Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Pig Place

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > The Pig Place Reviews

The Pig Place
Nb Acres
Aynho Road
Adderbury
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 3NU
Tel: 0789 287 9447
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 Caravans/Motorhomes & 20 Tents
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 33 reviews from this member

 Spent wife's birthday weekend here Friday to Sunday, cycled into Banbury on the Saturday, and back down the canal path which was tricky.

The site is basic as it says on all the info. The site also slopes, again its on all their info. We were welcomed and booked in with ease, the shop is well stocked and has all the basics and more.

The bar and food were not open when we were there but the shop sold beer wine and cider so no worries there. It was lovely to see the piggies and watch their antics.

All in all a great site if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of life, but don't expect any frills its why we went there.

We got stuck when we were leaving no worries the owner came over with his little tractor and bulled out a 4 ton motor home with ease. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JocelynDW 1 review from this member

 Great shop, cafe and small bar. Sofas by the water each with BBQ, fab.

No showers. Boo.

Chemical toilets. Although not ideal they were kept clean and well supplied with paper and hand sanitizer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tansell 2 reviews from this member

 Great little place right by the canal

Very friendly owners and very dog friendly

They have lovely sofas and fire pits by the canal which is lovely

There are 3 portaloos but it was fine there are no showers but not a problem for a couple of nights, itís camping after all

Farm shop is lovely and the pork chops go down well on a bbq

The cafe trailer does a lovely breakfast at reasonable price and trotters bar is great and good price

Overall a lovely place for a couple of nights 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WilkoUK 6 reviews from this member

 This site has everything going for it. Lovely owners, great surroundings, an on site bar, well stocked on site shop, a hot-tub (if you like that sort of thing), a canal to sit by.

, we couldn't stay. The site is not suitable for large motorhomes or caravans. The 'gently sloping, ridge and furrow' landscape (which isn't gentle) makes it easy to 'ground' and impossible to level.

The water supply is gravity fed from a bore hole and has no pressure to fill onboard tanks and even filling an aqua-roll is 'painfully' slow.

This IS really a great site, but only for tents and small motorhomes. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ShazSpen70 5 reviews from this member

 I loved this site but I had all the facilities I needed in my campervan, there are only festival style toilets on this site. There is a fantastic shop with everything you need, a food van selling a delicious selection of food and a bar, all overlooking the canal and local countryside.

There are sofas dotted about and fire pits where you can purchase some wood and sit in front of a fire in the early evening, I imagine it will be lovelier in the summer when the nights are warmer. And to make this site even better were the pigs! #

They have some rare Oxford sandy blacks, so cute. Considering we were parked next to the animals there wasn't a bad smell and they weren't noisy either. You can walk into Banbury along the canal, takes a couple of hours or walk the other way for half hour to a pub.

Great place for adults and dogs! The staff were very nice always willing to chat especially about the pigs. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trudilc 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic place. Welcoming hosts and relaxing and tranquil(due to being child-free) location by the canal. The food was delicious and the farm shop had a good range of gorgeous high-quality stuff.

I would highly recommend hiring the hot tub.

We loved every moment there. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jax41 2 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews I booked 3 nights stay at the Pig Place and was really looking forward to a relaxing stay, walks along the canal etc. As soon as I arrived the constant noise from the M40 was an issue. The owner said it was only due to wind direction. Trains then thundered past and I realised this was not a great choice of campsite. After a sleepless night due to the constant traffic noise I spoke to the owner and explained that I had to leave and asked if it was possible to be refunded any of the costs? (£60 paid for 3 nights) She said not as she had turned down bookings as we were here. I looked online and saw pitches were still available so felt very disappointed. Even if the extra car charge of £5 per night had been refunded I would have been happy. Please do NOT pay this extra charge as you can leave your vehicle in the huge layby just outside the gate. This is clearly a money making venture and I was bitterly disappointed. I can recommend this site if you are a townie who doesn't mind your personal space being invaded and would like to see pigs, chickens and ducks you will love it but if you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful, get away from it all break, don't bother! I found a wonderful site on a working farm not too far away, half the price (with no charge for an extra vehicle)and quiet with acres of space and had a wonderful stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dkstreet 1 review from this member

 What a great find, very much back to basic living perfect, very friendly.

Loved the pig feeding in the mornings plus great cafe (fab coffee)

A must have if you love pigs, chickens, duck.

There is no showers & only 1 toilet but not an issue for a couple of nights.

Thank you loved our weekend

I have given site facilities 10 out of 10 as you got what it says 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FiFo 1 review from this member

 What a FANTASTIC site. Stayed here with daughter (young adult) for 2 nights. We loved it!

A beautiful setting, very relaxed, enjoyed breakfast from the food van each morning.

Our most favourite bit was sitting on the sofa overlooking the canal, particularly in the evenings with a pit fire.

Can't recommend The Pig Place enough! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul stanyer 12 reviews from this member

 We arrived early afternoon on the Sunday at the end of half term holiday. We were welcomed by the owner and shown around the basic facilities ( we knew what to expect as the website explains it. So no problem there)

The site is gently sloping but with enough places to find a flat spot.

This is a working smallholding, so there are pigs, sheep, fascinating ducks, hens and dogs. We also spotted kestrels, buzzards, bats, and birds too numerous to mention.

The site is situated on the canal, with the motorway and railway nearby, there was some noise but not enough to bother us and we had a great nights sleep.

Plentyof walking along the canal (the pub is about 1/2 hour stroll along the canal bank, and excellent it was too)

All in all a basic site but with the animals and the welcoming and helpful owners a great place to stay for a couple of days.

Highly recommend this place, if we are ever in the area again we will be back. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Pig Place child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Pig Place?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Pig Place dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December