Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nature & Lodge Camping Les Domes De Miage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Saint Gervais Les Bains > Nature & Lodge Camping Les Domes De Miage Reviews

Nature & Lodge Camping Les Domes De Miage
197, Route Des Contamines
Saint Gervais Les Bains
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
74170
Tel: +33 04 50 93 45 96
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DevonDoris 2 reviews from this member

This is one of the nicest campsites we have stayed at, anywhere. The owners are delightful and let my kids try out their French, but helping out in English when needed. The loos and showers are really clean (there is a rack at the door for shoes), the showers were hot and the block has underfloor heating which is good after a day in the mountains. The campsite is beautifully flat, and both my van (Dorothy) and our lovely tent were comfortable.

The little shop has the essentials, which in our case means croissants, bread and milk! They also sold maps and cheese and ice cream, among other things. There's a free bus to the town: the only downside is that the buses don't run very late, but there's parking there along with supermarkets and good restaurants. There is a very nice restaurant next door to the campsite as well: again the staff here were lovely, and the food really good. We had snails and steaks and fondue, all of which were fab.

The views were devastatingly beautiful, and the kids loved the free bikes to get to the shop and loos and back. There weren't too many children around when we were there, but they were all friendly and shared the little play park very well.

We travelled in our van from the campsite to Chamonix and went up Mont Blanc and the surrounding area on various cable cars and trains, as well as taking the little red train up the mountain from St Gervais to the Eagle's Nest (le tramway de Mont Blanc). We visited the ice caves near Chamonix, and went to Italy for a coffee. If you do this, the Mont Blanc tunnel is about 50Euros (Aug 2017) one way, but the drive back over the San Berdino pass was utterly superb. It did take about 9 hours to get back though. I would recommend stopping off on the way back in the Roseland area (we passed an amazing campsite there, but the van is a bit cramped for 4 of us to sleep in.

I would have loved to have stayed at this site longer - being in the mountains, listening to the river, was amazing. I'd definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyjean 16 reviews from this member

This is one of the nicest campsites we have stayed on in France. The location is superb and the campsite is maintained in the best of order. During our visit the campsite was kept in pristine condition, toilets, shower rooms and washing areas were immaculate and well maintained as were the grounds of the campsite. Friendly help was on hand at the reception form ? the owners/managers. Daily bread can be ordered and the reception had a stock of essentials as well as tourist information. Allocated pitches were large and even though camping next to someone in the next pitch it never felt crowded. When we arrived it was cloudy for two days and o the third my husband returned from the loo and asked me to get up and have a look and what a fantastic first view it was for our first trip to the French Alps,

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

Came for a week and stayed three which says it all really. Probably the best view from a site we have had in forty years of caravanning. The pitches are level, large and mown to an inch but not split up with a hedge etc. In May and June this wasn't a problem. The facility block is clean but quite a walk from the far end of the site. The staff in the office are friendly and helpful and speak English. There is a play area for small children but a fast small stream running through the site. With the sound of the stream running behind our van and cow bells in the distance we had the perfect ambiance for a wonderful holiday. The peak of Mont Blanc is about six miles along the road but part of the mountain can be seen from the site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

Absolutely loved this site - chose our own large pitch facing Mont Blanc, facilities superb, area amazing, staff at site couldn't have been more helpful. Cycled into town, got cable car up o e of the mountains, view over to Mont Blanc was incredible, walked back down. Was only going to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying five. Would def return in future - great stopover on way south or in to Italy. Could not fault it at all.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 32 reviews from this member

This is an amazing site. One of, if not the, best we have ever stayed at.

Surrounded by alpine peaks and under Mont Blanc the views from all of the pitches are outstanding.

The pitches are massive and exceedingly well kept. You can choose your own pitch then tell reception where you are.

Reception is at the entrance to the site and they have small selection of groceries, camping gaz etc that can be purchased. There is ample information about local excursions and places to visit. The staff could not be more helpful. Next to Reception there is a small library and a tv room for those who want it, plus a sunbathing area with deckchairs. There is also an ice machine where you can help yourself to ice - a first in our experience!

The toilet and shower etc facilities are excellent, clean and spacious with plenty of hot water. Some of the toilets and showers were closed when we were there but there was still plenty for the number of people on site. We had a small problem with the electric but it was soon sorted out by the owners, even though it was pouring with rain(the previous occupants of the pitches had tripped the electric and hadn't informed them!)

A small stream runs through the site adding to it's charm and there is a good, safe play area with equipment for children.

At the entrance of the site there is a traditional cafe/restaurant selling regional specialities (tartiflette etc) as well as the usual steaks etc.

Outside the site is a bus stop and the lovely town of St Gervais is 2km away and there is a sports centre with swimming pool about 1km down the road from the campsite.

All in all a site to remember and return to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JiLLIan 15 reviews from this member

This site is the best site that we have ever been to. We've been camping for 20 years.

The facilities are second to none. The toilets and showers were the most cleanest I've used ever. There was always a lady there cleaning whatever time of day you visited. There is a sanitizer in the loo so you can wipe the toilet before/after you use it. And also your hands. A very tidy and well looked after site.

There are a lot of campsites out there both British and French that could learn such a lot from this site.

The owners were nice and friendly. They should be very proud of their site which I'm pretty sure they are.

We were only there for 4 nights and visited the Aiguille du Midi at Mont Blanc. We went very early one morning when the sky was clear and paid around £130. 00 for the 2 of us to go up the top and in the Gondola ride over the Glacier's. It was absolutely breath-taking and oh so beautiful.

We will definitely be returning to this site and I hope it will be sooner rather than later.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Teamdg 1 review from this member

One of the best sites we have ever stayed at. Really large pitch. Needed a french connector for the electricity rather than the blue European one but we were able to borrow this from the campsite with no charge. It was also quite a distance to the electric supply from some pitches.

Excellent showers with washbasin in each cubicle. You are expected to take your shoes off at the entrance to the shower block which helped keep things clean -take extra shower shoes if you don't like going in with bare feet. Toilets and showers are shared for men and women but this is pretty common in France. No toilet seats either but always spotlessly clean, with a sanitizer dispenser in each cubicle.

Owners really helpful and saved us a lot of money with advice on the various ticket options for cable cars etc. Stunning scenery - we could see Mont Blanc from our pitch. Easy walk into St Gervais or free bus from outside campsite entrance.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CarlAndDeirdreL 3 reviews from this member

What an amazing place to stay! With views of the mountains from nearly every pitch this is one of the best campsites we have ever visited. Its location at the foot of Mont Blanc and just outside St. Gervais was ideal for our ten night stay. Our pitch (D4) was enormous and even when the campsite was full, which it was on a couple of nights, it never really felt crowded or overly busy. Not all the pitches have shade, but this didn't bother us and the owners do provide loungers in a shaded grassy area of the site. The owners, are very friendly and welcoming, even taking the trouble to remember our names. They've been running the site for about 25 years and have built it into something really special. The toilet facilities are modern and clean, and where else could you take a shower looking out onto Mont Blanc! Free wi-fi is available around reception, bread and croissants can be ordered and, although we didn't need it, there is a lovely play area for the children. All in all, definitely recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seymour1 1 review from this member

This was the 2nd time we have stayed at this site and I think it is lovely. As other reviews say the mountain location is really beautiful.

The pitches are large and flat, facilities are very clean and well kept. Great for tents. Plenty of warm showers.

The hiking around the area is fantastic. You can walk up to a nearby glacier and there are plenty of cable car trips to do. There is of course the classic trip up Mont Blanc by cable car from nearby Chamonix (assuming you are not climbing up - which some do from here). Nearby St Gervais is a nice pretty little town.

This is a great place for a peaceful stay. It is in the mountains so don't expect to be sitting out late in just a tee-shirt in the evenings even in July and August.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeauFrance 5 reviews from this member

What a superb site! We cannot recommend this site enough. I would call this a medium size site set in the most stunning of locations with a clear view of the top of the Domes de Miage (not Mont Blanc). We chose this site purely because it is camping in the foothills of the Alps, in France and all that that entails - walking, trekking, and of course site seeing, etc. Thus the absence of a pool, for example, is missing the point.

The toilets are well maintained, the showers also (although rather fierce!).

The lady (owner) in reception was very helpful at all times and was also keen to help me with my French. The reception / shop is a little on the basic side and it would have been nice if the shop was better stocked since the site is not within walking distance of local shops.

Our pitch was excellent, the ground level and the turf deep and soft providing an excellent base for the tent. It was also a very large pitch which gave a nice sense of openness and accommodated our large (4. 75m x 7. 25m) tent, car, cooker, chairs etc with no trouble at all.

Our pitch was right beside a 'babling' brook which was the only thing you hear at night and so we had very restful and peaceful nights.

Why choose this site? For all of the above reasons - plus Mont Blanc. Obviously a personal highlight as mountains may not be everyone's cup of tea but if they are then you simply MUST take the road from St Gervais les Bains (the lovely little village just down the road from the site) to Annecy and as you climb up out and away from the village, pull over in your car, get out and look back to the jaw-dropping awesome site of the 4810m wall of rock of Mont Blanc with its head way above the clouds. Breathtaking!

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019