Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heligan Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Mevagissey > Heligan Caravan And Camping Reviews

Heligan Caravan And Camping
St Ewe
Mevagissey
Mevagissey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL26 6EL
Tel: 01726 842714
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 81
Open: 08/01/2021 to 14/11/2021
           08/01/2022 to 14/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 77 Reviews
                9/10 from 77 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Excellent space and site layout.

Brilliant new facilities.

Friendly, efficient staff

Conveniently located for access to the lost Gardens Of Heligan 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: GcH1 2 reviews from this member

 Very well organised site in immaculate condition. Facilities spotless and operators seem to place you to suit your needs.

We were placed close to relatives who hired a static and on a lovely quiet corner of the site.

Perfect for Heligan Gardens which is literally through a gate at the end of the site.

Great views and plenty to do in the area. A few isolated beaches can be found if you are prepared to walk a bit.

Very nice overall 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 107 reviews from this member

 Very mixed feelings about this site. Extremely badly signed (satnav not much use) but so convenient for the Gardens (when you find it!). Good value at £18. 80 pn. The facilities block was new and pristine.

As others have said the whole site slopes, quite a lot in some instances. The views are good (until someone is placed below you on the slope and fills their pitch with a car, a tent and a windbreak!).

We were initially allocated pitch 79. This is part of a small group (71-79) round the back of reception next to a couple of statics, the wardens' van and some cars. Like a car park. Not at all pleasant so we asked to change. Only one pitch was available and only for one night but we did change knowing we would need to be back on 79 the next morning. What we didn't need was a phone call at 9.00 am followed by a visit at 9.30 "reminding" us we had to move.

The adjacent Gardens are lovely and well worth a visit.

However, there was no local information or maps or brochures at all on site and the wardens seemed ill-informed.

As it happens we discovered from a bus driver (there is a bus stop inside the entrance to the gardens) that at 9. 30 each day there is a shuttle from that stop to the Eden Project. This arrives just after 10. 00 and from there, you can, at around 10.30, catch a range of buses to Newquay, Mevagissey, Charlestown, Fowey, Polperro and Padstow.

These then leave the chosen resort in mid-afternoon, returning to Eden and then by shuttle back to Heligan. This information would have been so very useful when planning the trip or when we arrived but we discovered it by pure chance and feel the site should have been able to provide this and other information.

As I said at the start - very mixed feelings hence the gradings. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ebarson 2 reviews from this member

 Very welcoming site, we picked this site due to its location ie adjacent to the lost Gardens of Heligan.

What was a pleasant surprise was the discount voucher you get to enter the gardens. The site is built into the side of a hill on several levels with a mix of grass and hard standing.

The facilities are clean and well maintained and due to the location its both quiet with a fabulous view.

There is a path to the nearby village but its a 40 min walk all down hill, so you have been warned.

I can highly recommend this site both for its location and the site itself. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: LlaniDavis 12 reviews from this member

 Second time we have been to this site and I'm sorry to say probably the last.

Whilst the site and it's surroundings are lovely and the staff very helpful and friendly I'm sorry but many of the pitches don't meet that description.

We and our friends were both unable to reverse onto our pitches due to trees and benches in the way and without motormovers would never have managed. Other friends in a motorhome tried 2 different pitches before they could get anywhere near level.

And as for several of the tent pitches, the slope on them is ridiculous. My daughter and her husband had booked one but ended up on our pitch instead and went home after one night.

It looks like whoever designed the site had no idea about caravanning or camping.

Toilets and showers are excellent and the Farmshop in the Heligan Garden's car park is excellent if a little expensive.

New foot/cycle path down to Mevagissey is steep at the coast end. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights of a week long break in Cornwall, we choose this location due to the good walking from the site and the proximity to Heligan Gardens (dog friendly!). All I can say is what a lovely surprise, we visited a few years ago and hadnít been too impressed as the site seemed expensive and the wardens werenít very friendly but what a difference a couple of years make!

Where campsites in general have gone up in price, this has remained competitive. The site is beautiful and really well maintained and the wardens were so friendly. Booking online is easy but we were a bit confused about the pitch grading for levelling so when we arrived we queried whether we would be able to move if we couldnít level up, the wardens couldnít have been more accommodating, they even offered us their step to help our old Labrador get up into our van. In fact we neednít have worried as even the sloping pitches are only marginally sloping.

Since we last visited a footpath/cycleway has been laid taking you from the campsite all the way to Mevagissy, this can made into a circular walk taking you back up to the campsite via the Lost Gardens of Heligan and Lobbs Farm shop.

Whilst the facilities block isnít really modern, it is clean and well looked after offering laundry facilities as well as pot wash, free hot showers etc. Everything you would need for a longer stay.

I loved it here and felt a bit sad to leave after only 3 days. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anneparker 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely site! Perfect for visiting The Lost Gardens where there's a cafe you can visit without going in to the gardens. There's also a farm shop next door which sells superb fresh food (and local wine!)

The facilities on the site were good and the views beautiful. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stanley21 3 reviews from this member

 I am from Chesterfield in the north midlands and was brought up with an annual holiday in Cornwall back in the day some 30 years ago as a family we stayed at Pentewan sands and after a stroll around this site I am so glad that I found Heligan and chose this little site for our holiday. I booked months in advance and could not do this online as we have a disabled son to consider. The folks that I spoke to were very helpful and gave me all the information that I needed and we booked a pitch with electric and this holiday was probably the best experience we have ever had.

Our pitch was just below the shower block and was not totally flat but gently shelving, but we could see the sea over the fields and as we had excellent weather we had some fantastic sun rises.

The site as a whole was small and very welcoming with all the facilities that we required, bathrooms always clean, laundry good, disabled wash room was excellent and pot cleaning area always immaculate.

By 10pm at night fellow campers respected each other and there was no noise apart from lots of owls which is what I expect and the skyies with so little light pollution are out of this world.

Whilst we were there we made many a short hop to Mevaguisey, we did Goran Haven, The guys on the Meva to Fowey ferry were fantastic with our lad in the wheelchair and we were so lucky in sighting porpoise and dolphins. We also made a trip to Flambards and they were much better with disabled users than my local theme parks. We also hired a disabled bike from Bridge Bike Hire of Wadebridge a strange contraption that held the chair on a platform in front of you and you powered it from behind, it was very hard work but made a fantastic day out to Padstow along the Camel Trail.

Fantastic holiday and one that we will revisit at the very same campsite very soon XXXXXX 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jhetland 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived late, and the wardens helped us out in checking in the next morning. The pitch was level and had an excellent internal location and view, even though we had to amend our booking a few weeks prior. The playground is great, and there are lots of fresh water taps around.

The site is next door to the Heligan gardens, and a short drive from the Eden Project. It was great to just be able to walk through the fence for Heligan and be there. If you like, you can also get breakfast and lunch from Heligan. The on site shop was well stocked. Do take note of the driving instructions they provide, the little backroad from Porthpean to Pentawan really is unsuitable even though the GPS says otherwise. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spooley 4 reviews from this member

 We booked plot #1 (non-electric tent-only pitch at the Southern end of the site) for a week in our canvas ridge tent. This plot had good views down the valley to the sea and over the bay to Rame Head (when it wasn't raining!). The plot was a good size, gently sloping and tidily mown. Easy to get tent pegs in! An added bonus were the rare breed cattle and pigs, presumably from the Heligan estate, in the field below our pitch.

Booking via the website allows you to choose your pitch for the particular dates - this was very handy, allowing us to select a pitch where we would be a distance from the play area and without too many people walking past.

Other reviews mention only 3 showers for each sex, but the facilities have been extended since then: the gents had 4 x urinals, 4 x toilet stalls, 3 x showers, several washbasins and one small room with its own basin & chair. I understand the women's facilities were similar. A separate hut contained a further 3 x gents and 3 x women's showers. The showers had push-button timers, with no additional charge for hot water.

There was a separate disabled/family washroom and a laundry with washers and driers, plus a freezer for ice-blocks. 6 x sinks for washing-up, with plenty of hot water, completed the plumbing facilities.

Sadly the weather for much of our trip stymied us in exploring the local area on foot, but the farmshop in Heligan Gardens provides a good range of food and a smattering of basics for camping catering. There's a (separate) cafe/restaurant in Heligan Gardens too, but we didn't try that. Instead we drove the couple of miles to Pentewan where there is a basic cafe/teashop (Little Bay Cafe), pub etc. Of course Mevagissy has loads of pubs and cafes, too.

We had a couple of evenings in the sun sitting out looking over the sea. Although the sun did drop below the trees behind the site an hour or so before sunset, later on it reappeared underneath the trees, giving us a final half-hour of sun before it finally set.

A good, well-organised, tidy site -- I'd happily re-visit. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heligan Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heligan Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mevagissey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement