Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burton Constable Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Hull > Burton Constable Holiday Park > Reviews

Burton Constable Holiday Park
The Old Lodges
Sproatley
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4LJ
Tel: 01964 562508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 15/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Tall Ant 6 reviews from this member

 Good site

Great Fishing

Beautiful location

Clean toilets

Shame about the clubhouse policy on no kids despite the 'adult side' being empty we had to sit in the lean to that is the kids room , but this did not spoil what was a great weekend.

Will be going back 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodry 7 reviews from this member

 Have been to Burton Constable site 3 times, most recently 20th/21st June 2008. Lovely site with good facilities. Camped right next to childrens playground which my nine year old loved. Tent pitches are all marked out (they will designate an area for you)so if you want to be next to each other you have to book together (this is relatively new, didn't do this 3 years ago)

Clubhouse has small area for children, can get busy but great if it is raining and chilly.

The Constable Arms in the village is a nice pub which does food, probably a 20 minute walk because Burton Constable has a very long driveway which looks very impressive as you drive up.

Toilet block clean and warm with radio piped in which is a nice touch

Overall lovely site not too far from Hull. ASDA store about 20 mins driveaway for supplies 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alistair 9 reviews from this member

 We love this site! We first visited last summer followed by a few more visits in the autumn and more recently, this Easter.

The options of hill or lakeside pitching is down to personal preference. If you have young children then the lakes need not be a great concern as you can pitch on the hill away from the lake. We prefer lakeside where we can watch the wildlife, which can be wonderful here.

The site boasts a great little shop and a clubhouse for those who like a pint. The single toilet block is very modern, clean and the piped music is a nice touch.

There are few downsides to this site such as the problems of getting your van off the grass in very wet weather. At Easter, once the snows had melted our Mondeo had no chance of pulling off our van over the grass to the road. We managed to use the movers to take us off, but now we are 4x4 enabled, this will not be a problem. The site does have a 4x4 for such times though! The only other relatively minor downside, is the goose poo. There are hundreds of wild geese in the vicinity leaving their calling card, but as I enjoy watching them fly around so a good trade off.

Civilisation is not too far away with a big Asda only 10 minutes away complete with pharmacy etc. This site gives the 'away from it all' feeling without being too far away from life's little luxuries. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andrea71 5 reviews from this member

 Very clean site well maintained though expensive.

Showers were running cold on more than one occasion which was dissapointing since they could not have been in heavy use as there were plenty of spaces on the site.

It can be difficult to find a level site as there is a noticable slope to most of the land so get ready for some levelling work and take your blocks as naturally everyone has used any that are laid about

The biggest down we had was when we returned very late one evening having been out to a party until the early hours. The pass you use to allow your car onto the site would not work (its an electronic drawbridge type thing, you get a pass like a credit card) so we were unable to get onto the site. This meant a half mile walk to our caravan in high heels or bare feet which after partying all night was a complete disaster! It was pouring with rain freezing cold and our clothes were drenched etc etc and all becuase we could not get the car onto the site despite trying everything we could think of.

We ended up literally with bleeding feet and a spoiled holiday. Annoyingly the pass had not been reactivated as they had not realised the length of our stay - despite taking the extra money! The card raised the drawbridge to allow us out ok but not back in.

So take a pair of flat heels with you if you are going out and a big coat just in case

They were apologetic but the harm was done. You may also notice that all over the place are little blue signs telling you not to do things, this is a bit annoying after a while as you feel nagged about absolutley everything. We did start to find it funny though.

We were rather suprised to see a little blue sign asking for donations for daffodil bulbs for the woods. Now I love the daffodils as much as anyone but this is a paid for site which charges quite high fees so I think they should just pay for their own bulbs! It did seem like a bit of a cheek to us. Its not as if anyone but those who pay to get in can walk in the woods and enjoy the flowwers. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philildo 5 reviews from this member

 Best showers I've had for†warmth.††One of the†4/5 ladies was†really†powerful†too.† A very†busy site, felt†a†bit†cramped†on the†small†tent field.††
Needs†higher†hedging†for†extra†wind†protection.††Nice†short†grass &†facilities†cleaned†very often.† Security patrol.††Tent†sites next†to†play area - with something for all ages.† Great if you like fishing.† Most unimpressed with our neighbour's DVD!† As others have said, it's a bit pricey. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spl2 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained site, if not a little expensive. With two of us attending for two nights we were told it would be £24, on arrival and advising the attendants we had a 3 man (although small) tent the price went up to £30. This wouldn't have bothered me much however we were pretty contained unlike other campers who seemed to "spread out" - it didn't feel justified.

The field for camping was great, very flat and away from the caravans. A 2-3 minute walk to the shower/toilet and laundry facilities. The facilities were adequate, however the shows didn't seem to work as well as they could. The water was always warm though.

With an on-site shop, and licensed bar (which wasn't really the place for us younger folk) there is plenty to keep you well supplied on your trip. Not the site to go to if you like to "rough it" though! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Picky67 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived Friday evening around 7 to a warm welcome. The site entrance very impressive. A lovely drive through the site to the tent field. Found a lovely spot on the top sheltered by conifers.

Plenty of room to pitch, services near by. Toilet/Shower block clean,poss do with a little updating but overall good. The views and surrounding area was worth going for. We didn't really want to write a review because we wanted to keep this place to ourselves. Lovely walks around the lake and the wildlife was fascinating. It really felt we were getting away from it all. The bar was large and bright, only downfall the childrens room could be a big bigger, but most were outside their tents/caravans but when the weather is not good it would be a squash.

We liked it so much we are returning again in a weeks time, this time to fish as the fishing is excellent.

Overall a place worth visiting  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Big Brian 56 36 reviews from this member

 Stayed here this weekend,what a lovely site ,clean toilet blocks, pleasant staff, shop selling the basics, plus papers! Good local pub selling very reasonably priced meals at end of drive (plus a little walk ), bus service to Hull and Hornsea-make sure you get the right bus stop! (Thank you little white-haired local lady !).
Only down side was the bird scarers in a field someway behind,I think, which went off every 1/4 hour from 8 am. Good job we wanted to be off early to put our national bets on. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roe_Mobile 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Burton Constable for 5 nights over the Easter weekend as a party of two motorhomes and one family sized tent. We arrived on the Thursday before the Good Friday to find an already busy site, which with exception of a handful of pitches, became full by mid day Friday. Despite the full turn out the site never felt busy which pleased us as we donít usually aim for large sites like this. Most pitches are well spaced out with ample of space. From what we could see, all pitches had a view over the lakes with Burton Constable Hall in the back ground. The view is largely helped by the sloping ground which could cause problems on some pitches for larger caravans and be impossible for motorhomes. The majority of pitches looked fine though once sufficient blocks were in place. There is a dedicated motor home area which we can only describe as a graveled car-park, not even a level one at that, as some of the motorhomes on it still had to use level blocks! Although the ground is uneven, we didn'tít hear of or see any problems and the wardens are very helpful and carry plenty of blocks on their quad bikes should you need them. The tent area is to the back, but not out of the way or segmented from everyone. There are some electric points for tents and the ground in this area was still slightly sloping but nothing that would cause any problems from what we noted. The whole site is very well maintained with wardens regularly doing their rounds checking the facilities and picking up the litter some campers feel they can drop. There are plenty of refuse, water and elsan points. The touring area has one main central toilet block which was well kept and modern and looked to handle the Easter crowed, although we never managed to get there during peak times due to our being lazy in the mornings. A walk around the house and grounds are worth the discounted rate and the fishing is reported to be good, although my father didn't break any records with his catches! The small on site bar was pleasant and reasonably priced and didn't generate a rowdy closing time across the site. The no smoking policy was very welcome as was the outside seating for the sunny weather that we were lucky enough to have. We didn't venture off the site so canít comment on the surrounding area. The childrenís play area is spacious and well kitted out. Watch out for the odd football though from the young footballers Ė their pitch wasn'tít that practical with is deep troughs and trees so they used the climbing frames as goals and took over half the play area! The only down side was the electric which kept tripping out. No it wasn'tít us with the kettle, heater and hot water on together, but a problem that affected a block of electric points. We think it was an issue of the system not being able to handle everyoneís heating demands as it appeared to happen around the same time late evening. The wardens were quick to attend and correct the problem but had to attend to the same problem several times through the evening. There is a large privately owned static section and an area under development for holiday cottages, but again, the site seemed to cope over Easter. All in all an excellent stay and we would return. Hope our comments help. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Silverwood 11 reviews from this member

 The boss and I have been to this site 4 times and We would like to make the following comments.Top quality site with top rate well motivated staff. If you don't finish work until 7 o'clock like me, it's hard to find a site that takes late arrivals up to 10pm - NOT a problem here.Most pitches have a lake view and they will pull you out if your outfit gets stuck.Take a slow walk around the lakes, sit for a while and soak up the surroundings. The toilets, showers etc are spotless - honest! Plenty of hard standings for motorhomes, If you like to fish like I do the lakes are well stocked for both the novice or specimen angler alike. The only down side is the site is out in the sticks a bit but we tow the car with us when we go there so it is not too much of a problem. Small shop on site which is stocked with essentials, fishing baits etc and other caravan bits and pieces. Grounds exceptionally well groomed. Never been in the bar area as we are not big drinkers but looks very nice.  


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Burton Constable Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burton Constable Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Burton Constable Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hull      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement