Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Fedw Uchaf Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Dulas > Fedw Uchaf Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Fedw Uchaf Caravan And Camping Park
Fedw Uchaf
Brynrefail
Dulas
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Closed from 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 74 Reviews
                7/10 from 74 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulanda 4 reviews from this member

We took a bit of a flyer for Spring Bank Holiday and book to stay here with some friends.

We arrived at quite a busy time for booking in, but we were soon shown to our pitches. We had booked hookups and were pleased to find the pitches marked out.

The field had variable slope on it,but we got the tents on okay.

The showers and toilets are based on portacabins, but were clean and we didn't have to queue too much. The washing up area only had 2 sinks and could do with tidying up and a proper elsan disposal point would be a good idea.

We met the various animals that are kept by the owners, which the children really enjoyed.

It's only a short walk to the Pilot Boat Inn were staff are friendly and offer a good choice of food. The is also a play bus to keep the kids occupied.

Overall, we enjoyed our week at this site and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cdowrick 1 review from this member

I have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday visit to the fedw uchaf campsite. The site was very well organised and toilets, showers and washing up facilities were immaculately clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

The bbq and seating area in the centre of the camp were very useful and the children loved the IIamas, donkeys, goats and geese on site.

The surrounding area is beautiful with fabulous beaches in close proximity.

Altogether a super campsite and I thoroughly recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juniper7 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site! A peaceful site with wonderful views across the sandy bay at Lligwy which is only a mile away. On the site there are lots of interesting animals and birds including Llamas, Goats, Donkeys and Peacocks.

Everyone there is friendly and very helpful going out of their way to make sure all is well. The site has electric hook up we didn't use the toilet facilities but I am sure they were good.

Anglesey is a magical island and you are never far away from something interesting.Try the cream scone in the cafe at Church Bay it can't be beaten. We have already made advance bookings at Fedw Uchaf (High Meadow) Glorious!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ixmph9 2 reviews from this member

A lovely family run site not far from the main road. Really lovely people who couldn't be more helpful. The site is well maintained despite the weather, Stan was more than helpful getting our van on to the pitch (my car had no traction due to heavy rain - no 4 wheel drive).

The site has a number of fields all of which looked to have electric hookups, water supply and waste disposal, extra large wheelie bins for rubbish.

Didn't get a chance to use the barbecue area on this trip due to the weather, maybe next time.

Stan and Ellen keep a wide range of animals too, Llamas, donkeys, goats, rheas, dogs, ponies and sheep which added to the experience especially for the kids.

I love the area, in good weather the views are beautiful, on this occasion the weather was poor but we enjoyed it all the same.

The nearest shop is the boatyard left out of the gate, left at the main road, just past the Pilot Boat Inn (by the way excellent food at the inn, children's playbus in the carpark).

Nearest chippie is in Benllech, the best one is right at the crossroads forget the name, you can tell by the queue.

Llangefni is a 10 min drive away if you want ASDA or the Market on a Saturday.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gaito64 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little camp site with fantastic views. Stan and Ellen were lovely and always working hard to keep the site running smoothly, to the extent we renamed Stan as Stan the Spannerman as we never saw him without some kind of tool in his hand!

Toilets were spotlessly clean and often bumped into Ellen with her trusty mop doing a late night spruce.

They had some problems with other campers midweek misusing the facilities but everything was sorted out promptly.

The area is absolutely gorgeous and there is a fantastic chippy at Benllech as long as you are willing to queue!

Will definitely be returning next year and Ellen if you are reading this we hope your bird is ok (sorry cant remember what they were called!) and you managed to find a new partner for him.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcaron 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the first time August bank holiday weekend, we were allocated a pitch in a sloping field.

Field unkempt, very muddy, cars getting stuck in the mud, you would do well with a 4x4 to get in and out of this camp. Toilet block on this field consists of 3 toilets and a sink, no loo roll, no soap. Both male and female share these toilets, very little privacy, you can hear everything.

On the positive side this field has - beautiful views.

The new shower block which is advertised is a portacabin, equally divided into male and female, 3 showers, 3 toilets each. There was no hot water, cold water in the sinks trickled out, just enough to clean your teeth. There was no hot water to shower, the cubicles are small and flooded easy when used for those brave enough to have a cold shower. The portacabin was full of dead insects and cobwebs, really not nice. (you have been warned)

I queued up at the corrugated hut which had 2 sinks and lots more dead spiders, daddy long legs and cobwebs is were you are expected to wash your dishes. NO HOT WATER.It was easier to boil the kettle and wash up outside the tent.

If your a member of The Caravan Club, you get a nice flat mowed field, but you still have to use these facilities.

No play area for children, I don't have any so it wasn't a problem for us.

We did see the donkeys, rhea's and lama's.

The facilities are all there, posh camping it is not.

We walked about 2 miles to the nearest pub, The Pilot Boat Inn, lovely pub, nice staff, food looked decent. Bar Prices a rip off. 1.65 1/2 a cider.

It would take a good hour or so to walk to the beach or visit Ben Llech, we drove everywhere, Anglesey has a lot to offer and we will return, but not to this camp site. Sorry.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stu_art 5 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site, came home early because of the weather.

First arriving at the site I would advise stopping on the private road by the first gate until you know which field you are in we went up to the office as directed by the signs then had to leave the site to find somewhere to turn around as the site is very tight.

The site as it is is very basic although functional.

3 fields, 1 a CL for caravan club, 1 for caravans and 1 for tents.

The toilet/shower block is in the main field and is a portacabin separated male / female with 3 toilets and 3 showers in each basic but clean and plenty of hot water.

The fields were very muddy, due to 7 days constant rain.

We were in the CL and the pitch was very sloped but plenty of room for the kids to play.

Some noise from the other fields but not after 1030 so not to bad.

On the whole a nice site if a bit basic

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week visiting Fedw Uchaf.

We were a party of 3 family tents with 4 children.

We were quite disappointed with this site given previous reviews on here.

Positives were :

Great location to visit Anglesey which was beautiful. We will definitely return to visit the area. Beautiful beaches nearby and a great time was had at Beaumaris crabbing. Although the sea zoo we visited was expensive at 24 and it's tiny, our visit lasted 45 mins going slowly.

Lovely pub nearby, the pilot inn which served lovely food and had fun bus for the kids.

Large fields where the tents were all around the edge so no cramming the tents in feeling you can sometimes get.

We were in the 2nd overflow field and have to say we had the most stunning view of the beach, the best we have ever had at a camp site.

You are pretty much left to get on with things with little interference from the owners and the site despite being bank holiday weekend and very busy was quiet at a reasonable time.

Free freezing of ice packs and free showers.

Large space for the kids to play games etc

Negatives :

Most of the pitches were very sloping, the electric pitches are definitely the most level or the top of the 2nd overflow field.

It is very muddy, although Stan did put grit down twice we still struggled to get out of our field.

The animals spent most of their time on the top field or behind some tents so quite difficult to see them.

On arrival the side of the office area was covered with lot's of rubble, bin bags, old equipment etc.

The showers were very very basic. 3 showers per sex and 3 toilets. These were in a portacabin with painted out windows with graffiti on. The cleanliness was pretty poor, they were very muddy and dirt from the day before would still be on the sinks, showers the day after.

The paper towels for hand drying was empty until the weekend, as there was no hand dryer you had to take your towel to dry your hands when using the bathroom.

No plug sockets available.

There wasn't anywhere to place your clothes when getting a shower, the end shower had no hook.

Nightmare space for washing little ones, had to carry them draped in towels across two fields to get to our field to dry them.

The new toilet block (breeze block) is 3 toilets and a cold water tap in the second field, this opened for bank holiday weekend.

Despite booking a few months ago and confirming our party of 3 could be placed together on arrival we weren't able to have this option unless we took the 2nd overflow field, which meant one of our party lost their hookup. We also felt this meant we received a less than warm welcome to the site.

Two washing up sinks that were very high to reach so impossible to get your children to help.

Issues with hot water in here too.

At 16 a tent it is not competitively priced for the area either given lack of facilities.

Overall a lovely area where we would definitely return but personally think this site needs to work on improving the facilities, the addition of a playground and family bathroom and launderette facilities would make this site much more family friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spinney2 1 review from this member

The site is mainly for tents, although there is a CL for caravans the field isn't the best, due to the fact that the grass is far too long, and with the weather as it is / was you got wet feet / jeans even on the warmest days.

The showers are in fact a mobile and unless you get the middle shower of 3, don't bother as it was like playing Goldilocks, (too hot, or too cold).

Site is quiet, in fact too quiet for kids as nothing to do.

Wont be returning, although cheap, and views are super.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rozrocks 4 reviews from this member

Despite arriving later than the published cut-off point and without having booked we were welcomed onto the site and shown to our pitch - it was in the overflow field and sloped down the hill somewhat but nothing worse than we've encountered elsewhere.

The view made up for it - right out to the bay and beyond. The site was quiet despite being relatively well populated. Toilets and showers were kept very clean and I only had to queue once for a matter of minutes.

The variety of animals provided an interesting diversion(llamas, ostrich, donkeys) and I suspect would be a big hit with kids - however, I did think it was a bit mean to include rules such as no ball games / kite flying!

There's a nice pub 10-15 minutes walk away which has a decent selection of real ales and seemed very popular for food (although we didn't eat there) and for families as the kids could play on an adventure bus thing.

No fires allowed, but there is a permanent brick barbecue with picnic benches around it for campers to use. Washing up area sheltered with hot water available. It looks as though the owners are in the process of adding another toilet / washing-up block to the overflow field too - this should make the site even more user-friendly.

My only warnings would be to those with active children, as you'd probably have to tire them out elsewhere before coming back to the site

Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019