Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seven Acres Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Frome > Seven Acres Camping Site Reviews

Seven Acres Camping Site
West Woodlands
Frome
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA11 5EQ
Tel: 01373 464222
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Natwes473 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, with clean and tidy pitches. 19 hookups and a huge non electric field. A small shower block that was very clean but a little dated.

We stayed for the Frome Cheese show weekend which is well worth a visit.

An added bonus for our weekend was waking up to the sound of air balloons going over the top on their way to Longleat.

We will definitely stay again what a chilled weekend and all for 18 a night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Njames2000 1 review from this member

 We stayed for two nights. The camping field is at the back of the site and has picnic benches dotted around the field. As we were first to arrive we pitched next to one of these to use for our outdoor table.

The field is relatively flat and has good quality soil and none of our pegs hit any stones.

The shower and toilet block was functional. One of the rooms has shower, sink and toilet in it and is for men or women to use which is good.

There are sinks and hot water for washing up.

Sainsbury supermarket, Pizza hut and Burger King are about 2. 6 miles away. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dandy1 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with the pitches set in amongst a wide variety of trees, tent site is accessed across a bridge and is supplied with seats and picnic tables. Owner really friendly and welcoming, facilities could do with updating but are adequate.

Not a site for children as there is a pretty river running through the site which is quite deep in places and it is next to a really busy road, also not ideal for dogs as there are no footpath walks and the main road has very little verge.

The site is let down by the noise from the road and railway but this is not the fault of the site. Nearest town is Frome which has bags of history but has a small town mentality and a hatred of cars, therefore unsurprisingly it seems to be dying with loads of graffiti and empty shops, however it is worth going in to get bread from The Settle, it is proper bread.

Fortunately there is Asda Sainsburies Halfords Homebase etc. On the outskirts on the bypass and Trowbridge and Warminster are only a few miles away with really good shopping and free parking.

Places to visit Stourhead Gardens, Longlete, Bath, Stonehenge, Shearwater, Westbury White Horse

This site does have some drawbacks but we enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rshaw137 1 review from this member

 We stayed for two nights at the back end of July this year. We loved it.

Large area for tents at the back of the site, over a small stream. Quite far back away from the road. The campsite was very quiet. Only ten tents were up on the Friday and even less on the Saturday.

Toilet block was small but clean and totally adequate for us. Campsite owners very friendly.

It was great to have picnic tables dotted around the site.

There is a road and train line near by, but it did not effect our stay whatsoever. We slept great and it was very relaxing sitting at our picnic table.

Thank you 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nick Reader 1 review from this member

 Visited last bank holiday booked 4 nights and stayed 9!

A lovely site, very clean toilet block, immaculate grounds.

Pub other side of the roundabout excellent food and customer care.

Road and railway noise not a problem at all.

A great adventure for kids with the river running through the centre of the site. Plenty of space for families to play and dogs to run.

Frome very close by with loads of independent shops and cobbled streets.

Longleat on the doorstep

Will be back very soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dysdera 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived early evening and found nobody at reception so pitched up and then took a walk to the house where the lovely if hard of hearing owner was watching telly.

We stayed for 3 nights after only booking for two. The toilets and showers were very clean, but also very unheated and the showers did not seem to work very well and surged hot then cold causing my wife to use the one in our motor-home instead.

As for the road and railway noise we did not find it at all intrusive and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Upon our departure someone had unfortunately emptied sewage down the grey water point as the two are very close and I guess not easy to tell apart for the new camper.

The large tent field was closed, which became our games field, but I could imagine it being very difficult with only a few showers and toilets available. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ronnie Egg 5 reviews from this member

 More of a stop gap site.

This is a really clean, well kept site, with lovely weeping willows around and with a stream separating the caravans and tents. The grass was well mown and hard standings well drained. The shower block was immaculate.

However, it did have the feeling that it was a stop gap site, as people were staying for 1 or 2 nights, then moving on. There were also a couple of caravans with fellas going to and fro from work from, in the week.

We chose it, at it was near Longleat and not to far to cheddar - both fab days out.

It did rain a lot, but the hard standing was drained well, so all ok.

There was a swing for the children and the owners were happy for them to run around on the grassy areas as well. Plus we always take swingball!

The train can be heard in the distance, but all in all, a good base to go out from. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deborah247 6 reviews from this member

 I use UK Campsite to find places to stay so feel it only fair to leave honest reviews ;

It is a lovely site, well maintained grounds well kept. As previously mentioned has a stream going through for Children to play in. Swings in the centre of the tourers, and a netball/basketball hoop behind facility block.

We stayed to visit Longleat, only ten minutes down the road, so ideal.

Large Tenting field, and can hold about 16 touring caravans, BUT only 10amp electric, which does sometimes prove a problem.

Family toilet/shower room - Ladies 2 toilets with 1 electric shower, (presume Mens the same) NO heating in the toilets, but they are kept clean and there is a hairdryer for use.

Washing up facilities, 2 sinks in separate room always clean and hot water. But would imagine long wait when busy

Overview, site is well maintained, toilets/showers kept clean, but old. Would think in busy times would not be able to cope as only two toilets and 1 shower, unless you willing to wait.

Electric 10amp proved annoying for us.

Excellent location for Longleat, Wooky hole (very good) and Cheddar Gorge (didn't go)

Pub left out of site, 1st right, mile down the road Fox & Hounds, EXCELLENT sunday Carvery, 10 adults but worth it

Sainsburys & Asda within 10 mins, Frome town 15 min away too.

Site is good, basic but clean and 16. 00 pn with EHU. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jordcm 3 reviews from this member

 This site is ideally located to visit longleat and Wookey hole, which were both brilliant. Our children are 8 and 6 and they thoroughly enjoyed both.

The site overall was very well maintained with nice size pitches.

Unfortunately, the road is very noisy and heavy trains are constantly running.

The toilet/shower block is very clean, but could do with some updating, it was very cold and uninviting. The shower pressure was diabolical, our caravan provided more water coverage!

Although we enjoyed out stay, we would not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beckyd710 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this site to celebrate our daughters 7th birthday at longleat safari park.

Its perfectly placed being only 5 miles away from longleat and represents good value as well, 15. 00 per night inc EHU and no extra charge for awning!

The site itself is situated just off a fast road which cars and bikes do seem to speed down but this def calms down at night. There is also a train line close but again trains appeared to stop at night so no prob with noise and sleeping.

There is approx 20 hardstanding spaces set in a sort of circle which all have EHU and then across a small bridge in to a field there is a large area for tents although we couldn't see any EHU here.

Very well maintained site short grass good drainage ( no puddles). Small two swings, play area in middle of site surrounded by silver birch trees, lovely shallow stream which children could play in on warm days.

Facilities appeared ok in the ladies 2 toilets and sinks only one shower according to O/H same in mens but there was a family foom which also had a shower in and toilet. I use my own bathroom in my caravan so cant comment about the showers but I would imagine if the site was full then may be a bit of a wait !

Owners seemed very pleasant and helpful we arrived late (20. 30) and hadn't been to cash point. That wasn't a problem she said pay me tomorrow, just told us our pitch number.

I would highly recommend this site as a good base for visiting longleat, bath, bradford on avon, sailsbury etc as its a lovely site and good value. Asda and sainsburys are very close as is the town of Frome which has the use take aways cash points etc.

The site does not have a web site but there is good views on the map facility on this website of the site and you can judge your self about the road and train line ( which honestly is not a major problem)! 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seven Acres Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seven Acres Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Seven Acres Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frome      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2670 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement