Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ardnamurchan Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Ardnamurchan > Ardnamurchan Campsite Reviews

Ardnamurchan Campsite
Bogha Caol Ard
Kilchoan
Ardnamurchan
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH36 4LL
Tel: 01972 510766
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 20
Open: 05/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Annaga 1 review from this member

 One of my most favourite campsites ever. It's peaceful with the most amazing views whatever the weather.

The surrounding area is stunning and there are lots of places to explore. Local shop in Kilchoan is great.

Friendly people who run the site and I would recommend it wholeheartedly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sallyj 1 review from this member

 Lovely site next to shoreline with access to sea.

Hook up and stand pipes available. Very friendly staff.

Good base for biking, hiking and water sports. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: KeniDhu 4 reviews from this member

 We have just had an extremely enjoyable 4 day stay at this site. The site is on a slope with terraced areas, the pitches along the shore front have an excellent view.

Marked the facilities down at 9 because of COVID restrictions, toilets and shower out of action so self contained units only.

The site team were very friendly and helpful, in fact I would extend that to the local community everyone seemed happy to have us there, local store is only a 10 min walk away and owner actually went home to get her own sewing basket and let me pick a needle and thread to repair our damaged awning.

Overall this was a lovely site in a lovely community, we will definitely be going back and will try to get the shore front pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Hjf139 13 reviews from this member

 Great place to escape from the rat race. Bit of a hike but if you don't mind the drive, which has some stunning scenery, well worth it.

Isle of Mull across the bay and not far from a fabulous beach at Sanna Sands. Went with a group of like mined dog owners and had an absolutely great time.

You can pitch virtually on the beach for amazing views.

Toilets and facilities were lovely and clean and hot showers. We actually stayed in the boat house, basic due to lack of space in the car for all the camping gear! 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymie 1961 4 reviews from this member

 This camp site is much better than the one down the road from it. A beautiful location and very welcoming. Only one bad thing.

The toilets and shower blocks. Very basic. Its what I think would be in a concentration camp.

For 24 a night they need a new shower block 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purplepiglet 8 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful little site just outside of Kilchoan village, with all the facilities you need along with stonking views and friendly hosts. The site offers hardstanding pitches for motorohomes and grass pitcher for tents, with hookup options on both.

There's two loos and two showers which to be honest need a bit of TLC and smartening up, but I personally didn't mind them. Graham was very welcoming and happy to give advise on local activities and makes information available in the little wet-weather communal area where you can sit and chat with your fellow campers on a rainy night.

The location is wonderful and you can be on the stony beach in 1 minute from where you will see otters and much birdlife, and if you're really luck you might spot dolphins and seals out in the loch. Really enjoyed this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

 A friend recommended this site to me and we have not been disappointed. Wonderful location and Gordon most helpful. Site on a slight hill, with pitch areas (did not need to use chocks but always useful to have) with EHU right down to the coast line.

Facilities (2 showers & 2 loos) are very clean and more than satisfactory. If you are a person who wants the regimentation of a Caravan club site or the like at all times then maybe this region is not for you and if that is the case then you would be missing out on something special. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEJane 26 reviews from this member

 Arrived here, with my son, after a long and tiring drive on single track roads. Staff very welcoming, helping me find a level pitch suitable for my campervan. Struggled a bit to get it placed without encroaching on nearby tents but got there, in the end! No hook-up for us but we didn't want it - had a good view although the trees directly behind us, cut that part of the vista off. Ideally situated for a visit to the lighthouse. We cycled there, strenuous in places but far better doing the 14. 2 ml round trip than having to pitch the 'van again! Facilities are quirky, small but we found them to be clean, although some folks weren't so fussy in the single-sink dishwashing area as I would have liked. My son used the showers before me and said he got loads of hot water. Come my turn, after the long day out on the bikes. I got not a drop of hot water. Stone flippin' cold! Seems I may have left it late in the evening to expect anything else but I had a real strop on as had to try and freshen up in cold water, via a tiny hand-basin or opt to go back to the 'van and wait for the gas to heat up the water - too tired for that, needed my bed. I did bump into the owner, as he did a late-evening clean up, and his reply was 'Been a lot of showers then'. Yeh, worked that one out for myself! Anyway, besides that little glitch, we really did enjoy our stay - one word of warning though, the access in is very steep and, when driving a long vehicle, you just wait for the crunch as it 'belly's-out' - mine didn't but I suspect some low-slung models may. On a final note: recycling centres are like hens teeth in that part of Scotland. There are a couple of bins, on site but, if like us, you're carrying a load of mixed recycling, from your journey, oddly enough there is a big selection of bins, on the road to the lighthouse. We took our load there and discovered that is actually where the site owner takes the contents of his bins as he turned up, at the same time. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikerphil 16 reviews from this member

 We returned here in June, and spent my 50th birthday here! The site is beautiful. The drive here is quite tiring, from Strontian it is over 40 miles of single track road with passing places, but this ensures that it is not too busy. The facilities are basic but clean and adequate. The view is to die for. We stayed for two nights and saw white tailed sea eagle, basking shark, otter, seals and gannets from the tent. Ardnamurchan lighthouse is a short drive away, as is the tropical beach at Sanna. Highly recommended if you can manage the drive after actually driving to Strontian in the first place. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ossian 14 reviews from this member

 This is a basic site, but has all you would want. Small washroom facilities shower toilet block and separate washing up area. The site has two levels one grassed nearest the sea which has to be negotiated by a gravel road and a further grassed terrace above. There are some specific hard standing areas for motorhomes with a limited number of electric hookups. Staff friendly and free wi fi

The site offers some fantastic views looking over to Mull.

Access to the site is off a single track road the road has quite a steep gradient so needs care.

The nearest local village stores is about a mile away which has a limited selection of food items but has enough. There is a Hotel that does food inn the village. Attractions Day trip to Mull foot passengers only or Adnamurchan Lighthouse and the fantastic Sanna Bay. Well worth the drive. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ardnamurchan Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ardnamurchan Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ardnamurchan Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ardnamurchan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4759 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement