Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Vicarage Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > The Old Vicarage Campsite Reviews

The Old Vicarage Campsite
Moulton St Mary
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR13 3NH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/05/2022 to 08/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Guvi78 4 reviews from this member

 Likeed: The space for the children to play, being able to see them anywhere on the site, no car access on the field,

Clean toilets and showers, clean washing up facilities, freezer for ice packs, USB charging point, fire brazier with got plate.

Plenty to do nearby, plenty of info in the shed with all the best lical attractions snd eateries.

Disliked: Unisex toilet, the toilets where a bit high for the younger children. Not all The wood was well season so it was hard to get the fire going sometimes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LEO02 36 reviews from this member

 Liked- pitch where you like, campfires allowed, owners dog😀, owners enthusiasm.

Disliked- difficult to find a decent pub, composting eco toilets, no vehicles allowed in camping field, open air showers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IJKKLM 5 reviews from this member

 Great basic site in the beautiful Norfolk countryside. The “rustic” facilities all work as they should and everyone loves a fire.

The wood fire braziers are clever upcycled old car wheels with a hot plate.

The previous review mentioned lack of dishwashing facilities - this is now sorted in the same simple but effective way everything else is. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 18 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site every year since we started camping and it's great to see the improvements that Bernie has made each time. This year we were delighted to see a small shed containing a freezer, guide books, spares that other campers have left (chairs, pegs etc. ) and eggs for sale with an honesty box. My one and only criticism of the site would now be that there is no washing up sink (hint hint, Bernie!)

As usual, we loved the quiet surroundings, well maintained pitches, the un-crowded camping and huge open spaces for the kids to play in. Bernie supplied us with lots of cheap but well seasoned logs, and we toasted marshmallows and watched the stars and the satellites zooming overhead.

We'll be back - it has become a tradition of ours to have at least one stay at the Old Vicarage every year, and I can't wait. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thefreems 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. Peaceful surroundings. We took our 2 children and dog (well behaved) for a week.

Campsite manager was friendly and welcoming, providing plenty of wood for the campfires everyday. The toilet blocks were clean, the composting ones which are so much cleaner and nicer to use than the so called normal types.

Showers were clean and again, no problems. There was lots of space between tent spaces and loads of room for the kids to run around. The owner allowed us to walk the dog around his farmland. Beautiful part of the world.

Acle only a few mins away by car, good facilities with 2 supermarkets and good local shops. The seaside only 30 mins away.

Would definitely go again and recommend to families and couples a like. Excellent value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knightyoshie 1 review from this member

 The old vicarage is a great site for just relaxing, the perfect no thrills experience. The solar showers are good once they've had a chance to heat up and the composting toilets are clean and accommodating.

The satnav leads you right to it so no need to worry about getting there. The owner Berrnie is really friendly and willing to help anyway he can.

All in all might not be the best site for young children who need something to occupy themselves with but for just relaxing its perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StevenWW 1 review from this member

 I am one of 5 families that all met at The Old Vicarage this weekend. Never been before but saw great reviews so took a chance. Excellent location, surrounded by fields that are all in use by the farming community. I woke up to the sounds of sheep, birds & distant farm traffic.

Important to me was not too much light pollution as I do love to sit and stare at the stars and I was definitely not disappointed here. On the Saturday night a clear sky let myself and the others see shooting stars & the cosmos in it's natural state. The host dropped off some campfire wood earlier (extremely reasonable at a fiver) and we stoked that badboy up!

Our kids roasted marshmallows & we enjoyed a couple of glasses of our favourite tipple. I explained to the owner when I got there (I got there first and had an extra night as I came the farthest (180 miles) that there would be no noise from us as our group was very considerate to the other campers, as they were to us.

Even though we stayed up talking until 2am, we didn't have a radio on late ( we had a tiny transistor radio with Heart FM on ) which we turned off around 11PM, and that was perfect, all kids in bed & adults just chewing the fat.

Norwich is only half an hour away as is Great Yarmouth, so great if you want to visit either, but far away enough to have peace and quiet. Parking is away from the actual tent locations, so remember to bring a water container and 12 volt pump for your airbeds that will work out the cigarette lighter of your car, or a foot pump or battery pump.

I hadn't been camping for a while and the peace and tranquillity I had here has made me want to go again very soon, I cannot highly enough recommend it! Our group of 5 families all said it was fantastic, nice clean shower & basic but clean toilets, drinking water & general water provided, and at a very reasonable rate. I'll definitely go again and hope my review helps someone to make up their mind to stay there as you will not be disappointed! I only signed up here to leave this review as I feel it's important to give something back & help others.

Hope your stay will be as nice as mine was! Regards, Steven. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kwellard 1 review from this member

 We stayed last week for 3 nights in this lovely site. When I say we it was two adults and a two year old! It was perfect. Our little girl could run around the field with no worries of Any cars or campers. The grass was lovely and it had beautiful views.

You park in the field (car park) joining on so you can see your car and the hedge separation is a nice shelter if it is windy, as it was for us.

The toilets are very clean, although self composting, don't smell and sawdust and scoop is provided. Along with a bin and toilet roll. The shower was warm and has two compartments to get changed in. There is a separate sink for teeth and face wash. The showers don't have a roof, but if it's raining, why would you worry! Lol. Drinking water on site is provided from a tap.

The metal open fire skillets are brilliant for cooking and wood is provided for minimum costs, and delivery to your tent. Just text Bernie and it arrives very swiftly. Good mobile signal.

Access is easy and there is a local village with supermarkets to buy food within 3miles. Great yarmouth or Norwich is only half hour each way. Our sat nav only took us to the road, not the site, so perhaps some signs further around the site wouldn't go a miss.

Thanks to Bernie, a young farmer for a lovely well kept, clean family site.

Highly recommended for a few nights away for good family time! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 18 reviews from this member

 Our third year of coming here and we still love it. This time we came as two families with four children. There is bags of room for the kids to tear around playing games without inconveniencing anyone else. Having worn them out, we then spent the evenings sitting round the fire, telling daft stories and toasting marshmallows.

We got the usual warm welcome from the owner, who has upgraded the composting toilets with a nifty fly barrier under the seat. All the facilities are well maintained and clean. The only niggle we had was that the showers ran out of hot water one evening.

The site is ideally placed as a base for exploring Norfolk. Its pleasant surroundings and relaxed atmosphere make it our favourite site so far and I'm sure we'll be back again before long. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie1066 2 reviews from this member

 Our first family camping trip - chose this site as it was close to home. Beautiful location, huge mostly flat field surrounded by hedge/trees. We set up camp close to the hedge boundary with the car park but the owner's barrow was coming in handy for those who chose to set up further away from the car park.

This is truly an authentic camping experience. We LOVED the owner's brazier pit camp fires which were free to use just £5 for a bucket of fire wood, it was lovely as night fell seeing all the burning fires around the site.

Very basic facilities perfect for short stays, I would struggle to stay longer than 2 nights as no freezing facility for cool packs or electric makes chilling food tricky.

Composting toilets a novel idea and seemed to work well without much of a pong! Free showers very invigorating in the morning!

We loved this site and will definitely be returning later in the year again - The only improvement I would like to see would be replacing the very small hand washing basin with a larger sink with warm water for washing up and the freezing facility then we'd stay for a week

Thanks, great work see you again soon! 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Vicarage Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Vicarage Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Vicarage Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Norwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5376 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement