Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brunt Acres Rd
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3PS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 129
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 During our 6-day tour of the Yorkshire Dales at the end April/beginning of May we stayed at this CC site in Hawes and it was probably our favourite of the 3 we stayed on.

Easy to find once you've negotiated the 'b' roads across the Dales that the CC site recommend (fab views!). Lovely, quick, friendly check-in by Ros the warden and you get to choose you're pitch. Our hardstanding was massive with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. You can pre-order daily newspapers for collection from reception the next morning. A few holiday essentials (ice creams!) for sale in the shop. Nice information room attached to reception. The central toilet block was spotless and accessed by key only. Washing up room housed in toilet block and plenty of service points around the site. The dog walk on site is superb (one of the best we've come across) - plenty of bins en-route and even poo-scoops/shovels (although there were still idiots who didn't pick up!) stunning views across the Dales too.

Hawes itself is a short 10 minute stroll from the site. Lovely little Yorkshire town and very, very friendly. There's a Spar for essentials but because it's the only 'supermarket' it was expensive. Plenty of pubs - spoilt for choice. ALL doggie friendly. We had a lovely meal in the Crown Hotel one evening - not overpriced either. We arrived on Royal Wedding day so the town was decked with bunting.

We visited the Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes one afternoon. We only did the shop as we had to go in separately because of the dog (not allowed in for obvious reasons!). Bought some wensleydale cheese for our tea that night! Smashing Grommitt!

This is a lovely CC site and we would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from a weekend stay at Brown Moor and we were very impressed,such a nice friendly site.

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly lady who obviously loved her job as warden.

The site has the usual Caravan Club layout of rows of hard standings and a nice clean toilet block.

There is no play area for the children but a 5 minute walk out of the site and towards Hawes village brings you to a nice well kept public play area which my three children all enjoyed.

The little town of Hawes is pretty- as is the Wensleydale countryside.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a New Years break at this site. Booked at the last minute to get away from the usual round of local new year celebrations. Arrived 4pm on New Years eve and were greeted by the friendliest wardens we have ever come across on a CC site.

There were many people on the site who had clearly been there over the whole of the Christmas break which shows you what a nice site it is. All the facilities were top notch, plenty of space and a good mix of pitches all of which were quiet even next to the cow barn on the adjoining farm.

A 10 minute walk brings you straight into Hawes with many lovely shops and traditional pubs. We decided to go as the forecast was fairly good and my husband wanted to cycle 3 large hills in the area. He enjoyed his trip out on the bike on New Years day and managed to 'tick off' Buttertubs Pass, Oxnop Scar and Fleet Moss in his book of the top 100 greatest cycling climbs so he was a happy bunny.

Will definitely be back in the spring! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gee and sue 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with immaculate toilets and showers. The pitches are hard standing which I like, especially having two dogs. There are walks from the site and it takes ten minutes to get into the centre of Hawes where there are a number of shops and pubs.

We visited Dent which is a beautiful village with stunning views and some nice walks. The only down side for us was the dog walk.

We have two cocker spaniels and on the site there are pheasants and rabbits and the dogs were going mad so we had to make an alternative walk, which was just up the road over the bridge into the fields where they could be let off their leads, but that wasn't a problem because it really was a nice site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taffsmate 9 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Brown Moor with our caravan and we were not disappointed. It is in a wonderful location, close to the village of Hawes where you can buy anything you may need (especially on Market Day) and with many walks straight from the site. Regular buses run from Hawes to Bedale and all the villages in between meaning your car can have a holiday as well. If you change bus at Leyburn you can go up to Richmond and beyond.

The facilities at the site were second to none with spotless toilets and showers. The key system is a good idea, as there are so many tourists about they may be tempted to call in just to use the super loos!

Friendly wardens who obviously work hard to keep the site perfect and a pleasure to visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Penny James 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean & tidy site. Good facilities. Very helpful wardens on site who helped us out when our caravan was not charging properly. Lovely area and on edge of village just a few minutes walk. Nice surrounding walks in the hills and many tourist attractions within fairly short driving distance. This is a fairly large site and although pitches well spaced compared to many it is not for those who want seclusion. However compared to many bigger sites it is well set out. Nice dog walk around the site which was worth walking for the view even without a dog! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 Visited mid July in what turned out to be a very wet week. A popular site within a 5 minute walk of the village of Hawes. As you would expect, nothing to complain about with the site, very well maintained, nice location, lower part of the site quite sloping,but all hardstanding pitches.

Some upper pitches seemed quite small & a little cramped & you do need to watch driving around the front of reception as it can be tight with a large outfit.

In between the rain we walked to Hardraw & up to Great Shunner fell, a visit to the falls are a must after all the rain too.A lovely drive around Arkengarthdale & a meal at the Tan Hill pub with great scenery along the way.Walked from the site to Aysgill falls near Gayle, which was nice, & had a lovely meal at the Cross Keys Inn & a fantastic walk up to Cautley Spout waterfall.

Visited the Lakes to Fell Foot park & took in a cruise on Windermere to Bowness, about an Hour 15 mins journey by car from Hawes. Can recommend a meal at The Crown Hotel in Hawes too.

Driving around Swaledale & all the pretty villages in the area are a must, & despite the rain, we had a great time. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The LB 18 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, typical caravan club toilets and showers, spot on. Friendly staff. Great surrounding area, haven for walkers and nature lovers. Hawes great little town with good shops, great pubs, the fountain pub is a real ale drinkers delight.

Walked to hardraw, go to green dragon pub, very old pub but superb, nice pint of old peculiar, then pay 2 pound to go to waterfall, well worth the visit.

Only gripe tv reception very poor, other sites you can hire booster cable for few pound, but here you have to buy one £13.50, bit steep that. But overall great site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winifred3937 1 review from this member

 We have just visited this site and were very impressed with the beautiful location, cleanliness of the site and friendliness of the wardens both in the shop and on the site whose hard work is obvious to see.

This is my first visit to this area and every way you turn you are surrounded by lovely countryside, walks and places of interest to see.

The site itself has a good dog walking area, very clean showers and washing up facilities and although busy was not overcrowded as each caravan seemed to have plenty of space between them, often separated by hedging.

I would definitely recommend this site and area. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kensai 15 reviews from this member

 We visited Brown Moor CC at Hawes for the third time within a year. What can I say changing seasons better weather a whole new aspect of enjoyment? As we drove to Hawes from Leyburn the hedgerows were just starting to bloom, daffodils were everywhere and the Lambs were plentiful in the fields. In Hawes is the Dales Countryside museum is worth a visit telling the story of the Dales people and landscape past and present.

On this visit, we went on a wonderful country drive visiting firstly Hardraw Force, just in the village of Hardraw accessible bizarrely enough via the local Green Dragon Inn. Itís about a five minute walk from the pub and well worth it.

We then drove over the Dale via Buttertubs pass and into Swaledale through the small village of Muker, shortly after leaving Muker we turned right again to come back into Wensleydale via Oxnop common toward Askrigg. The road here is steep at first with sharp switchback turns 25% gradient. So very steep. There are some wonderful views from the top and on the way some wonderful cliff formations. Before arriving at Askrigg we turned left and made our way to Bolton Castle for a quick visit, before heading south and visiting the wonderful Aysgarth Falls. There is a wonderful visitor centre here with Iím told magnificent ladies toilets. They sell Brymor Ice cream which is brilliant. (Can well recommend the Rum and Raisin) There is a lovely walk in the woods to get you to see the lower, middle and upper falls. Each are a little different all are a delight to the eye. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hawes Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2909 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement