Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heligan Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Heligan Caravan And Camping Reviews

Heligan Caravan And Camping
St Ewe
Mevagissey
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EL
Tel: 01726 842714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: 08/01/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tents4us 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived in pouring rain and very high gusting wind and thought that we would never get the tent up until the wind dropped. The lady in reception was very understanding and marked all free pitches on the site map in order that we could choose the one which suited us best. While we were looking for a suitable pitch the warden came round in his van to see how we were getting on and offered to show us a very sheltered area of the site. With this assistance we were able to erect our tent without a problem.

The site is in a lovely location with views across fields to the sea from a number of pitches. The ladies (according to my wife) and gentís toilets, washrooms and showers were always clean with plenty of free hot water, although I imagine that when the site is fully booked there would be a constant queue for the showers, however there is a new set of showers which I believe will be open for the School Holiday season.

The pitches are large, they quote 13m square, which I can confirm for all those which we saw, although some do have trees which cut down the usable area, so mention tent size if large when booking.

As previously mentioned on a previous posting, the shop opening times are very limited outside of the peak season, but next door in the Lost Gardens of Heligan car park is an excellent Farm Shop and Pentewan Sands (their sister site) which is within 2 miles has a large shop with far longer opening hours.

This is an excellent site which I would recommend to anybody who likes a quiet site but within easy distance to numerous attractions and the facilities of Pentewan Sands are also available if required. The warden, his wife and the deputy warden and his wife were all very friendly and helpful. I would certainly consider a return visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justin732 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two weeks as Pentewan Sands wouldn't allow dogs (and our friends wanted to take their dog) and we were rather glad in the end. Heligan is a lovely pretty site with friendly helpful staff.

Our friend's caravan was completely surrounded by water one morning but the warden very quickly dug a drainage channel and also supplied mats so the area didn't become too muddy.

Site shop is adequate and the farm shop nearby is great.

As it was main holidays and the site was fairly full we did have to queue a couple of times for washing up sinks and there was regularly a queue for showers in ladies at busy times (first thing in morning and tea time) though my husband never queued in men's block.

Children's play area on site was great and Heligan Gardens next door is well worth a visit. Lovely children's books written about garden so don't assume kids will be bored!

Mevagissey is a lovely little place with some good restaurants and if you like a nice beach try Manorbier just a few minutes away by car. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katto 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back from a wonderful week at Heligan Woods. The highlights were:

Very clean toilets, shower room, bathroom (with small bath suitable for children and full-size bath), and washing up areas.

Laundry facilities.

Beautiful views.

Peace and quiet.

Lovely walks down to Mevagissey and Pentewan - we did a loop down to Mevagissey and then along the coastal path to Pentewan - amazing views.

The birds singing.

A barn owl flying over whilst sitting outside the tent one night.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Ice pack freezing available (30p charge per pack)

Reasonable price (£11 per night)

Small shop open and great farm shop around the corner.

Very (and I mean very) slight grumbles:

The children's play area was being refurbished and whilst most of it was open my little one was a bit frustrated by not being able to go on the slide/climbing frame. Looked like a very temporary issue though.

The shop wasn't stocking bread/milk (anything perishable really) as they don't stock this in low season - not a problem though as the farm shop had all this a very quick walk away.

The weather was quite showery and had been fairly wet so the ground was very soft but our pitch wasn't too bad, there were a couple of pitches near us that had quite soggy patches though but it all dried out quickly once the sun came out.

I really liked this site and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful base in Cornwall. We visited Eden (15 mins), Heligan (next door), Padstow (about an hour), Newquay, and St Ives and had an wonderful week. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coulston 5 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, lovely staff, lovely setting,spotless toilets and showers. Fabulous farm shop just outside by heligan gardens. It was very wet while we were there but the site was well drained. We where in a tent and no problems at all. We would like to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Great Outdoors Man 2 reviews from this member

 Thanks to reviews here stayed at this site in August 2006 for a few days.We loved it so much we came back for a whole week from August Bank Holiday this year.

Because of the site's links with the much bigger (and less personal) Pentewan Sands site down the road Heligan Woods manages to be well run and has a real intimacy that's hard to ignore too.

The main tent area has generous pitches that feel even bigger thanks to the landscape of rolling fields heading down towards the sea in the distance.Yes, some pitches have a slight slope but this at least means you won't wake up in a pool of water if you'd insisted on something spirit-level flat.

I'd say the wow factor of this site comes from the way the site nestles against the Woods with open fields drawing your eyes to the sea. In the evening we watched a full moon rise from the water to be met by a chorus of hooting owls as the stars came out. I felt like I'd been to another country when I finally got home!

If you want a late-night disco and 'entertainment' you will need to look elsewhere. For a peaceful stay (with or without children) in a great setting you'll do well to find a site as good as this nearby. Minor quibbles (and I mean minor quibbles) that stop me scoring Heligan Woods with the full 10/10 would be:

- Shop and reception opening hours are quirky but, to be fair,clearly stated.

- A booking fee (£7) was required when booking a pitch. This smacked of concert-ticket like opportunism - sorry.

- The male toilet area has wash basins too small to wash both hands at the same time. I kid ye not! Fortunately there are proper 'grown-up' wash basins near the showers 6 feet away.

I recommend the walk/cycle down the path to Pentewan accessible near the entrance to this site. It may too far for young kids to walk unaided but older kids with bikes would be fine, and the pub at Pentewan is good enough to look forward to at the end!Give the car a rest, and allow a half day if cycling or a full day if walking.

Thanks to the other UK Campsiters who recommended this one. It really does work you know. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gnurider 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for the first time last week and our only regret was that we had to leave after 3 days to move on to our next site.

This was everything you could hope for - quiet, excellent views, great pitches, adequate shop and clean toilet / shower facilities and ideal for all that Cornwall has to offer.

We'll definitely be back in 2008 but this time it will be for much longer! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angelfish1 11 reviews from this member

 We saw this site at its worst! It was wet when we arrived and the pitches are well used with bare patches. Of course, it was a mud bath with all the rain! Worse for the people in tents. Once it had all dried up it was fine. Good showers and toilets and washing up facilities. Plenty of space between each pitch and nice rural and distant sea views. Overpriced for what you got though. Lots of nice places to visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saranevans 5 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful.† We stayed in June with our 1 year old so it was just us and about half a dozen other tents and the odd caravan.† Very peaceful and tranquil and the facilities were superbly clean and easily accessible.
The Lost Gardens of Heligan is literally right on the doorstep and Mevagissey is walking distance (although a bit hairy on the road).† There is a pathway through fields and woods down to the village.†
A good all round shop on site for essentials and having the facility of the sister site Pentewan Sands which has its own beach (although a bit livelier than Heligan!)
We'd definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fazza 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely site! 10 quid a night with electric was the best value campsite we found!

We were the only ones on the site so peace and quiet!apart from the crows, owls and pheasents!

Some of the pitches were sloping but we managed to get a very flat one.

Imagine gets busy in season. Owners nice and friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tent_girl 2 reviews from this member

 I really enjoyed my stay here despite being worried beforehand by the amount of smallprint / rules on the booking form that it would be a bit 'regimented'.
On arrival I found it to have a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Yet it was organised. Everything was well set out, pitches not too close together, and the toilets/showers/dishwashing areas were clean and well-maintained.
The view from the tent pitches was lovely, looking out over rolling fields to the sea.
We took our dog along and were at no time made to feel unwelcome.
The whole stay was a pleasure - can't wait to return!
The only 'con' I can think of is that it wasn't cheap - but I have stayed on other sites which cost as much but weren't half as nice. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heligan Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4593 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement