Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site
Heathcote
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK170AY
Tel: 01298 687062
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shellywag 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4nights at this rural location. Despite storm Doris we had a great time. The site is perfect for cycling and walking and the village of Hartington is a short walk away (probably a mile). Owners are helpful when needed but not intrusive. Our only concern during the storm was the large tree hovering above our pitch (a good pruning might be a good idea ). Although there are no facilities for children we would certainly take our grandchildren so that they might experience the wonderful countryside. We will certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobskate 3 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site. All hard standings. More or less level. Water, waste disposal etc all very well organised. Stunning sunsets. Near to the Tissington Trail, great for walking or cycling. Hartington is a mile away but steeply downhill so that is a bit of a negative if you are in a motorhome. Richard who owns the site is very helpful. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Carol norris 1 review from this member

This is an absolute gem of a site, beautifully kept by Richard and Janet, there are 5 generous pitches, two of which are hardstanding, (perfect for motor homes that get stuck on wet grass!)the grass was cut short giving a very neat and tidy appearance with not a trace of any litter. There are recycling facilities in the barn close by, plus a book share and various leaflets of places to visit. The site is situated within easy reach of Buxton and Ashbourne, just off the A515, there are glorious walks close by, Hartington, famous for it's cheese is just 1 mile away, there are also several dog friendly pubs within easy reach. This is the place for a peaceful, relaxing weekend or longer stay, we visited the site over the Easter weekend when the weather was mixed but we still had chance to take in the fabulous scenery. Thank you to Richard and Janet and their lovely dogs for a great weekend, we will be back in May.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

It’s difficult to add too much to all the previous positive reviews for this gloriously laid back site.

An article in MMM in March 2012 had been retained due to the great review and the closeness of the Tissington & High Peak Trails plus the dales of Biggin, Wolfscote & Beresford.

We stayed 5 nights in September 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Richard & accompanying hounds were on hand to ensure that we were OK. We caught a batch of showery weather and, as the site is all grass, we were a bit concerned about tracking a 3. 5T motorhome across the pristine grass. We did leave muddy grooves when we departed! So a site to be aware of the underlying ground conditions as it was quite squidgy after a few days of heavy rain.

Hartington was just over a mile away with a newsagent, general store, two pubs & a café. The Waterloo Inn at Biggin was also a short distance away via. A footpath across fileds.

Whilst we were there, the Hartington Show was in action so we stopped for a while to see a traditional country fair with sheep & cattle competitions with the blood hounds that we had seen enroute along with some “duck bothering” [which was a version of sheep dog trialing!]. There was also a beer tent which was selling the local brew.

This is a site that we will return to when we can guarantee some fine weather [if that is possible!] as is superbly located for walking & biking.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankiedog 14 reviews from this member

We chose this CL based on the good reviews, the recent article in the caravan club magazine, and on the location.

The owner of this site was friendly, understanding and accommodating as we nearly had to cancel/change our booking at the last moment due to car problems but got there eventually - It was well worth the effort!

The hamlet of Heathcote and this CL are lovely. We stayed for a midweek break, and although the site was full it was really quiet, the only noise was from the neighbouring farm animals. The owners also rent out a barn for family parties/get togethers so it may be a little more lively then, however he seemed quite considerate to his CL guests, therefore it wouldn't put us off going back.

Motorhomes and 2WD cars towing caravans may struggle in the wet weather on the slightly sloping grass, but during the week the owner has some hard standing by the farmhouse. The pitches have plenty of room for large car/caravan/awning. The water/waste/elsan point are all easily accessed, and the re cycling facility is probably better than most.

There didn't appear to be anywhere other than the site field itself for children to play ball games.

We only had two full days at this site, and is wasn't nearly long enough, we walked from the site to the Tissington Trail, and the next day Biggin Dale to Hartington both were lovely circular walks.

We will definitely be back to explore the area more, and to enjoy the stunning views and relaxed feel of this CL.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We booked this site primarily for its proximity to the Tissington Trail, its just a few minutes cycle up the lane and a short cut on the bridge and you are on a gravelled cycle trail that runs to Ashbourne in one direction and Hurdlow in the other direction. From the trail there is a turn onto the High Peak Trail - another perfect cycle / walking trail.

The campsite itself is exactly what is says - a small CL, clean and tidy with ehu and chem disposal. The site was full when we were there but we had plenty of room to pitch. Grass was well mowed so despite some bad weather a few days previously the grass had dried out well and was perfect for pitching on and wasn't being walked into the van.

The chem disposal is at one end of the site - not sure we would have wanted the pitch next to it to be fair as it was maybe a bit too close for comfort?

Owners were friendly and helpful, told us to pitch up and pay on leaving. This really is a lovely campsite if you want no frills and a peaceful countryside site.

No hesitation in recommending and we would use again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wimps 5 reviews from this member

Fab site ! After trying several times to get booked in here (no doubt due to good website and previous reviews), we got booked in Easter week only to be scuppered by snow ! Managed to get in for 4 nights over Bank Holiday W/E and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The owner gave us a friendly welcome and advice on the area.

Got a good pitch in bottom corner near entrance, overlooking beautiful countryside. The sunsets were fantastic, one evening seeing a hot air balloon come right over us.

The site is nestled away in a small hamlet - very peaceful to get away from it all, but not great when needing a paper on Sunday afternoon ; a 20 mile round trip needed to nearest open shop !

The Tissington Trail is just a few hundred yards up the road to the right, but down a steep narrow path, take care. We biked to Tissington itself which is your quintessentially English village - highly recommend checking out the old fashioned sweet shop - wonderfully weird flavoured ice creams and great service.

Back to the site, if you want quiet, beautiful surroundings, aren't fussed about basic facilities, close to cycle trail, it's perfect.

We were able to store our bikes securely in the store/workshop next door too.

Take the road between the houses of Heathcote that leads straight into Biggin village via footpath over a few open fields. We visited the Waterloo Inn - decent meal, very nice ale.

We'll definitely return to this site given the chance.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

This is a very quiet CL site in a small hamlet it has no facilities other than water electric and waste disposal point all of which are clean, tidy and accessible.

The pitches are all grass and you will need levellers.

We didn't see the owners, we were left to get on with it which was fine by us.

There are some stunning views, (when we could see them) unfortunately we picked a really misty, rainy, drizzly weekend so we didn't get full benefit, also someone came and pitched far too close, right in front of our window to avoid being under one of the trees.

They have planted a few more trees around the edge and I do think that when they grow larger it will make the site feel a little too closed in.

There are several walks from the site which can take you to Biggin, The Waterloo pub, they do not allow dogs in or Hartington where there are shops and several pubs which serve food and do let dogs in. For further walks there is the lovely Biggin Dale, which we inteded to do but it was far too wet.

The Tissington trail can be reached off the road nearby or along a track by the site and accross a field, this takes you to the old Hartington station part of the trail.

We drove to Longnor and ate at ye olde Cheshire Cheese, we were able to take the dog in the bar and the food was really good.

I would visit again but hopefully in better weather when I would be able to enjoy the site and the area more.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wherenext 32 reviews from this member

Excellent C. L. (Caravan Club 5 van touring site). Fantastic views westwards over the hills of Derbyshire into Staffs.

Site is as previously described by others and was quiet when we visited for a 4 night stop. Everything is clearly signed on site. 2 of the 5 pitches are under trees.

Excellent base for walking and cycling the area. There is an easy 20 minute walk down into Hartington and a harder 30 minute walk back uphill!

Leave the car and walk to Alstonefield and have a good pub lunch at The George.

Tissington trail nearby plus 2 public footpaths that pass right in front of the site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireZ 1 review from this member

Just spent one lovely night at this haven of a CL Site. We just needed a getaway, and after a 45 minute drive we pitched up with ease as the site is ample for 5 units.

plenty of room for a kick about. Beautiful views over the Derbyshire countryside and we enjoyed a stunning sunset. There are no toilets or shower block but for one or two nights it is a perfect site.

Hartington is a leisurely 20 minute walk down the lanes, passing a small pond on the way. Take some bread for the ducks, they'll love you forever.

We will be returning many times in the future.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019