Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse Reviews

Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse
Demesne Farm
Bellingham
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 2BS
Tel: 01434 220258  or  07967396345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 15/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/05/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gtf558 7 reviews from this member

 Great little site on a working farm

Near to village shops and pubs

Good walks straight from site

Grass with ehu pitches reasonable flat

No problems

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jdavison 1 review from this member

 Great stopover on Pennine Way in spite of all the Covid restrictions.

Good backpacking pitches.

Decent shower. Very accommodating and helpful.

Shop nearby for all our needs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pottsy 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, on a working farm in the village of Bellingham. The owners are friendly and helpful and explained all the systems and precautions in place since the site has re opened after lockdown.

Toilets were clean and there was plenty of cleaning materials and hand sanitizer.

The site is basic and no frills but there was plenty room for kids to run around and of course there was the sheep to watch instead of playgrounds.

The camping fields arenít flat but it wasn't too bad and the sheep did as they were told and didnít make a noise after 10 oíclock which I was dubious about when we got there as they were right beside the tent.

The site attracted a mix - loads of cyclists in small individual tents to families. We had decided not to cook while away for the weekend and we were impressed by the variety of places to eat out within walking distance.

It was lovely to be able to walk to the co-op and pubs. Had a lovely meal at The Cheviot Pub, breakfast at The Rocky Road Cafe and a lovely tasty Chinese Takeaway to eat back at the tent.

We will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mgthew 1 review from this member

 Great little site. Farmer friendly.

No hardstanding but weather was dry when we were there.

Only one shower for women but did not see a queue during the day 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: WASutton 1 review from this member

 I enjoyed the basic uncluttered accommodation of the site and the openness of the area.

This was my second stay at Demesne Campsite and I hope to return in the future.

Only one dislike the cobbles leading to the shower block, not good for your feet and legs after a long days walk! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just after the site had reopened following lockdown.

The site had reduced the number of pitches by half so there was plenty of room.

The showers and toilets were being deep cleaned each day with smaller cleanings during the day. We had no problems with queueing and everyone was following the clearly defined rules for social distancing.

The site is fairly flat, and is indeed in the center of the town (you wouldn't know as it's a tranquil spot) 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miffin 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing in our trailer tent. Pulled off the road and saw a sign to check in to a house opposite.

But before we could do that, the site owner appeared to show us round and collect our money for the stay. Site was quiet at the time and we had a nice choice of pitches.

Everything we needed was there and it was a short walk into the town that had shops and pubs. Toilet area a bit rustic but was adequate until the Friday night.

On Friday lots of other campers arrived and that made the toilet and shower facilities a little over used.

However, very enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 43 reviews from this member

 A very informal and relaxed site on a working farm on the edge of the village. Location is not signposted and it's not immediately obvious.

Entrance is through a gate and then a tight turn between farm buildings and into either the tent or caravan field. Reception is at the farmhouse opposite the entrance.

The village is quite pleasant with three pubs and various small shops.

I'd recommend 'The Cheviot' for both food and beer. They also provide a carry-out service. I would also suggest a visit to the local Heritage centre museum, a short walk from the site.

On a cautionary note, many of the minor roads round Bellingham are in a terrible state. Little more than a series of potholes held together with tarmac. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HappyHippie 9 reviews from this member

 Good positioned site with very friendly owners on a working sheep farm. The toilet blocks are good clean with free hot showers, also here you can find handy take away information about the surrounding area. Two fields one for vans with ehu and one for tents, both have lovely views.

Bellingham is a busy little village, it offers a garage, three pubs, a co-op which is open late, a bank, a post office, a Chinese take-away, a quality butchers, a bakers, and a fruit and veg shop, a gift shop etc.

For those who like to walk there are lovely walks around Bellingham, along the river bank dotted with picnic tables, or across the six clearly marked bridges to see the waterfall.

All in all a great little site with ehu for £20pn can't wait to visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Strumpo 13 reviews from this member

 Well, just returned from nearly 2 weeks at this site, what a pleasure!

Extremely well kept, well positioned site, with helpful friendly owners, well laid out on a working farm.

The facilities were largely fine, although the toilet blocks did get busy over the weekend we were there, as the site had a lot of campers, and although I never had to wait to use anything, I timed my use of the block according to the time of day which made it easier.

The site was busy all the while we were there, we spoke to quite a few who visit this site on a regular basis, it's easy to understand why.

Bellingham is a busy little village, it offers a garage, three pubs of which we would highly recommend the 'Cheviot', a co-op which is open late, a bank, a post office, a chinese take-away, a quality butchers, a bakers, and a fruit and veg. Shop, bike hire, a gift shop etc. And don't miss the Heritage centre just up from the site, interesting and informative, with a great little coffee shop, (old train carriages) on site.

A notice reminding dog owners to clear up after their pets would be a bonus, one dog owner allowed it's animal to foul right next to our water supply tank outside the caravan, and clearly did not think it was their problem. Not nice.

The only negative comment I would add, and this is nothing to do with the site itself, is that access to Bellingham is via 'B roads' only, and whereas the roads are not in bad condition, they are very up and down, lots of sharp bends, and generally quite narrow, something to be well aware of if towing a large-ish caravan.

Would we visit this site again? Most definitely, probably sooner rather than later, it's a smashing site, a great base for touring round a whole load of interesting places to visit, and don't miss the sunday market in Newcastle under the Tyne Bridge, it's on until 4 in the afternoon.

£20 per night including EHU, can't fault it. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Demesne Farm Campsite & Bunkhouse dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1975 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement