Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Columb > Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning
Trewan Hall
St Columb
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR9 6DB
Tel: 01637 880 261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 08/05/2021 to 17/09/2021
           08/05/2022 to 14/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 41 to 48                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richard707 1 review from this member

 Set in the extensive grounds of a wonderful old house, the site offers two main fields for pitching. Pitching is informal - there are no marked pitches - but you are advised to leave appropriate space between you and you neighbours.
 
Ideally situated for a large number of beaches on the North Cornwall Coast and handy for the Eden Project.
 
Excellent outdoor heated pool with diving board on site for which a small fee is charged ( I think 30 pence).
 
Big area of grass set aside for ball games in the front of the main building. 3 table tennis tables and one or two table football games available
 
Good shop with wide range of provisions. Get in early for fresh croissants.
 
Entertainment in evening strictly low key - provided in the main by locals . No bingo, disco, bar or cabaret.
 
Showers and loos set in woodland and subsequently get a little messy on the floor despite being regularly cleaned. In my view this is the only area  where improvements could be made.
 
Many people, including us, revisit year after year - which says it all really. 


Reviewer: Tailz 1 review from this member

 August 2005
This was our first ever camping holiday as a family so we wanted a site that would not be overly busy and with good entertainment for our 3 kids. I am glad to say we got it spot on. We got a great pitch, plenty of room all round (although this did change near the end of the week but it was just before the bank holiday weekend). There are 3 table tennis tables, video games and a large field for footy and cricket so our kids were well happy and the swimming pool was brilliant and heated. The staff were great and could not have been more helpful and the night time entertainment was fantastic (especially the magician). My only small gripes were lack of showers, only 2 in the mens although there is a block of 4 showers for communal use which did help and I only had to wait once. The mens shower block got a bit whiffy with urine smells and could have done with being cleaned a bit more often BUT none of this in any way put us off and we will definitely go back. 


Reviewer: Freedom Eagle 1 review from this member

 July 2004
This is a Camping & Caravan Club site & if you are not a member, it is well worth joining to be able to go to Trewan Hall alone!
I did think twice about singing its praises here (just keep it all to myself for when we go back this year) but then decided to let you all in on it.
If you want an “all the fun of the fair” type site (with staff to match) it is not for you, the family that owns it also run it....& it shows.
This site is in the most beautiful surroundings & offered us excellent free entertainment every night in the “Long Barn Theatre”
We found it well placed to go off to both coasts & to all the attractions that this part of the world offers, & the large pool more than made up for not being right on the coast as far as we were concerned. 


Reviewer: Karina 2 reviews from this member

 August 2003
I booked this site on the basis of the reviews posted here. After booking however I discovered the comments on the message board, that are generally of a less complimentary nature. I was therefore rather uneasy about my holiday there but decided to go anyway.

We actually had a very good time. We were able to choose our own pitch which was in the small field and units were well spaced. There is a good shop which was open for long hours and the entertainment in the barn was varied and well received. The grounds are lovely and the swimming pool is one of the best I have seen on a campsite of this standard.

The toilet block was old fashioned and could do with modernisation but it was adequate. It wasn't as clean as I would have liked and there were insufficient sinks in the dishwashing area resulting in queues at peak times.

Despite this however we did have an enjoyable holiday there. Trewan Hall does have a nice atmosphere and the staff are friendly.  


Reviewer: liz short 46 reviews from this member

 May 03
Beautiful site. We really enjoyed our stay here. The entertainment and swimming pool went down well with our two children. Shop was excellent selling bbq packs of meat from a local butcher at reasonable prices and anything else you could want. But the main thing we appreciated were the lovely grounds. We are going again in August.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: K Mordan 5 reviews from this member

 May 03
Spent one night at this site and its really lovely. Children loved the play area which is located close to the non-serviced field. There is another feild with serviced pitches.

We were allowed to choose our pitch.

We used a barbeque and they supplied a lightweight block to keep it from burning the grass.

Evening entertainment was very good and the rooms for activities..reading, table tennis, table football nicely kept as well.

Only problem is that the site is on the flightpath for Newquay airport so our morning was disturbed by a few aircraft which is very unusual in Cornwall!

Don't let that put you off though, the grounds are very well looked after, and with a pool which has a cover if necessary is great for families.  


Reviewer: Debbie Thomas

 August 2002
I agree with the previous reviewer. This site is special, and unlike any other we have visited. The entertainment is brilliant, including a play by a local amateur dramatic society. It is definitely not your Karaoke clubhouse type of thing.

They also have a library where you can sit and read or borrow books. You can even take the books home, all they ask is that you leave others in their place.

The shop is well equipped and also does a good takeaway menu. They are really welcoming and the pitches are spacious, following the Camping Club 20 feet rule.

The showers are hot, clean and free. It is worth the camping club membership to be able to stay on this site! 


Reviewer: D.Tonkin

 Aug 2001
This is a lovely clean, quiet site. Large fields for campers and plenty of room for the children to play ball games. There is a heated outdoor swimming pool with a small charge, but it is manned by a lifeguard.
Entertainment in the Barn each evening range from a magician show for the children, amateur dramatics and talks by a local historian.
There is a well stocked shop with reasonable prices on site but no club house (thankfully!).
The staff were friendly and the toilets/showers were very clean. Dogs welcome.
We are returning soon and the children are really looking forward to it. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 48     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Columb      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement