Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Housedean Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Lewes > Housedean Farm Campsite Reviews

Housedean Farm Campsite
Housedean Farm
Lewes
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN7 3JW
Tel: 07919 668816
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alanbradshaw8 1 review from this member

Location sees the South Downs Way pass next to the campsite. Site has a small shop, showers and wash room. Sockets for charging phones. B

us to Lewes runs every 15 mins. Bus stop outside campsite. £3. 70 return. I did use this service. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Suggest pre booked as site was full on my day of arrival.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night with hubby and backpacking tent as we hiked along the south downs way. Lovely tidy and clean site and well placed for the SDW. However, there were very few level pitches as the farm is on a hill which is a challenge in a tent.

Also, I would like the site to have differential pricing for backpackers as charging £24 for 2 people in a tiny tent with no car to stay for 14 hours seems very steep. As others have said there is some road noise but I found this to be a constant hum and could zone it out.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Living-the-dream 2 reviews from this member

Chose this site for the location really. Lots of good walks within easy reach. Bus stop by the site entrance with regular bus's running till 'very' late.

24hr garage and a restaurant pub 10 minute walk away.

The site itself is a good size with clean decent facilities. There's even a little kettle in the washing up area.

Slight slope on both flanks of a central track but no problem getting level and there's quite a few fire pits at hand. I didn't use the shop but the owners were helpful with local info.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cliveandfrances 1 review from this member

Really nice, tidy site. Not big, but spacious pitches. Shop a little limited (but its not a big site and shops aren't far away), but otherwise, facilities were very good and spotless.

Some posts mention the A27, but have to say we hardly noticed it at all at night.

Really handy for stopping off on the South Downs Way as well as being handy for Lewes, Brighton and further afield. Great walks straight from the farm.

Owners were really friendly and helpful. Its a lovely site, but it is still a working farm, so go and enjoy it, but also please respect its peace and location.

Sneaked a look at the shepherd's hut - a stay in it would make a great present!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vadengoadl 2 reviews from this member

We were hiking the South Downs Way, and had wanted to camp along the way as often as possible. Housedean Farm was among the places we camped with our tent. Our backpacks had been transported for us to the Farm's office (having a staffed office is a significant factor in having one's belongings transported. Something that made our hike much more like the vacation it was supposed to be!), and they were there waiting for us when we arrived.

I had made this reservation online while still in the states, and paid in full prior to the trip. We arrived early after hiking all day in the rain (the only day it rained during our whole trip!). Finding Housedean Farm was easy as we walked down from the South Downs Way. It was literally along the Way.

After checking in, we talked for a few minutes with the bright gentleman who owned/ran the farm. We also met his teenage children who gave us advice about where we might have lunch in the nearby town of Lewes. They told us how to take the bus (we only needed to walk a few blocks to pick up the bus). We decided to wait until the rain stopped to pitch our tent, so off we went to Lewes.

Lewes is a beautiful town with lots to see and do. We had a lovely and brief busride into town, a delicious lunch in a modern and busy restaurant full of happy families, couples, and people who worked in town.

After lunch, we walked around town and found a bakery that would make a lunch for us to carry the next day on our hike. (The campsite had refrigerators and freezers for us to use at the campsite. ) Housedean Farm is a working farm, and the beautiful stone farmhouse had been built in the 1800s.

It had been farmed ever sense that time. For our campsite, we chose a nice, level site for our tent that would catch the maximum sunlight (it needed to dry before nightfall, if possible). The facilities were beautiful! Very clean and new showers, toilets (all well-stocked with their own sinks, paper, soap, hand dryers).

There also were nice kitchen areas with large refrigerators, freezers, large kitchen sinks, hot and cold water, electricity, and ample countertops. The camping area was beautifully maintained -- both the area for the tents and the other facilities. It was much like a hotel except we camped!

All was very quiet in the evening. We rose early, packed our now-dry belongings, left our packs with the owner, and made our way back to the trail, which was easy, given that the campsite was ON the trail! This particular stop for us was memorable in so many ways.

It was a great fit with the reason we had wanted to camp along the way where we could -- we had wanted to experience nature for an extended period of time for the restfulness it brings. Housedean Farm certainly fit our wishes and expectations.

We would stay there again without question.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gekko 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely weekend camping at Housedean. It was our first camping trip in 14 years - the last being with just a backpack to the south of France. This time we had a car full of equipment - however did we cope all those years ago with just a tiny tent and sleeping bag??

We were greeted by the very friendly owner, who told us we could choose any pitch in the lower field. The top field had been allocated to a group (who were not at all noisy I should add). We chose a pitch in the far bottom of the field (20) underneath a couple of trees.

The toilet and shower facilities were superb. The 5 toilets were continually stocked with toilet roll, handwash and paper towels and were kept spotless. There were 4 showers in wooden huts, one of which was open at the top. The showers had hooks for clothes and toiletries as well as a rack for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Most importantly, the showers were lovely and hot.

There was a covered dishwashing area with 3 sinks, 2 fridges and a freezer. We didn't use the fridge and freezer as our coolbox will go a few days without needing new blocks. However, there was tons of space. There were also a few charging points for phones etc. , all of which is free. I think it's a bargain, given that the cost for 2 adults for the weekend was £40 all in.

One of the key advantages of this campsite is it's location right on the South Downs Way and it's proximity to Brighton and Lewes. On the Saturday, we did a great 10 mile hike over the SDW and into Lewes, where we stopped for lunch before returning via the hills on the other side of the bypass. You can find the walk in the Pathfinder guide for Surrey & Sussex. It actually starts in Lewes but passes right by Housedean, so you are able to pick up the trail there.

For other things to do, Lewes is great (as is Brighton but we didn't visit as we go quite regularly). We went to the Half Moon at Plumpton for Sunday lunch. It's relaxed with a great beer garden. We booked but you could have pitched up on the fly and got a table. The fare was the usual roasts plus fish and chips and pork burgers. You could also try The Bull at Ditchling (we stopped briefly to watch the cyclists in the London to Brighton ride) but I expect you'd need to book and it's a tad more expensive.

I only have 2 negatives about the campsite, but one is quite fundamental. The elephant in the room here is the noise. Maybe it's better if you are in the top field, but we didn't have that option and the A27 is a very busy dual carriageway. The sound from the traffic is pretty loud and it doesn't ease up through the night. Even at 4am in the morning, there's a constant hum. As there are reviews here that don't mention the noise, I expect that this isn't a problem for everyone. However, we live in London and were going camping to escape the noise we put up with every day. For us, having silence (apart from the sounds of nature) is very important. Even with earplugs, we could still hear the traffic and we had to make a concerted effort to zone it out. Anyway, I'm just putting it out there - it may not bother you, but it's probably the one thing that would stop us returning.

The second issue is the slope of the pitches. To be honest, this is something you can live with, but it's worth noting as you need to consider how you pitch your tent and where you set up cooking equipment. We have a camp bed and slept with feet downhill. We did find we were slipping down quite a bit. We don't have a SIM yet though and maybe this would have kept us in one place. Setting up the camp stove was interesting as our table doesn't have adjustable legs so I had to be careful to pick a spot where the pans didn't slide about. Also, the slope meant that I couldn't pitch with my windguard to the wind but had to go side on. As a result, the pilot light did go out on occasion.

Back to the plusses, the firepits are a big bonus. Our next site doesn't allow campfires and I think we'll really miss that. The weather wasn't amazing so it was really helpful to be able to get a fire going. They sell logs, kindling etc. At the shop and the logs were well seasoned so it didn't take long to get a good fire going.

In terms of clientele, it was a real mix - young families, solo travellers, couples, friends and groups. Everyone behaved impeccably and the campsite has a strict policy about late night noise. It wasn't a problem anyway as everyone was really quiet and most people were in bed early and up early the next day.

Would I recommend Housedean? If you can deal with the noise or get a pitch in the top field, then definitely. It's a very well run site at a bargain price and superb for walking.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: FMHW123 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic bank holiday weekend in the camping pod and are already planning our return trip to this site!

The site itself is beautifully kept with immaculate toilets (with individual heaters in each one- something of a luxury!), well presented showers and ample space for pitching your tent.

We decided to treat ourselves and stay in the camping pod rather than bringing our tent; we arrived on a Friday night and were happily greated by the owner who was very helpful (even though we'd arrived late) and directed to our pod.

The pod itself is the most inventive form of glamping we have experienced recently. Comfortably furnished with 2 single beds, electricity and a heater we couldn't have asked for more- simple but very very effective. Outside there is a sheltered decking area, a fire pit and beautiful views across the rolling hills.

I cannot reccommend this pod enough if you don't want the hassle of putting up a tent and would like more shelter from the elements than a bell tent could offer you.

The site is in easy distance of Brighton, Lewes and Falmer, perfect for day trips or a beer at the local pub.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will definitely be returning to the site.

Thanks Housedean for a fantastic camping/glamping experience!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenBear 1 review from this member

Surrounded by beautiful rolling fields and mature trees. Advantage of being close to the A27 so very accessible, 10 mins drive to Brighton and 5 mins to Lewes. Be careful getting off main road, as sign post is very small.

4 very well maintained toilets and 3 showers, one of which has no roof so you can watch the sky while you wash.

Bike hire from the small site shop and minimal camping provisions.

I loved the simplicity of this site, no frills, just a lovely field full of like minded people.

No loud music, fire pits for your campfire.

Lovely, lovely, lovely. I would go back here again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Becker467 1 review from this member

Just spent a lovely three day visit on this lovely Camp site.

Whilst it is as advertised Basic camping.

The Toilets and alfresco showers were spotlessly clean and functional. Putting the same facilities in more expensive sites to shame.

The views and surrounding areas were lovely. The A27 which runs along the side of the Site could be heard only as a background noise which at first light was diminished by the morning bird song.

Even though the Site only has two fields, the pitches are large and each pitch has its very own Fire Pit. Which we enjoyed using. Nothing beats warming tired feet in front of a fire toasting marsh mellows, listening to owls hooting and watching the bats flying overhead.

This site is on the downs, so it is hilly. So chose your pitch if availability allows.

We will definitely visit this site again.

We recommend a Visit into Lewes for it history and locally brewed Ale Harveys.

One of the best sites we have visited.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparrow47 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in our campervan with awning. We are a family of 4. It was lovely, hilly but lovely. As it had been raining we opted to pitch up on a flatter bit. The pitches are spacious and we had a fire pit. Even though it did rain quite a bit we still managed to light and keep alight, a fire each day.

Our host was very friendly and attentive. He walked ahead of us to our pitch and as it wasn't fully booked, he advised us on where it might be better to pitch up. You can hear the noise of traffic from the main road but after a while you don't notice it. We were right on top of the South Downs but because of the rain and it being quite muddy, we didn't get to walk as much as we would have liked.

We purchased a couple of bags of firewood at a reasonably priced 5. 00 per bag, this came with kindling. The showers and toilets were kept very clean. I would say it's a nice place for children, younger children, as it's hilly and the children that were there seemed happy, running and cycling around. It's a quiet site, family friendly, they discourage the loud playing of music which is lovely.

You are not near any shops of walking distance. There are buses that take you into Brighton(approx 7 miles away, I think) and Lewes. There is a Waitrose and a Tesco in Lewes. There is a Sainsburys in West Hove I think.

We went into Lewes which is lovely. Parking is expensive (4. 00 for 2 hrs)We visited the castle which I would recommend. My children are 14 and 11 and they were very interested in it. I would suggest going into the Museum 1st as they have a short film about the history of Lewes. You can get a combined ticket to Anne of Cleves house as well but we didn't bother because time was short.

We also went into Brighton and did the whole amusement thing on the pier. Again parking was expensive (5. 00 for 2 hrs) which makes it a bit restrictive as you worry about the time. The rides on the pier take tokens which work out at 1. 00 each. Most rides are about 3 or 4 tokens per child. You can get 30 tokens for 20. 00 from the token booth. It's mostly suitable for older children/young teens I'd say. Watch out for the dive bombing gulls if you buy any food! Seriously you need to eat under cover as we saw them swoop on 2 unfortunate victims making them drop their noodles! The noodle stall is very reasonably priced, a tray of chicken noodles for 2. 70.

I would definitely go back to Housedean, my son loved it, being able to light a fire made it special for us as did the spacious pitches and quietness of it all. I loved watching the swooping swallows and the blackbirds picking worms right in front of our campervan.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4119 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019