Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brunt Acres Rd
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3PS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 129
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Iggycamper 36 reviews from this member

 Very scenic, well-laid out site to usual CClub standards including Wifi that works well! (caravan and camping club - look and learn!) Short walk to Hawes village with plenty dog friendly pubs - perhaps village a bit too 'touristy' since our last visit about 30 years ago - and strange to relate is now quite dog unfriendly with the exception of the pubs. eg no public land to exercise a dog - have never seen so many 'No Dogs' signs! Our dog happens to be well-trained and does not bother sheep, on or off the lead. Only mentioned this because she was not impressed with the site 'dog walk' as it is just a narrow fenced-in footpath round a field which her training did not allow her to use it as a toilet! A small coppice/overgrown area would have made all the difference especially as a lot of land seems to be available - the large children's field was completely unused for example. Sorry to labour the point but this aspect would prevent us re-visiting what is an excellent site otherwise. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 6 nights as part of our Yorkshire tour. We took a fully serviced pitch as it was all that was available for the full 6 nights. The service pitches had lots of room for car, caravan and awning and of course your own tap, water waste and electric. The site is very well cared for and showers and toilets kept very clean.

You can walk into Hawes from this site and Hawes itself is a lovely wee town with plenty shops and eateries. This is a good base for exploring North Yorkshire and we would have no hesitation in returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4SteadyEddie 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site in June for 4 nights even though the weather was not brilliant it did not take away from the beautiful surroundings. The site is spotless and well cared for by the wardens, keeping up the standards that we have come to expect from caravan club sites. The delightful town of Hawes is a short stroll away with shops which provide for all your needs. There are plenty of walks in the area and scenic drives nearby. We will definitely be back hopefully for a bit longer. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

 Usual caravan club toilet block always in good clean condition, pitches on either side of the entrance road if you use a satellite dish for your t. V. You need to use the pitches on the right as you arrive on site, as the left hand side has a lot of trees, if you pitch next to the farm you may get the smell of the country side, Hawes has four pubs, a spar, fish and chip shop, indian, cafes, . The wensleydale creamery a must, . 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 Lovely Caravan Club site that managed to squeeze us in as a last minute arrival.

Facilities as always very clean, though you do have to remember to take a key with you every time you want to use the loo, shower etc. Some of the pitches are a bit small and close to your neighbour, but others are tucked away with good spacing between units.

If you're approaching Hawes from the M6 then the best route is via the B6255 rather than the A684 which can be very twisty and narrow in places.

Ideally situated in the Dales and only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Hawes with its good pubs and eateries. There are also good outdoor shops, butchers, bakers, cheese shop, fish and chip shop, Spar and a couple of museums.

There are plenty of walks direct from the site, Wensleydale Creamery is on the edge of the village and if you are there on a Sunday and like motorbikes then head for the village centre for a free show. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 31 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this C. C. Site and it was exactly what you would expect a C. C. Site to be. The wardens were lovely and helpful. The shower block was always clean and the site kept tidy.

There appears to be quite a good dog walk although we didn't use it.

There is also a large games room with table tennis and pool, all kept in fine condition although you will have to buy your bats and balls.

The local information room was stacked with stuff and the wardens posted a weather forecast in the window.

My one niggle is the pitch sizes. We've never been on a site with such variation. Some were big enough for a couple of 747's side by side, some just about big enough for a motorbike with panniers. The site was fairly full when we arrived and we had to take a small pitch just big enough for the 'van and awning. The car was parked at the front part onto the road. But there were small 'vans and caravanettes on huge hard standings. We seemed to be quite close to neighbours. I believe most, if not all, had hook-ups

However this is insignificant when you look at where you are. Wow doesn't really cover it.

Even the site has terrific views.

A ten minute walk gets you into Hawes town. This is a lovely place in it's own right. There

Is a superb butchers, Cocketts, who make their own sausages. Try the Wensleydale or the pork and black pudding. They are also a bakers and make beautiful cakes, I ought to know, I love cakes, me. Their Eccles are the best ever and try the Fat Rascals.

There is an early morning newsagents. A Spar, a good chippie, lots of pubs and cafe/teashops, several outdoor shops plus a good sweetie shop.

The best by far is the Wensleydale Pantry above the Spar shop. If you like good quality, unpretentious, home made food this is the place. Massive portions, delicious and very fairly priced.

The Wensleydale Creamery at Gale, just on the edge of the town is a must. You can watch the cheese being made, have a free taster of about 20 different cheeses, have a meal in their own cafe or restaurant then buy some goodies from the shop.

Also worth a visit is the Dales museum. A really good local attraction.

The fact that you're looking at this site probably means you are walkers and this is definitely walking country. Lots of walks from the site and Hawes without using the car, even more a short drive away. Far too many to list.

Settle to Carlisle railway, Richmond, Askrigg, Aysgarth Falls and Wensley are all worth a visit.

Only one word of warning. If you like sitting outside your 'van late at night with a few bottles of wine and some friends and neighbours having a little party you probably won't like it here, you'll probably prefer it much more somewhere else. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: CK+B 39 reviews from this member

 We arrived on this site after 5 nights at Keswick C&CC site which was very wet & muddy. So nice to to have a friendly welcome and find very large hardstanding pitches with dry areas all the way around.

Excellent facilities, always clean and never had to wait. Good on-site dog walk. Only 10 minutes walk into Hawes which has plenty of dog friendly pubs, we ate at the Fountain and the Crown, had nice meals at both. Also shops and tea rooms.

Very useful walks leaflet/map purchased at the reception gave routes from 3-10 miles straight out from Hawes, lovely walking area.

Variety of birdlife on site and in the area.

All in all one of our most favourite sites so far. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimbouk 19 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site and area and can only echo others views of this site.

Standard CC layout and facilities although some pitches were smaller than others and not suitable for use with an awning. Very friendly and helpful wardens

Very easy access to the site although the road from Leyburn to Hawes is very up and down and twisty, not much fun on our way home in the driving rain.

As others have mentioned the main bonus for this site is its location. Pure Yorkshire Dales with great walks on the doorstep, plenty of places and attractions to visit.

Hawes itself is a pleasant 5-10 minute stroll on footpaths has a good selection of shops, proper local pubs and even an Indian restaurant that you take your own drinks to as they don't have a alcohol licence.

A must do is the visit to the Wenslydale Creamery view the cheese making and then fill your boots with as many tastes as you like of the numerous cheeses they make on site. We ended up buying three different varieties and had a lovely evening in the van polishing them of with a nice glass of vino

Liked the site and loved the area, 10/10 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anniemacxx 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site - and I don't think it will be the last! Good CC site in a beautiful part of the Dales. Access to the site itself was easy, and it really is less than 10 mins walk into the town (and I'm no great walker). Toilet block was usual CC standard, there was also a large games room and a lovely circular dog walk. Pitches are all hardstanding, we noticed some were on the small side but if you weren't using an awning this wouldn't be a problem. Lots of birdlife, including a couple of very fat pheasant wandering the site. Wardens friendly and site was well kept.

Hawes is a small market town, there is a good butchers (which also sold cakes which were delicious), a Spa and a very nice grocers shop, all handy for stocking up on provisions. Several pubs, most dog friendly as are many pubs in the area. Good walking direct from the site (even I managed some!).

We had an evening drive over Buttertubs Pass (turn right out of the site and follow the road over the hill!) which is spectacular, dropped down into Muker and had a meal at the Farmers Arms, lovely traditional pub and good food.

Also worth a visit are Aysgarth Falls, Leyburn and Reeth, Middleham and Richmond. A walk round Semerwater is beautiful and peaceful.

We liked the site and loved the area, we will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tosho 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend at Brown Moor, this is a lovely well appointed site, with great facilities and very close to Hawes.

Wardens and Assistants are extremely helpful and keep the site very well maintained and spotlessly clean - just as you'd expect from a Caravan Club site.

Plenty of good walking from the site itself, including the short trek to the Green Dragon and Hardraw Force - some decent guest ales and can recommend the Cheese Board!

In Hawes itself the Wensleydale Creamery is worth a visit (more cheese). Of the pubs in town, found the Fountain to sell the best food with decent atmosphere thrown in. The other I'd recommend for drink and atmosphere is the Board and their very lively Sunday evening quiz! 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2916 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement