Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Kingsdown International Camping Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Kingsdown > Kingsdown International Camping Centre Reviews

Kingsdown International Camping Centre
The Avenue
Kingsdown
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 8DU
Tel: 01304 373713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 48 Reviews
                8/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shermer75 1 review from this member

There is a great deal to like about this campsite, including how friendly the staff are and how well maintained the facilities are but mostly the size of the campsite means that you can still find a relatively quiet spot even when it is full. There is a slope but we still slept well. Also the fire pits are great! It is very much a family friendly campsite with lots of kids.

The surrounding area is great and an easy 15 minute bike ride into Deal which is a lovely seaside town and about 45 mins to Sandwich. There are some electric hook ups available.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wanderer 50 reviews from this member

Quite a relaxed and non-regimented site on cliff top with really great views across the Channel and easy access to a single beach. There are no fixed pitches so you just pick your spot but some of the site is quite sloping and all on grass. Price is pppn and there is no charge for awnings, gazebos etc and Firepits are allowed and can be rented. There was many tents and family groups there while I was there. Toilets are basic and limited in numbers but kept reasonably clean for the number on site. Gents showers are in need of improvement but water was hot, I understand the ladies showers have been upgraded. There are water points scattered around and there are some EHUís. There are several pubs within walking distance but shops seemed very limited.

Perhaps not for you if you like peace and quiet but I would happily return.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerryx 1 review from this member

We found the campsite very spacious but on a very steep hill, the gate access was great for getting down to the beach, the only negative was no shop amenities just very basic not even bacon or eggs

The showers for the girls are great, the boys are like something from the stone ages. The view was amazing through the day and evening and we had a fab fire pit, only negative was a bag of wood would cost £5 and would be gone in half an hour think they could do more to supply more. Was surprised the was no park for the kids ok if you have little ones but only so much a 10/12 year old want to run down a hill to get a ball, so they were very bored

Will not be back as nothing on site and even if you walk out no local shops as shut at weekends so have to drive into Dover or Deal, just not for us. With regards to value for money maybe too much and no amenities or park, been to better places for cheaper and the same amazing views

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma in Surrey 6 reviews from this member

The view from this campsite is lovely. I stayed just one night in my one-man tent. I found the site to be quite sloping, and quite full of people, mostly in large groups of family or friends. But everybody seemed friendly and nice, and there didn't seem to be any noise late into the night. I ate at a very nice pub in Upper Street called the Dukes Head, which was very easy walking distance.

AS I say, the site is on a slope, but there are enough spots on more level ground to be found around the edges, near the wooded areas. The loos and showers seemed fine although not luxurious, and there was plenty of hot water when I needed it.

There are lots of drinking water taps around the site, so you don't need to go far for a kettle-full!

The thing I thought seemed nice, especially for families with smaller children, is that there was bags of space, including a little wood they could play in, and the whole site is fenced, so they are quite secure.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KBarna 1 review from this member

The site itself is huge.

Except for the electric pitches, tents can be pitched anywhere on the grass.

The site itself overlooks the channel with stunning views.

We arrived on Thu and departed on Sat. It got a bit busier everyday with the hot weather.

The whole site is on a slope, which made sleeping on a slippery mattress in a slippery sleeping bag a little challenge. :)

We hired a fire baslet for the first night for £6 and had a little barbeque. Fire wood can be purchased on site or can be collected around the site. We opted for the latter and managed to have a decent fire, but it was not easy with dried plants, thin sticks, few braches and bits of wood. But it was fun.

Met staff only at check in and out and once a funny old guy at the gate. We had no issues so there was no need to see anyone actually.

National cycle route is running by the camping towards Dover and Deal.

The shower/toilet block and washing up facilities are in the middle of the site. There are only 4 showers for men (don't know about female side) and can be a bit busy. They are kept clean and easy to use. On Sat morning hot water was in short supply though due to the huge number of people washing up after the Fri barbeque :)

We had a great time and recommend this site for visitors of Kent and the Jurassic coast.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mkosin 1 review from this member

Lovely site with fantastic sea views. Hot showers all day with plenty of cubicles and regularly cleaned. Have been here twice in June and August and never over-crowded at all.

Local shops are good. Fantastic deli/butcher in Kingsdown with great pies made on the premises.

Food at the Zetland arms delicious on both occasions, and it's a nice little walk down the coastal path (10 minutes). Booking in advance recommended.

Campfires allowed in rented baskets, about £5 per night I think. Bags of wood and kindling for sale.

Plenty of space for kids to run about, and access to cliff top fenced off with key-code access gate.

Communal fireplace also in the woods at the bottom and some free firewood available from there.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Rubbish has to be separated for recycling.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lamy21 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights in May as a first foray in to the world of camping with kids (party of 3 adults and 2 children age 4).

A relaxed site, well organised with friendly helpful staff.

A large sloping site with amazing views across the channel to France, plenty of space for the children to run around, play ball, etc but no parks or play areas (which wasn't a problem for us).

We booked an elec hook up, otherwise you can just pitch up where you like.

Secure access from the site down to the beach. Keycode to the gate given at check in.

We also hired a fire pit which was a nice touch for the evenings after the kids had gone to bed.

Toilet blocks, showers, washing up facilities all ok kept clean and tidy and plenty of hot water.

Nearest town/super market approx. 10mins drive towards Deal, which is also a nice town for a visit, plus a couple of local pubs nearby serving food (which we didn't try this time).

Overall this site was perfect for us - plenty of space to roam, good facilities and amenities. Look forward to coming back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Alison Skelton 1 review from this member

My husband and I went over a bank Holiday weekend. The weather was glorious. Even though we were only 40 minutes away from where we lived we could have been at the other end of the country. The beach was just below the site and a lovely pub called the Zetland Arms was down below the site. We also had a lovely walk along the coast to Deal. This took about an hour.

The site was spacious with a nice shower and washing up facilities. The fire basket was great and free wood that we collected with our saw from the fire 'pit' area.

I would certainly go again.

It was all very reasonably priced too. The staff at booking in were very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Harry_Keane 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed here for 13 nights with our grandchildren, aged 4 and 8. We'd booked a hook-up and were told we could pitch anywhere at the top of the site where the EHU points were. We picked a fairly level spot, with lovely views over the Channel.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities were very good. There were 2 sets of toilet and shower facilities, one of which, central to the site, had washing-up facilities with plenty of hot water every time we used them. The showers were usually very good. The Reception was equipped with a freezer and fridge in which you could put items and ice-packs, we found this really useful as we only had a cool-box.

The views over the Channel from the top of the site were brilliant and we also really enjoyed the beach, which was just a few minutes walk away. Deal was a few minutes' drive away and we enjoyed visiting the Pier as well as Deal and Walmer Castles.

We had a brilliant time until the first Friday night, when we found on returning from an afternoon out that we'd been almost surrounded by a large group of family and friends who were determined to be close together even if it meant hemming us in. At 5. 00 p. M. Their music and drinking didn't bother us too much, but it got very noisy later on and I finally had to go and ask them at 11. 10 p. M. , (by which time to be fair they'd turned off their speakers, but however had started singing along to a guitar and cheering, clapping and whooping at the conclusion of each song!) to keep the noise down as we had 2 young children. The next morning we were visited by one of the group who suggested that they hadn't been that noisy and insinuated that if we hadn't pitched where we did we wouldn't have been inconvenienced. Ah, so it was all our own fault.

We went off-site on the Saturday night, and our daughter and son-in-law came and took charge of the children for a night; they suffered a similar problem. The Sunday night, when they went back home and we resumed charge, wasn't too bad, and although our neighbours were careful to turn off their speakers by 10. 30 p. M. In accordance with the campsite rules, I still had to resort to earplugs to get to sleep as they seemed determined to talk loudly all night about 5 feet away from our tent. Fortunately, they left on the Monday, and we then enjoyed another peaceful few days until the next Friday, when we had a similar problem, this time with a motorhome owner who shoe-horned his vehicle into a very tight space right next to our tent (our fault again for pitching in the wrong place!) and then set up a small cinema screen to which all the kids on the campsite were invited to watch the LEGO movie! This wouldn't have been so bad, but he left the movie running, with the sound at full volume, and disappeared off to a large group of his friends further along, who could have probably moved a couple of their 4 x 4's to the car park to allow him to pitch next to them which, since he obviously wanted to spend all his time with them, would have made more sense.

We left on the Saturday morning and won't be returning. The campsite staff did speak to one large group and remind them of the rules, but it seems that this site is very popular with large groups who like to come away on a Friday evening and drink it up all night. Most of them seemed oblivious to the needs of other campers and they were all selfish to the extreme.

All in all, a lovely site, with very helpful staff and good facilities, but best avoided if you don't like being overwhelmed by large noisy groups every weekend, or like us, have young children who need to be in bed relatively early. In retrospect we could have pitched further away and perhaps have had a more peaceful time, but that would have meant not having a hook-up and being much further away from toilet facilities, which with young children is pretty much a necessity.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sandie55 2 reviews from this member

I stayed at Kingsdown ICC as it was in an area of Kent that I really like for the walking and cycling. The campsite is quite large so there is never a feeling of being over crowded. I had an EHU so was at the top of the site. I was warmly welcomed and having paid was allowed to pitch my tent wherever I wished. After setting up I had a look at the toilets and showers which had been modernised. The showers and toilets were clean and the water was hot. There were sinks outside for washing up utensils, pots and pans. This also had hot water so no boiling kettles to wash up. The site does not have a shop but there is a post office stores in Kingsdown and more larger shops in Deal which is about 5min drive away. Deal and Walmer castles are worth visiting as is Dover castle. All of which are within 10 miles from the campsite. There is a footpath down to the beach and a coded gate allows access to the path. The code is given to you when you book in. In the morning the view over the channel is stunning. On a good day you can see France and the ferries criss-crossing the channel. I stayed a week and really enjoyed myself despite the change in the weather. I would recommend the campsite to others especially with children as there is so much space for them. I will be coming back.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kingsdown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020