Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > East Yorkshire > Driffield > Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site > Reviews

Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site
Rudston
Driffield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 4JE
Tel: 01262 420393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 78
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rog149 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous 11 night stay at Thorpe Hall. The weather made the stay wonderful for us and of course you cant book sunshine so I'll try to stick to the facts and useful tips for you.

Our arrival was under whelming, spotted our name on the whiteboard and headed to our pitch. No info given out and no staff seen all stay. It would be nice to be handed a little information pack ie. Site rules, local info etc.

We were unsure how they felt about groundsheets but couldn't find any info anywhere so went ahead and laid our breathable groundsheet. However, after 11 nights it had still unsurprisingly almost killed the grass so apologies for that to the owners!

There is little to no recycling on site which went against the grain as we like to recycle everything.

We booked a pitch in The Paddock area after reading previous reviews and chose 68 which is on the back hedge. The first morning we wondered if we'd chosen the right pitch as it was in shade until almost 9am but the trade off was full on sun for the rest of the day.

The toilets and showers are quite a walk from the paddock area, they are clean and basic. Bonus having continuous hot water in the showers.

We attempted so many times to get some kind of TV signal, but even using our coax to their box wasn't successful so we barely saw anything at all on television. If you carry a satellite dish you definitely need it here.

We've never visited this area before and were so amazed at the gorgeous beaches and cleanliness of the roads and towns.

Top tip, if you're visiting Bridlington, use the park and ride car park where you can pick up the land train to visit the different beaches and if you go to Scarborough, again, use the park and ride which is well signposted and costs 1. 30 per person.

Filey is a lovely long stretch of sandy beach but parking isn't easy. There is a car park up above the beach but it's a long walk down and longer back up!

There is a pub close by the campsite in Rudston that do meals and the garden centre on the way in to Brid have a restaurant and a cafe.

If you want something other than beaches to do, Burton Agnes house is just a ten minute drive away. Interesting house and lovely gardens. Entrance 13 each, no concessions.

All in all we loved our stay in this area and would definitely return, probably not to this campsite though as lack of customer care, recycling and TV signal is a bit of a turn off. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ma+Pa Clampett. 15 reviews from this member

 What a little gem of a place. This is the 2nd time we have visited.

Not far out of Bridlington or Driffield.

Well kept grounds, nice clean showers and toilets.

My husband Paul went fishing he said the trees that were overhanging had been cut back and it was a lot better.

Kim and Neil were very helpful and knowledgeable it is their 1st season and we would like to wish them good luck for the future.

The place is so peaceful, I didn't want to leave. Will be going back again hopefully in July. 


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jowill 3 reviews from this member

 Liked people clean toilets and peace and quiet.

Did not like the direction to rudston and got lostmy sat nav took us to bridlington so used Google map on mobile phone. To get back to this site.

I give site plus people 5 Gold stars recommend it for a bit of tranquility time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisg 2 reviews from this member

 We have had wonderful holidays staying at Thorpe Hall in the past and this time was no exception.

The site is beautifully located, well maintained and the wardens go the extra mile plus some.

We love the owls hooting at night and the peace and quiet.

Hope to stay again in 2022.  


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ma+Pa Clampett. 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed here from the 4th-18th July 2021. This site is ideal if you want a quiet away from it all stay as it is in a rural area, and is surrounded by the walls which appears to have been a walled garden at sometime.

There is a small children's play area, a very large field for ball games and dog walking, and a private fishing lake, costing 5 per day, on which some pegs are very overgrown and unusable. The pitches and sports field/dog walking field are well maintained.

Wi-fi was patchy for most people, but we could not receive it even though the Jane tried her best to help us, a weeks pass code is given free for wi-fi, subsequent weeks you pay for. We could not even use mobile data for internet access.

Television signals require an outside coaxial cable to be plugged into sockets attached to the outer wall, and to posts in the central areas of the site.

We cannot review the toilet, shower or laundry facilities as they are to remain closed for the duration of the 2021 season.

Geoff and Jane are very friendly, and go out of their way to be helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevgra 1 review from this member

 Excellent site

The couple who run it, jeff and jane I think, were very helpful and informative and I will return later in the year

Very clean and friendly 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindylou64 1 review from this member

 Loved the site. Would love to have stayed longer,

Although the toilets etc were closed they looked clean,

Very handy having a shop, arrived late so would have liked to know where to get TV aeriel from. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mand1972 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from this fantastic site. I found the manager and all staff really approachable and super friendly. We asked for a quite area to pitch up as we were bringing two dogs. One an oldie and the other an epileptic collie. As we didn't require electric hook up we were given a pitch in the camping field and we loved it. The site is spotless and very well maintained. Toilet and shower blocks were very clean and warm. They really did do everything to help make sure our stay was pleasurable. We'll definitely be coming back again. It was only a very short visit but we enjoyed every minute 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndyT33 9 reviews from this member

 Been to this site many times but this was the first in a caravan, in fact it was the first time in a caravan. The site as always was immaculate the showers and toilets kept very clean and the site kept in outstanding condition by Jayne and Geoff. Already booked to go back in August but will hopefully be squeezing another visit in before then. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nshaw75 3 reviews from this member

 This is a site we go back to time and again. If you want a quiet peaceful stay, a short car journey from Bridlington this is ideal. There is a small shop on site and clean toilet/washing facilities. No noisy entertainment on an evening and being a small site, not a great deal of rowdy visitors.

On the downside with the location being fairly remote, we couldn't get a phone signal and relied on the fairly poor quality WiFi to contact home. My teenage daughter would have been at the end of her tether if she had come with us. To me however, that is the whole reason we go to places like that as a retreat from the rat race :-) 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Driffield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement