Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Westleton Road
Darsham
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 3BS
Tel: 01728 668555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 1st April To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that we have closed our site until further notice because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus (Covid-19).

For more information about helping to prevent the spread of coronavirus, please visit: https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/

For further details on any bookings and for the latest updates please contact us

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martin Jackson 1 review from this member

A very warm, friendly welcome. Campsite clean and tidy, the amenity blocks were always warm and were cleaned regularly.

The campsite has a quiet policy after 9:00 pm and this was well observed.

We had booked for 4 nights but liked the site so stayed an extra night.

Very well worth a visit is the Emmerdale farm shop just down the road, the best one we have seen.

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lincolnshire lad 5 reviews from this member

Have just spent three nights on this gem of a campsite. We were looking around the felixstowe area for somewhere to pitch but everywhere was too busy for us so we started to make our way towards lowestoft via the A12 and saw the sign for this site, so purely by chance we have found a lovely peaceful site that we will definitely be returning to in the future.

Everything is well kept and the toilets and showers are spotlessly clean and tidy, there is a budgens supermarket just 5 mins away and lovely Halesworth just 15 mins, Minsmere nature reserve 2/12 miles away, Southwold and Aldburgh also within easy reach.

Dog walk and fishing lake on site also generous size pitches and small shop that sells the essentials and fresh coffee, couldn't wish for anything more, thank you Mill Hill campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Claire20076ecq 1 review from this member

First stay at this beautiful camp site. Easy to find and in the countryside. It was the hot August bank holiday and they were full.

But they were really big pitch sizes and didnít feel like we were in top of each other. The shop is amazing and really great prices. Cheaper than normal shops which was refreshing. Staff are lovely and helpful.

The toilet and shower blocks are well maintained and cleaned at least twice a day that I saw. There is a beautiful fishing lake there which we used again for a great day or half day price. Itís huge. We also walked the dog there.

Dogs are well catered for in the shop and lots of poo bins around the site and there is a beautiful walk across the road at Darsham marshes which is a wildlife site.

Just down the road from Saxmundham and Dunwich so went the beach.

We havenít been camping for years but really enjoyed it here and will be sure to come back.

Highly recommended this site
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynne Delph 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic Campsite! Great Location, close to gorgeous Southwold, Walberswick, Dunwich, Aldeburgh, Thorpeness & much more.

Facilities spotless on every visit. Peaceful, spacious pitches. Well stocked shop. You can hire Fire Pits which is great fun and come with everything you need.

Site beautifully maintained, with 3 fishing lakes, we donít fish, so canít say how good the fishing is.

Reception has home grown veg, which they ask donations for. Library with books & magazines. A multitude of information brochures. We will definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Alf73 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite; itís set in beautiful countryside. The ethos of the site is peace and quiet and that was definitely our experience. We went with a dog and it was lovely to see that dogs are welcomed there; there are beautiful on-site walks that the dog loved with plentiful poo bins provided. The pitches are a decent size and nicely demarcated with hedging. The facilities are great; the toilets and washing up block are spotlessly clean.

There is a well-stocked shop on site and a farm shop and cafe just down the road, which opens for breakfast at 9. There is a convenience store in the nearest village that is great for out of hours food and drink purchases.

The owners were great at communicating with us, ensuring that the booking process ran smoothly.

The website said that Sat Navs sometimes send people to the wrong location but our Garmin got us there perfectly.

Definitely recommended, especially for dog owners.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Burton07 2 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our recently acquired campervan (although we are seasoned tent campers)and our first visit to Suffolk, so we only booked two nights. We didn't want to leave at the end of our booking because the site is so good.

The pitches are plenty big enough and softly lit at night. We have yet to add an awning to our equipment so we pitched a small tent for storage and toilet use. There was more than enough room for this too. The facilities are brilliant: spotlessly clean and hot water constantly on tap. The power shower nearly knocked me over!

The utility room has plenty of modern sinks plus fridge and washing machine. There are plenty of dog walking areas and the wildlife is an important part of the experience.

The site rules are beneficial to everyone, eg keep dogs on leads (we've been to many sites where these aren't obeyed), Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult in the washing areas, quiet policy between the hours of 9pm and 9 am.

We will definitely be returning for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philandlol 22 reviews from this member

We have been to Suffolk many times touring and this is the best site we have stayed at.

The site was extremely clean and the facilities were generally spotless.

The pitches themselves are long and fairly narrow but enough room for a van and an awning. It looked to me as if water was no more than a few yards from you which ever pitch you were on.

Having a son with a slight walking disability, I was impressed to see that a number of the pitches are designated soley for disabled people and that the lake has a large concrete raft with fishing priority for the disabled. I have never seen either of these things on a site before.

Excellent well stocked shop on site and not too expensive either, in fact bottled Adnams beer was only 10p more a bottle than Tescos !

If you are BBQing I suggest you try Emmerdale farm shop up the road as the meat is excellent. If you like to eat out I suggest The Bell in Middleton but avoid the Crown in Westleton unless you are a lottery winner !

All in all an excellent site and we look forward to returning next year

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LesD 19 reviews from this member

An excellent campsite. We had a none EHU or basic pitch. It was level and a very good size and had a picnic table provided. All pitches are well spaced and the site layout is good. Areas are divided off using a variety of native trees and bushes.

Roadways are gravel. The grassed areas are mown according to need. Lots of space to walk around, a dog walking/exercise field is provided. Large fishing lake provided and a new conservation area has been started with two lakes and landscaping. It will look great in a year or two.

Facilities are very good. Wash blocks are very clean, plenty of hot water and heated in cold weather. Hand wash soap and paper towels provided. Freezer for ice blocks in the washing up area. Washing machines and driers available. A well stocked camp shop.

The friendly staff are very hardworking and care about the campsite and it's environment. Across the road is a small Suffolk wildlife trust nature reserve but all sorts of things from Bee orchids to Barn owls can be found on the campsite itself.

Again an excellent place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kath+john 7 reviews from this member

This is one of the finest campsites we've stayed on. We spent a week here, exploring local wildlife reserves.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were immaculate.

For caravans and campervans there are two fields with almost 100 pitches, and a smaller field to one side with 8 tent pitches. Electric points available for a few of the tent pitches (we didn't use). The tent field is very spacious, with only the grass at the pitches and pathways mown short. Most of the field is unmown, giving a sense of really camping in a farm field.

A short walk by connecting path to the facilities block. There is an additional block in the far caravan field, we only used the block at reception. Good hot showers, facilities clean and well lit. Separate washing up room. Separate building for tourist info, book swap area, and freezer for your freezer packs. Free wifi covers most of the site. Small shop selling essentials. Some recycling bins on site (glass, paper, aluminium).

Subtle lighting around the site at night. Entrance to the site by secure barrier operated by key card (£10 refundable deposit).

Lots of use of renewable energy (solar hot water, PV, and wind turbine).

A very quiet and tranquil site. Large fishing lake at rear of site with some waterfowl, and additional large lake and wildlife area being developed. Several turtle doves in the trees around the site (the farm is part of Operation Turtle Dove). Lots of other birdlife around. Local nature reserve (Darsham marshes) across the road. Close to RSPB Minsmere and other wildlife attractions.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HESSPEC 3 reviews from this member

This is an exceptional site, beautifully maintained grounds and amenities. Pitches are well serviced with water and hook ups, chemical waste and rubbish bins not too far away from van.

The toilet blocks and washing up areas are spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful going above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay. The reception shop is well stocked and reasonably priced.

Great value for money. Great location for exploring the Suffolk coast.

Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Mill Hill Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition Wokingham 21/03 to 22/03
Berkshire - Approximately 100 different tents on display, plus accessories in our 5000ft2 camping shop ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4071 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020