Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dwyros Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Dwyros Campsite
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BS
Tel: 01758 760295
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 20 Reviews
                10/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swicky 8 reviews from this member

A site with great sea views and very close to Abedaron and the cliff path heading west - I recommend walking all the way to Whistling Sands (allow 5 hours), enjoying the beach and cafe there, then taking the bus back. But why is the site so expensive? It wasn't high season, I was on my own in my van with no awning etc but the owner tried to charge me 20 quid plus 5 quid for electric per night. I protested and got it down to 20 quid all in, but it was still miles more than I paid earlier on this trip in Snowdonia and Angelsey. Simply too expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NJ150 1 review from this member

Dwyros is a wonderful campsite with gorgeous views over the bay of Aberdaron. We arrived on a rather windy week with wind speeds up to 30 mph but the tent stood up to the worst of the weather.

The ground is delightfully easy to set up camp on with few subsurface stones and it holds onto the guy ropes easily even in the high winds.

The toilet block is clean and airy, the showers were a little frustrating in that you had to keep pressing the button every 10 seconds which isn't easy to cope with when washing hair etc but that is a minor detail as the campsite was delightful.

There was an enormous chest freezer in which to put blocks etc all free of charge and the washing up facilities were spacious and clean.

The proprietor is very laid back and a lovely man, the rates are excellent considering the facilities and I would thoroughly recommend a relaxing stay here in Aberdaron.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

Great site. Stopped for 2 nights on a tour of the area. The views are fantastic and with just a short walk to the village I would highly recommend it. As long as you are able bodied that is, as its a very steep walk. Site owner very laid back, didn't even take our names or reg number, just said park were you like in first field. The shower and toilets were adequate, just could have done with maybe a shelf or seat in showers, as all you get is a few hooks. But that's not a big deal, just looking to balance it with a bit of negative when really there isnt any. We intend to return when better weather comes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pamelajoy 1 review from this member

Had a lovely time camp site was excellent, views were fantastic over looking the sea, toilets and showers were always clean, washing up area was under shelter with a washer and dryer, bit winding on 1 night but would recommend this site, the area is beautiful,

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HappyCamper18 1 review from this member

A very well kept campsite with beautiful ocean views! It is within walking distance to Aberdaron, although the walk back to the campsite is very steep! There's a large toilet block with a number of showers, plenty of hot water and is very clean. We will definitely return one day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pez75 1 review from this member

Lovely campsite in a great location. Quite a trek to get there, but worth it for the remote beauty of the place.

No overly fussy rules - just a friendly, helpful owner & spotless facilities.

Short walk to the town, and an even shorter one to the coastal path & beach. Only downside is no focal point / playground for kids, but not a problem as only there for a couple of days. Will return.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave 418 32 reviews from this member

We hadn't been to Aberdaron for 34 years so without booking we added a couple of nights here to our holiday in North Wales. Dwyros Campsite was just what we wanted. The owner made us very welcome, showed us were the facilities were and said we could pitch were we liked because it was quiet.

We found a spot on the first field with views over the village and out to sea. The hook up points were over the hedge in the next field, no problem really. Lots of water taps around the site. Toilets clean and tidy. I suppose the grey water drain was a bit difficult, really for caravans but we managed.

We walked into the village from the site. It has changed a bit but not been spoilt. Lots of places to eat a small supermarket and a bakery.

The coast path can be accessed from the site entrance and the National Trust centre in the village has lots of information about the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Surferjon 10 reviews from this member

This is how a campsite should be. Warm welcome, no long list of printed rules, adequate shower and toilet facilities and fantastic views over Aberdaron bay. Add to this a 10 minute walk to a great beach, 2 pubs, and a variety of interesting eating establishments, and coastal walks, and you have a winning formula. This is 'real' North Wales all wrapped up into a small friendly coastal village. This is NOT Abersoch ( lancashire On Sea)The National Trust shop is also a wealth of information. And is how we found this site at short notice!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malouey 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at this campsite for two nights. Booked a tent pitch with no electric (not available) however when we arrived the owner went out of his way to find us a hookup. Very friendly owners and generally relaxed site - there aren't lot of rules. Reasonably priced at 20 a night at half term including hook up. Toilets are generally pretty clean though there is the usual grass and that in there. Showers hot. Added bonus there is a hairdryer. We didn't queue for showers once and it was a busy weekend. Very convenient for Aberdaron - about a 10 minute walk. Lovely walk down to beach from opposite the campsite. Aberdaren is just gorgeous and feels very much like a little cornish fishing village. Not an awful lot to do or buy which is great as you can just enjoy the beach, have a beer on the balcony and relax! This is a reasonably rustic and relaxed site - not glamoress but relaxed and chilled. Would definitely return. No kids play area but plenty of space for the kids to play.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janenix 1 review from this member

We stayed here for the second time, and would definitely recommend, please see below:-

Well kept grassed site, Alun cut the grass before we pitched up, pitch was large and well maintained.

Toilets - clean, a few more showers maybe needed in peak times, but we experienced no problems, plenty of hot water but shower times are quite short.

Views - Absolutely fantastic, especially for the campers.

Village - just a short walk along a quietish lane, or you can walk along the coastal path to the beach, but be warned its about 100 steps down & then 100 back up, but if the tide is out you can walk along the beach. Lovely village, 2 pubs which both serve lovely food and are dog friendly, free WIFI, but no O2 signal, great fresh bread from the Bakery, Spar shop that sells a good range of items, and a little shop for papers, wine, postcards, maps etc, ice cream parlour, chippy, couple of cafes, and a fantastic (mostly)dog friendly beach.

All in all a great smallish campsite, no major rules, clean and friendly.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3461 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019