Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Fuentes Blancas

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Burgos > Camping Fuentes Blancas Reviews

Camping Fuentes Blancas
Ctra Cartuja De Miraflores K 3,5
09193
Burgos
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 947 486 016
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 300
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 46 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights here, not too busy on arrival but later really filled up with traffic from the ferry.

No water points around the site only tap with drinking water is behind sanitary block 3 which can be quite a walk for some.

Only 1 san block open when we were here, so that is 4 showers for about 160 filled pitches. The 1 washer is a top loader which do not clean clothes properly, just wet so we did not use it.

Reception was very helpful but alas the free wifi is hit and miss but at €20 a night in February it is a little steep. 


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 32 reviews from this member

 Stopped at this site on the way back from Southern Spain to Santander. Sat nav took us straight to the door using coordinates. The Receptionist was very friendly and spoke good English. We were going to use our ACSI card but as we didn't have the 2020 card they charged us their rate which was £19.

The pitches were fine, some had been churned up a but there was plenty of choice. When we arrived there were very few van on site, but the following night it was nearly full. We pitched up and connected to what was a old concrete EHU point. We had a problem with this EHU as it was an old unit and wasn't earthed properly. When our dog put his paw on the metal step he received a bit of a jolt! We informed reception, and they apologised saying they would investigate it. We plugged into the newer stainless steel EHU and had no problems at all.

There are four toilet blocks, only one being open as it was January. It was very clean and warm with plenty of hot water and the showers were extremely powerful. The only fresh and waste water points we could find were behind the toilet block, as was the chemical disposal unit. We used the laundry facilities which were quite reasonable and very efficient.

We needed to get the tapeworm treatment necessary to return to the UK with our dog. The receptionist gave us the number of a local vet (Clinic Gamonal). We walked down on the afternoon to book our dog in for the next day. It was easy to find following Google maps, and easy to walk there from the campsite. They were extremely friendly and one vet spoke English. The charge was 15 euros, which is much less than visiting a vet nearer to Santander.

There are lovely dog walks to be found just outside the site, and some parts where you can let your dog off the lead.

Burgos itself is a fairy large City, and we walked through part of the City centre. We had intended to walk to the Cathedral which is by all accounts very impressive, but ran out of time as we had the appt with the vet. It is, however, a very good reason to return to complete our tour around. The City is very clean with lovely statues and buildings. We hope to return later this year and stay for a few days this time. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harveyrv 4 reviews from this member

 Stopped here as a one night stopover as easy distance from Bilbao.

Easy check in with very helpful English speaking staff.

Cafe / shop & bar on site with good range of items stocked.

Fairly large site and pitches were large and level with easy access to water and EHU.

We had a rainstorm whilst we were there and as previous review states, ground was slow to drain on our pitch but overall no problem.

Toilets and showers were clean and good supply of hot water.

It would be a decent walk into town so we asked at reception about taxis and the receptionist called one for us - taxi cost 10€ into town centre.

Shopped at large Carrefour megastore in town.

Paid for camping using ACSI discount card. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon Tourers 12 reviews from this member

 Decent size flat pitches, but subject to standing water after heavy rain. Well maintained toilets and showers, very clean with plenty of hot water. Campsite is walking distance from Burgos, 3kms. Pleasant walks along side of river on hard paths. Nearest supermarket is in the town. Paid using ACSI card. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crwydryn 72 reviews from this member

 If you are travelling to the site from the direction of Salamander & use Tomtom don’t rely on it once you get close to Burgos as it is determined to take you down a no through road! Cross the river and turn right along the river and come at it from the other side. Just used as a stopover but facilities are fine with good sized grass pitches. Sporadic bus service into the town from outside the site but probably more frequent buses on the other side of the river a short flat walk away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gordon67 16 reviews from this member

 When we stayed the grass pitches were quite wet so most visitors parked up on the road/paths which was fine but limited space available.

The site facilities are good although dogs are not allowed in the bar/restaurant in site.

Showers were very good and efficient laundry service

There is a lovely walk along the river into town. Fresh bread available at reception in the morning.

All the staff were very friendly 


Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 A very useful site on the way to or from Southern Spain. It's in a pleasant, quiet location. The pitches are large, in fact some units were able to stay hitched up, and there was also room for a fifth wheel. Some pitches were rather muddy but there were plenty of others to choose from.

It's a municipal site so the toilet blocks aren't very attractive from the outside, but the one open in winter was excellent inside - clean, heated, lots of hot water, soap and hand dryers, loos with seats and paper. However the washing up sinks are in the open air, although under a small roof, and as the temperature was around zero we preferred to wash up in the caravan!

There were problems with the wifi when we were there but the staff readily gave us a refund of the 2 euros we'd paid.

At 16 euros a night with ACSI it was good value. Burgos is a beautiful city and it's worth stopping an extra night or two to see it. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rev16 2 reviews from this member

 What a depressing place booked for three nights only stayed for one. Arrived midafternoon had to move twice to find working electric point the place is dirty bins full and over flowing, with no more than 10 vans on site this was not expected needless to say will avoid in the future. I know it was January but no shop open toilet blocks closed the whole ground is a mess even for a one night stop not acceptable. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claruspaw 1 review from this member

 Finding the relevant area of Burgos, when travelling from the Bilbao ferryport, did take a little longer than expected, as we managed to take a wrong turn somewhere along the way, but we soon found that Fuentes Blancas is reassuringly well signposted from just about everywhere once you reach the city centre.

This is a real gem of a campsite, and perfect for anyone wanting a base to explore and soak up the atmosphere of Burgos and the delights of the surrounding area. It is used predominantly as a stopover point for travellers to and from the Santander and Bilbao ferry ports, and by locals who left their caravans on site, and came to stay for odd days here and there. Though there was no online facility for us to make an advance reservation, we had always planned to stay for 3 full weeks, and had no problems booking in on arrival. As “long-stay residents”, we were regarded very much as a curiosity by staff, who made a special point of making themselves known to us from the time of our arrival. Isabel, in particular, gave an enormous amount of help, advice and information throughout our stay, and proved invaluable in helping us to locate a nearby vet, so that we could readily obtain the necessary “Pet Passport” immunisations for our dogs a few days before returning home.

Only part of the site was open for the duration of our stay, including access to three excellent shower blocks, all of which were kept scrupulously clean. Washing and toilet facilities were well looked after, and we enjoyed possibly the best showers we have ever found on a site. We couldn’t fault anything.

Torrential rain fell at intervals throughout our first and third week, but otherwise the days were very hot and sunny, and the night skies clear, bright, and full of stars.

The whole site was clean and very well cared for, with regular grass cutting, collection of rubbish from all areas, and replenishment of stocks in all of the shower blocks. Recycling bins are readily available, and clearly marked, in several areas on site, as well as a large number of basic rubbish bins.

Several garden-type benches were located around the site, but as they were not bolted down, they were frequently moved around as needed — but this was in no way a problem.

It was interesting and quite fascinating to see the tremendous range of new and old, state-of-the-art and thrown-together, enormous and miniscule, caravans, tents and motorhomes that passed through over the three weeks of our stay. Campers included English, Spanish, French, Belgian, Italian, Dutch, and the occasional visitor from farther afield.

With two rather lively and excitable dogs, we reluctantly decided against having a formal meal in the on site restaurant, although a large outside area was available, had we wanted to do so. We did, however, use the bar area on frequent occasions, and enjoyed an impressive range of tapas. The takeaway paella was amongst the best we had ever had. The shop, whilst not enormous, carried a more than adequate range of both consumable and functional items. During the week, large numbers of schoolchildren routinely called in for ice-creams and other confectionery — no doubt prompted by the fact that their school [which we could hear, but not see from the campsite] was located next door to the site, and their bus transport left from the area immediately outside the site gates.

Knowing nothing of this region, and in the mistaken assumption that we would be able to check out the locality online on arrival, we did find our first experience of driving through Burgos a bit daunting, so anyone planning to stay for any length of time might be well advised to get hold of a Michelin [or similar] map of the area, or to download a relevant map prior to leaving home. Although WiFi was indeed available at a small cost, we were advised that reception tended to be limited to the area immediately adjacent to the Reception building, and this did in fact prove to be the case, as we had pitched approximately midway along the site, and only managed to pick up a signal on one occasion.

Health issues dictated that we were unable to get out and about as often as we would have liked, and then only by car, but when we did venture beyond the gates, we discovered a readily accessible Mercadona supermarket just 3 miles down the road, and later found a Carrefour in the main shopping centre in Burgos, where we were able to park easily, and free of charge.

Amongst our abiding memories of Fuentes Blancas that we recall with fondness are:

(a) Church or monastery bells — long and loud and frequent [100+ tolls throughout each day];

(b) Extensive and excessive magpie droppings which, more than two months after our return home, we were still struggling to scrape off the roof of the caravan and the car, and eventually had to succumb to a professional clean! These sociable creatures seemed to have bypassed everybody else on site;

(c) The abundance and variety of birds and trees — notably the delightful little colonies of nuthatches and tits, one of which had made its nest behind a broken panel in the base of a lamppost, showing no apparent fear of the nearby campers;

(d) The attractive walkway alongside the river, leading all the way from the campsite into Burgos;

(e) The millions of microscopic white “floaters” — presumably seeds of some kind — that drifted through the air throughout our stay;

(f) The unmistakable sounds of Spanish music and culture, which emanated at intervals from the restaurant area, especially during the evenings. On some nights we could hear what sounded like outdoor concerts or music festivals, which played on through to the early hours, not too far away;

(g) The hundreds of wind turbines in every direction along the skyline, which were a dominant, but not unattractive, feature of the surrounding countryside.

To anyone planning to merely pass through Fuentes Blancas en route to another destination, I would strongly recommend that they reconsider — and perhaps spend two [or more] nights instead of just the one. They will not regret it! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janwills100 30 reviews from this member

 First stop after arriving in Santander unfortunately the weather was horrific and cold which does not give the best impression. Staff gave us a very warm welcome despite the weather. Good shop I never used the shower block as it wasn't warm enough for me but there did seem to be plenty but even in April the site was quiet and not all blocks where open. It does seem to be a stopover point but it was ok for that. Don't follow sat nav as it will take you through a park which the road through has been closed to vehicles. It wasn't too far from the town but we didn't venture in the town on foot just drove through. So didn't really get a fair impression. Would use again as stopover. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Fuentes Blancas child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Fuentes Blancas have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Fuentes Blancas?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Fuentes Blancas dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Burgos      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5431 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement