Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heligan Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Heligan Caravan And Camping > Reviews

Heligan Caravan And Camping
St Ewe
Mevagissey
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EL
Tel: 01726 842714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: 05/01/2024 to 10/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pwaterton 8 reviews from this member

 Great location for walking and cycling with a good bus service to Mevagissy and St Austell.

Facilities spotless, and I mean spotless. Pitches could be bigger, I don't like parking on grass, but were adequate for our large caravan.

Quiet site although some owl sounds were heard at night.

Very short walk to the Lost Gardens and Farmshop. 


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lels 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely loved the site. Great pitches, great facilities and The Lost Gardens of Heligan are right there.

Only quibble is the cost for dogs. There is a warm dog wash. But, this is just a hosepipe with a spray on the ground.

Lots of poo bins, but it's a public right of way too 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WHeaps 22 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, right next to the lost gardens with own pedestrian access (and discounted admission!). Also easy access to great cycle paths to the coast (beware, it is pretty steep coming back at the end of the day though!). Excellent farm shop next door as well.

Campsite was welcoming with friendly reception staff, and VERY clean very modern facilities, which were more than adequate during our stay (rarely met anyone else in them, but would no doubt be different in high season). Very good price for our off season visit.

Very few downsides at all, though facilities maybe a little too modern and trendy for camping use (Don't like sinks sitting on surfaces, and shower sensors a bit tempremental), but a minor gripe overall). Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Slow Laner 8 reviews from this member

 Nice warm welcome. We were shown directly to the pitch. Gravel and grass both sides. Fabulous views of the distant sea.

Lovely countryside. Cattle, horses and sheep in the fields. Load of crows which oddly didn't wake us up.

You can walk down to Mevagissey and I believe bus it back or Taxi. We didn't risk it as we have been isolating for so long the old legs wouldn't carry us that far.

The site is situated next door to the Lost Gardens and Lobbs Farm Shop. This sold lots of nice goodies. You can also access the cafe / restaurant we didn't as we didn't know this prior to our booking so stocked up en route and in the farm shop.

No nasty narrow roads, just slow down when you see the sign for the campsite. Whooosh it's upon you very quickly!

The site itself is 1st class. Spotless everywhere. Private cubicles including a shower and toilets combined. Lovely. Washing up, fabulous drying room and laundry.

I do believe they had a bike store. A mix of tents, mobile homes, chalets, caravans and of course motorhomes of all sizes.

100% relaxing and our first time in a MH. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Excellent space and site layout.

Brilliant new facilities.

Friendly, efficient staff

Conveniently located for access to the lost Gardens Of Heligan 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: GcH1 2 reviews from this member

 Very well organised site in immaculate condition. Facilities spotless and operators seem to place you to suit your needs.

We were placed close to relatives who hired a static and on a lovely quiet corner of the site.

Perfect for Heligan Gardens which is literally through a gate at the end of the site.

Great views and plenty to do in the area. A few isolated beaches can be found if you are prepared to walk a bit.

Very nice overall 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debsy 122 reviews from this member

 We had a great pitch on this site, not sloping.

We ended up in the Gardens car park as I was totally confused by signage but hey ho it is literally next door through a gate.

Liked the site as well maintained and quiet despite being quite big.

Lovely clean facilities, nothing to complain about. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 Very mixed feelings about this site. Extremely badly signed (satnav not much use) but so convenient for the Gardens (when you find it!). Good value at 18. 80 pn. The facilities block was new and pristine.

As others have said the whole site slopes, quite a lot in some instances. The views are good (until someone is placed below you on the slope and fills their pitch with a car, a tent and a windbreak!).

We were initially allocated pitch 79. This is part of a small group (71-79) round the back of reception next to a couple of statics, the wardens' van and some cars. Like a car park. Not at all pleasant so we asked to change. Only one pitch was available and only for one night but we did change knowing we would need to be back on 79 the next morning. What we didn't need was a phone call at 9.00 am followed by a visit at 9.30 "reminding" us we had to move.

The adjacent Gardens are lovely and well worth a visit.

However, there was no local information or maps or brochures at all on site and the wardens seemed ill-informed.

As it happens we discovered from a bus driver (there is a bus stop inside the entrance to the gardens) that at 9. 30 each day there is a shuttle from that stop to the Eden Project. This arrives just after 10. 00 and from there, you can, at around 10.30, catch a range of buses to Newquay, Mevagissey, Charlestown, Fowey, Polperro and Padstow.

These then leave the chosen resort in mid-afternoon, returning to Eden and then by shuttle back to Heligan. This information would have been so very useful when planning the trip or when we arrived but we discovered it by pure chance and feel the site should have been able to provide this and other information.

As I said at the start - very mixed feelings hence the gradings. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ebarson 4 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming site, we picked this site due to its location ie adjacent to the lost Gardens of Heligan.

What was a pleasant surprise was the discount voucher you get to enter the gardens. The site is built into the side of a hill on several levels with a mix of grass and hard standing.

The facilities are clean and well maintained and due to the location its both quiet with a fabulous view.

There is a path to the nearby village but its a 40 min walk all down hill, so you have been warned.

I can highly recommend this site both for its location and the site itself. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: LlaniDavis 12 reviews from this member

 Second time we have been to this site and I'm sorry to say probably the last.

Whilst the site and it's surroundings are lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly I'm sorry but many of the pitches don't meet that description.

We and our friends were both unable to reverse onto our pitches due to trees and benches in the way and without motormovers would never have managed. Other friends in a motorhome tried 2 different pitches before they could get anywhere near level.

And as for several of the tent pitches, the slope on them is ridiculous. My daughter and her husband had booked one but ended up on our pitch instead and went home after one night.

It looks like whoever designed the site had no idea about caravanning or camping.

Toilets and showers are excellent and the Farmshop in the Heligan Garden's car park is excellent if a little expensive.

New foot/cycle path down to Mevagissey is steep at the coast end. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heligan Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3002 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement