Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shays Farm

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Tarporley > Shays Farm > Reviews

Shays Farm
Shays Lane
Little Budworth
Tarporley
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW6 9EU
Tel: 01829 760233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 31 to 39                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michelle4172 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned back from a fantastic time at this site after four nights where we celebrated our 2nd yr anniversary and my fiance's 40th. We could've easily stayed longer as we enjoyed our time there so much.

The owner Lisa was great, very friendly and welcoming, she went out of her way to chat to us and even came to say goodbye when it was time to leave, we have been camping a lot of times and this has been one of the best ones we've been to. There's a lovely fishing lake which was very peaceful and relaxing just to sit and watch people fish, the fishing is also included in the pitch fees which is great!

There are 3 fields but we stayed in the first one right by the lake and the entrance of the fields which were fine and didn't bother us at all with people coming and going. The toilet and shower block were close by and absolutely spotless and cleaned everyday. The sink for the dishes even had a dish brush, bowl, dish rack and washing up liquid something which we've never come across at other campsites. The shops are about 10mins away but if you need maggots for fishing then make sure you take them with you as the nearest tackle shop was 30mins away.

There are no negativities about this campsite as everything was great, it was queit and peaceful just what we wanted and even the other campers were friendly too, we will definitely return very soon! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dimesy16 4 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back home after a 5 night stay at Shays farm. And what a great little site this is 2 toilets and 2 showers very basic but good value for money we paid 12. 50 for 2 adults and 2 children with electric per night.

Owners extremely welcoming and helpful also fishing included in the price no playground for kids but plenty of room to run around. You can walk to the pub from the site and get bar meals at a discounted price when staying at shays farm.

Lots of things to do see and do in the surrounding area and we will be going back for another visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peajam 17 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved this site. The owners were some of the genuinely friendliest people we've ever met!

The site is out the way its down a long drive, away from the farm and set in a little valley.

The site has hardstanding for four vans. The main draw for this site, I guess, would be the fishing lake which is included in the price.

However, I think that this is well worth the money even with out the fishing. There are two converted trailers with the shower and toilet in. Both of which were basic but clean.

The side of the trailer has dishwashing facilities and then on the other side, was the waste point. The showers are free, hot and the pressure was brilliant.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We went to Chester zoo (40 min drive), Liverpool (1 hours drive)and Manchester (40 min drive). The town nearby, Warrington is lovely.

Not forgetting the whole of North Wales is on your Caravan Doorstep! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jncrowe 4 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the weekend at this site and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The site is quite hard to find but thanks to satnav we eventually found it.

It, s quite a long drive to the camping fields but well worth it there's plenty of room to pitch up and plenty of choice over three fields

We didn, t book in time to get hookup but really didn, t need it as there's plenty to do here ~ The fishing is free if you are camping on site and the lake is well stocked

There are lovely walks all over the site and an especially nice walk that leads to the local pub called the Shrewsbury arms where we had a very good meal and a few drinks It is a good idea to get back before dark as you need to find your way back to the site!

I thought the site fees were very reasonable we paid 10 per night

We were visiting Oulton Park Circuit on the Sunday afternoon and its only ten mins from the site we were told that you can sometimes hear the noise from the circuit at he site but the wind must have been in the wrong direction

The toilet facilities are somewhat basic but spotlessly clean and the free showers are very hot and powerful

There are several unfenced areas of deep water so small children need to be supervised at all times

The only negative comment was a bit of a row in the middle of the night and the people were evicted very swiftly the next morning

We liked the peace and tranquillity of this site and will definitely be going back again soon 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MsGemini 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Shays Farm in our tent. It's a gem of a site. The owners are friendly and welcoming and keep the site well maintained and the facilities clean and tidy.

The location makes it ideal for a visit to Delamere Forest, Chester Zoo, or a little further afield is Jodrell Bank Observatory, although there are other local ones nearby that are well worth a visit.

The site also caters for touring caravans in the main field, although there were some tents sited there as well. However, most tents were sited in the 2 adjacent fields. We were lucky enough to have electric hook-up for ours. The site is located in beautiful countryside for walking yet the local pub serving meals is within reasonable walking distance. The site has a fishing lake, is generally well maintained, sheltered, and has mature trees in some areas giving a back to nature feeling. It's also a very quiet site too which was fine for us.

Although spotlessly clean and free to use, the shower & toilet facilities are few - 2 toilets & 1 shower for everyone. Queuing is a must at times. We thought than an extra couple of loos & showers could make this site even better than it already is, and we wouldn't mind if that meant having to pay 20p or 30p a shower every time we used them. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Clairehope 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 days over during the school Easter holidays - my daughter, her friend and our two dogs. It is a simple site, this weekend there were two toilets and 1 shower. These are in 'trailers'. The main field has the toilet and shower, which has a washing up sink to one side and the chem loo disposal at the back. These are plain, simple and functional. Unlike most of their type they are 'creepy crawley' free and very clean. I loved the shower, it may not have been as glamorous as some I have seen, but the water pressure was fantastic, the temperature controllable and the compartment a good size with somewhere to put your toiletries - there's a whole separate area for getting dry and dressed with somewhere to sit. Considering this is a certificated site, where the facilities are really only to supplement your own, I was very impressed.

There are a couple of hardstandings and a few power hook ups, water taps in several places and plenty of bins - labelled for recycling. There is a fishing pool on site which is free to use for campers.

The owners are lovely and friendly, the site is very quiet and peaceful, tucked away in its own little valley, yet actually only minutes from all kinds of things to do and places to visit to suit a huge variety of tastes. Chester is less than 30 minutes, with museums, races, great shopping, river boat trips etc. Delamere forest is about 10 minutes, with a range of walks, bike tracks a 'go ape' adventure course, picnic facilities - great for an inexpensive family day out and they host a variety of events over the summer - erasure and simple minds are playing there this summer to name but two.

However, for me the real charm of this site is its simplicity. It's right back to 'life in a field' type camping, not manicured - no roads, so things could get a little slippy in heavy rain - a stream running past the bottom of the site, surrounded by mature trees. We were lucky with the weather, it was sunny and warm almost all the time we were there, which I am sure helped, but this is the kind of peaceful haven with a very warm welcome that many of us are searching for from camping. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CharMe 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived here on Saturday 30th April, intending to stay for 2 nights. The place is only 25 minutes drive from our home which is one of the reasons we picked it.

When we arrived, I spoke to the lady owner who was just lovely. She couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

We were on field 3 in the valley, the first field being for caravans, the second seemed to be for tents/camper vans requiring electric hook up, beyond these two was the third which is where we pitched.

What a lovely place, really peaceful, lovely countryside setting. We were loving it until the large group of campers in field 2 (the middle one) started up a movie on a fairly large screen they had erected. The movie was Grease and was started up at a very loud volume at around 8pm. This continued until around 10 pm then we were treated to 80's songs for an hour then it stopped. Then it started again, this time it was Karaoke! This went on at the same very loud volume until just after midnight.

I don't think it was coincidence that 5 of the 7 campers in our field left early the next morning!

Luckily there was no such noise the following night and all was great and peaceful again.

There was a toilet in the next field which was generally well stocked and cleaned (we saw) at least once a day. The shower/toilet was in the first field with a dish washing sink. This toilet was also cleaned and had good quality toilet roll and soft paper towels.

There were wheelie bins in each field to recycle rubbish and these were seen by us to be emptied twice in one day.

I'm fairly sure there was a famr shop near by and a supermarket in Winsford town centre around 6 miles away.

We took games to play, bat and ball, football and frisbee and has a great time with our two children (ages 9 and 6) just playing, relaxing and walking. Was great and despite the racket on the first night we will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sebbridle 2 reviews from this member

 We really loved this site. Lovely big pitches and loads of space. There is so much walking right from the site and on the site. Our dog is 16 now so we could not take advantage of all the walks but he loved the large dog walk. You know it's never going to be crowded as there are only six pitches. The owners are very friendly and helpful. There are many sites in this area and so far this is easily the best one we have been to. It's great for us at weekends because it's less than half and hour from where we live. Hope to stay there again soon. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stargate 2 reviews from this member

 Family and friends went to Shays Farm for their Halloween weekend.

The children had a brilliant time so much, we all booking again for this year.

This is a well looked after site, The site owners very friendly, and nothing was to much trouble for them, I must admit we have never stayed for a holiday.

I have reviewed the site for the Halloween weekend only and recommend it. 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 39     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Shays Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shays Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shays Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tarporley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement