Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site Reviews

Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site
Heathcote
Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK170AY
Tel: 01298 687062
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 03/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FrankD 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, views over countryside.

Short walk to pub in Biggin.

Nice area to walk. Friendly owners.

There are stiles- in case you have an elderly dog as we do. It’s quiet enough in the area to walk the lanes.

Peaceful retreat, perfect if you want to get away from it all. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Harly 1 review from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Quiet stay with hard standing, views,

Can walk via road to Hartington about 20mins (dog friendly pub and grocery shops) 5mins to walk to join The Tissington Trail (hours of walking). What's not to like.

Will return in the sunnier months to get the most of the Trail, view and local area.

Left money in envelope in post box. ✔️ 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Plmssh40585eay 1 review from this member

 This was a stopover for us, on route from Scotland to Hampshire -

It's a beautiful location and a lovely well kept site, we were do impressed,

We intend to return later to spend more time and explore. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Linda33573xdr 1 review from this member

 An extremely well kept site, friendly welcome from the owners.

A little gem in the Peak District.

Hartington within walking distance over the fields.

Tissington trail runs very close to the site. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shellywag 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4nights at this rural location. Despite storm Doris we had a great time.

The site is perfect for cycling and walking and the village of Hartington is a short walk away (probably a mile).

Owners are helpful when needed but not intrusive.

Our only concern during the storm was the large tree hovering above our pitch (a good pruning might be a good idea ).

Although there are no facilities for children we would certainly take our grandchildren so that they might experience the wonderful countryside.

We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bobskate 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site.

All hard standings. More or less level. Water, waste disposal etc all very well organised. Stunning sunsets.

Near to the Tissington Trail, great for walking or cycling.

Hartington is a mile away but steeply downhill so that is a bit of a negative if you are in a motorhome.

Richard who owns the site is very helpful.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carol norris 1 review from this member

 This is an absolute gem of a site, beautifully kept by Richard and Janet, there are 5 generous pitches, two of which are hardstanding, (perfect for motor homes that get stuck on wet grass!)

The grass was cut short giving a very neat and tidy appearance with not a trace of any litter.

There are recycling facilities in the barn close by, plus a book share and various leaflets of places to visit.

The site is situated within easy reach of Buxton and Ashbourne, just off the A515, there are glorious walks close by, Hartington, famous for it's cheese is just 1 mile away, there are also several dog friendly pubs within easy reach.

This is the place for a peaceful, relaxing weekend or longer stay, we visited the site over the Easter weekend when the weather was mixed but we still had chance to take in the fabulous scenery.

Thank you to Richard and Janet and their lovely dogs for a great weekend,

We will be back in May. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

 It’s difficult to add too much to all the previous positive reviews for this gloriously laid back site.

An article in MMM in March 2012 had been retained due to the great review and the closeness of the Tissington & High Peak Trails plus the dales of Biggin, Wolfscote & Beresford.

We stayed 5 nights in September 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Richard & accompanying hounds were on hand to ensure that we were OK. We caught a batch of showery weather and, as the site is all grass, we were a bit concerned about tracking a 3. 5T motorhome across the pristine grass. We did leave muddy grooves when we departed! So a site to be aware of the underlying ground conditions as it was quite squidgy after a few days of heavy rain.

Hartington was just over a mile away with a newsagent, general store, two pubs & a café. The Waterloo Inn at Biggin was also a short distance away via. A footpath across fileds.

Whilst we were there, the Hartington Show was in action so we stopped for a while to see a traditional country fair with sheep & cattle competitions with the blood hounds that we had seen enroute along with some “duck bothering” [which was a version of sheep dog trialing!]. There was also a beer tent which was selling the local brew.

This is a site that we will return to when we can guarantee some fine weather [if that is possible!] as is superbly located for walking & biking. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankiedog 14 reviews from this member

 We chose this CL based on the good reviews, the recent article in the caravan club magazine, and on the location.

The owner of this site was friendly, understanding and accommodating as we nearly had to cancel/change our booking at the last moment due to car problems but got there eventually - It was well worth the effort!

The hamlet of Heathcote and this CL are lovely. We stayed for a midweek break, and although the site was full it was really quiet, the only noise was from the neighbouring farm animals. The owners also rent out a barn for family parties/get togethers so it may be a little more lively then, however he seemed quite considerate to his CL guests, therefore it wouldn't put us off going back.

Motorhomes and 2WD cars towing caravans may struggle in the wet weather on the slightly sloping grass, but during the week the owner has some hard standing by the farmhouse. The pitches have plenty of room for large car/caravan/awning. The water/waste/elsan point are all easily accessed, and the re cycling facility is probably better than most.

There didn't appear to be anywhere other than the site field itself for children to play ball games.

We only had two full days at this site, and is wasn't nearly long enough, we walked from the site to the Tissington Trail, and the next day Biggin Dale to Hartington both were lovely circular walks.

We will definitely be back to explore the area more, and to enjoy the stunning views and relaxed feel of this CL. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 We booked this site primarily for its proximity to the Tissington Trail, its just a few minutes cycle up the lane and a short cut on the bridge and you are on a gravelled cycle trail that runs to Ashbourne in one direction and Hurdlow in the other direction. From the trail there is a turn onto the High Peak Trail - another perfect cycle / walking trail.

The campsite itself is exactly what is says - a small CL, clean and tidy with ehu and chem disposal. The site was full when we were there but we had plenty of room to pitch. Grass was well mowed so despite some bad weather a few days previously the grass had dried out well and was perfect for pitching on and wasn't being walked into the van.

The chem disposal is at one end of the site - not sure we would have wanted the pitch next to it to be fair as it was maybe a bit too close for comfort?

Owners were friendly and helpful, told us to pitch up and pay on leaving. This really is a lovely campsite if you want no frills and a peaceful countryside site.

No hesitation in recommending and we would use again. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whitehouse Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020