Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glanllyn Lakeside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Glanllyn Lakeside Caravan & Camping Park
Glanllyn
Llanuwchllyn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7SS
Tel: 01678 540227  or  07436549726
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 120 Reviews
                8/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trumpeteom 1 review from this member

We had a great week at Glanllyn with our caravan and sailing dinghy.

What a great site, probably the best toilet/shower blocks of any site I have visited, they don't look much from the outside but they are huge, clean, well maintained, spacious, and the showers always hot.

The site benefits from being on the shore of Bala lake so great for sailing, kayaking, etc.

Despite the size of the site and the numbers of people staying around the bank holiday, it was always fairly quiet, apart from the F15 Jets overhead(very spectacular) and almost silent after 10. 30pm.

The only negative things I can say is they could do with a slightly bigger dog walking area, however the one they have was adequate, and the shop is a tad pricey, although Bala's 5 mins up the road.

The other negative, and this isn't the sites fault, there weren't many people observing the 5 mph speed limit for cars, some seeming to have no clue they were driving round a campsite full of kids.

I will definitely back, hopefully we can get a seasonal pitch here, and that's the 1st time we have liked a site that much

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roughley4 1 review from this member

Had 2 stays close together at Glanllyn and I have to say it's easily one of the best sites we've stayed at. The surrounding area has outstanding beauty, and the site itself is very picturesque and a brilliant base. We were no more than a 3 minute walk from the pebble beach area which was perfect for setting out in our kayak. The kids played and waded out a considerable distance and loved the fact they could see a multitude of fish when using their snorkel masks. Meg and the team are warm, welcoming and very friendly. The shop has all the basics you may have forgotten, and with Bala only being 5 minutes up the road, there are plenty of places for other things including a good pizza takeaway. On site facilities are also very good. Excellent, clean toilets, lovely warm showers available all day, a laundrette ( we didn't use it so can't comment on prices) chemical disposal which worked tremendously well.

We only experienced one night of noise from some very inconsiderate caravanners while we were there, and when we mentioned this, it was dealt with swiftly and we had peace and quiet after the curfew from then on. Will definitely be booking there again, and very much looking forward to it.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dadsnlads 1 review from this member

I'm not really sure why the last reviewer gave this an average review because 'you can't really join any footpaths straight from the site' - surely that's due to lack of research on behalf of the camper!

This campsite is great for lake access, watersports etc. It's very convenient for getting to Bala or down to Dolgellau. All the pitches are flat and there was plenty of space.

Megan was very helpful, finding the best spot for us despite incessant rain, sorting out a new gas cylinder when the one we had didn't work etc.

Toilet facilities are great. It's a shame the play park isn't in the camping area itself but I'm being picky.

Great site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chariskaps 3 reviews from this member

We booked this camp site without proper research and at the last minute. I imagine it's great if you have kids that want to make friends and roam free around the extensive site. I am sure it is right up a lot of peoples street in terms of a community feel, I got the impression that people had been going there a long time and had made friends with others there - this might be because of the number of permanent pitches.

So if you're after a safe, family friendly site for a get together, I'm sure you could do worse.

If you are looking for a rural getaway with a bit of walking, or a feeling of space and tranquility, this is not really the site for you. You can't really join any footpaths straight from the site, except for the footpath by the main road which runs along the side of the lake a mile or two in to Bala town itself.

I'd say it's jolly expensive too at around 24/night for a motorhome.

Facilities are very large and clean. Spot on.

All in all a pleasant enough spot, a bit pricey and v family orientated.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicolaburns 10 reviews from this member

We've stayed at this site many times before. We were welcomed by Meg, who I believe to be the owner. She was friendly and helpful as always. We found the site, toilet, wash facilities etc spotless. The shop is well stocked with any bits you might have forgotten.

The primary appeal for us staying here is the immediate access on to Bala lake. Our party had an assortment of inflatables and a sailing dinghy and had a lovely time pottering around on the lake. The site is very laid back and relaxed - there has never been any issue with noise here.

If you are not into the water or complete relaxation then this is probably not the site for you as there is nothing else in the immediate vicinity. Bala is a couple of miles up the road and has shops, pubs, restaurants, cafe's and anything else you may need but I wouldn't say it's walking distance from the site.

I'm sure we'll be back again next year!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Crossers 9 reviews from this member

Great site with friendly staff. Excellent location on the banks of Bala lake. Great for launching the Kayaks. Lots to do if you don't mind a bit of a drive out.

Can be busy at peak times but facilities are kept clean.

Normal shop's in Bala ie Co-op etc and the White Lion Royal Hotel is a nice place for a family tea with good offers if you eat in the week.

This was our second visit and will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

Great location but views and ambiance spoilt by caravans been packed in like sardines for Bank holiday weekend. We were closely surrounded in all directions meaning little privacy and lots of noise. The toilet/shower facilities are good plenty of hot water and no queues, we loved the area especially Bala town, the waterfall, Bala Lake and Barmouth loads more to see which we didn't have time for. Small shop and play area definitely a site for groups and outdoor pursuits. Site boggy in places, no dog poo bins and poor lighting but I liked the location the lake was beautiful and clear. Need clear pitching rules and maybe marked and numbered pitches as the centre field was too packed in our opinion. Lots of groups cyclists and canoeists more of a family/group site, groups of scouts and guides there too.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp looney 2 reviews from this member

We visited Glannlynn for the August bank holiday this year. The facilities were good and there are plenty of showers we never had to queue.

The location is amazing fantastic views access straight onto the lake and a 3 minute drive into Bala town.

We had our inflatable kayak with us and the kids loved paddling and swimming in the lake. The lake was very child friendly for the kids as you could walk out for 30m before it got to your waist.

All in all we had 5 really good nights even with the horizontal torrential rain we had for the first 2 days.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janjohn 4 reviews from this member

We picked this site due to its proximity to home, the beautiful area and my partners interest in canoeing (and recently purchased canoe)

Booking was not a problem despite my getting the dates wrong and needing to amend.

On arrival the reception staff were really helpful and directed us to the nearest pitch to the shore for a grass caravan pitch, as requested. They continued to be friendly and helpful throughout our stay with lots of useful local information.

As per usual, as soon as the handbrake went on, our granddaughter cycled off to the park (she is 10 and the park seemed like a safe place for her to go to unaccompanied) and soon found a gaggle of friends to keep her company for our stay. Her review of the playground is very positive.

We had a dog in tow and although the dog field was not huge it served its purpose for early morning and evening 'needs'. Our Maisie was dog tired after the days events and needed nothing more!

Shower and toilet facilities great, lovely hot powerful showers, might have got a bit grassy at times especially later in the day when everyone had finished having fun on the lake, maybe a few mops and buckets would help so that folks could clean up after themselves.

Previous reviews have covered Bala which is a lovely little village. Half an hour or so's drive takes you to beautiful seaside towns - just check dog friendly before setting off with Fido.

We stayed for 9 nights. It got busier at the weekend but even so the site did not feel busy or full due to lovely big pitches. There was a lovely relaxed ambiance to the site with singles, couples and groups all happily enjoying themselves.

All in all a great site with a lovely feel, helpful and friendly staff. We met some lovely people, paddled by day and relaxed by warming fire in the evening. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rich2han 2 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site. A stunning location on the shore of Llyn Tegid (Lake Bala), approx 3 miles outside of Bala itself.

We arrived on a Monday afternoon and the very helpful reception staff were able to advise us on the best places to pitch. Given we don't use electric hook-up, we had a free reign to pitch where we liked in the non-electric section. The site was fairly quiet during the week, but did get busier on the Friday and Saturday of our stay, so I guess then finding a good pitch could be a bit more of a lottery. We were able to pitch right near the water, but still sheltered by trees.

The toilet and shower facilities are very good, in an excellent condition and perfectly clean. Free showers with a good supply of hot water (though no capacity to alter the temperature, and as my son likes his showers cooler rather than hotter he did complain a little). Also there is a disabled/Baby change toilet and shower facility which was really useful with our 1 year old.

The wash-up / Laundry room has 5 washing up sinks again with a good supply of hot water and 2 coin operated washers and dryers - though cannot comment on these as we didn't use them.

There is a small shop in reception which sells the usual 'essentials' of bread milk etc, though a short drive into Bala gives access to a CO-OP, Spar and various independent butchers bakers etc if more supplies are required.

The sites location really suited us being, being on the nearer side of the Snowdonia area for our home, but still easy to access most places with Snowdon itself only an hour away, but plenty of other attractions closer than that.

The only minor downside is as others have mentioned the location of the children's play area. Whilst the equipment is good and well maintained you have to go passed reception and near to the main road. Ideally this could be better located but it is only a minor issue.

Having discovered this little gem of a site we will definitely look at returning.

Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019