Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ardnamurchan Campsite & Study Centre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Ardnamurchan Campsite & Study Centre
Bogha Caol Ard
Kilchoan
Ardnamurchan
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH36 4LL
Tel: 01972 510766
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: 05/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplepiglet 8 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful little site just outside of Kilchoan village, with all the facilities you need along with stonking views and friendly hosts. The site offers hardstanding pitches for motorohomes and grass pitcher for tents, with hookup options on both. There's two loos and two showers which to be honest need a bit of TLC and smartening up, but I personally didn't mind them. Graham was very welcoming and happy to give advise on local activities and makes information available in the little wet-weather communal area where you can sit and chat with your fellow campers on a rainy night. The location is wonderful and you can be on the stony beach in 1 minute from where you will see otters and much birdlife, and if you're really luck you might spot dolphins and seals out in the loch. Really enjoyed this campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gracesett 14 reviews from this member

A friend recommended this site to me and we have not been disappointed. Wonderful location and Gordon most helpful. Site on a slight hill, with pitch areas (did not need to use chocks but always useful to have) with EHU right down to the coast line. Facilities (2 showers & 2 loos) are very clean and more than satisfactory. If you are a person who wants the regimentation of a Caravan club site or the like at all times then maybe this region is not for you and if that is the case then you would be missing out on something special.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NEJane 24 reviews from this member

Arrived here, with my son, after a long and tiring drive on single track roads. Staff very welcoming, helping me find a level pitch suitable for my campervan. Struggled a bit to get it placed without encroaching on nearby tents but got there, in the end! No hook-up for us but we didn't want it - had a good view although the trees directly behind us, cut that part of the vista off. Ideally situated for a visit to the lighthouse. We cycled there, strenuous in places but far better doing the 14. 2 ml round trip than having to pitch the 'van again! Facilities are quirky, small but we found them to be clean, although some folks weren't so fussy in the single-sink dishwashing area as I would have liked. My son used the showers before me and said he got loads of hot water. Come my turn, after the long day out on the bikes. I got not a drop of hot water. Stone flippin' cold! Seems I may have left it late in the evening to expect anything else but I had a real strop on as had to try and freshen up in cold water, via a tiny hand-basin or opt to go back to the 'van and wait for the gas to heat up the water - too tired for that, needed my bed. I did bump into the owner, as he did a late-evening clean up, and his reply was 'Been a lot of showers then'. Yeh, worked that one out for myself! Anyway, besides that little glitch, we really did enjoy our stay - one word of warning though, the access in is very steep and, when driving a long vehicle, you just wait for the crunch as it 'belly's-out' - mine didn't but I suspect some low-slung models may. On a final note: recycling centres are like hens teeth in that part of Scotland. There are a couple of bins, on site but, if like us, you're carrying a load of mixed recycling, from your journey, oddly enough there is a big selection of bins, on the road to the lighthouse. We took our load there and discovered that is actually where the site owner takes the contents of his bins as he turned up, at the same time.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikerphil 16 reviews from this member

We returned here in June, and spent my 50th birthday here! The site is beautiful. The drive here is quite tiring, from Strontian it is over 40 miles of single track road with passing places, but this ensures that it is not too busy. The facilities are basic but clean and adequate. The view is to die for. We stayed for two nights and saw white tailed sea eagle, basking shark, otter, seals and gannets from the tent. Ardnamurchan lighthouse is a short drive away, as is the tropical beach at Sanna. Highly recommended if you can manage the drive after actually driving to Strontian in the first place.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ossian 12 reviews from this member

This is a basic site, but has all you would want. Small washroom facilities shower toilet block and separate washing up area. The site has two levels one grassed nearest the sea which has to be negotiated by a gravel road and a further grassed terrace above. There are some specific hard standing areas for motorhomes with a limited number of electric hookups. Staff friendly and free wi fi

The site offers some fantastic views looking over to Mull.

Access to the site is off a single track road the road has quite a steep gradient so needs care.

The nearest local village stores is about a mile away which has a limited selection of food items but has enough. There is a Hotel that does food inn the village. Attractions Day trip to Mull foot passengers only or Adnamurchan Lighthouse and the fantastic Sanna Bay. Well worth the drive.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikerphil 16 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Ardnamurchan, the first was a bed and breakfast holiday. This time we had only one night here as part of a week long driving and camping holiday. After one night here, we left wishing we could spend longer here. This is a basic site at the end of a long and tiring drive, but well worth it. The camp site is perfect. The facilities are all perfectly fine, clean and loads of hot water. We plan to return next year for a few more days. Perfect! To make our overnight stay even better, as we made breakfast next to the beach whilst watching gannets diving into the loch we looked up to see seven white tailed sea eagles soaring overhead.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulaMB 19 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. Our idea of the perfect site. Quiet, minimal but functional facilities, fantastic location, nice fellow campers.

The site is on a hill although the marked pitches are on the flattest bits. The pitches at the bottom of the hill are about 6' from a lovely (stone) beach with fabulous views of the bay and a direct view of Mull and three lighthouses which are lovely to see at night time.

We didn't see any while we were there but seals, whales, otters, mink etc. , are frequently spotted from the site.

The toilets/showers are more than adequate, always clean with a good stock of loo roll. There is a bothy with a table and chairs and lots of nature/marine wildlife books and local information. The owner of the site is a lovely man. Showers are hot and free. Washing up facilities in a shed with very hot water and a fridge. Wifi available. Pitch for two adults plus a child 22 a night.

EHU available at the top of the hill - we pitched at the bottom with an uninterrupted sea view. Bit wet at the bottom but that is unprecedented apparently with the dreadful weather this year.

It took almost two hours to get down to the bottom of the Ardnamurchan peninsula towing a camping trailer - single track road with passing places - not fun but definitely worth it.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

An interesting site very inkeeping with the surroundings.

As previous reviews stated at first glance this place has an unfinished and somewhat 'temporary' feel about it, but once on site for over 5 minutes you begin to appreciate the work put the owner has done here in what is very demanding ground on a steep hillside.

The views are not the best I've stayed at but without doubt somewhere in the top 5 and can be quite something on a fine morning overlooking to Mull; Adrnamurchan can feel like the end of the earth at the best of times and feel this campsite has picked up on that very well.

The washing and toilet facilities are basic but more than adequate and always kept superbly clean and maintained. The small office and information building is well stocked and something of local interest can be found here particularly for those interested in the endless wildlife in the area.

Being a Saturday evening I walked down to the nearby Kilchoan Hotel for food and drink, the bar was full of locals and quite loud which I would imagine a wee bit off putting to family's and quieter people than me, but that said the staff and the owner could not have been more friendly and willing to accommodate me. All in all next time I will try the Sonachan Hotel 3 miles away though which looked much nicer.

Would I return to this site? Yes for sure but maybe not for some time perhaps.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WrenSO 7 reviews from this member

We arrived completely soaked after a heavy shower caught us on the road. We were very happy to find this place dedicated to campers and vans.

On your arrival your first sight is the complete skeleton of a sea animal pinned on a wall.

Facilities looked a bit knocked-up but they were not : very functional. Large shower plus tap in the same room. Chair to put your stuff on. A shed to cook.

The whole place is simple but very well kept. Grass is comfy and thick.

The owner is a real character. A bit grumpy at first sight but in fact very interesting and willing to help you discover the surroundings. He owns a lot of books about the Ardnamurchan peninsula which is a true beauty.

A honesty box is there if Trevor (the owner) is out. Camping cost us 15 per day for the two of us and our tent. Worth the price if you consider the charm of the place and the remote situation of it.

You can pitch your tent near the sea or up on the grassy terraces. Stunning views on Mull with wonderful lights and changing skies. Lots of seabirds. Seals.

A very nice place where people seam to come back. We had a few friendly chats and drinks with other campers.

We stayed two nights which allowed us to cycle to Ardnamurchan point : the visit of the lighthouse and the exhibition is a must and worth the trip (on a true roller coaster road). Nice tea shop up there with tasty home-made cakes.

The village shop sells petrol (amongst a surprising lot of things), is open every day, even sunday morning. The Kilchoan hotel nearby offers good ale, nice dinner in the restaurant and at the bar.

This camping site is definitely a place where I'll return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

Well worth the journey to this beautiful spot. We camped our Campervan on a grass pitch below the hard-standing as we didn't need a hook up and were fine with the sloping drive - drive in one way and out the other seemed to be the trick.

Friendly welcome from the owner, with an interesting selection of books & local information available in the study centre, and all very informal. We arrived from Mull, so didn't notice the long drive, but if you're going to be the most westerly campers, you have to get there somehow - it's part of the fun! Ideal washing up area - sink, draining board, table & plenty of hot water. Loos & showers spotlessly clean with regular checks throughout the day - they may not be modern, but it is more than made up for by the care to keep them tidy (soap & cotton towels for the hand basins, thank you Trevor). And the showers have the most incredible water pressure that I have ever experienced, and piping hot too! This is a stunning part of the country - we cycled to the lighthouse at Ardnamurchan - fantastic views all along the road & when you get to the lighthouse, plus visitors centre with delicious cakes & gifts, exhibition in lighthouse for a small fee. Yes there are midges, but stick to the Skin So Soft - it works for me, with other campers adding candles & nets, nothing unbearable. Kilchoan Hotel did good fish & chips on the Friday night - 10 minute cycle. Local shop is one of those 'Scottish Wonders' - the local shop that sells EVERYTHING! Food, gifts, hardware - I think I counted 10 types of honey!

Walk down to the bottom of the campsite to the waters edge, pebbly beach, beautiful clear water. Child friendly? Water, lighthouses, volcanoes - I think so! We will return, it's well worth the journey.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2998 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019