Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highfield Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Topsham > Highfield Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Highfield Farm Certificated Site
Clyst Road
Topsham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 12 Reviews
                6/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kjwalling 1 review from this member

 This site seems to get mixed reviews but I think it should be reviewed in the context of what it is is - a small C&CC ( 5 units max ) site.

For us it was perfect. Good clear advance info on the phone, early booking in no problem, trusting landlady ' just pay anytime before you leave',

Perfectly acceptable facilities - his and hers toilet and shower.

The ground is firm, level and well maintained. And the setting - a five minute walk to the delightful riverside town of Topsham - was great.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Annemarr 12 reviews from this member

 I'm not really sure what to say about this site. It has all the makings of a brilliant little site, but it appears very sadly neglected. We only stayed one night admittedly, and it's a great location both for a stop off on the way further south/north (minutes from the M5 but still quiet with rural views) and in it's own right, with Topsham within easy walking distance, but we never saw the owners and had to leave money in an envelope. It's almost like the Marie Celeste - everything looks like it was abandoned about 9 months ago. The showers and toilets were clean and functional, so someone must look after that side of things, but everything otherwise seems to have been abandoned. It is also very expensive in light of the above. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 This little site is ideal for visiting Topsham. It's very basic, natural and relaxed, despite being very near the rail and road infrastructure it feels and sounds very rural, a reminder of how camping used to be. There is electric hook up, flat grass and basic loos and a shower. I'd recommend a tourch for navigating your way around the site at night. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Slinkymn 12 reviews from this member

 This is a classic little site. They've recently added showers/washroom which are basic but functional. The site has a really relaxed atmosphere. Topsham village centre is a 15 minute safe walk with a nice pub down on the front that serves good food. The 57 bus route takes you straight in to Exeter within 20 minutes and you are right on the route 2 cycle route for both Exeter and Exmouth. You also have the seasonal Topsham ferry to take you across the estuary.

If it's peace and quiet with basic facilities but good location that you want, then I highly recommend this site. Stayed here 3 times and always enjoyed it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 29scrabbly 9 reviews from this member

 I have reviewed this site before with dubious thoughts. However, it did not put us off and we have been again. What an improvement !

Toilets and showers are now available and are a massive improvement on what was there before.

It is perfectly placed to walk to Topsham and the train station is even closer (about 10 mins stroll). You can get everywhere by train - Exmouth, Exeter, and further - Torquay and Paignton.

It is not a very developed site but this suits us fine as everything is so easy to reach on foot. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tazzie71 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a pleasant 10 day stay here.

Easy to find from the M5, easy access, wide entrance. There are 2 fields, the meadow, which only has 2 ehu, large open field where they allow camp fires & the vineyard, large field enclosed with high hedges, quite sheltered, several ehu but sadly no open fires allowed. We were in the vineyard field. It was nice & peaceful however you can occasionally hear the traffic, trains & planes (flight path to Exeter airport) but they didn't bother us. Don't forget you are only a few miles from a big city so, you, can expect some noise!

There is a brand new shower block, which is well thought out. Ladies, gents & a family room. However they didn't look like they had been cleaned since they had opened! I actually bought bleach & cleaning products to clean them before we used them. In the whole 10 days that we were there they were never cleaned, bins were not emptied etc. The showers are heated by solar. Great for the summer but this time of year they were cold so we had to resort to use the shower in our van. They didn't seem to have a back up boiler to heat the water on cloudy days!

There is a chemical disposal point, which is also brand new and there is an outside washing up area, which is new too.

The farm does look a bit overgrown & abandoned! Farm machinery just left, a lovely kitchen garden area left to go to weeds etc. But this didn't really bother us, it's just a shame to see.

They have a lovely nature walk from the site, along the river otter, which was great for exercising the dogs.

We only saw the owners to pay, after that we were left to our own devices. Not once did the come around the site to check if every thing was ok.

The surrounding area is beautiful. Topsham is a lovely small town. Plenty of pubs, restaurants, coffee shops to choose from, a few shops, a large coop, banks etc. It has lovely walks around the area & you can walk here from the site in just 10 mins. The train station is just a 10 min walk away too with great links to Exeter, Exmouth (which is lovely) & Paignton (which was awful!).

Otterton mill, budleigh salterton & Exmouth are a must if you are in this area & like walking.

Overall a lovely stay, facilities could have been cleaner & warmer, we would return, but in the summer as the showers would then work! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coffee 5 reviews from this member

 A basic field. No toilets or showers, chemical toilet emptying in an old ports loo, but good price of 12. 50 per night, poor access, new track tight turns. Now new free tort and shower block open, prices gone up to 21 per night that is one heck of a rise for an poorly cut field and supposedly free showers 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BAT VAN 101 4 reviews from this member

 Yes it is 'just' a field to park up in, yes it is very basic. But I love that! The feel of the field, the views, the wildlife buzzing and hopping around, the flowers brightening up the hedges more than made up for a bit of background noise and a bit of shabbiness. You are left to your own devices and I believe camping and caravanning is what you make it. The location is brilliant; 10 minute walk to Topsham and the train station that whips you into Exeter for 2. 70. The village is pretty and has lots of watering holes and niche shops. If you are expecting a neat mown patchwork site this is not for you, if you fancy a bit of tranquil wild camping you will love it! The only interaction with the owners was to arrive and pay our dues, so have to give an average feedback score. The toilet block. Yeah could do with some improvement actually a right old overhaul! lol. Would I go back again. Yep! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scrabbly 5 reviews from this member

 Very basic. Toilets not up to much, just a field to park in but some hook ups, very simple things don't seem to be happening - a hose on the water to stop feet getting wet as you fill your water. Could do with a good tidy up - lots of rusty farm equipment hanging about not doing much just looking a mess. There is an empty barn - put it in there !

I think it's meant to be 'eco' but just think lazy !

On the plus side very handy for Topsham which is very pretty with lots of pubs and restaurants and a lovely estuary. Trains are regular and cheap so easy to reach Exeter and further or down to the coast the other way.

Would not choose this site but may go again as have friends in Topsham 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3516 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement