the pool as we had such fun elsewhere. Tractor gave rides to children as it drove around the site in the early evening. Not sure if this was done all week as we were quite often out at that time.

The campsite was quite full, but we got a good, flat pitch at the top of the big field, sheltered by a couple of trees. Nice views and quiet. Cooler under the trees along the road, which is surprisingly busy for a single track. The grass was in good condition, even after the wet summer season.

Like other reviewers, I felt that a lack of soap/hand drying in the big field toilet block was a shame (I think there is soap in the block by the shop). Just remember to always have your soap with you & to always have something on your feet as the blocks are usually muddy (even the showers). Not excellent, but not really bad, either. Water quite slow to come out of the showers near the big field, but always seemed to have hot water. Better showers & toilet block over by the smaller, family field, which has a good children’s play area nearby & the hairdryer point.

Dishwashing area was always quite busy, but seemed clean enough.

Laundry and drying room very good. Don’t need any soap as the machines automatically pump it in, & there’s a hanging dryer which is very useful.

The shop seemed reasonably stocked, but was running things down for the end of the season. The staff were helpful.

Absolutely no problem with dogs, even on a busy weekend. I would recommend this beautiful site, & would come back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jthtgtrt 4 reviews from this member

 We had a great time here, despite weather! We camped in the main field (closer to the shop), as we didn't need EHU. During the very wet weather the ground stayed mud free - I think they have more problems with the wet in the other field as there was an area there that was 'Out of bounds'.

We found the toilets to be adequately cleaned, although found the lack of soap/ hand dryers to be a problem if you nipped in without your own stuff. Showers nice and hot. Bathroom near shop - free hot water for bath - great on a cold wet day!

Facilities great - pool clean but cold! Table tennis and games room kept teenagers happy, although the charges for Nintendo etc quite steep.

Family run and very helpful - we ran out of gas on a Sun pm and they lent me a spare bottle and correct regulator until we got new bottle (couldn't buy their Calor as we had borrowed a Shell gas cannister). Phoned round for me to get local suppliers (Mole valley farmers in St Columbs - very handy!)

Lots to do in area - we did Eden, beaches, surfing (on the only sunny day!) Flambards, Goonhilly.

Entertainment - kids enjoyed the magician. Husband really enjoyed the brass band. Only entertainment in main schools hols, so we missed out in first week as during Scottish hols.

All in all, would recommend for quiet family holiday! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel+Jon 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite with friendly staff. Huge pitches and plenty of room for our kids to play.

My eldest loved the heated swimming pool and enjoyed the woodlands where he told us daily stories of his camp adventures with the other kids on the site. However there the child's play area - swings etc. Was not located on the main site and if one was created on the main site it would make a good addition.

Washing up facilities are excellent and a great place to meet other campers when the weather is not too kind.

Great location to visit the surrounding area.

Only downside for us was that there was not enough electric hook-ups to attach to in the main field and a few more would help site. Luckily we had a cable extension so we could position our tent on a full sun pitch!

Overall a well run site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Splodge 3 reviews from this member

 At Trewan, all the staff are friendly, helpful and professional.

Although no pitches are allocated, we had no trouble finding one with a hook-up, at 10am on a bank holiday Saturday. The ground is uneven, so be prepared for slopes.

Due to a heavy dew in the morning, it is dirty underfoot, and affects the toilet block and showers. The toilets are unisex (except for the odd one that is ladies only). They are dirty most of the time underfoot and I rarely found a clean sink or loo either. I am sure out of season this would be better though. The sinks have no soap or facility to dry hands. The loo roll is nice and soft though!

The waste water disposal is immediately underneath the fresh water supply, which we have not encountered before. All in all, we found the facilities poor. The showers are good (temperature controlled) and no button needs to be pressed. However, the floors are dirty and although a mop is supplied, it is so filthy that it isn't worth using.

The grounds of Trewan Hall are absolutely beautiful. A minutes walk leads you to a vast lawn, perfect for picnics and games. The library is well stocked, and laundry area good. The shop has everything and seems to be open always. Table tennis is available but they had run out of bats, so we couldn't play (bring your own). Other games are available which are mentioned on the web-site. The pool is 50p to swim and is very clean. It is very deep at one end which allows for safe diving. There is a quiet hour at 10am for 'real' swimmers. On bank holiday Saturday, there were 80-100 (I counted) in the pool, and only one lifeguard. No-one was hurt, but I wondered if it was safe. It was, however, the only day it was that full, and it was great fun with the dome up. The shower and loos as the pool side are old but ok. Near the end of the week they did not use the dome even though the weather was cold.

Locally, Dairyland is a great day out with free return for the next 7 days. Very good value. The Camel Trail is a nice flat bike ride with bikes for hire at about £10 each.

The entertainment we saw was ok but a little late for youngsters.

Would I visit Trewan Hall again? Yes, but only with my own loo and shower on board! The pool and grounds make up for the dirty facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Karmagirl 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a brilliant week camping at Trewan Hall. 
First outing with Folding Camper with five children aged between 10 months and 13 years, myself and husband. 
Children couldn't fault the site - loved everything from swimming pool (which they could go in on their own as there were lifeguards) to the table tennis area and 'teenage area' where only adults and teenagers were allowed!  We thoroughly enjoyed it because they did.  The site felt completely safe for children and we were very impressed.  Very rustic feel to the site not at all commercial which we liked.
 
Only two complaints as like other reviews.  Drainage system is terrible.  Sensible campers were prepared with wellies and or flip flops but alas the children's trainers really took a hammering by the end of the week and had to be binned.  To be fair we did have the worst weather on record with constant rain and the mud was terrible. 
 
Other complaint was again the showers and toilets.  A little basic but clean (they left a mop out for you so you could clean after you had used the showers as well as the cleaners cleaning regularly).  However they were free although again some of the showers were not open and on a few occasions we did have to queue.  They were also quite a trek from the electric hook ups so if you have young children it may be advisable to take them all at once!
 
Check out Crealy Amusement Park which is very nearby for a fun day out.  Admittedly we went when it was pouring with rain but after a few wet rides it didn't matter anyway.
 
In summary, would definitely go again.  Don't go if you're after club houses, bingo and discos as you will be disappointed.  However, for good family camping with children, I'd say it's a winner. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyCamper99 3 reviews from this member

 We found the site to be in an excellent location especially for the beaches.  This is a very quiet site even though we were there for the school half term.  Pitching was a bit of a free for all as you are given a number on arrival and have to go in search of your own space.  We wanted an Electric Hook Up and could only find a couple available that maintained the 6m gap from other units.  Some people had pitched in such a way that others could not connect to the same Electric output as them.  This did leave plenty of room around the field as no more units could fit in that required Electric. 
The shop was well stocked, reasonably priced and open long hours (8:30am - 10:30pm).  There was some free entertainment in the barn which was very good and in keeping with the sites family atmosphere.  There was a very good 25m swimming pool which was covered whilst we were there and only cost 50p to use.
However, we were disappointed with the toilet and shower facilities as there were not very many and they were not single sex.  They were quite old and were a bit open to the elements.  There was a queue nearly every time for both toilets and showers.  There were some extra ones but these were locked whilst we were there, I assume they would be open in the main summer period.
The site is located around a very wooded area and became very dark at night as the only lighting was in the toilets.  Getting from the tent to the toilet was a trek in the dark and not one for the children on their own.  After much rain the site became quite wet as there was only a small tarmac road with most of the site being grass. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveandmitch 8 reviews from this member

 First went to Trewan in July 2005 and left early because it didn't stop raining! However we recognised a quality site and went back for a second week in 2006. Excellent site for families without being commercial. The entertainment is spot on - really varied and fun. Facilities are good and the shop is well stocked and always open.
 
The location is spot on between Newquay and Padstow with lots of touristy places within a reasonable drive. Loads of beaches not far away.
 
Coming back to the weather - basically it's pretty changeable so far Southwest. You will probably get some rain but it will clear up if you wait half an hour! Don't trust the forecast. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Boddington 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for two weeks through August this year.

The site is split into two fields. One of which has all the EHU points. They are seperated by the large field in front of the main hall where games can be played/kites flown etc.

We stayed on the EHU field known as Calves Close. There are no marked out and numbered pitches. Upon arrival you are given a simple peg with a number flag that you proudly stick in the ground outside your unit once you have settled. This is nice in that you can pitch anywhere you like on the field, subject to the usual spacing rules etc so long as you can reach a power point. This system did take us a little by surprise though and the EHU's are not easily identifiable when the site is pretty much full. You can decide you like a certain location but can't always see if there is a free socket on the nearest point. We had to jump out of the car and go and physically see if a socket was free. All in all though it didn't cause us much of a problem. Though some people arriving late in the day 8pm'ish and turning dark found it almost impossible to locate a socket.

The entertainment on the site is non-intrusive and very good. The St Dennis Brass Band are superb. And good luck to them in the National Finals in Harrogate next month!

We found no problems with the shower, washing, toilet and wash up facilities. Plenty of showers on the Calves Close side (8 in total I think) and if you choose your time of day well then there was no queue.

The swimming pool is great and has a big inflatable roof should the weather be chilly or rainy and at 50p per person is excellent value. The site shop is well stocked and has plenty of essential items. It is not licenced and we thought this was a good thing as the next progression from that would be a bar and then disco's and then it would be like a Haven Holiday! (YUK!)

The Hill Family and all their staff are superb and run the site very well.

The local area is fantastic with lots of dog friendly or "no" dog beaches depending on your preference.

We enjoyed it so much we will be booking for another two weeks next summer. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Columb      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement