Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsdown International Camping Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Kingsdown > Kingsdown International Camping Centre Reviews

Kingsdown International Camping Centre
The Avenue
Kingsdown
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 8DU
Tel: 01304 373713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shazza72 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived early afternoon. Made welcome by the guys in the office, very helpful with information on the area. Had a lovely pitch with great views of the English Channel and the ferries coming in and out of Dover.

Toilet block was kept clean, showers the same. Very good value for money, just £5 per person, per night! Good location to go into Deal, where you will find the supermarkets and a lovely town. There is a small shop in the village of Walmer which is 5 minutes walk approx from the site.

There are some lovely walks to take near the camp site. There is an old Rifle Range along the bottom of the cliffs which is very interesting. Beaches are lovely and quiet and don't seem to get too busy!

You can go fishing off Deal Pier for £4.50 per rod, and there is a cafe on the pier to keep you refreshed with Tea! All in all an ideal place for camping for however many nights you wish to do so for! Would recommend this site to anyone who enjoys camping! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squirrelcatcher 7 reviews from this member

 This was a last minute booking, but they still accommodated us. On arrival, the staff were friendly and welcoming.The site is set on the top of a cliff with a very gentle dip towards the sea, resulting in a fantastic view of the Channel from your tent. The area is roomy, clean and very pleasant with plenty of greenery and child friendly. The toilet block was clean and well maintained. The fire boxes are a novel but brilliant addition. A great break, made all the better by a good campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davanju 3 reviews from this member

 We gave the site a try for a quick weekend break as it's only 15 miles from home. What a nice surprise! the staff are very friendly and helpful and the site is superb. It's sheer size ensures you will never feel hemmed in and the views are awesome. We sampled both the beach and coastal walks in our short stay and found both lovely. The toilets and showers are basic but were clean and not busy at all during our time here. The Kings head pub is only a short walk away and serves good food. This is our type of site and we are already planning a large family group trip here in 2011 in addition to more weekend visits for us. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Katiespitfire 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, we used their indoor accommodation for 6 nights and the staff are just the best we've ever come across. We had some problems with noisy neighbours (Bank Holiday) and it was dealt with efficiently and they also offered us a partial refund.

Have only dropped them a star on facilities as the showers were a bit 'drippy' but it really wasn't a problem. Also like that they encourage everyone to recycle! Brilliant.

Clean,easy to find, gorgeous views.Big supermarket in Deal only 10 mins drive, the pub in the village (Kings Head) was really friendly with a good range of real ales.

Will definitely visit again and have recommended it already. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buzzrightear 3 reviews from this member

 This is a great site - huge, stunning views over the sea and very helpful staff.

The toilet blocks are clean but basic and hot water is iffy.

Fire baskets are £6 a night but well worth it, with as much wood as you can carry from one of the storage areas. Borrow a saw or axe from the staff to chop it up a bit. They're incredibly warm at night and you do need them as the wind can get pretty chily.

We ate at the Rising Sun which was a mistake. We tried the Zetland Arms the next day which was a lot better.

Be warned: They only take cash at the campsite and we couldn't find the cashpoint in the village although people claimed there was one. The walk to Walmer castle is flat and lovely (about 40 mins) along the coastal path. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stewquechua 2 reviews from this member

 I spent a very pleasant couple of nights at this site this week, the staff were welcoming despite me arriving after dark, the facilities were clean and plentiful,there was plenty of hot water in the ablutions block, the lights of France are visible across the channel, the setting is beautiful too,I will definitely consider staying again if I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anonamous 7 reviews from this member

 Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights as it was part of our summer holidays. The site was a pleasant site although it was busy on saturday night as it was the yearly music festival they have there. It was a bit of a problem having to camp on a slope because the music festival campers took up all the flat ground and the campsite is mainly on a slope, we camped so we could see the lovely view out to sea. We had a campfire every night we were there which we both loved. They provide the campfires which are washing machine drums with metal poles welded to the sides as the legs which was a good idea, although if you hire a campfire, make sure you take an axe or saw because you have to chop your own wood which we didn't realise until we got there. We were able to park our car by our tent. The toilets and showers are cob webby although mostly clean but they only have one block. There are three pubs in the area which are about a 10 minute walk, not bad pubs very friendly but small. We didn't see much of the staff on the campsite, they tend to leave you to your own devices, there is not much to do in the area unless you drive to the towns and valleys surrounding kingsdown. Overall it was not a bad campsite and I would consider going back there again 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clintyboy12 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived late-ish on Fri night, had originally intended to be there by 7, but traffic conspired against us! Was not a problem for Aran who checked us in with no fuss whatsoever. We were able to camp anywhere we wanted. There were a few people dotted around the edges of the (huge) field but it was not difficult to find a secluded area with enough space for the other 2 families that were still to join us.

We ended up camping opposite the toilet and shower block. As someone has already pointed out there are only 2 washing-up sinks. Could do with more along with some shelter above these but it was not a major problem for us and we never had to wait.

Originally did not want to be that close to the toilets but it turned out quite good since we could let the kids go to the toilet whilst still keeping an eye on them.

The toilets were ok, having toilet paper and soap. My son was fascinated by the fact there was no pipe connecting the waste of the sinks to the main drain and insisted on watching the water run all the way along the ground!

There are only 2 criticisms I would have :

1 is about the drinking water - there was one nearby but it didn't have a handle, so ended up using the taps in the washing-up sinks. Not a major problem though it would be better to have signed drinking water taps near the washing up sinks.

2 is about towels or driers in the toilets - had to remember to either bring a towel each time or air dry (or wipe on shorts!). I guess with this being a scout camp they are always prepared, we on the other hand were not! Again not a major problem.

We didn't fully realise what a superb location this campsite is in until the following morning. Waking up at 6.30 with the rest of the field extending beneath us we were welcomed by simply one of the best views - bright sunshine in a cloudless sky reflecting off the shimmering sea.

Exploring the site we found the fitness trail and the kids had some fun there. Most fun they had was collecting the wood from the bottom of the hill. Never thought it would be possible to convince kids that collecting wood and then carrying it up the hill could be so much fun, but they all loved it - the adventure of heading into the dark woods and finding bits of wood is just immense!

The beach is a lovely short walk down the hill and through the gate onto a wooded path. Beware there is a road at the bottom of the hill. Not many cars go down it but the exit from the steep steps is straight onto the road, before you get to the beach.

We did walk into Kingsdown and had lunch at the Kings Head. This pub has a beer garden and our entourage was made to feel very welcome. They even provided some plastic kids skittles to use in the skittle alley - what a godsend for 7 restless kids! Great food and nice ale was a bonus!

As some others have mentioned the whole site slopes to the sea. Trying to find a level pitch is a challenge, there are some, especially around the top of the field but obviously these were the first occupied!

The attitude of the staff is so nice and relaxed. Such a long way from the more commercial sites that you find. Definitely a place we will be coming back to, regularly now. Being little over an hour outside of London (ok, maybe 2 hours on a Fri pm!) it's like being in a different country (my mobile did think it was in France whilst we were on the beach!).

Thank you for a brilliant weekend! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tennant62/68 6 reviews from this member

 Just agreeing with all comments below as there were 4 tents in our party of 14. On the negative side only 2 washing up sinks, but a big positive was the abseiling with a guy named Shep.

Absolutely great experience and Shep (the instructor) was brilliant.

Also although you are meant to leave the camp by 1pm, there was no rush to remove you.

Staff were knowledgeable and always on hand.

I would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gregandjane 6 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed ourselves at Kingsdown. A great location with sea views within walking distance to a nice village with three pubs (the best for lunch was the Kings Head). Our children loved collecting wood and watching the camp fire.

We used Sainsburys in Deal (only 5 mins away) but there was a nice butchers in the village. It would be a great site for large groups.

Positives: Huge site where you can pitch anywhere and take up a lot of room, Close to nice shingle beach, Cliff top walks, Fire drums can be hired, Friendly owners

Negatives: Shower block could be nicer and only 5 showers for such a big site is too few, Site is on a slope 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kingsdown International Camping Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsdown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window