Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Columb > Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning
Trewan Hall
St Columb
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
TR9 6DB
Tel: 01637 880 261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 08/05/2021 to 17/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Johng1 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic setting. The only disappointment was we could only stop ONE night as we had arranged to stop elsewhere the next night with friends.

We would recommend this site to anyone.

To finish of a great stay England beat Germany. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Philippa22 1 review from this member

 Plenty of space, can choose where to pitch.

Kids hid indoors in the library when the weather was not so good. Lovely treat to have a pool, ping-pong tables and evening entertainment.

Clean and modern cleaning facilities and well-stocked shop.

Amazing Cornish beaches nearby and lovely little village St Columb within walking distance. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lankya 1 review from this member

 Was a lovely stay the kids enjoyed it and they said they would go back shame the animals weren't out when we went to look

Facilities were lovely and clean, play park was basic but it was enough for my 5 year old to run around and have fun

Walks were lovely in the fields 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Merisah 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing site! Friendly welcome, clearly top facilities (when lockdown allows) and amazing grounds.

Really beautiful hall as the main setting and well stocked shop.

Nothing too much trouble for staff and clearly a site to visit over and over from chatting to others.

Cannot recommend with more enthusiasm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dellyb 9 reviews from this member

 This an amazing site, lovely pool, clean facilities,

Great on site shop offering freshly made pasties with friendly & welcoming staff,

It has a barn with evening entertainment which we visited a couple of times when the weather wasn't great & enjoyed.

A good location to explore Padstow & other areas of Cornwall.

We would definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzionline 9 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay at Trewan Hall and my family have voted it the best site we've stayed at in the UK.

We normally stay at small sites with allocated pitches. We took a leap of faith since this is a large site where you pitch where you like so long as you are at least 6m away from another tent in all directions. We need not have worried as we had plenty of choice of where to pitch and the site didn't feel over crowded. There's two camping fields. We were in Barn Park which I think is more suitable for people with children as it has a playpark, and there is another larger field with ample space + electric hook-ups. The owners worked hard to keep the showers and facilities cleaned.

There is a third field by the magnificent Trewan Hall, a lovely picturesque setting, which is reserved for ball games, picnics etc and I like that they thought to leave some green space for these kind of activities, when so many other sites night have crammed in more campers.

The entertainment they laid on each day was quality and tasteful, eg the championship standard brass band and lawn games, storyteller, visiting animals for children to hold, and a band playing 80's music.

The pool was a hit and great after a hot day out - they charge 70p at time of writing this review, which is reasonable. There are lots of other things to do on site such as a visit to the library within the Hall which is a nice quiet space for reading, and a room for table tennis - their site gives a full list of activities.

The management of the site really have thought of everything to make camping there easy and comfortable.

The site shop sells hot pastries in the morning, reminding me of French sites we've visited. They sell hot pasties during the day, and microwave meals which they heat up for you. The shop is well stocked with all essentials.

Some nights a food seller arrived on site selling hot food such as pizzas, noodles, fish and chips.

We were non electric and they had an efficient coolblock freezing system in place (they charged around 40p for 4 coolblocks) and the coolblocks are ready to collect the next day and even arranged in alphabetical order by Surname so they're easy to find. Mobile and devices are charged for you in a securely locked cabinet that only the staff can access for 20p for however long is needed. The shower rooms had hairdryers in. We didn't miss EHU at all.

Industrial size washers and dryers and some drying racks are in the laundry for use.

The rule about being quiet from 11pm was strictly observed and I liked that there was a friendly night watchman patrolling at night to ensure it was and that everyone was ok.

Most of the campers we spoke to were on a repeat visit, and some families had been visiting regularly for years, which says a lot about the quality of the site.

There are ample beaches and places to visit locally - (we took full advantage of our National Trust and English Heritage memberships to visit various places in the local area).

We enjoyed the site and the area so much, and felt a week wasn't long enough, so planning two weeks for next year. Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: 47charlottebell 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay here and it has always stuck with me how memorable it was!

It was lovely and quiet and the facilities were fab.

Easy to find and friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim1977 11 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here in July 2015, the first week of the school holidays. We were pitched in Calves Close, the electric hook up field. The field is generally flat at the top and slopes further down. The site has free pitching, so you pitch where you want, as long as you are 6 metres from any neighbours (and can reach the hook up post). The site was fairly quiet and we had a huge amount of space around us, and no one to one side or in front until our last day. The 6 metre rule was enforced by the warden, someone was made to move their van and awning further round the field, although the warden kindly helped them move.

The new toilet block was superb.

Trewan Hall is quite unique in that it has a heated pool and evening entertainment, but remains a quiet family site. There is no bar and the shop does not sell alcohol. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with a quirky, old fashioned feel. The entertainment takes place in an old barn, and is advertised each day by funny cartoon posters that the owners put up. The entertainment was quality, not tacky. St Dennis brass band etc.

The pool is life guarded and thanks to the dome was lovely and warm in what was a mixed weather week. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, or just 2 or 3 other families. The changing rooms are pretty tired but are functional. Much of it has not changed since I last visited 25 years ago, but that's not a bad thing as such, just adds to the sites usual charm. The playground is made up of boats, cars, tractor, train, all made of wood, very unusual. As with the pool, I remember some of them from 25 years ago, but they are well kept and safe.

The site is family run and the warden was helpful and friendly, and took the time to come and chat.

Our kids also enjoyed the new slot car track that has been rebuilt in the round room. In typical Trewan Hall style this is a bespoke wooden set up which must have taken hours of love to build.

Negatives? The shop is expensive, but there are several big supermarkets nearby. The entrances are not on barriers, so maybe not as secure as some sites, but the site itself is not signed from any main roads. You would not know it was there.

This site provided me with many happy memories over many visits as a child. It has lost none of its charm and has improved with the new toilet block. This site remains the site against which I judge all others, and to which so far none have matched. Superb and unique. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Youlbury 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 weeks the staff are great, the grounds are lovely.

I am not fond of the free pitching when it comes to EHU as it is a lottery on what pitch you get and some will end up with an expansive and large area free from other units and some will look cramped; however there is a 6m limit in place.

We found there was some inconsiderate pitching but it didnít spoil our stay. The site was at capacity and now and again it showed in the modern showers mainly down to lots of grass been trudged in. Some people will clean up after themselves some don't!

Great place to tour and nothing is too far away, St Columb has some interesting pubs with some interesting locals worth the 15mins walk up and downhill.

Pool was nice but had the cover over with the hit and miss weather, entertainment was fine when ventured down.

We were in the middle calvesí field and was exposed to some very high speed gusts.

This campsite is celebrating its 50th anniversary and you can understand why people return generation after generation.

We will return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S11Steve 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 10 days at this wonderful location, and couldn't ask for more. The site was easy to find of the A30, in a wooded area with good pitching ground and excellent facilities.

The toilet and shower block was cleaned regularly throughout the day, the shop was well stocked and all at very reasonable prices. There was plenty of activities to entertain kids of all ages, from playgrounds, to video games room, and secluded barn areas for the older kids.

It is a short drive from Newquay, or a 15 minute walk into the village. We also took the time to visit a lot of the attractions in the Cornwall area.

We did have some rain over the 2 weeks, but the ground was well drained, and the driveways around the site ensured that the grass was not churned up.

The pool area was well kept, and when the dome was up it almost felt tropical underneath it.

Criticisms, I'm genuinely struggling to find anything significant. The shop may benefit if it sold a small selection of wine/beer and cigarettes, but I appreciate there is a cost to do this with licencing etc. Maybe also a supply of logs for campfires wouldn't go amiss, but this was more down to our lack of organisation!

It is quite close to the airport, but it is mainly light aircraft and pleasure flights and not really obtrusive at all.

We were not surprised to find many returning visitors, some who have been coming back for over a decade, and indeed we have already booked again for next year. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Trewan Hall Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Columb      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4953 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement