Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seven Acres Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Frome > Seven Acres Camping Site Reviews

Seven Acres Camping Site
West Woodlands
Frome
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA11 5EQ
Tel: 01373 464222
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linz+James 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site, the owners were very friendly and helpful. Clean toilets, well lit.

We stayed in a tent over the little bridge with our young son, whilst there we visited Longleat, Cheddar Gorge, Stonehenge and Burnham on Sea.

Lovely site, would highly recommend and intend to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minnie 74 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site during a weekend trip to Longleat.  It's location is great, woke up in the morning to hear the Lions .When we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the owner.  The sigh itself is excellent, enough space for out tent no overcrowding at all. The Toilets were clean and well lit at night. It was a drive to the nearest supermarket and pub.  All in all a great little sight. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craig175 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the site because of the proximity to Longleat (5 miles). Its a very nice site with very friendly and helpful owners. Its very close to the town of Frome, and Sainsburys is only about 10 minutes away.
The downsides are : Lots of road noise and train line the other side of the road. Facilities not great (no washing machine or hand washing). Just a couple of showers and basins.
The shower block is kept very clean though and for eleven pounds a night incl electric hook up for a tent you can't go wrong if staying for about three nights like we did. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BumbleLW 1 review from this member

 My first thought about the campsite is that it is extremely well maintained. The grounds are immaculate. The site is really nice and despite being near a road and a railway, it is very quite and peaceful. The scenery is lovely. The facilities were adequate. I have read that somebody said there was only one toilet, this is incorrect. There is a ladies loo with 2 toilets, sinks and a hairdryer and it also contains a shower cubicle. The men's are roughly the same. There is also another room with a shower, toilet and sink for use by men and woman. There is hot water and the facilities are clean.
There is a small play area for the children and a washing up room. I loved my stay. The owners are both very nice. The site is about 5-10 minutes away from Longleat and there is also a Sainsbury's and an ASDA close by. There are no pubs around the site but there is a nice one not far from the site.
The site allows BBQ's as long as they are attended to correctly and on bricks if needed to prevent burning to the Grass. Me and partner got engaged while we were there so it was obviously a good stay. Big thumbs up! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prebs 1 review from this member

 We were at the site in early July for a weekend.  We found the owners both very helpful and friendly.  The facilities were clean and pleasant.  There are two toilets and a shower in the ladies. There is  also a room with toilet, shower and hand basin which is very useful for families with young children.  The site was well maintained and the grass was well drained when you consider the amount of rain that had fallen! 
The site is perfectly placed for Longleat Safari Park which was about 5 miles away and there are at least two large supermarkets within 5 mins drive.  I would happily recommend this site especially at the price.  Well done. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheldon68 1 review from this member

 I visited this site in order to go to longleat with my family, we liked this site because it is good value for money at only ten pounds a night.
The showers and toilets are always kept clean, 
The stream ran straight past our caravan and the kids loved it.
The site is very spacious the owners are very nice people and we will be visiting again and would recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparklymaya 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of my favourite campsites ever! Set by a lovely bubbling stream, the campsite is small, friendly and never so fully booked that you feel crammed in.

It is perfectly located for exploring Bath & Longleat and the little town of Frome is also near by - where the world's best Bombay Sapphire & Tonic Ice Cream can be found!

The campsite has clean facilities, although there are a limited number of showers, I have never had to wait long if at all. The showers and hairdryers are free.

All in all a lovely break :) 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris50 1 review from this member

 I booked this site in order to visit Longleat for the weekend with my 10 year old son.
I was pleasantly surprised to find a clean, well-tended site with plenty of space for each unit. I agree that the number of showers and toilets is limited but per capita no worse than many other, much busier sites that we have visited.
The owners were friendly and helpful. We re-stocked at a nearby superstore just outside Frome. The proximity to Longleat was very good (about 5 miles) and it was nice to drive away to a peaceful location at the end of a hectic day. My son loved the stream and made friends playing there and on the swings. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John + Chris 1 review from this member

 This is an ideal site for exploring the attractive towns, villages and countryside of Somerset. The caravan area is well maintained, flat and pleasantly laid out, with trees providing shade, and more than adequate space for each unit. The spacious camping field is separated from the caravan area by a bridge over a stream, and tents are not crammed closely together as in some places.

Yes, Seven Acres is near a fairly busy road and a train line but it all quietens down at night-time. From the moment we met the owners, Mr. & Mrs. James, we were made welcome. They are friendly and helpful, working hard all the time to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in and around the toilet/washing area. These facilities are not large but are geared to the relatively low number of people allowed on the site.

There is no need for a shop here as it is only 5 minutes from Frome, with plenty of shopping for all. We would certainly go there again 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentmantim 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite hasn't been reviewed in a couple of years on here, but things haven't changed greatly from the sounds of it.

Both reviews are still factually correct; the site does only have two showers, two toilets, and a room to wash dishes. However, although this was my first experience of camping as an adult (camping with parents and in the back garden don't count!), I found the site very satisfactory.

It is nice and close to Longleat (the reason for my stay), and surrounded by a beautiful landscape. The site itself is reasonable well laid out - an area of hardstandings for caravans and motorhomes, and a large field the other side of a small stream for tents. The stream is ideal for kids to play in (and keeping your cans cool - but make sure the kids don't fiddle, else they'll float away), and the field was flat and big enough for a kickabout or frisbee (if you want shade in the morning and sun in the evening, go to the far end of the tent field!)

As mentioned already, the facilities are hardly generous (although they were very clean), but as the site isn't too big, there shouldn't be too much demand on them - I never needed to wait for a shower, for example. The only other potential downpoint is that the road can be quite noisy sometimes (damn speeding motorbikes!), and there is a railway line fairly close by, so there is some noise from that. Although there isn't a shop within walking distance, I believe there is a Sainsbury's a mile or two towards Frome. Also, no close pubs unfortunately.

At £8 per night though, it's a steal, and I would consider using again if visiting the area again.
 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seven Acres Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seven Acres Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Seven Acres Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frome      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2702 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement