Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Drayton Leisure Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Drayton Leisure Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Drayton Leisure Camping
Warwick Road
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We are sad to report that Drayton Leisure Golf Club and Camping Site has now closed for good. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glosbill 30 reviews from this member

 Lovely people run the site and centre. Enjoyed the beer. It has Benn a good site for us, level and so near to Banbury. It is a shame it is closing due to uncertainty over housing planning permission which no doubt will go through eventually and the facility will be missed. Showers are good when the hot water comes through. If you visit in the next month or so don't stand under the first minute. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Drayton Leisure Camp Site is located on the outskirts of Banbury, and consists of two fields (one with ehu, the other without) adjacent to a golf range and course. There is also a lake for strolling around or fishing in.

The first thing of note is that unfortunately the camping fields are situated right next to the main road - not a desperately busy one, but one where traffic noise can be quite noticeable nonetheless, especially when motorbikes accelerate away from the nearby junction (or if your plot is right next to it!). It is also a family site (so there will be noise from children playing), as well as being located next to a farm (so tractors will come and go).

The pitches themselves are grass and are marked out with white lines, though they are not particularly generous in size. It may be that we visited on a hot, sunny weekend during school holidays, when the site was fairly busy, but it did seem quite cramped.

There are toilets and showers in a portakabin next to the reception. And because they are in a portakabin, and are free to use, don't expect the Ritz! Some reviewers have commented on the fluctuating temperature of the water in the showers, but this might be because they work on a push button. So long as you keep pressing the button periodically they work fine; let the water flow stop however, and then you might experience a sudden burst of hot or cold water.

That said, Drayton Leisure suffers from some silly little niggles that could be put right quite easily. Just a few examples include the tap in the field that has been fitted with the nozzle facing sideways so that you can't just park your aquaroll beneath it to fill it (and neither does the nozzle allow you to attach the aquaroll hose to it either).

Or the toilet cubicle in both the ladies and gents that is used instead to store the cleaner's equipment and consumables. Why take two loos out of commission to store mops and bog rolls when a simple lock-up storage box bought from a DIY store would do the job just fine?

In addition, the bins are just a bit too close to the plots for there not to be problem with flies should they be allowed to overflow. And whilst the hardstanding roadways are useful, some of the cobbles they are formed from are large enough to trip over and sprain an ankle - especially when used on footpaths outside the showers where concrete might be more appropriate. Finally, the driveway onto the site would benefit from a speed hump or two to deter cars from racing up and down it - especially visitors to the golf range.

On the positive side, the site is handily located for local shops and Banbury town centre. It is also near to the M40, so can be used as an overnight stop on the way to somewhere else.

So perhaps if you have come as a family or large party, indulge in golf or fishing, are looking for a cheap stay (16 per night for up to four people with ehu), and don't mind a bit of background noise, you will enjoy staying here. Otherwise, if you value peace, quiet and quality facilities then Drayton Leisure is probably not for you. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jfcamping 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for my son's and my birthday and we're quite happy with the site.

Bad points mens toilets need updating and fixed as per other reviews but apart from that no other complaints. Had plenty of room to pitch if not using ehu but pitches with ehu looked reasonable and share these with caravans. Lots to do for kids if happy to pay such as driving range, golf lessons, football golf and other activities. Owner's nice and friendly has nice little bar on site also with pool table.

Site is only a 5 min drive from Banbury town centre.

Overall nice site and will revisit but for short weekends only. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tournifreak 3 reviews from this member

 If you're a golf fan, this is probably an ideal site - otherwise, you can do better elsewhere.

On the plus side, the pitches are pretty good - a few trees, soft soil and a reasonable size, and nearby toilets. The staff are friendly. It's nice to have a bar on site, although it was quite expensive and not exactly homely. It's also in a great location - this part of England is really stunning and there's plenty to do in the surrounding area.

On the negative side, the toilets (especially the mens) were pretty poor. While we we staying, 2 of the 4 toilets were out of use, one did not have a door lock, and the other didn't flush properly. The floor was always dirty and we never saw anyone cleaning in there. The showers were hot-ish, powerful (and free!) but leaked all over the floor if the shower curtain was misplaced by even an inch. They also went cold regularly. The finish was all a bit bad-DIY to be honest.

There's also quite a lot of traffic noise from the nearby road. We were very glad our pitch wasn't right up against it.

To our minds, it felt like a golf centre with a campsite bolted on at minimal cost. If the toilets and showers were sorted out, it could be a nice site, but as it is, we wouldn't stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 51 reviews from this member

 Just spent an enjoyable 2 nights on this site. Down side was although they provide free internet it's only available in or just outside the club house and does not reach the pitches. We picked this site due to the write up saying it provided free internet, would have been happy to pay for it if we could have got it in our caravan. Also although the loos/showers were clean I wouldn't have wanted to have used the showers at this time of the year as the block wasn't heated. Some lovely countryside around and Banbury a few minutes drive away. Think this site would be better in the Summer and need to get internet sorted or say on write up only available in/just outside clubhouse. The road was busy but did get quiet later at night. 
Management response: Thank you Hospitalworker for your review, you made a good point - we have now added that WiFi is available in the ClubHouse and you are right, if you sit on the outside decking you can still get connected which makes it available 24hrs). The heating is on our list as these are very new showers, which is why we didnt open Winter 2013 - turns out it was very mild and we probably could have! Hey-ho. We are pleased you enjoyed Banbury's countryside, it really is beautiful. Thanks again, we hope to see you back soon.


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MARKandDANNY 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here recently and had a very pleasant stay. This site is perfect! The staff go above and beyond to help you with any queries, were more than happy to put our ice blocks in the freezer, always greeted us with smiles, all this for such a bargain price!

We stayed for 3 nights and really didn't want our camping trip to end. All washing facilities on site are very clean. Overall such a good campsite.

We will definitely be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildes 1 review from this member

 We visited this site as a last minute getaway for 1 night and picked this site because of its location, price, facilities and the fact they didn't try and charge you for a minimum of 2 nights.

At 10 a night for a large tent we were over the moon with the campsite. The staff were very friendly and relaxed from check in and throughout the weekend. We picked our own spot on a large open, flat field. There were other families there and in the elec hook up field but you never felt crowded. The toilet and shower facilities were modest but very clean and with no token system in place (which I find annoying), they were also open 24 hrs which again is a benefit. There was only 2 showers in the men's and 3 in the ladies so if the site does become busier could prove a problem but it wasn't for us this weekend.

The site has numerous other facilities including a games room, golf course, driving range and a fishing lake. There is also a small cafe. We used the driving range and the cafe and walked around the lake. What is good is you can hire golf and fishing equipment. There is also a camping shop there should you forget anything.

We didn't eat there apart from a few ice creams so can't comment on food. Locally there are some lovely pubs that serve good pub grub and Banbury town centre is a 5 min drive away. Overall a great well run campsite and even better price! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickhill65 1 review from this member

 Really excellent site. Nice, clean showers and toilets. Generous pitches with EHU, flat fields. There is golf and fishing available plus a relaxing bar / terrace. Staff and owners could not be more friendly. They really made for an extremely pleasant weekend.

Nearby there are plenty of attractions but to be honest, the walks from and around the site are tranquil with beautiful scenery.

Would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mattica 1 review from this member

 Was a lovely clean and friendly place to stay. Excellent golf and fishing facilities. Only fault was the food. They didn't have anything we asked for and when we received the panini's they were still cold and frozen as were not made fresh. The cheese sandwich was made with the end crust of a loaf. We did have to ask for refund. Would go back there though as did enjoy our one night stay. Kids enjoyed. Thanks 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2030 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement