Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Runt In Tun Public House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Heathfield > Runt In Tun Public House Reviews

Runt In Tun Public House
Maynards Green
Heathfield
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN21 0DJ
Tel: 01435 864284
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 9
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 26 reviews from this member

The first thing to say is that it is easy to find. Secondly the all grass small site is at the back of the pub so we were never troubled with traffic noise. With a mixture of electric and non-electric pitches.

Because it is all grass, we were lucky enough to be there when it was dry, obviously when wet, conditions may not be so favourable. Adam the landlord, was very welcoming. So was the pub, friendly staff, good range of drinks, good quality food and very dog friendly.

The site has two converted portaloos. One a perfectly adequate toilet facility the other having a good quality electric shower which is free of charge. However when the site is busy, I suspect that in particular for the toilet facility, that this may be inadequate.

An excellent place to take you dog with a footpath coming right off the site. Just opposite is the Cuckoo trail for walkers and cyclists which gives safe access to the local town and beyond.

Overall a really good site offering good value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 13 reviews from this member

Well we were back just for a few days prior to one of our motor bike rallyís, as always a superb time, especially the beer and the food, excellent. The campsite is fairly level, but can be a little boggy when itís rained for a while, we will be back

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richandmaz 2 reviews from this member

Still a great place. well done andy, martin and all the staff

But really need some lighting. good to see the moles have gone. the improvement you have made are good, but please andy, lighting at least on the entrance.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Unthani 1 review from this member

We visited this site for the Easter break and what a lovely quiet peaceful site. Owner was very welcoming and helpful. The pub is small but perfectly formed and again welcoming. Couldn't really fault anything. We were really lucky with the weather too. The site is perfect for walking the dogs. We had a lovely time and would highly recommend. We will be visiting there again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 13 reviews from this member

What can you say about the Runt in Tun that hasn't been said already, we visit here on a regular basis. We were actually here twice in 2015, for some reason I must have forgotten to add reviews ???.

Anyway we were back here in Jun/July 2016, we arrived on Thursday 23rd June and Andy informed us that the pub would celebrating Christmas on the following Saturday, and they CERTAINLY did, in excellent form.

The facilities are small but more than adequate for the size of the camp site, and the food served at the pub is always reasonably priced and superb.

WE WILL BE BACK

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Annabeleady 1 review from this member

Excellent small site, although slightly waterlogged pitch, it might have been something to do with the torrential rain! It dried out over a couple of days. Problem with the shower was quickly sorted by Andy, and it was a lovely shower, hot as you like. Just make sure you put enough money in at the beginning! Facilities clean, area spacious and tidy. Good pub grub too! Very little road noise, more hooting of owls to enjoy.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dcnice 6 reviews from this member

This is probably our favourite site. We visit a few times a year. It's only just over an hour from home, but it's nice to have a change of scenery.

It is a certificated site, so only 5 vans + tents. It has recently changed to adults only which does not bother us as we have no children, just dogs.

We always get a warm welcome from Andy on arrival and then shown to our pitch. The pitches are generously sized.

As we come with the dogs, there are a few fields behind the site that we are free to use. The only thing grown in these fields is turf so perfect.

Opposite the campsite we can go and walk along the cuckoo trail where you can either head towards Polegate or towards Heathfield. We usually head to Heathfield for a look around the small town.

The pub is dog friendly and we regularly eat in the pub. The food is very good and well priced. Dogs are not allowed in the restaurant part, however there is enough space in the bar area or if the weather is good we eat in the beer garden. The locals are all friendly.

The only downside to the site is the facilities. There is a single toilet and single shower and they are both in portaloos. The limited facilities are however kept spotlessly clean, so not much of an issue for us. There is also a washing up point, a standpipe for drinking water with proper drainage and a CDP.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

This site near Heathfield is a field behind the pub, owned by the pub owners. It makes an ideal stopover for anyone installing powersteering in their campervans at Lite Steer in Burwash Common.

The pub itself is tiny with a small dining section to the left and a tiny bar to the right, but good meals. It is a certificated site so it is a cosy site with 5 pitches. The main attraction is if you are looking for a pub stopover and don't want to walk very far from pub to pitch! The clean unisex portaloo block is not lit at night so you will need a torch. The secret to a longer shower is if a partner feeds the meter while you are already in there. I have been to sites with free showers in a lager block for the same price though.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richandmaz 2 reviews from this member

Great place great staff fantastic food it the pub

all staff very friendly cant fault any thing

Even the locals made us welcome in the pub

Nice walks very quite site value for money

10 out of 10 for every thing will be coming back

And will recommend

May be some light on camp site entrance road

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonk 18 reviews from this member

Spent 8 Nights here and found it to be one of the best sites we have stayed on. Could not fault the cleanliness, the welcome and helpfulness of the owners. The pitch was flat and well maintained. Did not experience any noise from the pub. Road noise and that of occasional aircraft were minimal and didn't cause us any problem.

The site has numerous footpaths surrounding it and across the road there is access to the Cuckoo Trail, ideal place to be if you like to walk and/or cycle. Heathfield is around a mile walk on the Cuckoo Trail or easily accessible by car. Three small supermarkets and various take aways in Heathfield and Horam (about 2 miles also on Cuckoo trail)

Didn't get a chance to try the food in the Runt in Tun but the pub was friendly and looked inviting when we went in on arrival. Large and pleasant Pub garden.

Quite a few National Trust and other attractions in the area and we tried one of the suggested cycle rides off the Cuckoo trail (download the cuckoo trail brochure).

I would not hesitate to use this site again should I re-visit the area.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019