Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillcrest Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Hillcrest Park Reviews

Hillcrest Park
Caldwell
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 7UD
Tel: 01325 733145
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Davis64 1 review from this member

The facilities on this site are great, free hot showers and a kitchen with washing up facilities and microwave, kettle and washing machine. Dottie the caravan is open on a weekend serving breakfast, we didnít use this but the food smelt and looked delicious. The views from the site are amazing. We walked to the local pub, The Brownlow Arms about 1. 5 miles, and had lovely meal.

We stayed at the site as my son was running a lap of Yorkshire for charity and Kate could not have been more helpful and accommodating with us during our stay.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pepperpotss 3 reviews from this member

We booked this for 3 nights and on initial arrival appeared quite basic. However the site started to grow on us as the facilities although basic looking were everything you could have wished for.

Pros

Lovely free flowing hot showers

Centrally heated facility block

Free hairdryer

Camp kitchen with ironing and washing/drying bag facilities

Very very quiet location, slept well

Cons

Mainly seasonal pitches - although that makes it quiet.

Long drive to any proper shops although Mainsgill farm shop within a 10 minute drive (excellent shop)

All in all a lovely site for a quiet retreat.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Anders-James 1 review from this member

We have just arrived home from our two nights stay at Hillcrest Park. It was a lovely site the kitchen and shower/toilet block area was fabulously clean and very well equipped, toilets with lots of hand wash, loo roll, paper towels and always a clean hand towel. The kitchen equipped with toaster x2, cooking rings x2, microwave x2 even crockery and cutlery which is included in the cost of your stay, must admit though, it did make me lazy, as the owner Kate told me to use as I feel (same with the heating in the pod). There is also a washing machine and dryer(they have an additional charge Which is I'm sure worth it if needed).

My two dogs(who are both border Collies, and one is not the most sociable around other dogs may I add, so he needs space (this always causes a worry) but there was definitely more than enough room which made me feel so much more comfortable with the amount of space around us). They absolutely loved this huge field and made full use of it frequently and this still left room for a large group of children to play and other dogs to run.

The owners were friendly, informative about anything regarding our stay and they were understanding. The site is extremely well maintained and our pod (which was one of the smaller ones) was spacious enough for Our Little Girl Charlotte, Myself, My Husband and our two canine boys, Link and Lenny.

All in all a fab weekend and all cobwebs blown away. The afternoon just lay in the field with Charlotte riding around on her bike and the boys just running and playing fetch has got to be the best.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sheilajane 3 reviews from this member

This is a small site which seems to cater more for the camping pods than tourers, most of the caravan pitches seemed to be seasonal and fairly unkempt. Our pitch was very small and if we had erected our awning we would have blocked the access to the 'pods'. Car parking was not adjacent to the pitch.

The 'facilities', I use the term loosely, were basic, 2 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies and far from clean, there was a dead beetle on the floor the day we arrived and it was still there when we left 5 days later! Don't know what happened to the hand wash etc others have mentioned.

We chose to use our caravan bathroom as much as possible.

On more than one occasion pod campers had left their dishes in the sink to dry so dish washing was also difficult.

The weather wasn't great while we were here so many of the pod campers were using the facilities block as a general kids playroom/cafe area, granted not the site owners fault but still not acceptable.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Hoyle 3 reviews from this member

We normally camp in our tent but thought March might be a little chilly, so opted to stay in a Camping Pod. The site is a small one, having hard standing for around 20 caravans and has 10 Pods(small and large) which meant it was nice and quiet. As there was only 2 of us we opted for the smaller Pod. There was adequate space for 2 camp beds, 2 chairs and a table, and came equipped with heating and lighting, and a socket for chargers. The site has a fully equipped campers kitchen, ( which was a great addition and very useful in the inclement weather) and the toilet and shower block is one of the best we have encountered.

Dogs are allowed.

The owner was able to give us advice regarding places to eat, and we chose to visit The Brownlow Arms in Caldwell, which did not disappoint.

Well recommended for a Camping Pod break

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2426 3 reviews from this member

Site easy to find, met by the owner who showed us our pitch and where the site amenities were.

Very rural the nearest transport is in the village of Winston some 25 minutes walk away.

Nice and quite site very peaceful, only niggle is the sound of the scatter guns going off at 7 in the morning but I guess the local farmers need to protect there crops.

Overall great stay and recommended location.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbiejay1971 2 reviews from this member

I visited Hillcrest Park back in March 2013 for a month, returned in May 2013 for another month and ended up staying there ever since on a seasonal pitch! It's a beautiful site, really peaceful and relaxing. Kate and Ed are great hosts and are always ready to help or advise.

The toilets and kitchen area have just undergone a refurbishment, and the site is always being updated.

The nearest pub is in Caldwell, but it's a bit of a walk as there are no footpaths along the road

Both Richmond & Barnard Castle have supermarkets so you're never far from a shop. Mainsgill Farm Shop just up on the A66 is great for fresh produce too.

Overall this is a nice quiet site with peaceful views over the fields of North Yorkshire & County Durham.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cob roll 1 review from this member

Recently stopped in a pod which was nice along with the site and owners. Surround areas lovely with plenty to do and visit, morrisons just ten minutes away for shopping. There is one quite negative thing about this site that needs addressing, the mens toilets. After a visit last year, a sign informing me toilets are under renovation is still up and nothing has changed. The linoleum is black rotton with mold along with parts of the ceiling and walls which are seriously in need of painting. Shower curtain was also mildewed. These tired toilets would also struggle when 10 pods are to capacity.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

Stayed over the early May bank holiday. Was given a pitch in front of the pod section and nearest the shower block. We found the owners Kate and Ed very welcoming and friendly. The site was full the weekend we were there but you didn't feel crowded. The ladies shower blocks were very clean and well stocked. No charge for showers or hair dryers which makes a nice change. I believe the gents are getting renovated but hubby said they were fine. Their prices are inclusive of everything, showers, pets and awnings so no sudden add ons.

Lots to see in the area. We visited Raby Castle, Leyburn, Tan Hill and Reeth. Some nice inns close by also.

We hope to come back again this year

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Christy609 1 review from this member

Stayed in a camping pod for one night would definitely recommend. Comes equipped with lamp and heater so kept us warm and cosy, reasonably priced with good facilities including free showers and use of electric kettle and microwave. Visited Barnard Castle and the Bowes museum which is a short car journey. Great for winter camping, will definitely be back!

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3162 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019