Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Spinney Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Alresford > The Spinney Caravan Site Reviews

The Spinney Caravan Site
The Avenue
Alresford
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO24 9EP
Tel: 01962 735010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Debbieapplin 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean well situated site.

Ideal for watercress line, Winchester, Alton etc quiet peaceful but 5 minutes from pubs, restaurants, garden centres and coffee shops, what more do you want from a site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 28 reviews from this member

 Last minute booking, tried all our usual sites in and around the New Forest but naturally all booked. However I was recommended to The Spinney and on phoning was told, very casually, yes OK, see you Monday. Anyway, did what most people seem to do first time, missed the entrance and turned around the other side of the village with a 24' caravan on the back, still, nobody died!

The site has no security or wireless, no toilets and no showers so I didn't think we were going to enjoy it much however we'll definitely be back again.

The local village is full of interesting little shops and a number of pubs. The Swan Hotel offers Fish and Chips all day Wednesday for 7. 50. I've got to say it was quality food, served at the table, all the sauces available. Excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrWez 15 reviews from this member

 If you like your sites with just the basics but well kept and well done with a light touch, then this is the site for you.

There's no toilet block, showers or wi-fi, there are well tended pitches in a sheltered setting and electric hook up, it is within easy walking distance of an old English market town in a beautiful part of the country, there are great walks and decent, dog friendly pubs. You need your own toilet and washing facilities but fresh water and waste disposal are available.

The site is near the main road in and out of Alresford, I can honestly say that we didn't notice the traffic noise and lets face it, it's a small country town with a good by-pass so it's not exactly busy.

Some of the pitches are on quite soft ground but the notices and the lady who helps the owners advised us on where the firmer pitches were.

If we had one complaint about this site it is that it doesn't have hard standings which mean we can't come here during the winter (but it was great in September)! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights after finding the local CC site did not have wifi and so pleased we changed our plans. No wifi, nor toilets, but being so close to the wonderful town was perfect for us.

Think of it as a CL. Short walk to a bus stop for a half ourly service to Winchester was very convenient. Will definitely use again! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 59 reviews from this member

 Will start with the only problem we encountered with this site, which is trying to find the turning for it off the main road, very poorly signed, no name just the brown caravan picture road sign, if like us you miss it it then becomes hard to find a place to turn around as you end in the town of New Arlesford which is lovely but also very busy with traffic.

Very quiet little site that has electric and nothing else, not even a warden house to pay (15), you have to wait for a visit from the owner to pay the fees.

Have often popped into New Arlesford but never really explored it until now, we had a lovely walk along the river where you will meet plenty of ducks to feed.

The Horse and Groom is a good pub, very warm and inviting, it looked like it had been tastefully decorated since we last visited the town.

Walking distance to town makes this site very well located. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chocky52 9 reviews from this member

 Beautifully laid out site just outside Alresford. A stunning little town with heritage steam railway, river walks cafes and pubs all on tap. Site basic with no toilet block but well kept.

All pitches have EHU and there is water, waste and chemical disposal on hand. Winchester only a stones throw away (bus service available) so well serviced in that respect. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chocky52 9 reviews from this member

 A gem of a site. Close to town with pubs, restaurants and cafes close by. A nostalgic steam train ride to the next town with a good selection of shops as well. Winchester a stones throw away for the city experience.

An abundance of delightful walks completes the set

Previous reviews have noted lack of showers, toilets etc but in my view leave it that way.

EHU, water and waste is sufficient.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Chicaguapa 9 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we've stayed here (see my review below). The lady who ran this site has sadly died but her family have carried on running the site as she would have wished.

So I'm pleased to say that nothing has changed and it's still a fabulous little site. We paid 15 per night with EHU. Where else can you find a site within easy walking distance of a lovely market town like Alresford? 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flower Girl 6 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful find. This site was just what we were looking for! It has hook-ups, a water tap and chemical disposal, but nothing else (that's why I give it 8 out of 10). It's within easy (5-10 minute), level, walking distance of Alresford, which is just a lovely, very English town. There's a great butcher, fishmonger, bakery - and a small Co-op and Tesco Express. There are lovely tea shops and pubs; and an excellent Indian takeaway (The Shapla) just 5 minutes walk away. Ideal, as I really wanted to watch the opening night of 'Strictly' - sad, I know!

The Watercress Line is within walking distance, as are some lovely and well signposted walks along the River Alre - remember to take some bread for the ducks. There's also a great recreation ground next door, with climbing frames, lots of open space and an aerial runway - fab for those of you with children. Google 'The Millenium Trail, Alresford' which will give details of an excellent walk. It's scored down on customer service, as there's no one on site to supervise - but it's really not needed, and payment is into a secure box - refreshingly trusting.

Sadly the lady owner has recently passed away, so we hope that the family are able to keep the site going, as it's a real gem. We'll be back -especially as it's now open all year. (No problem with drainage, as we struggled to get our awning pegs through the scalpings under the grass). 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jeanff 10 reviews from this member

 We would certainly recommend the site - it is beautifully positioned and Alresford is a real gem of a place with lots to see and do within walking distance. We arrived on a Sunday and saw the Watercress Line Steam train in action - and the next day took the Millenium Trail which is a beautifully arranged walk around the town - which you can pick up from the recreation ground. We even attended an interesting free talk at the Recreation Centre hall on the Tuesday evening. The local people were really friendly and helpful and seemed to have a well-deserved pride in their local area.

The campsite is basic - but nicely tucked away - and when you arrive there is a sign saying pitches 1-4 are not for motorhomes. We soon discovered why! We drove around the site and parked in pitch 12 - which was lovely with EHU and then - as always - remembered we needed to top up with water. We found the water tap - under the trees behind the first pitches - and well away from the hardcore road running around the site. So we took the van back to fill up with water and crossing the grassy area to the tap, promptly sank into very boggy ground! We had to call for help as this is not an attended site and the campsite owner's son came to our rescue and towed us out!. However, it was a good learning experience for us. We have now bought 100ft of water hose and we would recommend that the site relocates the water tap - or creates some hard standing areas. Other deep tyre trenches suggested we were not the only ones that had sunk!

After a difficult start, we really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to those who are happy just to have electric hook up and no other facilities. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Spinney Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Spinney Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Spinney Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alresford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement