Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newlands Caravan Camping & Fishery Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny > Newlands Caravan Camping & Fishery Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Newlands Caravan Camping & Fishery Site
Cross Ash
Abergavenny
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crob12 1 review from this member

 This is a little gem of a campsite, we were made to feel welcome from the owner from the day of arrival until we left a few days later. The site is exceptionally clean, as are the showers/toilets etc. The grounds are kept in superb condition along with the fishing lakes, a perfect place to stay if doing the 3 Castles walk, as we did in one day. We will certainly be returning again this year, and look forward to seeing you soon, many thanks for your hospitality 
Management response: Update August 2015:

Please note Newlands is under new ownership and is no longer a campsite / fishery


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JonWG 1 review from this member

 Have just spent a couple of days at this great site and can thoroughly recommend it. We cycled around the three castles, Grosmont, Skenfrith and White castle and found the lanes very quiet, but with fantastic views. The site is well sheltered and the owner very friendly and helpful. The facilities are very good with large shower/privacy rooms(the showers free) and further separate toilets. The hard standings are good each with electric hook up and bonus of water. We really enjoyed our stay and will hopefully return. 
Management response: Update August 2015:

Please note Newlands is under new ownership and is no longer a campsite / fishery


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katie99 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site, nicely situated for the Brecon Beacons. Lovely facilities - the wet rooms are well thought through with free hot water and loads of room. Some toilets are separate and others are situated in the wet rooms. Ideal if you want to shower with a young child. Nice quiet site - perfect and just what we wanted.

Very friendly owner too.

We were lucky to have good weather.

We'll definitely be back. 
Management response: Update August 2015:

Please note Newlands is under new ownership and is no longer a campsite / fishery


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bob Pearson 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights 3rd to 6th may we got a great welcome from the owners any they were very helpful. This is a great small site with hard standing electric hook up and water on each standing toilet and shower block great and plenty of room. If you want a nice peaceful site this is the one. We have family in abergeveny which was only 7 miles away. We will be back again many thanks for a great stay 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tall Bloke 6 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay here over the bank holiday weekend. The site is peaceful with beautiful scenery. We were greeted on arrival by the owner who was very friendly & told us to pitch where we wanted as only 2 other caravans were there. There are 12 hard standing pitches with ehu & water, with a field for campers. The shower rooms are excellent especially useful for families. There are separate toilets with a sink and there is a washing up room.

There are 2 lakes which you can fish from.

We waked to Skenffrith castle from the campsite & also visited the church in the village which is really pretty.

We also visited Grosmont castle which is well worth it and treated ourselves to tea & cake at Gentle Jane Tea Room which is definitely worth a visit.

On our final day we packed up in the morning the owner said there was no need to rush off so we took advantage of the glorious weather & headed off for some lunch which we had at a lovely pub The Bridge Inn just over the border in Hereford.

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely site & were surprised it wasn't busier for a bank holiday weekend. We would certainly recommend & will definitely return again ourselves. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajj1001 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely stay here, we did the Three Castles path over a few days. We engineered circuits from the campsite as it is ideally situated near the centre of the walk.

The campsite is split between a camping field and 12 hard standing pitches. As it was only occupied by one caravan and the grass was long the owner said we could pitch anywhere. We chose a piece of grass between two hard standings which fitted the tent perfectly. This gave us two nice dry areas for our parking and patio! The area used for the hard standings is also much more sheltered than the field so more suitable for early/late season camping. Some other campers arrived at the weekend but the site was still very empty.

The shower/toilet/sinks are in three rooms, I guess these would be very busy if the site was full but not a problem whilst we were there. The water was hot, showers free and of a good strength. There was no provision for hairdrying and as we camp without electric then hair washing needed to be planned to allow for drying time. There is a large freezer for freezing blocks and any frozen food could be stored there if you wanted.

Sunday lunch at the Angel in Grosmont is highly recommended. Our favourite food place in Abergavenny was the Hen & Chickens, excellent service, beer & food. The Tesco Metro there is of a good size and had everything to stock up.

Highly recommended site, we like basic quiet and picturesque places. Only marked down from a 10 as there was slight road noise during the early hours but only in the background and that the showers might be busy/dirty if the site was fully occupied. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dr Chris 1 review from this member

 A brilliant campsite. As soon as we arrived we were made very welcome and given the choice of site where to pitch the tent. The location has beautiful views and some nice walks. The facilities were all that you need and were clean. We actually ran out of gas on the saturday night and the owner was very accomodating and sorted us out saving our sausages and mash! Totally recommend this site for a chilled camping experience 
Management response: Update August 2015:

Please note Newlands is under new ownership and is no longer a campsite / fishery


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montymo 1 review from this member

 We (myself, husband and 2 friends) have just spent 2 weeks at Newlands in our Caravan and despite the awful weather we had a really peaceful holiday.

This site has hard standings with hook ups and water pipes for tourers and grass pitches for tents. There are 3 large shower rooms containing wash basins, toilets, showers and chairs with plentiful hot water any time of the day.

Fishing is available on the nursery lake and the larger lake at a really reasonable rate. Brian the owner was always on hand if needed but was not intrusive. There is no on site shop or any of the frills a lot of people look for when choosing a site, the nearest shops are a good drive away - but this site is so quiet and relaxing you really don't mind the drive.

There are a few local pubs that do food but if you are looking for good food at good prices then you should try 'The Greyhound Vaults' in Abergavenny it was excellent, for good cheap meals (roasts)try Lazy Days Cafe.

Newlands although basic is a little 'gem'of a site the only facilities available are the toilets and showers but that was all we needed and we will certainly be going back to visit again sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick_lee_5 1 review from this member

 Wet long weekend & tent doesn't sound good, but I could not hold that against the campsite, and indeed the site and the owner (Brian) were fantastic.

My wife and I with 2 small dogs went to get away from it all, me to fish and the wife to do her arty stuff, and we got all of that done along with much relaxation & good company (fellow visitors).

The site is a million miles from anywhere (well, on a backroad somewhere far enough from any towns and traffic).

Most of the hookup pitches are hardstanding, with small grass areas around them. We had a 10-man tent and fortunately a very long cable on our hookup, because there is only ONE grass pitch large enough for anything 6-man or more and it is not close to the power supply - be warned!

The ground is clay and does not drain well, and on the night we arrived we saw a LOT of rain (Glastonbury'esk), but Brian was a star in the morning - he brought us a huge bale of hay and we covered the ground, which was perfect.

The Wetroom facilities were perfect - spacious and functional. And none of this pressing the shower button every 10-secs - 4-5 mins at least, always hot, and FREE! Luxury!

The fishing is unusual, I have to admit. Some Tench, many Carp (including 'Hoover', a 13lbs specimen that I caught!), but many Koi Carp too - yes, multi-coloured fun! Honestly, I laughed at first, but they are far more abundant than anything else in the lake!

We will definitely go back - but we'd have to reserve that one pitch for our use - if that had not been available we'd have ended up back at home.

It's all very exclusive (12 pitches), very clean, very quiet and very much a perfect site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dackster 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site on many occasions, it is wonderful.

The site itself is small, quiet and friendly. Set in a stunning location, you can sit and watch the world go by quite happily. All pitches with electric are a good size, only downside is they were originally done for tourers and are gravel based with grass around them. Not a problem with an average size tent, ours is a icarus 500, but very large tents would be limited. However there is a meadow for non electric that is perfect.

There are two well stocked fishing lakes but we haven't fished.

Facilities are great, proper brick toilet cubicles and family sized shower rooms. Under cover dish washing area also provided.

We take our two dogs, and although we keep them on long leads they can run free on the meadow - which they love.

I would highly recommend a visit and I look forward to our next trip 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3540 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement