Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burton Constable Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Hull > Burton Constable Holiday Park Reviews

Burton Constable Holiday Park
The Old Lodges
Sproatley
Hull
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU11 4LJ
Tel: 01964 562508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbie123541rqw 1 review from this member

 Fabulous place and beautiful surroundings.

From the moment we arrived we were escorted to our pitch helped in anyway needed and loved our stay.

It was very clean and peaceful thanks for a great weekend

We will be back 🌞 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CAROLINE64 7 reviews from this member

 Wow! Wow wow!

What a site this is, at first we thought £32 per night must be mad, never in 10 + years have we ever paid more than £20 per night, but lots of sites where either full or not fully open & I just needed to get away ( Covid 19 driving us mad ) & wanted a change of scenery & fresh air.

What a entrance to the site, a beautiful building.

On arrival I was given a key for the loos & a code for the barrier, the ladies at reception where chatty & told us to drive round to the club house where we would be met by someone to show us to our pitch. Robert turned up and took us to our pitch and explained and showed us everything we needed to know about the site.

We are in a camper van so was shown to the large field with other motor homes & tourer caravans, the grass was a bit long and a few complained about it.

Plus the field was a bit uneven, it has low level lighting and 4 electric points per light. The one thing we didnít like was pitches arenít marked off so we had dog walkers through our space, which resulted with dogs jumping up at you while your trying to eat or relax( not the dogs fault ) Irresponsible Dog owners who just presumed everyone likes dogs.

The site is part of the land adjacent to the Burton Constable Hall set In acres of beautiful land.

The shower block is 12 months old and as clean as the first day they where opened, these loos & showers are far the best we have ever used, large cubicles for the showers with push button hot water has much as you want, the shower & loos have the radio playing as long as someone is in the building.

There are 2 lots of washing up areas front and back of the building a nd a good laundry room, had a quick look think the washers are £3. 50, the dryers £2. 00 thereís use of irons and boards.

The tent area is in the next section of the park with a large kids play area with foot ball nets.

2 very large fishing lakes ( not fenced off ) cows & bulls in the next field, rabbits hopping around and geese waddling around.

The site has private static caravan, lodges private and rental, & the pods are dotted around the top half of the camping field.

There is a club house with seating outside and a fab shop that sells a bit of everything and hasnít got stupid over the top camping prices like some do, they do food as well for takeaway Like sandwich, and cooked breakfast if you order day before.

We had a walk round the whole of the site and it takes up to 45/60 mins.

If you want to visit the Hall ask at reception, they will give you a 2 for 1 voucher for entry into the hall, stables and the grounds. Itís the best £10. 90 ( gift aided ) we spent 2 hours going round the hall, stables and grounds then nipped into their cafe foe a bite to eat.

I would definitely go back as now we know why itís £32 per night.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND AND CANT WAIT TO VISIT AGAIN. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 12 reviews from this member

 This site has changed so much recently and only 1 review since the changes so I thought I would post an updated review.

Unfortunately it has changed for the worse in our opinion. So it has different owners, almost all of the old staff have gone which is such a shame as they were much more personable than the new ones.

This site has always held a special place in our hearts but sadly it is not as nice as it used to be for the following reasons:

Large groups with music blaring out until all hours and firepits (despite them not being allowed). I love a firepit but unfortunately the grass has been burnt in several places.

Grass was long - had always been short and pristine in the past.

Fishing has drastically gone downhill.

The once really handy shop selling pretty much everything you need now barely has any stock.

Due to no pitches on the lakeside field some of the seasonal pitches that were there have been moved and now occupy the only pitches close enough to have a clear view of the playpark.

These points may sound quite picky and had we not have been frequent visitors before the changes they may not have really crossed our minds. However, sadly we've been spoilt before and feel it's no where near as nice as it was.

On the plus side, it is in such a beautiful setting, still has a great playpark for all ages, bar and clean toilet block with continuous running hot water. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazpete 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here many times over the year's and really enjoyed it but the last few times we have been it has gone downhill. We have spoken to people who own caravans and lodges on the site and they don't sound happy now. Sorry to say this once 5 star site would be lucky to get a low 3 now. We won't be coming back again which is a shame and would love to know what has gone wrong with this once lovely inviting site. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ddeveritt 9 reviews from this member

 After staying several times a year and having seasonal pitches, what a absolute shock when we returned this year in our motorhome. How can something change for the worse in such a short space of time. It isn't kept to the usual standard and it cerainly isn't set up for customers. We decided not to take food with us as the chip van was there and the burger van is usually there only to be told at 4 o'clock chip van no longer on site and a new burger van was there. The burger van opened at 6 pm on Friday. We went into the pub to ask for food to be told had no sandwiches, we were given a Chinese menu to order from the dog refused to eat it went in the bin. The usual friendly buggy man who was about all the time last year was no longer to be seen, neither a lawn mower. This site will struggle to keep its high star award this year as the high standard has gone, don't need anymore 2 star sites looks like it's going that way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart handley 1 review from this member

 As a group, we (several vans), have visited this site about 20 times a year. Recently though I have not been impressed.

The site has become very condensed due to the removal of caravan pitches from around the lake. This in turn increases competition for the remainder of the pitches. And to add insult to injury, 2 more camping pods have been put into 2 of the caravan pitches?

There seems to be a lack of communication with what we (the customer wants), and what the site management are doing.

Even some of the permanent residents are selling up.

Another Hoseasons of the future? It looks like a great site is going to ruin and tourers are suffering 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FrettingPete 9 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site for all ages.

Very clean facilities and plenty of room on each pitch.

The discount voucher for Burton Constable Hall (lovely stately home) is worth using but the grounds are free to enter for campsite guests.

Nice bar and lounge with children's room.

Easy access and well lit at night.

Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisw4266 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 5 nights in July this is one of the best sites I've stayed at in my 11 years of camping. Showers excellent and very clean. Toilets again clean and lots of them, during busy periods the toilet/shower block was cleaned 3 times a day. Outside pot wash plenty of hot water and 4 sinks including 1 at child or wheel chair height. There is an on site shop which has a good range of food an essential camping accessories. Security is excellent key cards required for access and a £10 refundable deposit is taken for this and a shower block key.

There's also a laundry room with washer, dryer and iron this is locked at 8. 00pm. Washer is £3 and dryer £1. The children's park is at the end of the touring park my kids loved it. Most pitches have a good view of the park so you can keep an eye on the little ones. The site is on the banks of Burton Constable halls north lake so fishing is permitted but you need to purchase a licence to fish. There's a on site bar which we didn't use, it was busy and we didn't have any problems with drunks or rowdy behaviour. There's a midnight curfew on noise which was stuck to by everyone during our stay. There's night lighting all over the site so late night toilet trips don't require a torch. The views of the hall, especially when it's lit up at night, are stunning. This a well kept site with pretty much everything of a high standard in summary an excellent site in a quite location yet only 15 mins from Hull city center. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Burton Constable for 4 nights so that our grand children (5 & 3) could join us as they live in nearby Hull. The entrance to the site in the parkland of Burton Constable Hall is very impressive. Booking in was efficient and friendly and we were told that we would be met at the touring site by a member of staff who would show us to our pitch.

You travel through the immaculate residential site to get to the touring site where we were duly met by a very friendly staff member in a 'golf cart' who took us to our pitch and settled us in.

The site has large well laid out hard-standing pitches around the outside and grass pitches in the middle. There is easy access to fresh water throughout the site. We were in the corner by the 'pods' and used the smaller facilities block which was immaculately clean and warn and very well maintained.

We were joined by our two grand children who were immediately taken off the the children's play area which is very well equipped with slides, swings and a massive sand pit.

The site is alongside of the lake and there are all sorts of wildfowl to watch. You can walk over the 'Capability Brown' bridge into the parkland surrounding Burton Constable Hall and entrance to the grounds is included for visitors using the campsite. We had a very interesting visit to the Hall where campsite visitors get a discount. We did not have the voucher but they took our pitch number.

There is a nice cafe in the (huge) stables which has a 'dine with you dog' room. This was a realy good idea as many 'tourers' have dogs.

For motorhomes there is a drive over grey waste disposal which is very handy. Although someone had parked their car over it and I had to ask them to move. Ironically they were in a motorhome next to it!

You see staff about all of the time and there is a regular security patrol at night.

All in all it was an excellent site. We loved it, the grandchildren loved it, our daughter loved it and we will most definitely be back. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 12 reviews from this member

 We love this site. It is in such a beautiful setting in the grounds of a Stately home with lots of lovely walks and animals, birds and wildlife to look at. We even managed to see a barn owl! We have only been touring for 2 and a bit years and this is our 'go to' sight.

The staff here are always very friendly and accomodating and really go out of their way to help and offer advice. There is a bar on site that is cheaper than most pubs and has a lovely beer garden area. There is a fish and chip van that visits on a weekend as well as a grill van on a friday, saturday evening plus sunday morning.

On the weekend we stayed there were bouncy castles etc outside the bar and these were free to use.

The fishing is good and the lakes are really picturesque. There is no fencing around them so if you have little ones you will be better with a pitch away from the lake. The showers are always clean and despite visiting when the site was full I have never had to queue they are not push button so you get a proper uninterrupted shower and the power shower is amazing!

The kids play park has facilities for babies up to teenagers.

ASDA is approximately 10mins drive away and the nearest beach is maybe 15mins drive away. There is some goose poo around especially near the lake but that's just what you get for being so close to nature.

In summary, I really can't think of a bad thing to say about this site. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burton Constable Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burton Constable Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Burton Constable Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hull      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement