Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Driffield > Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site
Rudston
Driffield
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO25 4JE
Tel: 01262 420393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 06/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindylou64 1 review from this member

 Loved the site. Would love to have stayed longer,

Although the toilets etc were closed they looked clean,

Very handy having a shop, arrived late so would have liked to know where to get TV aeriel from. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mand1972 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from this fantastic site. I found the manager and all staff really approachable and super friendly. We asked for a quite area to pitch up as we were bringing two dogs. One an oldie and the other an epileptic collie. As we didn't require electric hook up we were given a pitch in the camping field and we loved it. The site is spotless and very well maintained. Toilet and shower blocks were very clean and warm. They really did do everything to help make sure our stay was pleasurable. We'll definitely be coming back again. It was only a very short visit but we enjoyed every minute 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndyT33 9 reviews from this member

 Been to this site many times but this was the first in a caravan, in fact it was the first time in a caravan. The site as always was immaculate the showers and toilets kept very clean and the site kept in outstanding condition by Jayne and Geoff. Already booked to go back in August but will hopefully be squeezing another visit in before then. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nshaw75 3 reviews from this member

 This is a site we go back to time and again. If you want a quiet peaceful stay, a short car journey from Bridlington this is ideal. There is a small shop on site and clean toilet/washing facilities. No noisy entertainment on an evening and being a small site, not a great deal of rowdy visitors.

On the downside with the location being fairly remote, we couldn't get a phone signal and relied on the fairly poor quality WiFi to contact home. My teenage daughter would have been at the end of her tether if she had come with us. To me however, that is the whole reason we go to places like that as a retreat from the rat race :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aliceinglis 6 reviews from this member

 Site has a lovely tree lined entrance, the touring pitches are in a walled garden. The facilities were very clean and not far to walk. There was also TV hook up and coax cable in the reception. I think the price is very good for the well maintained facilities that the site has. Will definitely stay again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speckleberry 1 review from this member

 We came here every summer for almost 10 years as kids & this week I came back with my own family (well, partner and dog!) This is truly one of the best camp sites!

All amenities are superb:

* Great bathroom/showers (always clean, warm and lots of stalls!)

* Shop - has the essentials (and toys for kids) at good prices

* TV & games room which, as a kid, I adored

* Kids play are - again, I adored that as a kid!

* Laundry room - good size with everything you need from washer to ironing!

* Pitches - the size of the pitches are fantastic! Even if the site was completely full you wouldn't feel cramped. Pitches are mostly flat and are grass.

* Site manager - When we called to book Jayne was incredibly friendly and helpful! The staff here really do anything they can to ensure you're happy.

* wi-fi - you buy a voucher for time needed in the shop and use a code to log in! Very good signal and good price!

Overall, Thorpe Hall campsite is clean, quiet and beautiful; only 15 minutes from the beach (that's from pitch to fish and chip shop on the harbour!) and is a consistently brilliant place to visit!

We love it! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NixiA 1 review from this member

 Site was lovely, toilets clean and tidy, loads of room for the kids to play and lovely staff. Only issue was the price. I think 61 for 2 nights was a bit over the top. Also wifi was OTT as well. We would love to go again but not at those prices. Maybe the price was the reason there were quite a few spare pitches. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mansilla 1 review from this member

 First trip in our Caravan after years as tent campers, returning to Thorpe Park which I last visited with my parents 20+ years ago.

Not much has changed! That's good and bad. Its still a very well located site in a walled garden, very handy for Bridlington, Flambrough and Bempton.

There is a new playground for the kids, and a huge games field. Toilets and Showers excellent. Unfortunately the TV / Games room is really showing its age. Things like electric and TV hookups are still perfectly functional but old. There really is no mobile reception. Didn't use the WiFi, so can't comment on that. Good circular walks are possible from the site.

Overall, a decent site but not outstanding. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FrTed 5 reviews from this member

 This site has potential to be really good, but there's work to be done. Firstly the good points: The washing up, toilet and shower facilities are excellent and very well maintained. Our visit was on a very busy weekend and never had to queue. Shop was OK for bare essentials and a few 'luxury' items but certainly not cheap. There are supermarkets a 10 minute drive away though if you need major items.

On the downside, we had the great misfortune to visit at the time of a caravan rally from one of the major clubs and I am sad to say they were the rudest bunch of people I have had the misfortune to camp alongside which put a huge dampener on the weekend - not helped by initial response to issues from the site manager, although this did improve. This is so rare as the atmosphere on campsites is usually great and incredibly sociable. We got the impression the site was geared up more for caravans than tents and pitches seemed to be quite tightly packed - perhaps as the site is within a walled garden. The ground is rather rocky and uneven, so pitching is not the easiest I have come across but manageable if you have rock pegs. The kids room is looking very tired and could do with a serious revamp. As some have already mentioned, there's NO mobile signal but that can be a blessing sometimes.

I think this site has the potential to be so much better as the location plus some of the facilities are really good. Other areas such as service and facilities for kids could do with some attention to move this site onwards and upwards. However, I doubt we will be back in a hurry due to the initial experience and bias to caravans. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julielwall 1 review from this member

 Must start by saying how clean, tidy and well kept this site is, all other users were extremely pleasant and everyone seemed respectful of the camp rules and we had a very pleasant stay. THe staff we met were lovely. The toilet and shower block was very clean too. However. On the downside there is NO phone reception whatsoever and so if you need to be contactable whilst away then this site is not suitable. Which is a shame. The other thing I found hard to swallow Is the cost of the WIFI. Considering the fact that there is no phone reception which I do believe should be mentioned so they decide to charge you for use of their wifi. I think this is cheeky as you are a captive audience with no phone reception. It was Expensive and reception for that was poor too. There was a lot of the time the wifi would not work or was continually buffering and you can only use one code at a time so if you want to use the Internet on more than one device at the same time then you have to purchase ANOTHER code. 3 for 2 hours, 5 for 24 hrs and 10 for 3 days etc. I think this is cheeky and needs to be reviewed. This is the first campsite that I have had to pay for wifi and considering the poor wifi service I would rather pay a 1 extra per night and have it all in. I think the shop could be slightly better stocked and definitely open longer. The ball games field and dog field are as one, think it might be better to divide in relevant halves for safety and cleanliness. On this basis unfortunately we will not be staying again. If the wifi came within the price then we would definitely revisit and recommend. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorpe Hall Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Driffield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1057 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement