Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Byecross Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Byecross Farm Campsite Reviews

Byecross Farm Campsite
Moccas
Preston On Wye
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 9LJ
Tel: 01981 500284
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shazhaley 1 review from this member

 Just had a great weekend at Byecross Farm as we were canoeing on the river Wye. The campsite is nice and level and amongst apple trees.

There is a large toilet and shower block and this was kept clean although there were a large amount of campers on site. Only 2 showers but they were clean and provided a good supply of hot water for £1.

The campsite itself is cheap at £5 per head.

There is a shop/cafe on site. The shop has some food and drink for sale including local meat and sausages/beer/cider and various things you may need such as washing up liquid or shampoo.

We only used the cafe for breakfast and the bacon baps were lovely and freshly cooked. There is a great covered area just outside the cafe with half an oak tree as a table.

I was not aware of any children's play facilities but had no children with us so did not look. There is a get in point for the river so launching canoes and kayaks is not problem. All in all I would recommend this campsite especially for those wishing to canoe/kayak and fish. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kate from London 1 review from this member

 Byecross Farm is a proper old fashioned campsite in a wonderful location on the River Wye and has decent facilities. Great to have a real campfire and canoeing, we had a relaxing & fun stay! Toilets could benefit from being cleaned a little more often and rubbish removed on a slightly more regular basis. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wotnosleep 1 review from this member

 Wow. All the reviews said this place was great and we agree. The owners are super helpful and the site is beautiful. But we want to keep it all to ourselves. So pretend you never read this. Yeah, actually it's really noisy and dirty and extortionate prices. And sloping fields. Don't go! 😉 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Smurf dub 1 review from this member

 Heard about byecross farm from a neighbour some months before we got to go, we went on the last bank holiday of August, we did ring in advance to be on the safe side as we thought they may be busy which they were, in fact the owners told us after we'd arrived that it was the busiest they'd been since running the campsite.

But we were made exceptionally welcome & no one was turned away as they opened up a couple of extra fields to accommodate those who wanted to stay.

The owners of this idyllic site are Tony & Sharon, two nicer & down to earth people you would wish to meet, as it was so busy they had family & friends helping them who were also extremely friendly & helpful, on the Sunday evening there was a large fire basket near to where the shop was & we were invited to sit around it with Tony, Sharon & the others who were helping for a chin wag & we were even given some home made pizza, it was great to sit & have a chat & laugh with them as they were so relaxed & friendly, which is something we've never experienced on other camp sites.

The main camping area is in a Apple orchard which is right by the river, so if your in to canoeing/kayaking or fishing this is the place to be.

The site has a very clean & modern toilet/shower block, a area to do your washing up & a well stocked shop for all your basic needs, a lot of which is locally sourced, they also sell kiln dried logs should you wish to have a fire, which Tony & Sharon like to see as it adds atmosphere to the campsite.

Overall this is a great little campsite away from the madding crowds & any traffic noise as it's in the lovely Herefordshire countryside.

We would just like to give a special thanks to Rob, Barbera & there 3 little surfette girls who were helping out.

We shall be going back as soon as we can.

The smurf dudders. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbie0800 3 reviews from this member

 Travelled as a couple. Arrived by kayaks to find a truly Lovely site.

The owners had built a great canoe slide to make the climb up the steep bank easy for the boats. Simple with a pick where you pitch layout. Right on the river.

Only 2 other groups there, however although there was a huge empty orchard to pitch up in, a group of lads arrived and seemed intent upon pitching up right next to us. They were quiet though luckily, despite the alcohol :) The owners popped around in the evening to collect our money, which we were lucky to have cash for as there is no cash point in the village.

We set up by a campfire area so we could cook our tea on the fire which was lovely and the wash blocks and washing up was clean and had running hot water even at the out door sinks.

We wondered up to the local pub, a 20 minute walk into the village which was lovely and had a local ale and bar snacks. The food menu looked very appealing although they stopped serving at 8pm I think. We stayed late at the pub and wished we had brought a torch as there is no street lights in the village on the walk back, but cars were rare so we didn't feel unsafe.

Beautiful starry skies were clearly visible in the night which we spent a while admiring on our walk back.

Overall a lovely night in the middle of nowhere! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiona ne uk 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite within easy reach of Hereford by car, there is a limmited bus service too. Great for night skyes, no light pollution. 2 pubs, both really nice within walking distance. The nearest is in Preston on wye, about a mile, the other a 2 mile walk in the other direction. Take a torch as there are no street lights.

Campsite right next to the river, and great access for canoeists. Toilets, showers etc are excellent, though there is no mirror in the ladies, so take one with you if you need one.

Being allowed campfires is great, especially later in the year when the nights are drawing in. Wood sold on site £3 per bag.

There are lots of lovely footpaths and bridal ways very close to the site.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James1968 1 review from this member

 Arrived by canoe.

Exiting the river is made easy with steps up the bank and a purpose built canoe slide.

The site is beautiful. In the middle of nowhere.

Camping where you want in a large orchard.

The lady owner was extremely helpful. She drove us 7 miles to the nearest cash point as we had not brought enough cash for the pub that evening.

Facilities are clean and have no problems.

Would recommend especially if you are canoeing down the Wye. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mogamed 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit there lovely camp site. A nice quiet site away from main road near the river in an apple orchard so plenty of shade.

Clean toilets and showers (£1 charge for showers plenty of hot water and good pressure).

Lovely to sit around the camp fire at night(wood sold on site).

You also get to choose your own spot.

The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Will be going back again 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *Lindy* 3 reviews from this member

 Great site here that feels like it's miles from civilisation!

Set in a lovely orchard, plenty of space to find your own little area. It's great at night with all the campfires. Distance from main roads makes it very quiet at night with good views of the night sky.

Toilet block is large, but basic with two showers. £1 for five minutes - it's enough time to do everything you need :) Plenty of hot water and good pressure. Didn't have to queue either day (on a sunny weekend in July - a good sign) Take a carrier bag though to keep clean clothes dry as there's only a couple of hooks which are not shielded from the water. Plenty of wash basins, but that's it. No mirrors (which can be a negative or a plus depending on your opinion!) or shelves to put your things though it was pretty clean.

The only thing missing is a couple more water points - could only see one. I would absolutely come back here again and would definitely recommend if you want don't need frills 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buster30 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, what a great campsite. Situated in an old orchard right next to the River Wye and run by Tony and Sharon who are great hosts.

Turn up, pick a spot and your done. The highlight for me and the kids was that you can have a camp fire, wood supplied if you need it or bring your own.

There is a lovely toilet block which is brand new and very clean. Hot showers are £1 each for 5 minutes.

All in all a great place to stay and I even got a ride in Tony's plane (yes a real plane) which he fly's from his own landing strip!

A must stay if your in the area. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Byecross Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Byecross Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window