Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Inver Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Dunbeath > Inver Caravan Park Reviews

Inver Caravan Park
Houstry Road
Dunbeath
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW6 6EH
Tel: 01593 731 441
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 17
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 37 Reviews
                9/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 31 to 39                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cwilkinsonfamily 21 reviews from this member

 Stumbled on this absolute little diamond of a site after I couldn't get into Wick because they closed for the season earlier than stated on their website. Reckoned this place would be better than wild camping and my goodness was I right. Okay so it is quite close to a road but Eddie Stobart wasn't tearing up and down it. The owner was friendly and informative, the site is small and, when it's full, I could imagine it would be quite chummy, but the views down to the beach are lovely and the price is reasonable. The facilities though are second to none! 3 shower rooms complete with their own toilet, drench showers and enough room to keep your clothes dry, get yourself dry, get dressed and have a wee bit of a barn dance as well! Spotlessly clean, the owners here could show some sites a thing or two. I looked at this site as a last resort but I would now recommend it as a first choice for this area and I will be back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rosstheboss 5 reviews from this member

 This site is very easy to find - just off the A9 at Dunbeath. There are 5 hard standing pitches and a larger grass area for tents. If you manage to get in one of the front pitches you will have a good view of the sea and cliffs. There are fields on 2 sides of the site, one with highland cows at the time, so nothing too noisy. However because it is quite close to the road there is some traffic noise.

The hard pitches themselves weren't too level but nothing some ramps couldn't sort out. Due to the overall size of the site they were quite close together - probably the minimum 6 metres but we didn't find it a problem at all.

The toilet/shower block is brand new, so much so that you could still smell the fresh paint! There are 3 showers and rather nicely you get a room to yourself with the shower, toilet and a sink - none of your cubicles with a curtain! The only draw back here was that there are 2 plus a disabled one so when the site is busier you may find yourself waiting.

The warden wasn't around when we arrived but you are informed to take a pitch and see the warden when they are back - which we did. She was around the site quite a lot chatting with people and helping them out - very friendly and helpful! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nht2010 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - beautiful location, warden very friendly and welcoming. Pitches are round the edge of a field with an open space in the middle. The site advertises itself as 'taking all motorhomes, even ones you've converted yourself' and in fact there was a couple in a converted army truck whilst we were there!

Facilities clean and adequate: outdoor dishwashing with hot water and two toilets, each with a shower inside. The downside to this is that you'll probably have to wait a while for the loo during the morning rush-hour. An extra WC would make things easier.

Warning: beware the daredevil chicken that got chased out of various vans and then tried to steal our sausages from the frying pan while they were cooking  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 Friendly site, very much a ‘back garden’ feel. The grass is mainly level, slightly stony underneath, pitches are a generous 10m2 (marked). Right on the A9, so there is road noise. Motor home/caravan hard standings at the edge have good views over the water, the rest of us get glimpses. Fields at the back – Highland cows in when we were there.

The facilities are clean and as good as Rhona could make them, but this place will be so much better when the new block is built. At the moment you might end up crossing your legs and wishing that two people weren’t showering at the same time, as there are no separate toilets! The showers are both run off one tank, so be prepared for them to run cold if someone has been in just before you – we tried showering all three of our girls, but the water went chilly when the second was in.

No facilities for children, but they are allowed to play ball games in the centre of the grass. There’s a park a short drive down towards the harbour, and there’s a picnic spot a short walk from there. The Heritage Centre in Dunbeath is worth a look in, the walk up to the broch is easy going and goes past an archaeological dig (open to the public). No midgies! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tom061087 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite while touring the country by cycle. First impressions were good - the site is small but this gives it a friendly feel and everything seemed fairly well kept. Fee payment was the next good impression - prices are very reasonable indeed with a generous discount for 'backpackers' as opposed to those turning up in cars with bigger tents, more relaxed departure schedules etc.

The facilities are very basic but were entirely adequate for our needs. The wash block has two uni sex cubicles containing a shower, toilet, basin and washing machine in one. I'd imagine it gets a bit congested at peak times as someone in the shower renders a toilet engaged, but there was a notice conveying the owner's intentions to build more substantial facilities.

A special mention is required for the showers - not only are they electric but full on power showers, a luxury very very rare in Scottish campsites.

Dunbeath itself is the kind of place you would drive through and fail to really notice. This is because the main road is well above the beautiful coastline which is well worth seeing.

Overall a thoroughly good value campsite with a friendly welcome from owners and guests alike, although I would probably avoid if I knew the site was likely to be busy due to slightly limited/badly designed facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sazzy1966 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed for two weeks over the christmas and new year period 2009. On arrival in horrendous blizzards and deep snow, we were given wonderful assistance after our long 462 mile journey. Fellow caravanners offered cups of tea and hot water to melt the door lock! The sights are breathtaking from the site with the castle and the sea clearly visible and surrounded by hills and mountains. The toilets and showers were warm and extremely clean and well maintained.

On Christmas day, the proprietors, Rhona and her husband Keith invited all on the campsite for the most amazing Christmas meal, all three courses and I am sure this is up and above what any other site would have offered at this time of year. The hard standings were perfect and the electric hook ups excellent.

It is a wonderful place to be sited, not too far from John O Groats and Wick but Dunbeath does have its own picturesque little beach, a cove really, with the most amazing views of the castle. Highly recommended to other caravan/tent users and would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mmurfitt 5 reviews from this member

 Four of us stayed at this site with a motorhome and tent as our last stop on a cycle ride from Lands End to John O'Groats. The close location to John O'Groats is great.

The site itself is quite small but well appointed. The pitches have been newly levelled and are very neat and tidy. The facilities are quite basic but adequate and the owners have made an effort to put in extra little touches such as heaters in the shower room. They have plans to extend and improve the shower/toilet facilities and I expect they will be very nice once done.

The views are great from the site as you can see the sea, and the castle which is nice, and it looked like there are plenty of walks around, although we didn't have time to go on any ourselves. There is a small village nearby where you can buy supplies or head to the pub. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Archery63 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here beginning of May 2007. This is a nice site and we stayed in the static and it was very comfortable with everything you need for your stay. The owner is very nice, however the static could do with a dust as there were a few cob webs around the place.
The local pub is not up to much, we went in for a meal and got told the cook was away for ten minutes or as the bar man said it could be longer, about turn and back out. I must admit I will not be back again as it's not very good, also I don’t think this is a Licensed site as I never seen anything. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Omega99 6 reviews from this member

 Inver Caravan Park is a small family run site. We visited in the summer of 2005 It has 1 acre of level grass so is good for Caravans, Campers, Tents all of which visited whilst we were staying at the site. Showers and toilets are to a good standard and well looked after. Electric hookups were available all around the site. A pub serving food is only a short walk from the site with a small shop available in the village.

From the site you can see views over Dunbeath Bay and the Moray Firth. Well worth a visit to the small beach at Dunbeath, you will probably be the only people on it.

If you want to visit the area without the Caravan or tent the site have two luxury static caravan for hire.

We used the site as a base to tour the very North of Scotland up to John O' Groats and to visit Orkney.  


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 39     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Inver Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Inver Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Inver Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbeath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement