Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Demesne Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Demesne Farm Campsite Reviews

Demesne Farm Campsite
Demesne Farm
Bellingham
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 2BS
Tel: 01434 220258  or  07967396345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/05/2021 to 26/09/2021
           01/05/2022 to 26/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warbulator 10 reviews from this member

 What a great place! a real farm field campsite. Mr Telfer a real nice helpful guy showed us in and let us pick a pitch, showed us the wash / toilet block etc and was around most days if req. As per other reviews the separate ladies and gents blocks are built into some of the old farm buildings just off the field quite modern and always clean (50p pieces req for showers so take some with you) plenty of hot water and a dish washing sink in each block, which I guess means that only one or the other sex can do the washing up at a time, suffice to say our dishes did not see the inside of the ladies area!.

They're Keen drinkers in Bellingham with 3 pubs in a quite small village all withing 3-4 mins stagger of the site!, though we turned right out of the site and drove 4 miles to the junction with the a68 and a fab pub as advertised in the sites brochure display and recommended by mr telfer, cant remember the name of the pub now, but food was great, nice rustic place with a separate dining room if you prefer a little more formal, kids outdoor play area and outdoor garden tables etc. Loads of locals and a pool table/dartboard. Nice to see a pub with good grub and space for games and not just cramming in food tables.

Bellingham is, as mentioned, pretty small and 20mins sees it all, some local walks but mostly (as we did and as per other reviews) its a base for kielder, hexham/corbridge visits and the borders, though as we are only a hour away we would definitely pop back for a 2 day break just for the nice site/pub/peace and quiet.

No signal at all on vodafone, don't know about other networks, I couldnt get freeview tv to work (could be no signal, could have been me, just bear it in mind)

Despite the farmer mentioning some peoples dislike of the chickens roaming around WE LOVED EM!, really funny with great characters, doing circuits of the site scratching around. If the others see you giving some a bit of grub they all come piling across the site at full tilt for fear of missing out, a great fun distraction all squabling and clucking and they ain't shy at grabbing cream crackers!

So whilst its not one of these glitzy shop on site and private pub/club with swimming pool etc sites, Demesne has its own charms and is priced accordingly/good value and to be highly recommended.

Quiet when we went mid week after schools back

So I don't know what its like at peak times, perhaps a peak time visitor could put something on here to expand on that 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbydoll 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very clean and lots of space - great for visiting Kielder water, and lots of nice pubs in the area.
Wonderful wildlife and so peaceful.
The owners are new, I think, and were very helpful.
We were lucky with the weather, but the midges were a bit of a nuisance at night. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shandy boy 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping and we really enjoyed the time at the Farm campsite. Facilities were basic but always kept clean.  The site is right in the centre of Bellingham with a CO-OP shop, butcher's, baker's, 2 Banks, post office 3 pubs  and even a Craft and Card shop which made my other half's eyes light up! A good touring base for Kielder and the surrounding area. By the way I must agree with other reviewers regarding the mad free range chickens who were friendly though.    


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigi 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely week at Demesne Farm, the views from the site are superb and the night skies fantastic.
The facilities are basic, but adequate, although a second shower in the ladies would be welcome - we did venture into the gents to commandeer theirs when it was temporarily out of action! This problem was quickly rectified and we returned to our own territory.
The children (13 and 11) enjoyed the site, especially making friends and playing rounders again and again! The close proximity of the village was a big plus and we took advantage of the local bakery and butcher. Everyone we met was extremely friendly, and the farmer helpful and happy to pass the time of day with us.
Do take midge repellant as they were particularly vicious while we were there.
Don't miss Hareshaw Linn, it is well worth the walk up to it and the kids loved the water along the way and at the top.
We also had a good meal at the Percy Arms in Otterburn, an imaginative menu but they also had steaks and pizzas. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonyb1986 1 review from this member

 Been going here since I was 6 months old and still love it to bits. Hehe. Really good campsite and all visitors are really friendly and great to get along with which helps as we spend all summer there every year! Facilities are very clean and basic which is all you need. Local area consists of a chemist, tourist information, riverside walks, butchers, a co-op, bakery, cafe, and more including pubs which are the cheviot hotel, rose & crown and the black bull hotel. The rose & crown is the best all round for all ages as children are welcome till 9pm.

The owners are really welcoming and are very helpful in anyway they can. The thing to remember is it IS a WORKING farm as well as a campsite so expect the sheep dung lying around occasionally although it is still kept very clean on the main camping field. Generally all in all it is a really great place to go and I hope if you visit you enjoy it as much as I have for the many years I have been going! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BandM 3 reviews from this member

 Half of me wants to keep this campsite a secret and tell nobody about it in case we can' get booked when we want to!
What a lovely, friendly site!
The toilet block is basic but clean and the fellow campers are usually like-minded, friendly people!
It literally is on the farm and the animals are there for all to see.
The farmer/owner is a very pleasant and helpful man who always makes us feel welcome.
The site is quiet enough to be relaxing but friendly enough for you to socialise with others if you want. We have made several sets of good mates here nad we keep returning! Love it love it love it! 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikepacker 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site while passing through the area on a cycle camping tour. It is a super little site for tents or touring caravans. The showers and toilets are in converted farm buildings and are well maintained. The town centre is only a very short walk away and has two late night stores and pubs.

The owner is very pleasant and keen to answer question about the area.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Netty375 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night in July it was our first time camping so we only stayed one night just to try it out, it was really quiet, the people staying on the site were really friendly and the owners were really nice. The kids found it a little boring as there wasn't really much for them to do and as they range from 2 up to 13 we found it quite hard to entertain them as it rained most of the night they couldn't really play outside, but they enjoyed it even though they were stuck in the tent. The campsite went really quiet after 9pm which was quite nice as our youngest was asleep quite early on. The showers and toilets were clean and tidy, and the mad chickens really mad us laugh running up and down the campsite, they were hilarious.
Would recommend they have some facilities added for kids, other than that got no complaints. If you want a quiet holiday then this is the place for you, if you have kids then, I suggest you take plenty for them to do is there isn't much there for them. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wobblydeb 5 reviews from this member

 Small, basic campsite. The owner was really friendly - he warned us that the camping field was full with a reunion but we were welcome to use the larger field alongside it. That was great because we could camp where we liked and had a great open view - although there was cow poop to avoid.

Toilet facilities were basic, and kept as clean as possible (considering it's a farm, with proper field camping). 1 shower each for boys and girls and cost about 10p a minute. A thoughtful touch in the ladies was the provision of plug points next to a mirror (so you can see how you're drying your hair - although you'll need to take your own hairdryer).

I loved the free-range hens wandering about, and the sign on the door next to the ladies which read "Beware of the Bull". 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PCI75 9 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site before and it was like revisiting old friends. The site has 10 electric hook ups and is situated within easy walking distance to Bellingham itself. The field that you camp in is set away from the main road and is very quiet you come out of your unit and can see hills and fields for miles. The children can help the farmer and learn about the animals on the farm. The site has seen loads of improvements from last year with the toilet blocks being updated and made more user friendly, there is hot water showers, sinks and dishes sinks in both toilets. The best thing about this area is that it is on the way to so many places. We have come back time after time because of the lovely atmosphere and the fact that there are buses to nearby towns and plenty of walks straight off the sight, or of course you can just sit and watch the day go bye literally counting sheep! Well worth a visit. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Demesne Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Demesne Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Demesne Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3349 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement