Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park Reviews

Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park
Egton
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 1UA
Tel: 01947 895502
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: AL53HX 22 reviews from this member

 Spent a wonderful week here and just loved it, the wardens were amongst the most friendly and helpful I've come across (even reversed my unit onto it's pitch when I made a hash of it) the site itself is very quiet, set amongst a woodland, where we walked our dog and although he had to be kept on his lead, he was in his element.

The site is isolated from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, (great for chilling out)the toilets are first class and cleaned regularly, and although there are no facilities for children, the ones that were there made their own entertainment.

The shop sold basic foodstuffs only but that is not a problem as there is a Lidl within three miles.

It's ideally placed to tour the wondrous area of the North York's moors, it's three miles to Grosmont, with it's steam trains and sheds and close to Goathland where the series of Heartbeat was filmed.

So all in in all, I can really recommend this site to anyone that enjoys touring the area.

Whitby is a very busy place with parking difficulties, but worth visiting, we parked on the Abbey site and walked down to the town 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dr3w 1 review from this member

 Our second trip to Ladycross was as pleasant as the first (some 4 years ago).

Lovely clean site, welcoming staff and nicely sized pitches. Possibly the cleanest camp-site toilets I've ever used. There seemed to be electric hookups aplenty (though we didn't use one).

The kids, dog and wife all had a great time and we will definitely be back. The site is really well maintained and pleasant to walk around.

Perfect as a spot to relax for the weekend or as a base to explore Whitby, Grosmont etc.

I'd love to see a play area which would raise my feedback for Child Friendliness to a 9. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed from Thursday to Sunday and it did not rain which was a first for us whilst caravanning this year. Check in was quick and efficient and all staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

The site reminds me of French sites, being situated in a pine wood and was a little unkempt.

Our pitch was a hard standing which consisted of very large uneven stones, which had weeds pushing through. The grass pitches were quite large with the grass being cut short. There are two similar toilet blocks which are kept clean and tidy at all times. There are excellent dog walks in the surrounding woods.

My main criticism is that although it is not adult only there are no facilities at all for children and there are signs saying 'no ball games' (what do the owners expect kids to do).

You also need your car as the site is quite isolated.

Egton has two very nice pubs but the village is not really within walking distance as the road is quite busy and has no footpaths or lighting at night. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missprimmy 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of August 2012.

Very quiet and peaceful site, we were allocated pitch 65, which is a grass pitch and was fine, except that we were unable to get any TV reception (Satelite Dish) due to the surrounding trees!

We asked if we could move onto the neighbouring pitch(64)which was a little more open. The reception staff were very helpful and allowed us to move, and we were able to tune our TV without any further problems!

The clean water, and dirty water disposal points were conveniently placed for easy access. The shower/toilet blocks are kept very clean.

The site is conveniently placed for trips to Whitby & Scarborough, we also visited Pickering, Goathland (Aidensfield - Heartbeat)& spent a lovely morning in a rowing boat on the River Esk hired from 'Ruswarp' a small village about 15 minutes drive away.

There are a couple of pub/restaurants a few minutes drive away, we enjoyed a very nice meal at The Old Horseshoe. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BobOn 17 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here whilst visiting Whitby. Van was on hardstanding with hookup and tent on pitch nearby, nestled in the trees. Nature walks around the perimeter of the site.

Good clean facilities. Lots of seasonal vans pitched there so whilst it looked it busy it was quiet when we were there although it was midweek, may be busier at weekends?

We were shown round the new lodge they're in the process of finishing off, looks like it would be very cosy in winter. Didn't see a playground but plenty of space to cycle for children and paths to explore.

About 5 miles from Whitby and all it offers. Would stay again, owners very welcoming and friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandiego870 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days here and found it to be a wonderful spot. Very quiet for the most part except for the occasional fly past from military jets. The site is well kept and the toilet/shower blocks are one of the cleanest we have encountered. The staff were friendly and helpful and despite the awful weather did their duties with good humour. The only drawback we found was that if you wanted to sample the local brews or eat out you had to drive as there was nowhere within easy walking distance. There is not very much for children to do so it's very much like an adults only site but children are welcome there. Should you decide on visiting the Whitby area we would definitely recommend Ladycross Plantation. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Just do it 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely people, facilities were spotless but two factors disappointed me.

The site is now 50% seasonal pitches which as a tourer I don't like and whilst accepted that we've had a lot of rain recently the drainage on site is poor.

I understand they plan more hard standing pitches and they are needed, far too much waterlogged ground, mud and caravans having to be pulled off pitches by the owners.

Elton 5 minutes drive down the road has two lovely pubs, the Wheatsheaf we found to be outstanding, great Landlord and lovely food 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big-dan1973 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site this is in a beautiful woodland setting

Reception staff very nice and friendly and welcoming when we arrived

Showers and toilets were very good and clean

Excellent walks in the woods and dog friendly site too

Just based outside Whitby which is perfect for a day at the coast

Pitches were nice and large with electric hook up points

A really nice site for a relaxing holiday 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyfisher 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site just before Easter. Unfortunately just missed out on the balmy spring and ended up with several inches of snow on the last night! The site is in lovely location and surrounded by trees. The people running the site were very friendly and welcoming. A small shop was on site selling basics. The toilet facilities were fantastic, always clean and hot showers etc. The site appears to cater for caravans primarily with most pitches appearing to be seasonal pitches. They are building lodges and pods too, perhaps more tents will visit in the future. Pitch was ok, though sloping, which isnt too much of a problem for a few nights and so long as your bed slopes in the right direction! Site was on the edge of the moors and very good for exploring the area, with Whitby, one of my favourite places close by. The pub in Egton, the old horseshoe, was very welcoming and served excellent food- recommended. Enjoyed our visit I would certainly consider visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pendry 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week stay at ladycross. What a friendly beautiful & secure site.

A very warm welcome with lots of help. Papers can be ordered & a small shop on site.

Also plenty room on pitch certainly not in next doors caravan. Some sites shove you far too close together.

2 shower block very modern & clean with lots of hot water, i can say the best i have seen in 20 years caravanning. The wash up are was just as good.

Brilliant dog walks in the forest & plenty pooh bins. We did pick up a tick on the dog but that's nature for you. Dogs must be on lead as wildlife about.

The site is a perfect location for all attractions in & around whitby.

Mobile phone reception on virgin was bad, also tv for us was bad as we had no digital.

One improvement for me would be a small playground for kiddies, it would keep them off the roads & away from shower blocks.

All together I would recommend ladycross plantation to everyone, and will definitely go again.

Forgot to say prices are very competitive. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ladycross Plantation Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement