Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kingsdown International Camping Centre

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Kingsdown > Kingsdown International Camping Centre > Reviews

Kingsdown International Camping Centre
The Avenue
Kingsdown
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 8DU
Tel: 01304 373713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jessikins24 1 review from this member

 Lovely views from the EHU pitches, until someone puts a huge motor home in front of your tent! EHU pitches are not generous but adequate and with 16amp hookup.

The site has a lot of rules but no enforcement - such a shame as this would have made for a far more pleasant holiday…

Small shop with most essentials.

Staff are generally pleasant if not overly enthusiastic or helpful.

Toilets and showers are in good condition. Some separate toilets at the reception block would ease pressure especially in the morning pee queue (toilet/sink/shower in one and 5 in total). Mostly clean and friendly cleaner too. Washing up area is uncovered and only 5 sinks for such a busy campsite means sometimes a lengthy queue.

Plenty to see and do in the local area for children and adults alike.

Great campsite for big groups as free pitching but consequently lots of noise. Often large and noisy groups of teens running, screaming and shouting from in the woods, with little regard for others’ privacy or enjoyment.

We had a nice enough time but won’t be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 Back at my 'home from home' campsite to enjoy a few days of glorious weather.

As it was mid week during the school term the site was very quiet - a few adult small groups for the walking etc, visitors from Germany, The Netherlands and Belgium stopping off from the ferry etc.

There was a big DoE party in a roped off area at the top of the site - they were well behaved and quiet, nice to see young people out camping.

Toilets and showers spotless, Reception very friendly, shop well stocked though if you are fussy about your beers come equipped or walk down to one of the village pubs.

The ground is sloping over much of the site but flat places can be found at the bottom and round the edges. Glorious views over the channel to France. Might be best to turn Roaming off on your phone - EE always think I am in France when I walk on the cliffs.

Ox Tales butchers in the village has excellent BBQ meats, good picnic items, nice cheeses, quality wines and craft beers. (check opening hours! Not open Mondays) The newsagent / convenience store over the road has bread. In my opinion it is well worth going to the far end of Deal to the Middle Street Fish and Chip shop for excellent Fish and Chips (open Wed-Sat 4-8, cash only), light crispy batter and top quality cod.

If only the seagulls would swerve my tent when needing to relive themselves! (And do not leave any rubbish bags / food bags unattended even for a minute!) 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 A return visit to this site, all the same joys to be had!

Very friendly helpful Reception staff, the showers and toilet blocks were kept very clean (though the campsite was sparsely occupied so not under pressure), and the most wonderful views.

New this year is a gate opposite Reception as a small shortcut to the beach path through the woods. Staff said they will not be re-opening the old gate that used to be at the bottom of the site because it was a security risk, people kept leaving it open etc.

High prices were new - £20 per night per adult on this Bank Hol weekend was a steep rise. I think it is £14 per adult on most weekends during the spring / summer and rising to £14 per person for week nights in the school hols and £16 at School hol weekends. Plus £7 /8 respectively for each under 18. That would be £48 per night for 2 adults and 2 kids during a school hol weekend!

The shop is well stocked - bags of logs for your fire pit are £7-50. You can hire a fire pit, and trestle tables and benches, if you want them for a big group.

No ice-block freezing, but items can be charged in lockers, £1 per item. No WiFi - the 4g signal is good, but turn off roaming because most networks will think you are in France for at least part of the time.

Pitch where you like, no set pitches (unless you have EHU). Much of the site is very sloping. There are lovely parts that get the evening sun on the flatter lower part of the site, but the pay off is that you don't get the sea view. This is also the 'very quiet' part of the site. Though partying and noise is not permitted here anyway, and quiet time is 10pm-8am.

Be really careful about rubbish and food scraps / dirty plates etc. Not only will the seagulls create a horrible mess you increase the chances of seagull mess on your tent if they thing your pitch is worth waiting by.

Relaxed check out time of 12 noon, but you need to stick to it as the barriers are number plate recognition and set to your booking. If you want to stay all day on your last day you can book a day rate.

Still one of my favourite places to camp, but the new prices are a bit eye watering! 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 Still one of my favourite regular sites, though I try to avoid the busiest periods to be sure of a good spot not on a slope.

The top part of the site had been cordoned off for an enormous school party, which caused my heart to sink a bit but actually the teachers managed everything really well and the kids were great - quieter than the party of blokes in the 'Quiet' part of the site that is not supposed to be for groups.

As this site gets more popular I do think the management need to do a bit more strolling round the site as the quiet night time period approaches, and monitor noise and talk to people who are in party spirit!

However, Reception are friendly and helpful, the on-site shop useful, the facilities kept really clean.

Prices have risen a bit but value is high.

Nearby the Zetland Arms has added reasonably priced toasted sandwiches to it's previous 'full meals' offer, the Sun food looked good and good value, chips from the Walmer chip shop opposite the bandstand were good, but for full fish and chips I think it is worth heading onto Deal for the Middle Street Fish and Chip shop, but check opening hours and cash only.

Great walks from the site over the cliffs to St Margarets Bay, The White Cliffs NT centre and walk is well worth a visit, Walmer, Deal and Dover castles all near by. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Elisab 1 review from this member

 Our stay as been amazing.

We really enjoyed the venue and the area offered for the tent and caravans !

We strongly recommend this place also for the position which is really easy to find and close to the city attractions. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 My third trip to this site - love the location and views.

It was Half Term and good weather (mostly) so very very busy - sold out on one night.

I like 'pitch where you like' sites, but the combination of it being so busy, lots of the field being sloping and lots of new campers with no understanding of camping etiquette led to some crowded bits of the site and in one case someone coming back and finding their car barricaded in by newly pitched tents. I will avoid the busiest times in future - or pick the 'quiet' section of the site which is lovely and catches the longest evening sun, but doesn't have the fantastic sea views.

The EHU pitches have good views, and are protected from people pitching in front by a fence.

As before the facilities were kept very clean, and the Reception staff are so helpful, cheery and patient.

There is a chemical disposal point - I said there wasn't in my last review so either I missed it or it has been added.

The site has been re-modelled a bit to provide an area for visiting food vans for busy times and outdoor tables - there was a pizza van and a rotisserie chicken van - all very reasonably priced.

The site is cliff-top, so expect breezes and some mist.

If you want a beach picnic the sausage rolls and pies from the butcher in the village are amazing. The beef and ale pie would easily feed 3, stuffed and overflowing with meat. The butchers also sells BBQ ready kebabs, burgers etc, and is good quality. Also cheeses and some deli goods. They are open Tue - Sat, 9-4, 3. 30 on Saturdays. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KenDB 2 reviews from this member

 Our first time camping after XXXXX years! Just bought a new tent and this was a trial run.

On arrival the reception staff were great - really welcoming and helpfully advised where we might want to pitch our tent - morning sun. Views. Evening sun.

It was not busy, but next time we will avoid being on a main route to the toilet block - lots of “chatty” people walking past our tent late at night/early morning when we were trying to sleep!

Our mistake, but the night was much colder than expected. Note to self - need warmer sleeping bags? thermals? Indeed, advice on keeping warm over night! 😀 it was warm in the evening and the morning. But, not when trying to sleep.

The views are fantastic - so much so, I did not read my book - just looked.

The facilities were very clean and much better than I was expecting!

We will be back - great!

Note - We don’t have children, but there is not a “not applicable” option. I gave a 10/10 for child friendliness only because I had to answer that And it would be wrong to downgrade the campsite for something I know nothing about. 🤷🏼‍♂️ 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robntr 4 reviews from this member

 Just love this site been many times.

Has the best of both worlds in my opinion! The village of kingsdown with 2 pubs in a 10 minute walk, ( the kings head and rising sun) and butchers and post office shop are a bonus and pubs do lovely ales! Also the zetland arms on the beach is lovely to sit out front or has a sheltered beer garden.

A brisk walk into Deal ( to the pier side) is about an hour and there is a regular no. 82 bus back to near the site if required.

All in all a great site, the only 'downside' take your chocs as it is quite hilly! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 24 reviews from this member

 This site has stunning views from many of the camping areas, and is an easy stroll down to the beach at Kingsdown, past the shops ( a newsagent selling very basic supplies, and a butcher / Deli open Tue-Sat). 3 pubs in Kingsdown, and with the Zetland Arms on the beach it is the perfect place for a drink. They do nice food, too (not cheap).

The beach is shingle, with patches of sand at low tide, and is good for swimming at low tide. Excellent walks along the coast path to Walmer castle, Walmer and Deal, and in the other direction, a fantastic cliff top walk to a lighthouse and St Margarets Bay.

There is a footpath, clearly signposted. From the site entrance to the village - shorter than the road and v quick. No parking in the tiny village - try not to take your car down.

Much of the site is sloping, and the flat bits get occupied early. Lots of taps, and you can hire fire pits and a wooden table and benches, delivered to your tent. The basic shop at Reception sells tinned and packet basics, tent pegs, some gas, etc. Ice bags, and ice creams.

Very friendly welcoming staff.

First full weekend of camping allowed after lockdown, and clearly people were de-mob happy!

The site was very busy on the weekend evenings, and in all truth, too busy for the number of toilets and showers available. By Sunday and Monday eves, everything was extremely quiet.

The facilities were kept very clean.

Good hot showers and about 6 or 7 washing up sinks with hot water. Shower cubicles are clean and modern but basic: a push button shower (very short duration for each push - I counted 8 seconds), and a changing area (no bench, 3 hooks), into which water sprays so take a plastic bag to put your clothes in on a hook. There is a hair dryer in the showers and the toilets - 50p coin operated.

COVID precautions: the beach path from the bottom of the site has been closed off, presumably because of the touch pad lock, some sinks designated for filling your own bowl to take to your tent, so fewer people standing next to each other. Distancing rules about queuing for the showers and toilets. Sanitizer everywhere, which was kept topped up.

There is no chemical disposal point, so hard to make your own toilet arrangements.

Contactless Reception, screens in place, distancing in shop all well laid out. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shermer75 1 review from this member

 There is a great deal to like about this campsite, including how friendly the staff are and how well maintained the facilities are but mostly the size of the campsite means that you can still find a relatively quiet spot even when it is full.

There is a slope but we still slept well. Also the fire pits are great! It is very much a family friendly campsite with lots of kids.

The surrounding area is great and an easy 15 minute bike ride into Deal which is a lovely seaside town and about 45 mins to Sandwich. There are some electric hook ups available. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kingsdown International Camping Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kingsdown International Camping Centre dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsdown      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43286 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement