Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Westleton Road
Darsham
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 3BS
Tel: 01728 668555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 1st April To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site will be open as government guidance allows and we are now taking bookings, please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our facilities block. Other facilities are available as normal, but you may require your own sanitation , toilet and shower facilities within your caravan / motorhome / tent. Drinking water and waste disposal is available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kp14 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice quiet site with very helpful staff and we will certainly go back again. The site is very close to the A12 and Minsmere is very near for bird watching. There is a very good farm shop on the same road as the site for provisions. I have only one criticism - the shower temperature is far too hot for me and cannot be adjusted. I heard a child getting upset because the mother could not adjust the temperature - what a shame it would have scored 10 otherwise. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smartover60 1 review from this member

 The pitches on this site are very large and it is very quiet. The managers are friendly and welcoming and located us near to our shower block because of my health problems. We love Southwold and Aldborough and there are superb farm shops nearby selling fresh local produce. The only problem we encountered was the state of the shower block, The toilets didn't seem to be cleaned every day and my husband said there was a very bad smell in the gents. The ladies toilets were adequate but the showers didn't appear to be cleaned all week and the floor remained the same all week with the same litter that I spotted on the first day. I know the mangers were very busy but I do expect showers and toilets to be at the same level of cleanliness in which I keep my own. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frannydabidozi 6 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, run by friendly people who are not greedy and devote the campsite to generous size pitches and a large dog walk area. The campsite is situated perfectly for trips into Aldeburgh, Southwold and Framlingham. There are 2 supermarkets in Saxmundham about 10 mins drive away.

The campsite is very peaceful and has an on site shop with fresh bread daily and a coffee machine, all items reasonably priced.

There are 2 shower/toilet blocks, one in each field and despite visiting at the end of the May half term week the site was not overcrowded and there was never a wait for the showers which were always clean with plenty of hot water. Hair dryer is provided too.

We had a pitch next to the playing field which was great for our children and is opposite the dog walk area so we were not overlooked. The site does advertise its a quiet site between 9pm and 8am, everyone respected this rule so you did not have to listen to other inconsiderate campers which we have experienced elsewhere.

This a gem of a campsite and because we had such good weather spent most of our afternoons on site enjoying the sunshine so we didn't do any walks but that gives us an excuse to come back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sbt01 3 reviews from this member

 A great site, with two lovely fields, each with own washroom facilities. A mixture of tents and vans on field two, which works very well. Electric hook ups and a little shop for essentials. Obliging and friendly wardens. Easy to access from the A12, and very close to Dunwich Beach, and Minsmere. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jankelly1 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from spending Easter weekend at Mill Hill Farm -we are regular visitors to this part of the country, but have not stayed at this site before. We would highly recommend it -the pitches are very large and each have electric hook-up and small nightlight. There are 3 separate fields but you were unaware of other fields so the site felt small and secluded. Excellent hot showers available 24hours a day, clean loos and ample hot water for washing up. If I was being picky I would says the hand basins are a little small for anything other than washing hands - there was a new shower block on the large field which we didn't visit so these may have been bigger.

You can walk to Westleton where we had a couple of very good meals at The White Horse - and a very warm welcome! However, there is no direct footpath so walking may be difficult if you have children.

Best way to get around is by bicycle - 5-10mins into Westleton, a futher 15-20minutes to Dunwich. Lots of lovely lanes for cycling and of course the heathland and beach are fantastic for walking.

This area is like stepping back in time and we love it -I would highly recommend site -very warm welcome, and thank you Kat for letting us stay later today (no extra charge) -because the sun was shining! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Essexexpress1969 2 reviews from this member

 I have never given any feedback online ever !, but this campsite has inspired be to do so. Where do I start ? Quiet site. Overslept everyday, felt so re-charged just being there, spotless facilities, booking easy, staff polite and helpful, area to die for, site shop brilliant, dog friendly and the site is so clean!. Have been to many sites where you feel that the owners tolerate you, but here, none of that, we were made to feel welcome, even special ! They do fishing for those inclined, and for free I was informed. There was no additional charges for awnings, we had great neighbours who had been before, and they told us there was no charges for extra cars, visitors or dogs ! How refreshing to go somewhere and pay what we were quoted. (I have been charged for a wind break before!. ) The on site shop was great. Fresh bread and milk delivered everyday, the best bacon I have ever tasted and cheaper than our local sainsbury's. There are birds everywhere, and we even heard owls hooting ! Had a lovely meal at the 'White horse' in westlton, lovely village! Dunwich heath, wonderful, spent many hours walking, sea close by aprrox 2 miles, paradise. If there is any criticism of this site, it is that the bins are industrial skips, they are large, and difficult to open, but I would prefer that to some sites we've been to, where bins have been overflowing and smelly. So to some up. Brilliant site, Brilliant owners, massive pitches, brilliant facilities, fantastic location, brilliant shop and so peaceful, as a seasoned campers we have been many places throughout Britain, but this has the trophy as the best for now, I can't explain it, it just has a feel to it that makes me want more, can't wait to go back ! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackdaveandsid 2 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site, and would be happy to recommend it. The only down side was the very hard ground, but we had borrowed some strong pegs for our awning after reading earlier reviews, so not a problem. The shop is very reasonably priced, toilets and showers clean. Dog walking area, fishing lake. Well placed for visiting the lovely villages and towns on the Suffolk coast. At 18 per night inc. EHU on a large plot, great value. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nainai1 1 review from this member

 I would highly recommend this site, pitch nice and big, toilet and shower facilities well maintained. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The site has a fishing lake which is a far enough away from tents and you have to go through secure gate to access so brilliant considering we have young children. I liked that most people keep the noise to a minimum after about 10pm.

The site is perfectly situated for visiting Southwold and we loved the Minsmere nature reserve would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sally Sadler 12 reviews from this member

 Fantastic. Totally loved our stay. The fees are perfect for 2 but as a big family a total bargain. We normally find most sites either expensive or lacking facilities but this site delivers on both counts.

The pitch we had was massive and water was very close by, we had electric too. The pitches vary in slope so take the full size level kit and we needed blocks which were provided for free. The site is extremely well drained. It is on a hill (with a wind turbine) it can be very windy and we needed our full awning ties and were well battened down. The ground is solid! We took heavy duty pegs (the ones you drill in!). Our additional tent had normal metal pegs and they got bent! They were hard to remove!

This is a seriously dog friendly site! A few people failed to pick up muck on the dog walking meadow but the majority did and there were no random wandering dogs in the camping areas as all owners took care. Poop bins were frequent and upgraded to big red ones during our stay!

The main shower block is free and new (there is the older one by the main shop Too. Its fairly clean (if you are fussy about corners and moths then camping possibly is a bad choice). They were hot and both the showers and toilets were roomy. They used sinks rather than basins - actually not a bad idea. The soap ran out and oddly no-one complained (we forgot) but as soon as someone did it was refilled (would have given 10 if not for this)! When busy there is a little waiting so get up early at busy times!

The dish washing was indoors and more than adequate. There was local information in both blocks. I also saw a freezer for blocks (although we didn't use it. There was also a washing machine and drier which our older kids used. The shop was fantastic. A great choice and all far better in price than expected! Some of the local bread and meat was so good we were delighted.

The fishing lake was big and well stocked. Although we didn't catch anything big we all caught a huge amount of small tench, rudd and roach and a few small mirror carp. We saw larger (but they were crafty!) Great for kids!

Oddly the lack of play area the kids didn't even notice. There was so much to do. There was a ball playing area and the pitches being so large helped. There was a huge undercover area for campers to be able to sit in the dry (or shade) with benches. The kids seemed to enjoy playing under it and in the meadow. I can't mark them down on this because the kids didn't.

Locally we recommend the Emerdale farm shop (honestly we wish we had one!) The smoke house and Mrs T at the Harbour between Southwold and Walberswick (which also supported the bell Inn which had scrummy food). In short we ate way too much! The beaches are all great and there is a variety of sand and pebbles! Several beaches are dog friendly including walberswick and Sizewell and either side of the beach huts at Southwold.

The walks in the area are plenty and wonderful. Sizewell was the best (we found Black cherries and cob nuts). We could smell mushrooms for later in the season). The Sizewell cafe offered excellent value and good helpings!

We visited the maze maze (a little expensive for 7 and no dogs allowed sadly) but a good day and great fun - so worth it!

We love Suffolk and this site is ideal! Especially for families with dogs! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seagherkin 3 reviews from this member

 Very helpful on arrival and generally a friendly relaxed campsite. We would have preferred to be by the sea but the most of those campsites in suffolk are noisy and crowded. This was peaceful and nearly silent after 9pm. The pitches were huge (we had a hook up) but the ground was like concrete due to the dry season so we broke a few pegs. Clean modern washing facilities and a dog walking trail through long grass made this a very comfortable place to stay so will definitely return here again. The location is excellent for exploring the whole suffolk coast - seaside at Southwold, wild beaches at Walberswick and Minsmere. Marshes and rivers at Snape and Orford. Culture. Well we will have to come back for that! 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2864 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020