Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bell Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Devizes > Bell Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Bell Caravan And Camping Park
Andover Road
Lydeway
Devizes
Wiltshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Willers 1 review from this member

 We found this site by chance, (after discovering the planned site we had intended on staying at had very poor facilities). There were plenty of pitches with electric hook-up available, and the site was very well laid out. There is a slide and two swings for children with plenty of space to play and run around.

Whilst we settled in on our chosen pitch, we were able to arrange for a Chinese takeaway to be delivered TO US on site from the nearby restaurant, for a fee of 2 and the food was superb. (Details available on site. )

Although the site facilities are quite old, they are perfectly adequate, with good size shower cubicles and plenty of continual hot water - none of this 'push button' to keep activating the shower!

Although there is a swimming pool advertised on site, this was being 'revamped' and should be good when finished.

We will definitely be going back and are happy to recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DeeH 2 reviews from this member

 I noticed that there have been no reviews for a year so just wanted to say that this pretty site is still going and is a lovely place to stay. We arrived late and left the following morning so can't comment on all the things it has to offer but we will definitely stay again when we are in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Anne-Marie G 2 reviews from this member

 Just wanted to say that we loved the campsite. It was very clean, tidy and the owners were very helpful and friendly.

We cycled into Devizes through meadows and then along the canal path and it was beautiful, about 10 miles each way but lovely and flat and picturesque.

The farm shop nearby is filled with lovely organic and fresh food if you want a treat!

We stayed with our friends and we both had camper vans, the pitches were spacious and the showers and toilets were great.

We will definitely be returning! 😀😀 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bessacarr 10 reviews from this member

 We spent one night here en route to Wales.

What a charming site. The pitches are spacious and shaded by trees which was a blessing as it was very hot when we visited!

The owner is charming and very helpful. The facilities are kept very clean and the showers are free. The swimming pool is lovely if a little on the chilly side, very refreshing in this year's heatwave.

We were visited by the very free range chickens in the morning and they added to the homely and laid back feel to this campsite.

We were reluctant to leave and hope to return for a longer stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RDT318 1 review from this member

 This campsite is perfectly positioned on the Sarsen Trail, the Neolithic Marathon trail and the Big Stones trail between Avebury and Stonehenge (13 miles to each).

We were on a walk raising money for Cancer Research with 2 nine year old boys and this campsite was the perfect resting place overnight. The campsite owner is extremely kind and helpful, and clearly has a lot of loyalty from regular visitors. You can see why: the pitches are clean and spacious, the showers and WCs are clean and work really well, and are regularly cleaned. The atmosphere is relaxed and efficient, and I cannot recommend this site enough, whether for a one night stop off or for a monger stay. It stands out as truly excellent. We are coming back as soon as we can. Thank you Alan! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minimadjonesy 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, owner was lovely and had us quickly shown to a pitch with plenty of shade for our two kids!

The showers and toilets were well kept and in good order, the playgrounds were basic but our kids just ran around the field anyway. The pool is slightly cooler than chilly but on the hottest day of the year it was lovely after the initial shock to the system!

Would definitely use it again, 5 mins from the Devizes town centre for all your supermarket needs and there is a farm shop a few minutes walk from the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katpaul1969 1 review from this member

 Myself & partner camped from the 20th June ready to celebrate the Summer Solstice at Stone Henge at dawn on 21st as we have for the last 5yrs now. We had a fabulous time during our 4day break, but what made our break away was the beautiful, calm & laid back environment we were camping in. We had problems with our gas burner, we asked the Campsite owner to borrow some tools & the next thing we knew, the owner had fixed it with us, not only that, he then gave us some of the freshly laid eggs his chickens had laid that morning. We always have no end of advise on where to go & where to eat cheaply, even little tips from the owner as to where we may find new crop circles, his hosting skills have no boundaries as far as we are concerned!

The loo's & showers are clean & refreshing, always lit adequately, there's a log burner for a roaring fire with outdoor shelter to cook alfresco, & if that's not enough, there's even an outdoor pool. & children's play area. No need to lock anything either, the owner locks the gates at night, everything feels calm welcome & safe. The owner is a fabulous host, gives you space but always checks how your doing in his subtle friendly way, he's absolutely lovely & the Campsite alongside his beautiful old coach house is perfect xxx Can't wait till next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheila65 1 review from this member

 The site was very pleasant - grass pitches surrounded by trees and shrubs. Most with electric hook up - I had a problem in the morning boiling the kettle - it was intermittent. I had my 7 year old grandson with me and he was happy playing on the 2 small play areas with other children.

The toilet block was fine - clean and plenty of hot water in the showers - could probably do with a little tlc.

The outdoor swimming pool was just being filled and as the weather was still a bit cold we would not have gone in anyway but would be very nice in hot weather.

Within walking distance there is a very nice farm shop with very nice ice cream.

The road is busy during the day but quiet at night.

I also liked the way the gates were shut at night.

I would stay there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

 Just back last week from this site and what a lot to say about it. To start with this site is not your usual camping business but a hobby for the owners though probably more so for Allan than Leslie. The aforementioned hosts are the perfectcouple to run a site, pleasant, courteous, fun, chatty and very knowledgeable about the local area (they have been here for 15 years).

There are 2 small play areas, not fantastic but kept our 12year old amused while we were on site, the toilet block is dated but is kept in good order chance how people try to damage it, the showers are the old fashioned tap type but have plenty of (free) hot water and just 'do the job'. The on site swimming pool is to cold for most seasoned adults but that did not stop plenty of children jumping in and it is open when you want it open, not stuck to times.

Although the site is far away from most tourist places it is within an hours drive of anywhere! We went for 8 nights and took in no less than 10 different places and that included 2 days to longleat!

All in all would I go back or even recommend this site, you bet but next time I will remember the pest control, being surrounded by farmland there are loads of horseflies etc. Any true campers will appreciate this site, of that I am sure 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement