Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heligan Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Heligan Caravan And Camping Reviews

Heligan Caravan And Camping
St Ewe
Mevagissey
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EL
Tel: 01726 842714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: 08/01/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 71 to 75                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bigmoney2 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights at the start of a tour of Cornwall. Main purpose was to visit The Lost Gardens of Heligan, for which the site is excellent, literally next door. We had not booked in advance, and received a warm welcome, facilities were good, and the site was almost empty (end September) so we had our pick of the pitches, got a view of the sea, but needed chocks as the pitch was a bit sloping.

We got the bus from Heligan woods car park into Mevagissey and walked back, which was a bit of a hike in the dark! You can also use the facilities on their sister site Pentewan sands (you get an access card) which is right on the beach.

We would certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: Hippy chick 1 review from this member

 We've stayed at the Heligan Woods site twice in 2003 and 2004 when we'd left it too late to get a pitch on their sister site of Pentewan Sands which we've been going to for donkeys years and love. But as we also love to be close to dear little Mevagissey for our sea fishing from the harbour it looked like Heligan Woods or nothing, so Heligan Woods it was!

We found the site to be absolutely spotless with lovely warm showers at any time of day with the toilet blocks being cleaned regularly at the advertised times so you knew in advance when to steer clear, (although the cleaners do say to yell if you're desperate).
The first year we went there,as well as the small well stocked shop there was a little take away with tables and chairs outside but sadly this had gone the following year but we were still left with the adequate little shop. Don't quite understand how the review from M53G seemed to think that the shop had gone in June 2004 unless it was suddenly able to be staffed by the time we arrived, but it definitely was there!

The staff on site and in the shop were wonderful, nothing was ever too much trouble and they were always ready with help and advice, (not to mention sympathy when our old girl suddenly developed a mysterious spasmodic leaky bit).

We looked forward to our freshly baked baguettes and croissants each day and the cheese and bacon slices were to die for.... Knowing how much cholesterol they had in them, that's probably quite apt! But ooh, they were scrumptious.

Our 23year old son and his girlfriend also spent the first week at Heligan Woods and they thoroughly enjoyed it, barely venturing up to Pentewan for the ameneties as it happened, quite content to lounge around the van taking in the glorious views and watching the TV when it got too dark.

If there were any down sides to the Heligan Woods site, it would be that a sink suitable for the odd bit of hand washing would be a good idea, (although the launderette on site has woondefully efficient washing machines and tumble driers), and it wasn't close enough for us to be able just to wander down to the beach for our early morning fishing as we do on Pentewan as we fall out of bed. Somehow it's not quite as spontaneous when you've got to drive to get there. Otherwise it's a great site and very peaceful at night, which is a boon for oldies like us who need our sleep. And would you believe it, that even after having stayed at this site twice - we still have yet to enter the beautiful Lost Gardens of Heligan! Many others do though and with this site being in such close proximity to them, we saw them nipping back to their caravans/tents for lunch and returning in the afternoon, so they must be pretty spectacular! Should make concerted effort to see them this year while we're on Pentewan Sands,(only for my early morning stroll down to fish!). 


Reviewer: Lwilliams 1 review from this member

 May 2005
I found the facilities and cleanliness of this site to be faultless, friendly staff. It should be noted that all pitches are on grass and that quite a few are sloping. My level pitch was fine and had the usual hookups adjacent. Very quiet, even with minor road adjacent and pleasant setting. Literally a 30 second walk to get to the Lost Gardens of Heligan - 10 for a night, with electricity was a bargain !  


Reviewer: M53G 2 reviews from this member

 June 2004
A little gem of a site right on the door step of the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

The wardens on site are very friendly and extremely helpful.

The pitches are plenty big enough. We had a 4 man tent on our non-electric site and would have had enough room to sub-let to 2 caravans with awnings!

It seems that the (slightly) sloping pitches are reserved for the non-electic campers, but the views from these pitches are unobstructed by other campers and more than make up for it.

The site is atop a hill surrounded by spectacular countryside with sea views.

The facilities on site are of an excellent standard in design, function and cleanliness. They even have a seperate bathroom with a full size and half size bath (a lot easier for bathing younger children than a shower!)

Unfortunately there is no shop on site at the moment (shop owner retired last year), but there is a farm shop near the entrance to Heligan Gardens (not even 2 mins walk), or a very well stocked shop at nearby Pentewan Sands sister site.

Pentewan Sands is a 3 min drive or 90 min walk away and you will get free use of thier facilities, including pool, clubhouse and private beach.

It is about a 45 min walk (2 min drive) along a very safe (if a bit steep in parts) made up cycle track (which skirts the Heligan Estate) to the fishing village of Mevaggissey. There are no roads to cross until you get to the village.

When we went there were only a handful of other campers so we had loads of space to run around the site, but I think the pitches are quite generous so shouldn't be too claustrophobic even in the height of season. If you are a proper (under canvas, non-electric) camper, you'll have plenty of space (especially on pitch 10!)

I was in two minds whether or not to write a report about this site as there are very few "little gems" left, but in view of the quality of holiday I have just had, and the past sucessful holidays planned with the use of the ukcampsite.co.uk web site, I felt that I should give something back (but don't go telling anyone else!)

I feel sorry for Verena as s/he has missed a smashing site, but I can understand the "no van" policy. 


Reviewer: Verena 1 review from this member

 not visited
Tried to book a fortnights holiday with this site on the recommendation of friends who had just been, but when I telephoned I was told in a very abrupt manner that we were not welcome, because we tow our caravan with a van. I explained that we use it because I cannot have a tow bar fitted to my AMG Mercedes and that the van is a new, silver, not signwritten, Vauxhall Vivaro. I would fax them 'references' from other sites we have stayed on who understood our situation and also a copy of our latest VAT return for our business. 'You can say what you like,we won't let you on site.' At least I know where we stand with them!! 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 75     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heligan Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement