Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Spinney Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Alresford > The Spinney Caravan Site > Reviews

The Spinney Caravan Site
The Avenue
Alresford
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO24 9EP
Tel: 01962 735010
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Russell m King 1 review from this member

 Great little site, been twice now and will definitely be back again.

Perfect place for a walk in to town for dinner and drinks and also for cycling around the area.

Site has bins and electric hook up with toilet empty facilities.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mafield01 12 reviews from this member

 As always, this site is so well located for New Alresford, and the Watercress Line railway. The location determines the price, which is a bit high for no facilities, but it's all about the location. £25 a night at the time.

We have visited several times now, a quite site, grass pitches with plenty of room, 16A electric hook-up, but no toilet or shower facilities, so you use your own (not suitable for those without).

Linda is very inviting, pleasant, and easy going. Provided the site isn't full there is no rush to leave on departure day, if you ask her nicely. The site is small, with a gravel circular track to navigate.

There is no security, gate or barrier, but it is somewhat secluded from the road, so generally safe.

We were also there for 6 nights in June, and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BalaLaika 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, simple but has all you need.

Couldn’t book as phone went to answerphone every time.

Notice says leave cheque or cash in an envelope and post through front door. Well, never take a cheque book away with us nor envelopes.

This is my only gripe, how do you pay?

Good location, such a pretty town, will come back in the winter and get the bus to Winchester for the Xmas market. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mafield01 12 reviews from this member

 A little gem, providing you can do without toilet and shower facilities.

A small site - I think 16 pitches, plenty of room, a very welcoming reception, well maintained level pitches on grass, with a gravel road around, easy access to New Alresford town centre, the Watercress Line steam railway, and not far from Winchester.

We had a vehicle issue while there, and had to be recovered, but we stayed for the duration first, on a corner pitch with miles of room, and a friendly robin family regularly paying us a visit, who would invite themselves into the van!

We'll definitely go back - a little on the pricey side for some with no facilities at £25 a night, but the location couldn't be better. Not really ideal for children that get bored easily, as there are no facilities for them.

It is on par to a good adults only CL, with 16A mains hook-up, fresh water and grey and black waste disposal. There is no security barrier or gate, but is tucked away, out of sight of the nearby road. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 27 reviews from this member

 Well laid out site, not as crowded as I thought it would be as it has 16 pitches, though the ones in the centre seem to have more room round them.

£25 a night with elec.

Excellent location for walking into the lovely town, visiting the steam railway or down to the river where dogs may swim. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Debbieapplin 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean well situated site.

Ideal for watercress line, Winchester, Alton etc quiet peaceful but 5 minutes from pubs, restaurants, garden centres and coffee shops, what more do you want from a site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 44 reviews from this member

 Last minute booking, tried all our usual sites in and around the New Forest but naturally all booked. However I was recommended to The Spinney and on phoning was told, very casually, yes OK, see you Monday. Anyway, did what most people seem to do first time, missed the entrance and turned around the other side of the village with a 24' caravan on the back, still, nobody died!

The site has no security or wireless, no toilets and no showers so I didn't think we were going to enjoy it much however we'll definitely be back again.

The local village is full of interesting little shops and a number of pubs. The Swan Hotel offers Fish and Chips all day Wednesday for £7. 50. I've got to say it was quality food, served at the table, all the sauces available. Excellent value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrWez 16 reviews from this member

 If you like your sites with just the basics but well kept and well done with a light touch, then this is the site for you.

There's no toilet block, showers or wi-fi, there are well tended pitches in a sheltered setting and electric hook up, it is within easy walking distance of an old English market town in a beautiful part of the country, there are great walks and decent, dog friendly pubs. You need your own toilet and washing facilities but fresh water and waste disposal are available.

The site is near the main road in and out of Alresford, I can honestly say that we didn't notice the traffic noise and lets face it, it's a small country town with a good by-pass so it's not exactly busy.

Some of the pitches are on quite soft ground but the notices and the lady who helps the owners advised us on where the firmer pitches were.

If we had one complaint about this site it is that it doesn't have hard standings which mean we can't come here during the winter (but it was great in September)! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights after finding the local CC site did not have wifi and so pleased we changed our plans. No wifi, nor toilets, but being so close to the wonderful town was perfect for us.

Think of it as a CL. Short walk to a bus stop for a half ourly service to Winchester was very convenient. Will definitely use again! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 81 reviews from this member

 Will start with the only problem we encountered with this site, which is trying to find the turning for it off the main road, very poorly signed, no name just the brown caravan picture road sign, if like us you miss it it then becomes hard to find a place to turn around as you end in the town of New Arlesford which is lovely but also very busy with traffic.

Very quiet little site that has electric and nothing else, not even a warden house to pay (£15), you have to wait for a visit from the owner to pay the fees.

Have often popped into New Arlesford but never really explored it until now, we had a lovely walk along the river where you will meet plenty of ducks to feed.

The Horse and Groom is a good pub, very warm and inviting, it looked like it had been tastefully decorated since we last visited the town.

Walking distance to town makes this site very well located. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Spinney Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Spinney Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Spinney Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alresford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement