Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsdown International Camping Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Kingsdown > Kingsdown International Camping Centre Reviews

Kingsdown International Camping Centre
The Avenue
Kingsdown
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 8DU
Tel: 01304 373713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keyesy 1 review from this member

 I stayed here as it was a perfect base for me to go to the Open golf and for going on the ferry from Dover.

They only take cash or cheque which I had neither of but there is a Post office a few minutes away to get cash from.

The campsite is huge with tremendous views of the sea and the lights from the French coast at night. It is on a big slope but you can find a level plot.

The staff were helpful and laid on transport for everyone who was going to the golf to get us to the nearest train station.

The toilets and showers weren't the best but that didn't put me off at all as I will stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greeny2011 2 reviews from this member

 Had 3 nights camping with the family at this site.

The toilet block was painted dark orange inside with almost black doors which made it look dark and dingey, the basins weren't clean, NO Sockets for hairdryers, no supplied hairdryers, I didn't attempt a shower after having a look at them, but my husband who hadn't seen them did go and have a very short one as the water was only just warm, they weren't clean and the shower head was full of limescale.

The pot washing area wasn't any better than the showers, therefore we filled a container with hot water and took that back to the tent to do the washing.

The site is Very Slopey, hard to find a reasonably flat area. Lovely view, nice staff but very expensive for what you get.

I think the facilities aren't sufficient for the amount of campers, regular queues. Surrounding area nice. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Planetmalthus 4 reviews from this member

 Generally a wonderful campsite and as usual we met some really lovely people. The pebble beach is beautifully remote, the centre of the site is kept clear so plenty of space for kids to play, the local walks are excellent, and it's a lovely 90% off road cycle into Deal.

However, definite areas for improvement.

Firstly, they need to rethink their policy on amplifiers. We met a group determined to announce that 'God is good' to the entire 35 acre campsite at 8am. Discussions with the campsite staff only managed to confirm that the group had permission to use the amplifier - the first and only time I have ever lost my temper on a campsite.

Secondly, the shower facilities are woeful. Unless showering in the middle of night there was no hot water and one hand had to be continually on the push button for the dribble of water to be maintained.

Thirdly, fires are great, but asking campers to forage for wood ensures that the wood is always wet and one stillish night caused a lot of acrid smoke to float across the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rocketsoo 3 reviews from this member

 This has to be my most favourite campsite in Britain - it's just such a pity its so far away from where we live! We initially used it after finding it on the UKCampsite website as an overnight stop en route to the ferry port at Dover, but we loved it so much we came back for a weeks holiday! The view is absolutely amazing, all the way across to France - when we were there in July 2010 we could see the firework displays held in honour of Bastille Day!

The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly and there is so much room, with EHU if you need it, otherwise you can camp where you like. The toilets and showers have always been clean with abundant hot water whenever we have visited.

We love the King's Head pub in the village, the steaks are lovely and the landlady is very pleasant and welcoming. There is excellent cycling to be had in either direction, we went to Deal along a great traffic free cyclepath and then on to Sandwich. We are not especially fit but we also managed to cycle to Dover more or less along the cliff top!

Each time we go across the channel we use the site on the outward and return journey, and I never want to leave. I just wish sometimes I lived on the other side of the QE Bridge! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Judeself1 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a real gem! Have been here 3 times now and will keep coming back. Ok so the facilities are basic but for a 3 night trip they are perfectly adequate.

Would recommend taking your own toilet roll as by evening the toilets have usually ran out (especially the ladies!) We always try to camp so we have the view over the sea.

What a view to wake up too! The staff are really lovely and happy to stop to have a chat and being able to have a fire is a big bonus on this site.

Overall I can not recommend this site enough for those of you that want to get away from it all for a few days! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worrywort 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely site overlooking the sea. We stayed the May day BH weekend, and although they said the site was full, it didn't feel crowded at all.

The site covers a large area; there is a toilet/shower block in the middle, EHU at the top of the site. Pitches towards the top of the field get sea views, those at the bottom are more sheltered.

In the middle it is more sloping, but because people avoid pitching here, it makes it more spread out. A gate at the bottom of the site provides access to a pebble beach, and it is a short walk to a sea-side pub and the pretty village.

Toilets were fine, showers not as good as the doors didn't lock on all of them and the water wasn't very hot. No shop on site, but not far to Deal where there are supermarkets, and small shop in village. I think we would probably return because of the great location. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mistyhewitt 1 review from this member

 Got lost looking for the site as didn't realise it was a scout camp. But welcomed by the guys who run the place and told to pitch up anywhere,

The site is large and we had a corner of the campsite to ourselves, overlooking the beach area. No shop on site but little shop in village 5 min walk away along with 3 decent pubs in the village and all very friendly.

The showers are lovely and warm in the Mens section ie Disabled showers etc.

Only slight problem was with the local friendly fox sniffing around. Would go back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcusopp 36 reviews from this member

 This place is great. Second visit, first since our little boy (nearly 2) has been around. Perfect location, with sea views for much of the site. Clean facilities, friendly staff, good price too. Camp fires in converted washing machine drums work great and keep you warm when the sun goes down.

Three pubs in town. Zetland Arms don't do child portions, but are child friendly. Nearest proper shops are in Deal (Sainsbury's, 3 miles). Local garage has a spar, pretty good selection considering, useful if you miss sainsbury's!

Our littlun could run around this huge site perfectly safely, which he loved. As the site is very open, you can always keep an eye on them.

Only thing is the showers (only 4) struggle for warm water when over-used. If you want a hot shower, get up really early! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Notthatcamp 2 reviews from this member

 Highly recommended. Great wide space where you can choose seclusion near the woods or great view over sea to France. Pathway down to the beach is excellent for access and cycling along the coast to Deal and beautiful Sandwich Bay. Fire baskets make an evening and staff very sweet. I not sure I would have liked it if a huge scout group had been there but the site is so big that would probably not be a problem. Showers etc basic and fine. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thanetian 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night, and can echo what everybody else has said, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and helpful.

It's a big site and we were probably a hundred yards away from the next tent so it was quiet and private. The toilet block was clean. You can collect firewood from the surrounding woodland.

This was my children's first night camping and they want to go again, being able to have a fire had a lot to do with my choice to stay here and would definitely stay again. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kingsdown International Camping Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsdown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window