Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Pig Place

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > The Pig Place > Reviews

The Pig Place
Nb Acres
Aynho Road
Adderbury
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 3NU
Tel: 0789 287 9447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 Caravans/Motorhomes & 20 Tents
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Callum 1 review from this member

 The pig place was a lovely destination for a nights stay.

From the outdoor kitchen and bar to the sofas with fire pits by the canal this campsite is truly unique!

The food is amazing and the staff are lovely I cannot recommend enough. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 This is a great site that we return to again and again.

A friendly, casual campsite with no frills. The people who run it are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable time.

We find it perfect for our needs. However, it should be noted that it's adult only so not suitable for families.

Pitching, as had been said can be difficult due to the slope etc but we always get flat enough to be comfortable.

The facilities are really only portaloos, which are always very clean, a washing up sink and a chemical loo disposal point.

The real beauty is the location by the side of the canal and the on site cafe and bar.

As said in other reviews, this may not suit everyone but we love it. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 This is a very quirky campsite, with lots to appeal, and a few downsides which should be taken into account - it may not be for everyone, and note it is adults only. I paid £20 for the night for a non EHU pitch for a campervan, one adult, one dog.

It's lovely looking location, on the banks of the canal, and features a farm shop, cafe, and bar and large indoor shelter. There are lots of sofas spread around the banks of the canal, each with firepits. The farm shop was well stocked with essentials, bread, tins etc as well as lots of meat!

The site also has rare breed pigs, lambs and chickens in pens - these are bang in the middle of the site, which was interesting to see.

The pitching area is a potential downside, the field is on a slope, and also has medieval ridge-and-furrows which go the opposite way to the slope. This made pitching level very tricky, if not impossible, you'll really need to pick your spot carefully, and plan on having decent size levellers. Tenters may struggle even more than motorhomes.

The other big downside for me personally was the chickens. They are completely free range, which means they wander all over the campsite, indeed actually coming into my campervan at one point. They were a constant source of irritation for me because I have a dog, and I could not relax at any point - despite her being tied up on a short lead - the chickens have no fear, so it was a constant battle to make sure she didn't try and eat one which happened to be sauntering around the campervan. Not relaxing at all for me, or her, and I couldn't leave the dog alone even to go to the loo, without locking her in the van, the pitch became like a prison.

There is also the issue of noise - this is not a quiet campsite. There was a constant roar from the nearby M40 motorway, and frequent goods trains thundering past on a very regular basis!

Having said all that, it's still a great site, and as I said will appeal to many. The welcome was extremely friendly and the owner took time to make sure I knew where everything was.

As mentioned there is an on site cafe which does breakfast, lunch, and evening meals - this caters for campers, narrowboats which visit the site, and also members of the public. It specialises in amazing bacon and sausages if that's your thing!

There's an on site bar which I imagine would prove very lively on a summer's evening and lots of old leather sofas dotted around, and lots of firepits (not in the camping area) A very large "cabin" for undercover socialising is a new addition for 2021 which wasn't open when I visited due to Covid 19, but should be open when restrictions allow.

Toilet facilities were based in portaloos, which were clean. There are no showers. There's a chemical waste point, recycling and waste water point.

Whilst the site is on the canal bank, the tow path is on the other side of the canal, to access it you have to leave the site entrance and cross the road, but it's only a couple of minutes walk. Once on the canal you can walk in either direction - there's a great pub one way called the Great Western - that's about one and half mile walk. The other way leads you eventually into Banbury, about eight miles. It's not a madeup towpath, it's muddy, narrow and uneven so not ideal for cycling, but great for walking.

Overall, even bearing my comments about noise and difficult pitching, a really nice site, which I would visit again, but probably only if camping with others so I could take advantage of the communal areas, the bar, the seating and firepits around the canal - and also to have someone else to help to keep an eye on the blooming chickens hassling my dog! 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 Spent wife's birthday weekend here Friday to Sunday, cycled into Banbury on the Saturday, and back down the canal path which was tricky.

The site is basic as it says on all the info. The site also slopes, again its on all their info. We were welcomed and booked in with ease, the shop is well stocked and has all the basics and more.

The bar and food were not open when we were there but the shop sold beer wine and cider so no worries there. It was lovely to see the piggies and watch their antics.

All in all a great site if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of life, but don't expect any frills its why we went there.

We got stuck when we were leaving no worries the owner came over with his little tractor and bulled out a 4 ton motor home with ease. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JocelynDW 1 review from this member

 Great shop, cafe and small bar. Sofas by the water each with BBQ, fab.

No showers. Boo.

Chemical toilets. Although not ideal they were kept clean and well supplied with paper and hand sanitizer. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amorelle 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely, quirky campsite! Working pig farm. You sleep literally right next to the pigs (or chickens, ducks, or geese depending on where you're allocated!).

Great farm shop on-site where you can buy fresh produce. They sell AMAZING bacon and sausage sandwiches/rolls from the pigs they rear.

There's also a quirky open-air bar and sofas with fire-pits where you can chill out with a beer overlooking the lovely canal at the end of the field.

The sunsets are amazing too, the vibe is chilled-out,

The facilities are basic, and I think I'm right in remembering that they don't allow children or large groups - great for us!

Electric hookups are available and there's lots to see and do in the area.

We'd definitely recommend and go back - despite the woman who's one of the owners being a bit unfriendly! Seriously, don't let her put you off. It's well worth a stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tansell 2 reviews from this member

 Great little place right by the canal

Very friendly owners and very dog friendly

They have lovely sofas and fire pits by the canal which is lovely

There are 3 portaloos but it was fine there are no showers but not a problem for a couple of nights, itís camping after all

Farm shop is lovely and the pork chops go down well on a bbq

The cafe trailer does a lovely breakfast at reasonable price and trotters bar is great and good price

Overall a lovely place for a couple of nights 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WilkoUK 6 reviews from this member

 This site has everything going for it. Lovely owners, great surroundings, an on site bar, well stocked on site shop, a hot-tub (if you like that sort of thing), a canal to sit by.

, we couldn't stay. The site is not suitable for large motorhomes or caravans. The 'gently sloping, ridge and furrow' landscape (which isn't gentle) makes it easy to 'ground' and impossible to level.

The water supply is gravity fed from a bore hole and has no pressure to fill onboard tanks and even filling an aqua-roll is 'painfully' slow.

This IS really a great site, but only for tents and small motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ShazSpen70 5 reviews from this member

 I loved this site but I had all the facilities I needed in my campervan, there are only festival style toilets on this site. There is a fantastic shop with everything you need, a food van selling a delicious selection of food and a bar, all overlooking the canal and local countryside.

There are sofas dotted about and fire pits where you can purchase some wood and sit in front of a fire in the early evening, I imagine it will be lovelier in the summer when the nights are warmer. And to make this site even better were the pigs! #

They have some rare Oxford sandy blacks, so cute. Considering we were parked next to the animals there wasn't a bad smell and they weren't noisy either. You can walk into Banbury along the canal, takes a couple of hours or walk the other way for half hour to a pub.

Great place for adults and dogs! The staff were very nice always willing to chat especially about the pigs. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trudilc 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic place. Welcoming hosts and relaxing and tranquil(due to being child-free) location by the canal. The food was delicious and the farm shop had a good range of gorgeous high-quality stuff.

I would highly recommend hiring the hot tub.

We loved every moment there. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Pig Place child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Pig Place?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Pig Place dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement