Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teesdale Barnard Castle Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Teesdale Barnard Castle Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Teesdale Barnard Castle Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lartington Lane
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 9BD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 76
Open: 23/02 To 30/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

The site is large and well maintained and offers the usual high standards of the C&MC.

The let down during this stay was in the officious and rude customer service provided by the female warden.

While we enjoyed our stay, when you are greeted with silly orders and a hostile welcome, it doesn’t make a good start to a weekend away.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Whilst access to the site through the town is perfectly possible it is probably best to avoid the centre of Barnard Castle if you can. From Scotch Corner follow A66 to Cross Lanes and turn right onto B6277 the site is about half a mile out of the town on the left. From the West take A66 to Bowes and then take A67 to the town and turn left onto the B6277.

This site is about three quarters of a mile outside the charming market town of Barnard Castle. It is a member’s only site and is open from the end of February to the end of October. The site is set out along the B6277 and is terraced, although there seems little noise from the road. There are 76 hardstanding pitches including 8 serviced with fresh water and grey water disposal. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. The electric bollards have co-ax TV connections which are free to use but you need to provide your own cable. There is one centrally situated toilet block which also includes enclosed washing up, laundry and drying rooms. All facilities are of a very good standard. The motorhome service point is situated in front of the toilet block, unfortunately it still requires heavy drain covers to be removed. For children there is an adventure style playground. There is site wide WiFi although not all pitches have good coverage, best to check the map in reception, fortunately the 4G signal locally was quite good so I was able to use that. Reception which sells a few essentials and newspapers can be ordered. Next door is the information room with lots of leaflets on local attractions. A fish and chip van calls a couple of times a week.

The town of Barnard Castle is about a twenty minute walk from the site, although be warned there are some steep inclines! A bus service passes the site entrance and is on a request basis. Taxis are also available but try and avoid school times as they are usually very busy during those times! There are plenty of places to eat out in Barnard Castle. One of the main attractions of the town is the Bowes Museum which is well worth visit and reception will give you a discount voucher. The site can also be used as a base for exploring the upper Tees Valley. For shopping there is a Morrisons in the town.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irvine45 67 reviews from this member

Just back from this site, which we really enjoyed.

A friendly welcome and a choice of many pitches, which are a good size. The shower facilities are excellent with under floor heating. The town is about 1/2mile away either down the road or footpath (we didn't find the footpath route.

A very nice site and town. A bit of road noise at night so would probably try the other side of the toilet block next time.

Would visit this site again.

Worth

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

Another visit to this lovely site. The site is about half a mile off the main road through to Teesdale, up a country lane.

We arrived 3 minutes early, 1pm arrival time but was warmly greeted & booked in no trouble. We like to go on the back hedge of the site on the right hand side when you look down the site from reception, hard standing pitches. Although this was run up to Easter there was plenty of pitches to choose from & hardly any children on site. There is a very small play area for children, but really more ideal for adults, what children were on site we quiet & very good. The road that runs at the back of the hedge leads to a farm & horse riding school. You do get the odd tractor or horsebox down here but it's not all day long, we like it on this side anyway. The pitches to the side of us were free nearly all week, although after being out walking all day at the weekend we came back to some new arrivals on the pitch next to the gate/barrier as you leave, & their dog. It did nothing but bark at everything & everyone, they could not control it at all. They should have gone somewhere to the bottom of the site, that way not many people would have walked past their outfit & set the dog off but that's my view. Again lovely hot showers, never had to wait. We like the site as there is some good walking in the area. It's 2 miles to Barnard Castle, down the lane, through the farm yard then out into Deepdale Wood. One day we walked back the long way round taking the Cotherstone sign as you come back over the metal bridge over the road to Deepdale Wood exit, but we got off the track in Lartington & back to the site. Another day we walked into Deepdale Wood on a different track & saw 3 deer. We also walked to Egglestone Abbey & back, but called in the Three Horseshoes in Barnard Castle first for an early tea. Then there was the walk from Bowlees Visitors Centre to Holwick Scar, a lovley walk that took you out onto the moors, we came back down the River Tees to High Force, then back to Bowlees Visitors Centre for our car, but was a little disappointed that the signage from High Force Hotel was not clear after a while & we ended up back on the main road instead of walking through the countryside. Next time we will walk from the Visitors Centre to High Force Hotel on the track from there so we know where we went wrong this time. We just love Barnard Castle Caravan & Camping Site, & love the walks in the surrounding area, we will be back

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMack 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very nice, well laid out site. It is a bit noisy with the road immediately behind and we had a pitch backing onto road. You get used to it and I think weekend traffic is heavier than through week. You can see top of YOI, but never heard any noise.

Wardens do well keeping grounds tended and tubs were still beautiful. The toilet block is lovely, with roomy showers and always toasty.

Lovely walk downhill into town. Of course you can walk off any sweet treats on the walk back up hill, but it's not too grueling a climb.

Would go back, but would request a pitch further from road, if we remembered!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

As most previous reviews have said, a very clean, tidy, well kept and well run site.

Big hard-standing pitches with ehu, there are 6 fully serviced (behind the reception block). The pitches next to the road obviously experience some road noise but we pitched at the top end near the dog walk and didn't find noise a problem at all.

We were unaware that YOI was even there until reading about it on reviews here - don't let it put you off as we couldn't see if let alone here anything from it.

Took 10 minutes to walk into the town, plenty of shops, lovely cafes, pie shops, butchers - all you could hope for and very few few chain stores.

Heading in the opposite direction we cycled up to the reservoirs, about 11 miles on the very quiet lanes, mainly uphill all the way but fabulous downhill on the way back.

Would suggest a stop off in the village of Cotherstone - midway between Barnard Castle and Middleton - Brooke House Team room served amazing scones, light meals etc either inside the quaint tea room or in a lovely garden setting.

All in all we found the campsite and the area to be so much more than we imagined. Would highly recommend both.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

I love this site. We travelled from the South up the A1 to Scotch Corner, then took the A66, don't take your 1st turn off to Barnard Castle (sign showing lorries) take the next turn off (Barnard Castle) as this road takes you straight to the traffic lights, castle to your right, go through traffic lights, then approx. 2 miles along Lartington Lane after you have past the Caravan Club site on the road edge, and on a slight bend you will see the Caravan & Camping Club sign to your left. Go up the lane, approx. 3/4 mile, passing places along the way & the site is at the end of the lane.

Check in is 1PM, we arrived about 5 minutes early, lady warden who checked us in did not look very happy, maybe it was still her lunch time. I had booked off the web & asked for a pitch along the hedge where we stayed last time, we were given a nice pitch which gets the sun in the awning PM so we were happy. We were asked for our age of discount cards, but it was only when friends of ours who went for the 1st time said how much it cost them a few days later that I realised we had paid more, when I checked my receipt no age of discount was on it, so I took it back to reception and the lady warden could not have been more different. She credited my account straight away, saying that for some reason the discount had not come off, anyway I was happy for the discount & it was no trouble to the warden.

We are members of the caravan club too, and although I have not looked around the Caravan Club site at Barnard Castle I would not stay there as it is right on the road side which is the main road through so will get road noise, and it will cost a lot more too. We paid £128 for a week at the Caravan & Camping Club site which was great value. Once you have pitched your van & put up your awning you can park your car on the grass belonging to your pitch, or park in front of van. The showers are lovely & hot & kept clean. The fish & chip van calls £10 for fish & chips twice & they are freshly cooked & lovely. There is only a small play park for children & if you go in school term time it's usually only Fri/Sat that children are on site, so we go in term time, it was nice & quiet while we were there. If you like walking there is Deep Dale Wood to walk through. You can walk to Barnard Castle from the site through the wood & we caught site of a deer when we went. You can also walk the other way to Lartington and further to Cotherstone through the fields. We did a circular walk from Cotherstone, parking in the village and walked on the disused railway line to Romaldskirk, had our lunch on the village green, then walked back along the river. There had been a land slide along the river but we managed to get past it, then to treat ourselves we ended up at a café in Cotherstone for a coffee & cake, lovely. We will be visiting Barnard Castle Caravan & Camping Club site again as there is still plenty of walks in the area we just did not get time to do.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

We have just spent 8 nights at this site, 2 adults and 3 children aged from 3 - 11, the facilities are excellent and the site is well maintained. There is some road noise from the nearby road, pitches are available further back into the site. The children were quite happy playing in the playground with other children, the youngest under supervision at all times. Access to the site is easy and it is a short walk/drive to visit Barnard Castle, unfortunately we were disappointed with the market, we expected more stalls. The site's location is ideal for exploring the Teesdale and Swaledale areas, both areas offering opportunities for walking and sight seeing.

The site is visited by a fish and chip van on 2 nights during the week and the products that they sell are excellent and good value.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The-saint 10 reviews from this member

Very well kept site with friendly and helpful wardens. There is some road noise by the adjacent B6277 road. The site is kept clean and all of the pitches are hard standing. A Fish & Chip van visits Wednesday & Friday evenings. Bowlees Museum is well worth visiting and Caravan Club members get 'buy one ticket get one free'. Other good days out in the area include Egglestone Hall, Raby Castle and High Force. The Eden Arms in West Auckland is about a fifteen minute drive away, and the food and service were both very good. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Awesome60s 12 reviews from this member

This is a relatively new, very neat and tidy well maintained Caravan Club Site.

Our wecome was pleasant and business-like; you may find that 'Do not arrive before midday. ' means precisely what it says! Reception opens for newcomers on the dot in our experience - not a problem.

The site location is excellent; it's easy to walk into Barnard Castle down the busy road, or a bit longer through the adjacent woodland footpath(fifteen or twenty minutes). Notwithstanding Caravan Club notices (July 2015) saying the woodland path is very muddy and blocked by a landslide we were able, quite easily, to take the woodland route. It appeared to be safe and there was no need to wear walking boots. A repair had been made by enthusiastic walkers. Reaching the road at the Barnard Castle end of the woodland walk, take the opposite footpath signposted 'Castle'. BUT be vigilant and very careful crossing the road here; certainly look and definitely listen to be sure no traffic is approaching. Crossing the footbridge here allows access to the Castle (English Heritage), to the interesting town, and to Riverside walks.

Some mention has been made about the proximity of the Young Offenders Establishment (YOE) and associated noise. Noise-sensitive reporters have also mentioned 'road-noise. ' Neither was issue for us. The YOE is well shielded by trees and certainly is not 'right next door. '

In summary I would have no hesitation in suggesting friends stay here - the site is certainly disabled-friendly. As things stand, the woodland walk would be a bit too challenging for a mobility scooter, and the road too dangerous. But, by car, the town is just a couple of minutes away.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019