Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsdown International Camping Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Kingsdown > Kingsdown International Camping Centre Reviews

Kingsdown International Camping Centre
The Avenue
Kingsdown
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 8DU
Tel: 01304 373713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Elisab 1 review from this member

 Our stay as been amazing.

We really enjoyed the venue and the area offered for the tent and caravans !

We strongly recommend this place also for the position which is really easy to find and close to the city attractions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 17 reviews from this member

 My third trip to this site - love the location and views.

It was Half Term and good weather (mostly) so very very busy - sold out on one night.

I like 'pitch where you like' sites, but the combination of it being so busy, lots of the field being sloping and lots of new campers with no understanding of camping etiquette led to some crowded bits of the site and in one case someone coming back and finding their car barricaded in by newly pitched tents. I will avoid the busiest times in future - or pick the 'quiet' section of the site which is lovely and catches the longest evening sun, but doesn't have the fantastic sea views.

The EHU pitches have good views, and are protected from people pitching in front by a fence.

As before the facilities were kept very clean, and the Reception staff are so helpful, cheery and patient.

There is a chemical disposal point - I said there wasn't in my last review so either I missed it or it has been added.

The site has been re-modelled a bit to provide an area for visiting food vans for busy times and outdoor tables - there was a pizza van and a rotisserie chicken van - all very reasonably priced.

The site is cliff-top, so expect breezes and some mist.

If you want a beach picnic the sausage rolls and pies from the butcher in the village are amazing. The beef and ale pie would easily feed 3, stuffed and overflowing with meat. The butchers also sells BBQ ready kebabs, burgers etc, and is good quality. Also cheeses and some deli goods. They are open Tue - Sat, 9-4, 3. 30 on Saturdays. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KenDB 2 reviews from this member

 Our first time camping after XXXXX years! Just bought a new tent and this was a trial run.

On arrival the reception staff were great - really welcoming and helpfully advised where we might want to pitch our tent - morning sun. Views. Evening sun.

It was not busy, but next time we will avoid being on a main route to the toilet block - lots of “chatty” people walking past our tent late at night/early morning when we were trying to sleep!

Our mistake, but the night was much colder than expected. Note to self - need warmer sleeping bags? thermals? Indeed, advice on keeping warm over night! 😀 it was warm in the evening and the morning. But, not when trying to sleep.

The views are fantastic - so much so, I did not read my book - just looked.

The facilities were very clean and much better than I was expecting!

We will be back - great!

Note - We don’t have children, but there is not a “not applicable” option. I gave a 10/10 for child friendliness only because I had to answer that And it would be wrong to downgrade the campsite for something I know nothing about. 🤷🏼‍♂️ 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robntr 4 reviews from this member

 Just love this site been many times.

Has the best of both worlds in my opinion! The village of kingsdown with 2 pubs in a 10 minute walk, ( the kings head and rising sun) and butchers and post office shop are a bonus and pubs do lovely ales! Also the zetland arms on the beach is lovely to sit out front or has a sheltered beer garden.

A brisk walk into Deal ( to the pier side) is about an hour and there is a regular no. 82 bus back to near the site if required.

All in all a great site, the only 'downside' take your chocs as it is quite hilly! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 17 reviews from this member

 This site has stunning views from many of the camping areas, and is an easy stroll down to the beach at Kingsdown, past the shops ( a newsagent selling very basic supplies, and a butcher / Deli open Tue-Sat). 3 pubs in Kingsdown, and with the Zetland Arms on the beach it is the perfect place for a drink. They do nice food, too (not cheap).

The beach is shingle, with patches of sand at low tide, and is good for swimming at low tide. Excellent walks along the coast path to Walmer castle, Walmer and Deal, and in the other direction, a fantastic cliff top walk to a lighthouse and St Margarets Bay.

There is a footpath, clearly signposted. From the site entrance to the village - shorter than the road and v quick. No parking in the tiny village - try not to take your car down.

Much of the site is sloping, and the flat bits get occupied early. Lots of taps, and you can hire fire pits and a wooden table and benches, delivered to your tent. The basic shop at Reception sells tinned and packet basics, tent pegs, some gas, etc. Ice bags, and ice creams.

Very friendly welcoming staff.

First full weekend of camping allowed after lockdown, and clearly people were de-mob happy!

The site was very busy on the weekend evenings, and in all truth, too busy for the number of toilets and showers available. By Sunday and Monday eves, everything was extremely quiet.

The facilities were kept very clean.

Good hot showers and about 6 or 7 washing up sinks with hot water. Shower cubicles are clean and modern but basic: a push button shower (very short duration for each push - I counted 8 seconds), and a changing area (no bench, 3 hooks), into which water sprays so take a plastic bag to put your clothes in on a hook. There is a hair dryer in the showers and the toilets - 50p coin operated.

COVID precautions: the beach path from the bottom of the site has been closed off, presumably because of the touch pad lock, some sinks designated for filling your own bowl to take to your tent, so fewer people standing next to each other. Distancing rules about queuing for the showers and toilets. Sanitizer everywhere, which was kept topped up.

There is no chemical disposal point, so hard to make your own toilet arrangements.

Contactless Reception, screens in place, distancing in shop all well laid out. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shermer75 1 review from this member

 There is a great deal to like about this campsite, including how friendly the staff are and how well maintained the facilities are but mostly the size of the campsite means that you can still find a relatively quiet spot even when it is full.

There is a slope but we still slept well. Also the fire pits are great! It is very much a family friendly campsite with lots of kids.

The surrounding area is great and an easy 15 minute bike ride into Deal which is a lovely seaside town and about 45 mins to Sandwich. There are some electric hook ups available. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wanderer 56 reviews from this member

 Quite a relaxed and non-regimented site on cliff top with really great views across the Channel and easy access to a single beach. There are no fixed pitches so you just pick your spot but some of the site is quite sloping and all on grass.

Price is pppn and there is no charge for awnings, gazebos etc and Firepits are allowed and can be rented. There was many tents and family groups there while I was there.

Toilets are basic and limited in numbers but kept reasonably clean for the number on site. Gents showers are in need of improvement but water was hot, I understand the ladies showers have been upgraded.

There are water points scattered around and there are some EHU’s. There are several pubs within walking distance but shops seemed very limited.

Perhaps not for you if you like peace and quiet but I would happily return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerryx 1 review from this member

 We found the campsite very spacious but on a very steep hill, the gate access was great for getting down to the beach, the only negative was no shop amenities just very basic not even bacon or eggs

The showers for the girls are great, the boys are like something from the stone ages. The view was amazing through the day and evening and we had a fab fire pit, only negative was a bag of wood would cost £5 and would be gone in half an hour think they could do more to supply more. Was surprised the was no park for the kids ok if you have little ones but only so much a 10/12 year old want to run down a hill to get a ball, so they were very bored

Will not be back as nothing on site and even if you walk out no local shops as shut at weekends so have to drive into Dover or Deal, just not for us. With regards to value for money maybe too much and no amenities or park, been to better places for cheaper and the same amazing views 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma in Surrey 6 reviews from this member

 The view from this campsite is lovely. I stayed just one night in my one-man tent. I found the site to be quite sloping, and quite full of people, mostly in large groups of family or friends. But everybody seemed friendly and nice, and there didn't seem to be any noise late into the night. I ate at a very nice pub in Upper Street called the Dukes Head, which was very easy walking distance.

AS I say, the site is on a slope, but there are enough spots on more level ground to be found around the edges, near the wooded areas. The loos and showers seemed fine although not luxurious, and there was plenty of hot water when I needed it.

There are lots of drinking water taps around the site, so you don't need to go far for a kettle-full!

The thing I thought seemed nice, especially for families with smaller children, is that there was bags of space, including a little wood they could play in, and the whole site is fenced, so they are quite secure. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KBarna 1 review from this member

 The site itself is huge.

Except for the electric pitches, tents can be pitched anywhere on the grass.

The site itself overlooks the channel with stunning views.

We arrived on Thu and departed on Sat. It got a bit busier everyday with the hot weather.

The whole site is on a slope, which made sleeping on a slippery mattress in a slippery sleeping bag a little challenge. :)

We hired a fire baslet for the first night for £6 and had a little barbeque. Fire wood can be purchased on site or can be collected around the site. We opted for the latter and managed to have a decent fire, but it was not easy with dried plants, thin sticks, few braches and bits of wood. But it was fun.

Met staff only at check in and out and once a funny old guy at the gate. We had no issues so there was no need to see anyone actually.

National cycle route is running by the camping towards Dover and Deal.

The shower/toilet block and washing up facilities are in the middle of the site. There are only 4 showers for men (don't know about female side) and can be a bit busy. They are kept clean and easy to use. On Sat morning hot water was in short supply though due to the huge number of people washing up after the Fri barbeque :)

We had a great time and recommend this site for visitors of Kent and the Jurassic coast. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kingsdown International Camping Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsdown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement