Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Demesne Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Hexham > Demesne Farm Campsite > Reviews

Demesne Farm Campsite
Demesne Farm
Bellingham
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE48 2BS
Tel: 01434 220258  or  07967396345
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/05/2024 to 26/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Andrew 1 review from this member

 Itís not really a caravan, itís a teardrop, about the size of a 2 person tentÖ Anyway:

Dislikes - Nothing.

Likes - The owner was very helpful. Could choose pitch, which were large and clearly marked. The facilities were clean.

It was nice and quiet.

Only a few minutes walk to shops, bars, coffee shops etc. , Nice walks directly from the site.

The First and Last brewery and tap, a 2 minute walk from the site did amazing beers, I had the stout at only £3. 60/pint.

A really enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: HighSlayer 14 reviews from this member

 As I was working up in Otterburn for 2 weddings just 2 days apart I took the opportunity to up and camp, with my assistant/friend. Booking on the phone was straightforward with a friendly chap who is the farmer, and payment taken over the phone

We arrived on the site and were shown to our pitch. The pitch layout is a little unusual and we pitched in slightly the wrong position, but the owner was fine about it and we know for next time. The site is right in the middle of the beautiful little town of Bellingham, though once on the site you would never know there was a town nearby! A 5 minute walk brings you to pubs, co-op and other local facilities including a lovely little cafe

The site is pretty level with beautiful views over the Northumberland Moors. The facilities are a little dated but kept fairly clean. The only problem was the farmer had just mowed the field and all the cut grass got traipsed everywhere. There are 2 WCs. 2 showers and a urinal in the Mens, presumably similar in the Ladies, minus the urinal. Be careful - the water is incredibly hot from the taps, though the showers were fine

Unusually the washing up facilities are in the toilets, so a mixed group can't wash up together. You'll ideally need to take a bowl with you

It's a working farm with sheep, cows nearby, chickens and rabbits on site and the most incredible number and variety of birds flitting around including some beautiful swallows. I've never heard so many birds singing. I think I parked my car in the wrong place because the drivers side of it got absolutely covered in bird poo, whilst the passenger side was completely clear!

We really enjoyed our time on Demesne Farm. The farmer is friendly, the views amazing and the local area is outstandingly beautiful

I would definitely visit again 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Helen6 1 review from this member

 Stayed as a couple with my parents in our two campervans. Booking was really easy.

The site is lovely and quiet, basic but everything you need, hot water and clean toilets.

The site is perfectly located in the serene village of Bellingham which has lots of great walking in the area.

We had a great stay and would recommend the site to others. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Divers 1 review from this member

 A clean quiet site.

The owners are friendly approachable and very helpful.

The facilities are clean throughout our stay.

Fantastic location and only a two minute slow walk to the village shops, cafes etc.

Plenty of walks from the village.

Site is perfectly located for visits to Kielder Water, Hexham. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Campintent 24 reviews from this member

 We are seasoned campers with several decadeís experience. This is a basic farm campsite spread over two open fields. There is no attempt at landscaping and you just have to accept it for what it is.

Other reviewers have mentioned that the farmer is busy and this is true, however they are charging as much as other campsites which offer a higher degree of service, cleanliness and better facilities.

The toilet blocks are in old farm buildings in a lovely cobbled yard which must be very old. The gents contained two loos and two showers (although one had no hooks for your clothes), but strangely, the ladies had only one shower cubicle.

Cleaning was rudimentary and infrequent and we got the impression that they were just being sluiced out with disinfectant now and again.

The field hadnít been mown for a while and you had to walk through long wet grass to get to the loos in the morning.

There was a chemical toilet disposal point which was simply a buckled manhole cover over the drains from the animal sheds, but there was no caravan/motorhome grey water waste disposal point and no obvious fresh water supply for them, unless you could get your vehicle close to the one water tap by a farm shed.

The best thing about this site was itís proximity to the shops and pubs in the lovely little town of Bellingham, just a few minuteís walk away.

The first row of shops that you come to included a hardware shop, a Coop and a traditional bakery producing the most delicious bread, pies and cakes.

We did the walk up to Hareshaw Linn straight from the campsite, which was a very enjoyable couple of hourís walk there and back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pamela 1 review from this member

 Great location, almost in the village with a few pubs. Hareshaw Linn, a great walk is very close by.

Good pitch, spacious and not noisy late on in the evening and the facilities were clean.

Fairly short drive to Keilder the next day, so plenty to do without travelling far.

Would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Revnea 1 review from this member

 Friendly and relaxed welcome from the farmer on arrival. This is a peaceful site in a small and pretty village on a working farm. Local shops selling what you need and a good pub within easy walking distance. Basic but clean and well stocked toilet block.

Good choice of pitches on level open field further away from others for more relaxed camping or more organised field nearer the toilets.

Both fields pretty flat with a good covering of grass making for more comfortable sleeping if no bed! Well drained with no mud. No traffic noise and little light pollution.

Can park next to your tent which I prefer both for security (motorcycle) and ease of loading / unloading camping gear. Watching the many swallows each evening was great.

Had a great stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet site and not needing lots of amenities. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Keklapis 2 reviews from this member

 Nice little site on a working farm. Good location near shops, eateries and takeaways. Owner friendly but seemed a bit rushed when we were there, guess it was a busy time of the year.

The camp site was full at the weekend, lots of families with young children and motorcyclists. Grass only pitches.

I'm glad it wasn't a wet weekend as it would have been quite muddy and the toilet/shower block resembled a muddy field in the morning with so many people going in and out as it were. Don't forget to pack the flip flops.

2 toilet cubicles and 1 shower per gender. I had no issues with the electric shower, although the shower curtain had been removed and made the cubicle wet everywhere.

Washing up sink is also within the toilet/shower block so 1 washing up sink per gender. Fresh water tap, grey waste and chemical disposal available.

Pitches reasonably flat. £20 without or £24 with EHU. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gtf558 10 reviews from this member

 Great little site on a working farm

Near to village shops and pubs

Good walks straight from site

Grass with ehu pitches reasonable flat

No problems

Will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jdavison 1 review from this member

 Great stopover on Pennine Way in spite of all the Covid restrictions.

Good backpacking pitches.

Decent shower. Very accommodating and helpful.

Shop nearby for all our needs. 
via mobile


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Demesne Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Demesne Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Demesne Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement