Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Vicarage Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

The Old Vicarage Campsite
Moulton St Mary
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR13 3NHCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: 1st May To 28th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IJKKLM 5 reviews from this member

Great basic site in the beautiful Norfolk countryside. The “rustic” facilities all work as they should and everyone loves a fire. The wood fire braziers are clever upcycled old car wheels with a hot plate. The previous review mentioned lack of dishwashing facilities - this is now sorted in the same simple but effective way everything else is.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 16 reviews from this member

We have been to this site every year since we started camping and it's great to see the improvements that Bernie has made each time. This year we were delighted to see a small shed containing a freezer, guide books, spares that other campers have left (chairs, pegs etc. ) and eggs for sale with an honesty box. My one and only criticism of the site would now be that there is no washing up sink (hint hint, Bernie!)

As usual, we loved the quiet surroundings, well maintained pitches, the un-crowded camping and huge open spaces for the kids to play in. Bernie supplied us with lots of cheap but well seasoned logs, and we toasted marshmallows and watched the stars and the satellites zooming overhead.

We'll be back - it has become a tradition of ours to have at least one stay at the Old Vicarage every year, and I can't wait.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thefreems 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite. Peaceful surroundings. We took our 2 children and dog (well behaved) for a week. Campsite manager was friendly and welcoming, providing plenty of wood for the campfires everyday. The toilet blocks were clean, the composting ones which are so much cleaner and nicer to use than the so called normal types. Showers were clean and again, no problems. There was lots of space between tent spaces and loads of room for the kids to run around. The owner allowed us to walk the dog around his farmland. Beautiful part of the world. Acle only a few mins away by car, good facilities with 2 supermarkets and good local shops. The seaside only 30 mins away. Would definitely go again and recommend to families and couples a like. Excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Knightyoshie 1 review from this member

The old vicarage is a great site for just relaxing, the perfect no thrills experience. The solar showers are good once they've had a chance to heat up and the composting toilets are clean and accommodating. The satnav leads you right to it so no need to worry about getting there. The owner Berrnie is really friendly and willing to help anyway he can.

All in all might not be the best site for young children who need something to occupy themselves with but for just relaxing its perfect.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StevenWW 1 review from this member

I am one of 5 families that all met at The Old Vicarage this weekend. Never been before but saw great reviews so took a chance. Excellent location, surrounded by fields that are all in use by the farming community. I woke up to the sounds of sheep, birds & distant farm traffic.

Important to me was not too much light pollution as I do love to sit and stare at the stars and I was definitely not disappointed here. On the Saturday night a clear sky let myself and the others see shooting stars & the cosmos in it's natural state. The host dropped off some campfire wood earlier (extremely reasonable at a fiver) and we stoked that badboy up!

Our kids roasted marshmallows & we enjoyed a couple of glasses of our favourite tipple. I explained to the owner when I got there (I got there first and had an extra night as I came the farthest (180 miles) that there would be no noise from us as our group was very considerate to the other campers, as they were to us.

Even though we stayed up talking until 2am, we didn't have a radio on late ( we had a tiny transistor radio with Heart FM on ) which we turned off around 11PM, and that was perfect, all kids in bed & adults just chewing the fat.

Norwich is only half an hour away as is Great Yarmouth, so great if you want to visit either, but far away enough to have peace and quiet. Parking is away from the actual tent locations, so remember to bring a water container and 12 volt pump for your airbeds that will work out the cigarette lighter of your car, or a foot pump or battery pump.

I hadn't been camping for a while and the peace and tranquillity I had here has made me want to go again very soon, I cannot highly enough recommend it! Our group of 5 families all said it was fantastic, nice clean shower & basic but clean toilets, drinking water & general water provided, and at a very reasonable rate. I'll definitely go again and hope my review helps someone to make up their mind to stay there as you will not be disappointed! I only signed up here to leave this review as I feel it's important to give something back & help others.

Hope your stay will be as nice as mine was! Regards, Steven.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 16 reviews from this member

Our third year of coming here and we still love it. This time we came as two families with four children. There is bags of room for the kids to tear around playing games without inconveniencing anyone else. Having worn them out, we then spent the evenings sitting round the fire, telling daft stories and toasting marshmallows.

We got the usual warm welcome from the owner, who has upgraded the composting toilets with a nifty fly barrier under the seat. All the facilities are well maintained and clean. The only niggle we had was that the showers ran out of hot water one evening.

The site is ideally placed as a base for exploring Norfolk. Its pleasant surroundings and relaxed atmosphere make it our favourite site so far and I'm sure we'll be back again before long.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie1066 2 reviews from this member

Our first family camping trip - chose this site as it was close to home. Beautiful location, huge mostly flat field surrounded by hedge/trees. We set up camp close to the hedge boundary with the car park but the owner's barrow was coming in handy for those who chose to set up further away from the car park.

This is truly an authentic camping experience. We LOVED the owner's brazier pit camp fires which were free to use just £5 for a bucket of fire wood, it was lovely as night fell seeing all the burning fires around the site.

Very basic facilities perfect for short stays, I would struggle to stay longer than 2 nights as no freezing facility for cool packs or electric makes chilling food tricky.

Composting toilets a novel idea and seemed to work well without much of a pong! Free showers very invigorating in the morning!

We loved this site and will definitely be returning later in the year again - The only improvement I would like to see would be replacing the very small hand washing basin with a larger sink with warm water for washing up and the freezing facility then we'd stay for a week

Thanks, great work see you again soon!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayukchelsea 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site - arrived midweek unexpected heatwave - had the whole campsite to ourselves for a night - on arrival text/phone as advertised - car park is separate, so cannot drive on to field - owner has a wheel barrow which you can use - ASK - campfire design good - got a little busy but very good at least 10 metre distances with no problems - take a mirror and torches - loos are fine if a little difficult to sit comfortably - is a compost job - heard a young child say 'I can taste the smell' but not really bad on some of the hottest days of the years - lovely to shower in the open air - great sunsets and star gazing on the clear nights - some nearby roads but not busy and camp top/middle of field to avoid totally - could do with a kitchen washing area, but guess that will come as relatively new - a REAL camping experience - no light pollution - no hassle - have your campfire (using the equipment supplied)

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckynixon88 1 review from this member

Just recently stayed at the old vicarage campsite for my birthday. There was a large group of us plus our large tent and we had a great time!

Very easy to find, friendly campsite. Car park right next door which was great considering we may have over packed slightly!

Very spacious campsite with no set out pitches, you can camp where ever takes your fancy (which was handy for us as we didn't want to keep our neighbours up!)

The owner was lovely and couldn't have done more for us, including topping up our fire wood at 11:30pm when it was freezing!

The toilets and showers are very clean, no smell and always topped up with loo roll.

Only a 15 minute drive from Gt Yarmouth, its the perfect camp-site if you're looking for a hassle free, friendly camping experience. We'll definitely be going again :)

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campcosy 1 review from this member

Really do not want to leave a report as the more positive reviews this site gets the more popular it will become and I will be in danger of not getting on without booking well in advance.

As usual we left it far to late to book a pitch anywhere. We like to camp where camp fires are allowed. It is a big part of the holiday sitting round the fire at night with the missus and kids, ghost stories and marshmallows are the order of the day (with something a little stronger for mum and dad).

I searched and searched the internet for somewhere with a vacancy but to no avail until I 'stumbled' across The Old Vicarage Campsite which incredibly is situated less than an hour from where we live.

We arrived 40 minutes after leaving home, even after such a short journey it was still good to see the campsite clearly signposted. There was a sign on a post advising new arrivals of a number to contact Bernie on.

Bernie told us to pitch wherever we wanted and that he would be along to see us later. There were several other campers already there so we opted for the bottom left corner which Bernie later informed us was the best spot on the field. He also took our order for firewood and marshmallows.

We spent a great couple of days there. It took our 10 year old son a while to chill into a life without his electric gadgetry but as soon as the fire was sparked up he 'warmed' to the outdoor life. Having the addition of a cooking plate is a great idea we cooked most of our meals on this.

Bernie came for a chat everyday - restocking firewood later in the day. The toilets and showers are basic but more than adequate.

Well worth a visit if you are into camping in a more traditional manner

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!