Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Far View Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Acharacle > Far View Campsite Reviews

CLOSED: Far View Campsite
Pier Road
Kilchoan
Acharacle
Argyll   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although the bed and breakfast is still open. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

 Had initially booked for a 2 night stay on the Thursday/Friday rang on the Saturday to see if we could move the booking to the Monday/Tuesday as we had changed our plans, this was done with no fuss. Arrived off the ferry and it is literally a 2 minute drive up the road. Fab little site with what appeared to be 3 pitches and showmans wagon ( I guess this will eventually be rented out?) with beautiful views over the bay, very friendly welcome by Katie who told us all we needed to know, no showers on site but we used the showers up at the community centre, a five minute walk away which were fab and 1 for 12 minutes, there is also a small cafe there which we didn't use but looked very nice. Site has a little shed with toilet and hot water. We visited the Ardnamurchan lighthouse which has stunning views and visited Sanna Bay which is an almost Caribbean beach with white sand and crystal clear waters with lots of little bays and one huge one. Ate in the Kilchoan hotel, service left a bit to be desired, I think more training in customer skills is needed however, the food was good and reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Suecmason 1 review from this member

 Fantastic friendly peaceful campsite with 4 good sized pitches. The owners were lovely and welcoming without being intrusive. The views are stunning and it is so peaceful. There is a very clean smart little shed with a toilet and hot water. The site also advertises a wet room for hanging wet coats etc. This would have been very useful if we had bad weather- drying 4 jackets and waterproof trousers in a VW T5 is not much fun! The owners also have have 1 B&B room which looked gorgeous from the pictures. For showers you need to go just along the road (5-10 minutes on foot) to the Community Centre which is open during normal office hours and also houses a small cheap cafe. There is a lovely play park next to the community centre, which my girls loved. It is a 5 minute walk down to the little harbour where you can get the ferry over to Tobermory on Mull. This takes just 30 minutes and is very good value. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here and was very pleased with the site. It has just changed hands, so at this time the new owner didn't actually live on site in the cottage. He visited and told us to just post our 15 through the door. Very trusting of him. We did, of course.

Clean loo (jut the one) with wash basin. Only room for four campers or tents, so very quiet site. No showers on site. If you want a shower its a 15 min walk to community centre, or 30 min walk to village. It says 1 for shower, which I thought was brill, only to find out it meant 1 for every 5 mins! Quickest shower I have ever had, as I only had the one 1 coin on me. I would still recommend this site if you are just passing through, or maybe just a couple of nights.

Owner very nice, helpful guy too. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JAD1602 2 reviews from this member

 This very small site for 4 small caravans/motorhomes (all on hard standing with electrics) is By FAR the best we found in Kilchoan. In the last month, it has been bought by Stuart who is SO welcoming and friendly. We had a beautiful view of the sea from our pitch. The toilet 'shed' was lovely, homely and immaculate with wood paneling, books and hot water. A 7 minute stroll by the sea would take you to the community hall with showers (1) and a coffee shop. In the opposite direction, you would reach the tiny ferry port (for Tobermory), a charming little place ideal for a short evening walk.

This is perfection for 15 (including electrics) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minimoke 2 reviews from this member

 A great small site, very handy if you are 'hopscotching' to or from Mull, as we were after the Mull Car Rally. Also excellent for exploring the delightful Ardnamurchan peninsula. The other reviewers have said it all and I can only agree with them and add that Chris and Julie are most friendly hosts and their site is the best choice at Kilchoan. Don't be put off by no showers as there are excellent ones in the community/health centre a short distance away. The other community showers near the shop used by the other campsites in the village are deffo not as good. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roadrunners 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely friendly campsite with marvellous views from the gardens which you are encouraged to use. A very good toilet facility which includes local information and books to swap or borrow. Very handy for the ferry over to Mull and meals at the nearby hotel. There are showers available plus lots of other information at the Community Centre 1 minute up the road. Would definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arrachogaidh 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here two nights and it was really enjoyable. Small site with a wonderful view out to Mull.

The Owners were very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge.

The site was small but very clean and well organised. The village and its people were very friendly a really nice welcoming community.

The Tobermory ferry is within walking distance and we used this for a visit and a few beers at McGochan's Bar!.

Also friendly local pub Kilchoan House Hotel 5-10m walk with nice bar meals and pizza.

The sight is on a slight slope but not a problem for levelling. It only takes 5 so best to book.

Our motorhome is 27' and we managed just fine getting onto the selected hardstanding.

The toilet is very clean and contains a library! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J and p graham 1 review from this member

 We stayed here last week and it was a really enjoyable week. Very cosy site with a wonderful view out to Mull.

The Owners were very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge.

The site was very clean and well organised. The village and its people were very friendly a really nice welcoming community. There was a well stocked shop a mile away. Hot showers 1 in a lovely community centre with tourist info and a very nice cafe 400m one direction. The other direction 400m to the Tobermory ferry!. Friendly local pub 5-10m walk with nice bar meals (booked fish and chips on friday- very nice local tradition). Nice B&B with gourmet meals for special treat or Sonachan hotel for a nice drive, again friendly and nice meals too!

The sight is on a slight slope but not a problem for levelling. It only takes 4 so best to book. The road in is 40m on single track, but we managed even though its only our 4th trip in the caravan -its not very busy and worth my usual car sickness.

A very peaceful and enjoyable holiday in a friendly village on a lovely quiet idyllic site.

-Enjoy-we did! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MaggieMc 6 reviews from this member

 A friendly, peaceful, small site for max of 5 motorhomes/campervans, most vans needed one levelling block in use. I understand that more levelling work is to be carried out.

The site is a 5 mins walk to the pier for the ferry to Tobermory or boat trip to Staffa/Lunga with staffatours. Com (highly recommended) or 5 mins walk to the Kilchoan Hotel for a nice basket of fish and chips if you can't face cooking! The new chef had just started the day we arrived and we had no complaints, although the hotel needs upgrading.

The toilet on site is immaculate and the showers at the community centre (a short stroll away) are clean, hot, electric showers with a good sized changing cubicle- at 1 for a token which lasts 12 minutes ( opened 9-5 Mon to Sat, closed Sun)

I had the best nights sleep in a very long time at this site and awoke to the amazing birdsong! It is a fabulous site and I can't wait to go back. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement